Okay, I admitI can be so overly critical of myself and not in a good way…well, as if being critical of yourself (or anyone else for that matter) is ever a good thing (because it’s not). Sooo…now that I’ve admitted it (you know, that I can be critical of myself sometimes), how can I show kindness to my mind and body?

More importantly, WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO BE KIND TO YOURSELF?!

Here are my 7 tips:

(By the way, I hope you enjoy the precious pictures of my doggy Prince. He is a 3 year old Cane Corso (a.k.a Italian Mastiff). He is the love of my life!)

1] DON’T COMPARE YOURSELF TO OTHERS:                                                                                                                       Remember, you are a gift to the world and no one person is quite like you. Why degrade yourself? The quickest way to lower your self-esteem is to compare your look, status, accomplishments, etc. to another person. We have all had different life experiences that have led us to where we are today, so there is no way to fairly measure one person to another. Each choice you’ve made in your life has created the ultimate you, so why compare?

Kristin Christmas Eve

Love who YOU are!

2] GET INSPIRED BY NATURE:

Heal your mind and sooth your soul with a few whiffs of nature. Studies have shown that people are happier outdoors, so what are you waiting for? An invitation? I cordially invite you to go for a run in the park, a hike through the woods, or maybe just sit on a rock and admire the beauty of life. You won’t regret it!

Image

Prince running around enjoying the outdoors!

3] TAKE A SELFIE AND DON’T CRITICIZE:
Lights, camera, and snap! And…snap, snap, snap, snap! Take the same selfie much? If you are having trouble letting go of a bad hair day, tired eyes, terrible lighting, the wrong angle, please give yourself a break. Don’t berate yourself over a single snapshot that means nothing! Today, snap a photo and love it! After all, your unique beauty is a gift to the world!

Image

Prince loves the skin he is in!!

4] PLAY THE ROLE OF YOURSELF FOR AN ENTIRE DAY:
On the grand stage of life, the biggest role you will ever play is the role of yourself. Don’t give it away to the understudy! Allot yourself an entire day to rekindle the u in you!

Image

Prince is definitely NOT giving this role away of…who knows?! Haha!

5] CREATE A SAMPLE BOX OF YOUR FAVORITE TREATS:
My box contains chocolate covered peanuts, chocolate chips, chocolate truffles, chocolate covered gummy bears, and chocolate filled chocolates…do you see a pattern? Chocolate is my best friend, well, at least when I’m stressed! Instead of spending countless hours eating candy, not to mention countless dollars buying it, I create a sample box. Indulging in your favorite treats is a great thing, but overindulging can really lower your self-esteem. Portion off your favorite treats, whether in a candy box or ziploc bags, and treat yourself to a single portion when you are feeling blue!

Image

This is his all time favorite treat!

6] MEDITATE 10 MINUTES A DAY:
Have you discovered your inner chi? Be thankful for what you have, dwell on the positives in your life, and finally find moments of peace. So much time is spent nagging on the negatives that we forget how truly beautiful our lives are. Find a comfortable seated position, close your eyes, and think about everything you have that makes you smile.

Image

He promises he’s meditating…

7] STIMULATE YOUR SENSES:
Whether inside or out, make a list of everything that makes you happy, that makes you feel alive. For example, candles, movies, foods, music, puppies, flowers, people, etc. After a long, stressful day, surround yourself with these things and see your mood improve!

Image

His precious face inspires me to be happy!

Find Peace, Love, and Happiness!

xoxo,

Kristin

  1. fitnesslife24

    This made me really happy. What a nice perspective on how to be kind to yourself. I, too, find that I am very critical of myself and actions. It’s really not healthy, mentally and sometimes physically. I appreciate this post. – Alba

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much for the comment! Yes, I finally got really tired of putting myself down and decided to take positive steps towards changing my attitude! You’re right, being overly critical is extremely unhealthy in many ways!

      Reply

  2. HollieisFueledByLOLZ

    I’m glad you commented and I found your blog. I’m actually running the Shamrock half this year too. It would be awesome to meet up.

    I am the same way, I think I’m my own personal biggest critic and definitely not in a good way. I’ve found just relaxing and not taking life too seriously has helped me a lot as far as training goes.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awesome, you are running Shamrock, too! I’d love to meet up! I’ve done 1 half marathon before and it was years back (and I didn’t train at all) so this is really (what I consider) my first half and I’m hoping to meet my goal which is running under 1:40. Thank you for the comment, too! I am definitely my worst critic so yes, it feels good to just let go sometimes and let life happen!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, thank you Kristine and the whole selfie thing can be so self destructive if you’re overly critical of yourself like me (sigh)! SO I tell myself to let go and be thankful for who I am! 🙂 xoxo

      Reply

  3. Claudia

    Number Four stopped me in my tracks!
    “4] PLAY THE ROLE OF YOURSELF FOR AN ENTIRE DAY:
    On the grand stage of life, the biggest role you will ever play is the role of yourself. Don’t give it away to the understudy! Allot yourself an entire day to rekindle the u in you!”

    Far out Kristin, that’s some of the best advice I’ve seen yet and I’ve never seen it put quite like that before.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, thank you so much!! That is so sweet! I really love sharing what works for me/what doesn’t work for me because I’m constantly trying to better myself, feel better about myself, combined with being a poet equals lots and lots of metaphors! Haha! You are wonderful so again, thank you very much!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

