This week, thus far, has been filled with some ups and downs, but at the end of the day, I realize my potentials and know I’m worth every ounce of effort I put towards my goals. Yesterday, a switch flipped and suddenly I had less fear, more confidence, and a whole slew of motivation. My runs have been great, my swims have been more focused, and I’m ready to take on Shamrock Half Marathon (http://www.shamrockmarathon.com/) with everything I got! I’ve run one half marathon before (a few years ago) and to be completely honest, didn’t really train for it…yeah, I know, a little crazy, but I ran a 1:55. I was pretty pleased considering half the race was steep uphills (another fun fact I learned at the race) and oh yeah, the first “fun fact”… (completely being cheeky here …the race wasn’t fun at all) was telling myself that I’d NEVER run another half marathon again without a running plan. Shamrock is in a month and my goal range is between 1:36-1:38. With more runs ahead and even more behind having left tracks of blood (I fell on ice), sweat, and tears, I’m ready, MORE THAN EVER, to run fast!

“Never cloud your vision with negative thoughts…instead, envision yourself on a cloud soaring through the depths of your imagination. When you’re using your imagination, you’re allowing yourself to grow as a thinker and as a dreamer. Remember to believe in yourself and to believe in your dreams, for if you do, nothing seems impossible!”
Me (Kristin Stiff) 

10 QUOTES THAT GOT ME THROUGH MONDAY MADNESS:

MY MOTTO IS #9. WHAT’S YOURS?!

1] ] “Nothing is more beautiful than a smile that has struggled through tears.” Demi Lovato


2] “It’s about being alive and feisty and not sitting down and shutting up. Even if people would like you to.” Pink


3] “…and confidence is a stain they can’t wipe off…” Lil Wayne


4] “Nothing is impossible, the word itself says ‘I’m possible’!” Audrey Hepburn


5] “Some people feel the rain, others just get wet.” Bob Marley


6] “Before you embark on a journey of revenge, dig two graves.” Confucius


7] “You can only become truly accomplished at something you love. Don’t make money your goal. Instead, pursue the things you love doing, and then do them so well that people can’t take their eyes off you.” Maya Angelou


8] “I always had the ability to say no. That’s how I called my own shots.” Sidney Poitier


9] “Don’t spend all of your time trying to be like someone else because you can never be them and they can never be you.” Raven Symone


10] “I stand for honesty, equality, kindness, compassion treating people the way you’d want to be treated and helping those in need. To me, those are traditional values. That’s what I stand for. I also believe in dance.” Ellen Degeneres


WHAT’S YOUR MOTTO/FAVORITE QUOTE/RACES AHEAD?

xoxo,

Kristin

  1. weight2lose2013

    I thought that this motto was appropriate, considering the post:

    There is no dishonor in losing the race. There is only dishonor in not racing because you are afraid to lose.”
    ― Garth Stein, The Art of Racing in the Rain

    Reply

      1. Kristin

        Haha, thank you so much!! I guess I have a lot of drive (I want to finish what I start), so thank you; although, I wouldn’t recommend it (I was very overwhelmed at the race). Thank you for your support!! 🙂

  2. Lauren

    That half marathon looks like it is going to be a blast! And in Virginia Beach, I am SO jealous! My favorite motto lately has been from Martin Dugard’s book “To Be a Runner”. His motto was short and simple – “Keep pushing…always”. I’ve been saying that to myself a lot during my workouts, and it really helps to keep me going even when I want to give up!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lauren, thank you so much for the reply!!! Yes, I’m very excited to run the race! I live about 30ish minutes away from Virginia Beach so I’ve run some races there before and always enjoy them!! I love that motto! I will definitely be using it during the half marathon!! I really want great results so thanks for the fabulous advice!!! 🙂

      Reply

  3. HollieisFueledByLOLZ

    I like this post so much!

    I don’t have a mantra right now. I probably should think of something to motivate me through to get to Shamrock. I didn’t realize you lived so close to VA Beach. Are you running VIFL?

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      No I’m not running VIFL! I read you are though, so good luck! I know you’ll do awesome!! I’m training for Masters Summer Nationals, too so trying to get swimming back on track + Shamrock is all I can handle right now. I can’t wait to read your post on VIFL, though!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you!! XOXO!!! You’re going to do great! Just think about how hard you’ve trained and how awesome it’s going to feel to see the finish line! I get very nervous before races, too so I completely understand that! Just trust yourself and everything will go fine! When I get nervous, I try to think about how lucky I feel to be healthy and alive and doing what I love! 🙂 You got it!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, thank you! You can do it!! You are stronger and faster than you think!! I can’t wait to read about your half marathon and how you rocked it out so YOU go girl! 🙂 🙂

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you Kristine! I’ve never considered myself a runner, but now I’m finally getting the confidence to see myself as more than just a swimmer and it feels good!

      Reply

      1. bandedcarolinagirl

        snow/ice expected here…..am hoping we leave early today…..actually i am regardless due to i live about 25 min from raleigh where i work……..and must prepare for my beloved UNC to take on duke tonight…

        PS, the purse in picture, what kind?? as i WANT IT

      2. Kristin

        Ugh, snow and ice…I’m a bit tired of it at this point. Here in Newport News, VA we might get a little bit, but hopefully not too much. I love Raleigh and NC in general! I visit Topsail Beach, NC about twice a summer! Be safe with the weather! Thank you for the compliment about the purse! I’m pretty sure it was Roxy, but I got it a couple years back and actually don’t even have it anymore. I lost it somehow when I moved. I miss it 🙂

      3. Kristin

        Haha, I know, Topsail is great! Love it so much and yes, I’m sure we did soak up the sun at the same time! 🙂 I will definitely let you know if I’m ever in Raleigh!!!

  4. Sarah

    You go, girl!!!!!! My favorite quote these days is ”We either make ourselves miserable or we make ourselves strong. The amount of work is the same.” – Carlos Castaneda

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Wow, this is such an inspirational quote (it actually gave me chills)! Thanks so much! I love strong, empowering quotes that make you think and strive to be better/happier! Really love it!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you! Great, I’m glad you like the quotes! Love your quote, too! It’s definitely good for me to hear your motto because sometimes I’m hesitant to take a step forward and make a decision out of fear! Thanks! 🙂

      Reply

  5. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com

    I love Ms. Hepburns quote you listed. NOTHING is impossible 🙂 You are going to rock Shamrock! That’s the race I PRed in for the marathon. So much of racing is mental, so keep those positive thoughts at the front of your mind. You’re going to rock it!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much!! I’m looking forward to it, but nervous. I feel like athletics is my life and I love it that way, but I never want to disappoint myself so…sometimes I get really nervous! 🙂 That’s awesome you PRed at Shamrock! I hear it’s a flat, fast course so I’m hoping for the best! Thanks so much for the comment!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

