ATTACK OF THE KILLER ABS!!!! 

HAPPY WEEKEND EVERYONE!

Do you have any fabulous plans for the weekend? If so, please share! I love hearing from ya!

My plans?

Well, I don’t have too much going on, other than a run and swim, and maybe a little weight lifting…nothing to gush over, right?

Speaking of lifting weights, what is your favorite body part to work out?

I absolutely love working out my core because it’s the center (no pun intended) of everything I do! Swimming is all about engaging your core muscles, or “swimming from your core” as Total Immersion Swimming teaches you (https://totalimmersion.net/). The same concept applies to running, using your core to stabilize your body in an effort to propel yourself forward with minimal effort (http://www.active.com/running/articles/use-your-core-to-run-faster). I’m a huge fan of both Total Immersion Swimming and Chi Running. The concept of using your body as a fulcrum, a center piece towards “mindful movement” (http://www.chirunning.com/what-is-chirunning/what-is-chi), is a great way to reduce injuries and have a better mindset while running and swimming.

HERE ARE SOME OF MY FAVORITE CORE EXERCISES:

1] PUSHUP PLANKS (picture by www.eightandweight.com)

Image

2] YOGA BOAT HOLD (picture by www.growsoulbeautiful.com)

Image

3] AB ROLLERS (picture by www.muscleandfitness.com)

Image

4] SIDE BENDS FOR OBLIQUES (picture by www.dreamstime.com)

Image

5] SIDE PLANK (STRAIGHT ARM OVER EAR) (picture by www.jbrighten.com)

Image

6] HANGING ABS (picture by www.armanddofitnessexpert.com)

Image

7] HANGING LEG LIFTS (It’s the gymnast in me) (picture by www.daveywaveyfitness.com)

Image

WHAT ARE YOUR FAVORITE CORE EXERCISES??!!

HAVE A BEAUTIFUL WEEKEND EVERYONE! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR READING!!

Xoxo,

Kristin

  1. weight2lose2013

    Kristin, first let me say that your blog is so positive and energetic. That’s always welcome! As far as the exercises, I haven’t started body shaping exercises yet. I’m still in weight loss, so I’m focusing on aerobic type of activities. Aside from treadmills and stair steppers, I also play basketball. I’d love to get to the point where I’m working on abs!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Aw, thank you so much! I really try to stay positive…it helps me stay focused and on task. 🙂 Very sweet comment! That’s great you are working hard and getting great results! Something to be admired! Basketball is great, too! I love it as well! My dad was a basketball player so I grew up playing with him and getting some of his wonderful tips! Trust me, you’ll get to the point where you begin to incorporate abs!! You will get there sooner than you think!! You are so positive, too and I appreciate that!

      Reply

  2. SugarFreeSweety

    When weightlifting I focus on my back and arms because I need it after long hours in front of my laptop and schoolbooks all day.

    My favourite ab workout is doing butterfly kick on my back close to the bottom of the pool and throw up and catch an underwater rugby ball (I think it´s 3-4 kg).

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      I understand needing to do arms and especially back exercises after a long day in front of the laptop!! I get it completely! That’s very smart! 🙂
      I love your ab workout, too!! That sounds like a great workout because one, I love butterfly kick on my back and two, I love working with a medicine ball so the combination seems like the perfect ab workout! Thank you so much for the suggestion!

      Reply

  3. Lauren

    I also love to workout my core! I love doing any kind of planks because I really feel the burn! I love focusing on my core a lot because I feel like the stronger my core is, the better of a runner I will become. How is the ab roller? Is it worth getting one?

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awesome!! I love planks, too!! Love, love, love (can you tell I love planks?) 😉 They are great! I definitely think a strong core equates to a stronger runner, too! I have really had great results with the ab roller! My husband and I have been using the ab roller for years now; however, it’s essential you maintain good form. It’s one of those exercises that you have to be careful with and make sure you keep your core and back engaged. Don’t let me scare you away, though, it’s fantastic, just take it easy building up reps. Thanks so much for your comment!! It means so much!! 🙂

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks so much! These are my go-to ab exercises! They work great alone but in combination give you a great ab blast!! I love planks, too! 🙂 I really appreciate your comment! Have a great day!

      Reply

  4. Julie the Workaholic

    It is still acting like wintertime in eastern NC, so I am heading out to the studio to do a little weight training. My favorite areas to work are my glutes (glute bridges and deads) and triceps, but I am becoming more and more enamored of planks of any type! 😉

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yes, planks are awesome and really work your body all over!! I’m a huge fan of triceps, too!! I love a combo of different exercises there, too!
      We are getting a mix of snow and rain in VA, so it’s not the best day for going out! Ugh 😉
      Thanks so much for the comment and I hope you have a wonderful weekend!!

      Reply

  5. Joseph E Rathjen

    Great exercises! When I hit my mid-fifties my gut decided to “hangout” literally with spare tires and all. I was forced to come to the realization that my body wasn’t the lean, fat-burning, machine that it used to be. My metabolism slowed to a crawl as every midnight snack found a permanent place around my waist.

    You can’t take back time, but with some hard work and the right exercises, you can make yourself look like you went back there!

    Good post. Nice pics!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you!! Yes, I agree with everything you said! It would be great if we could turn back time, but we can’t, so lucky for us, exercise and healthy eating helps us look “like we went back there” (just like you said)!
      I really appreciate your comment and love your insight! I love your sense of humor and that you’re so open to discuss yourself! Thanks again! 😉

      Reply

  6. Running Betty

    I love working my abs! A strong core is so important! I got to do some hanging crunches yesterday, then was feeling “feisty” and ATTEMPTED a hanging leg lift, but not quite strong enough for that yet…Lol I like doing yoga and Pilates moves to strengthen my core, and I also like Ab ripper X (Part of P90X series). Thank you for sharing these great exercises! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Kristine!! Very kind!! 😉
      I love hanging abs! They’re a lot of “fun” 😉 and really work your core good!
      I love hanging leg lifts, too, I’ve been doing them since I was a young, little gymnast! I love doing them because (I feel like at least) I keep my connection with gymnastics.
      I also think yoga is fantastic for your abs especially if you keep your abs engaged throughout the workout. Ab ripper X sounds good! I’ve heard a few people talk about it!
      Thanks so much for your comment, Kristine! I really appreciate it!! 🙂

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

