Happy Wednesday everyone!! I hope your day is filled with so much awesomeness!

In continuation of my post from yesterday (THE HARD KNOCK LESSONS OF RUNNING PART 1), I will detail yet another vital lesson that I have learned from running!

6] WARM-UP IS KEY:

I’ve learned to never underestimate the power of a good warm-up! Speaking from a place of the past, I used to scrunch up my nose and drop a brow every time my husband mentioned that perilous word (shhh…don’t say it!)…I thought he was out of his mind (little did I know, I was out of mine)!

I couldn’t imagine wasting five minutes, let alone a whole two miles worth of my time, “rehearsing” (as I liked to call it) what I was about to do, you know, RUN! I thought (especially in the afternoon/evening times), “I got this! I’ve been walking around alllll daaaay now, so what do I need a warm-up for?”

I THOUGHT IT WAS A SILLY WASTE OF MY ENERGY…BOY WAS I WRONG!

Even during a race, I had the same amateur mentality, but finally figured out what it meant to be an athlete:

Being an athlete means taking care of your body, hence, doing what is necessary (maybe inconvenient, but necessary) to reach your goals.

I’ve realized that before a run, I must warm-up my body properly or it becomes much easier for me to pull a muscle and much harder for me to reach the pace I need to run at that day (especially with speed work, hill work, etc.).

WHAT DOES MY WARM-UP LOOK LIKE?

For speed work, track work, and races, I run 2 miles easy + 5-6 x 100 meter strides. The strides are an essential part of my warm-up series. They show my legs what is coming, so-to-speak, allowing my body to adjust to the speed I need to hit. For everyday maintenance runs, I do not warm-up.

DO YOU ALWAYS WARM-UP? DO YOU LOVE YOUR WARM-UP ROUTINE? WHAT DOES YOUR WARM-UP CONSIST OF?

Image

Hehe! (picture from http://www.freeplaytraining.com)

Xoxo,

Kristin

  1. advocare distributor

    I begin with stretching then move into high knees and hip rotators and arm circles and finish with more stretching. In the beginning I also do a slow jog until I get to the start line for the run.

    One key thing is not to focus on the amount of time but on the feeling of looseness. Some days you may feel more limber than others particularly if yesterday has left you sore.

    Regards,
    Clifford Mitchem
    Advocare Distributor
    Nutrition + Fitness = Health
    http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

    Reply

  2. runsaltrun

    When I do speed work or my long run, I do a mile warm up at an easy pace. I don’t usually stretch beforehand though. Maybe I should pay more attention to that once I get back out there. I do stretch before races though!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yes, I’m the same way, I stretch before a race or long run; however, do not stretch before everyday runs and such. I might use the roller over my legs before I get into it, but nothing too intense. Thanks so much for the response!! 🙂

      Reply

  3. 2 Cups 'N Run

    Great point, and I definitely agree that warming up is absolutely necessary. Your body needs adjusting to the activity, and be it a bit longer for some and shorter for others, we all need that adjustment period when our bodies go to inactivity and resting heart rate, to high activity and higher heart rate.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yes, so true!! This is a really great point! A warm-up is a great tool that should be used in preparing the body for work! Thanks so much for your comment!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yes, along with my right IT Band, my right hip is sometimes a bit tight during runs, so I need to loosen my hips up, too!! Thanks so much for the comment!! 😉

      Reply

  4. cheryltruett

    I wish I could say I did a better job of warming up before I run. Yet another thing my husband mentions I should start doing. Haha. I’m certainly going to take all the advice here and learn from it. 🙂 thanks for sharing!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much and yes, my husband kept telling me (and telling me) to warm-up and I finally decided to listen! 😉 It really does help! I appreciate the comment!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, yeah, I get it, though!!! I never wanted to warm up before races because I thought it would make me extra tired, but it really does help a great deal!

      Reply

  5. nxalone

    Well said on warming up! When I’m running for time I normally warm up with just a mile or so. Nothing crazy. Just fine tune the play list and prepare for the gloriously awesome torment my body will soon feel. If I am running just for kicks and gigs I tend to just start off slowly and just slowly increase my speed. Although I wonder from time to time if I warmed up for those runs if they would be “better”?.An experiment is in order!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, yes, I do agree that for an everyday run, I do not warm up but if I did, it might help to loosen my legs up! Experiment away and report back! 😉 Thank you for your nice comment!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

