Strange title? For sure!

The shiny, golden swimmer on top of a shiny, golden trophy…

Image

We’ve all seem them. Maybe you haven’t seen a swimmer person, but you’ve definitely seen a runner person on top of a trophy, right? Oh, don’t be modest, come on, we all know you’re a fabulously fast runner that has earned many, many trophies over the years. I’m sure some of them, in fact, have collected some dust (like mine) from standing so strong for so many years. Its okay, the swimmer person, runner person, gymnast person, and maybe even baseball person have all accepted that you love them, cherish them, and value them; however, are no longer the bright and shiny new toy that they once were. They are a mere reminder of…well, your great athletic ability and of course, a reminder of how awesome you are! Duh!

As I stare at some of my trophies, looking at both the inscription on the bottom and the figure on top, I can’t help but wonder how it would feel to be that person. The gymnast in a handstand split, the swimmer swimming butterfly, the tap dancer striking a pose, the runner hitting that perfect stride…they are all amazing images that represent what we, as people, consider to be the glorified icon of the sport. The person on top of the trophy has it all…

Perfect technique…adoration…love…hope for the future…

Isn’t that what we all want…to be loved and adored for our abilities and talents?

And not just in sports, but also in life… right?

Image

Well, the reason I’m writing this post and using this (possibly) strange analogy is to tell you that…

You are not made of steel. It’s okay to feel weak and vulnerable. We are all humans living our lives one day at a time, trying to figure things out as we go along. There may be that perfect moment, maybe even many perfect moments in your life, but we can’t expect to always be perfect, right? We have ups and downs and many turnarounds, and even some dead ends that lead us to reevaluate our lives…

That’s human nature.

The second reason I’m writing this post (and again using this (possibly) strange analogy) is quite simple:

For a long time now, I’ve felt like I was unwillingly hoisted on top of a shiny, golden trophy as this shiny swimming star. No, I’m not Michael Phelps, but I’m known throughout my community as a very fast swimmer, especially a very fast butterfly swimmer. I’ve been told by many people in and around my community (even out of state) that I “will qualify for the Olympic trials.” Like, for sure! Um, yeah, I had never even thought about this, well, not until people (even strangers) kept saying it…

The Olympic trials…

 I’ve fallen off of my trophy many times from this remark; swimming horribly in my meets because I was too afraid…I was just too afraid to let “everyone” (meaning the people that have seen me swim) down. I felt like I couldn’t get back to the happy swimmer I once was. I was in a constant state of pressure and I wilted…

I stopped swimming for many months…I gave it up to pursue running. I couldn’t take the constant pressure (or what I interpreted as pressure) of being that shiny, perfect swimmer on top of a shiny, new trophy.

BUT, I’m back swimming again and I’ve cut myself a huge break.

I still hear the compliments (almost every day), but I don’t focus on them like I used to. I take them in, thank the person, and then go along with my swim. I know that I’m swimming because I love it, because it makes me feel free and most importantly because it makes me feel confident.

Of course, I love competing and swimming really fast, but I no longer focus on the pressure of it all and I have to say, I feel much better! So these days, I’m swimming and running and definitely enjoying life!

Image

WHY DO YOU LOVE WHAT YOU LOVE? HAVE YOU EVER FELT LIKE A PERSON ON TOP OF A TROPHY?

Xoxo,

Kristin

 

  1. Marc

    I felt like a star tennis player on top of my MAC trophy. I never lived up to my potential, but I have the memories of playing.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, thank you! From stopping and now starting again, I have a loooong way to go, but I do appreciate your kind comment! You’re so sweet! I’m actually doing aquathlons which are run-swim-runs this summer!! I’ve never been a fan of cycling but maybe one day!! 😉 Have a great day!

      Reply

  2. Julie the Workaholic

    Loved this post!

    Having NEVER been athletic (last kid picked for dodge ball in elementary school, etc.), I tried EVERYTHING that sounded like fun in hopes of finding something, anything that I would enjoy doing so that I could put some activity into my daily life. At 47 years of age, I picked up my first barbell and never looked back. Some days I feel like I SHOULD be on the top of a trophy, and other days I am simply proud that I worked out even though I didn’t feel like it. I do it because I love the whole “being strong” concept. (And it doesn’t hurt that my body comp has changed for the better, either. 😉 )

    To me it’s a foreign concept, being so good at a sport that one can compete and even WIN. I have mad respect for athletes who do. The recent Winter Games had me in awe of what the human body is capable of doing. 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Wow, you are so fantastic! Seriously, I really appreciate you taking time to comment on my post! Awesome! Lifting weights and exercising is fantastic because it makes you feel strong and alive and so confident and you definitely ARE all of these things! Oh and beautiful, too! The human body is truly an amazing thing! What some peoples bodies allow them to do! WOW! You are right! Thanks so much and have a beautiful day!!

      Reply

  3. weight2lose2013

    I was very athletic when I was younger, but decided to go into music instead. I don’t have any trophies (but plenty of songs!) Now, I have the greatest trophy possible – a portrait of my 3 boys on my fireplace mantle. 🙂 Their shine never wears off.

    Reply

  4. 2 Cups 'N Run

    I try to not let myself get too competitive with myself, because I don’t want to ruin running/swimming/etc for myself. I run because I like it, to stay in shape, because it makes me and keeps me happy.
    Sure it would be awesome to be a really good/fast runner (which Im not and never will be), same as it would be great to look like a supermodel, be the CEO of this huge successful company, etc.
    As much ad it’s good to push forward and try “your” best, trying to be “the” best will mostly put you up for failure.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      All good points!! I love all the reasons you stay active, too!! They are great and very inspiring! 😉 Everyone has a different path and I do believe doing your best is all you can ever ask of yourself! Exercise should be something that makes you happy and makes you feel strong and powerful, not weak and broken down!! Have a great day!!

      Reply

  5. courtruns4cupcakes

    Love this analogy! People always ask me why I don’t run track or cross country and I tell them I’m worried it would make me hate running. I run because I enjoy it not because I have to or want to win every single race.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much! Yes, so true!! Sometimes the pressure of competition can really ruin the fun…and I felt like that with swimming (at least for a while), but now I’m back with it because I love it! 😉 I’m so happy you enjoy running because you’re great at it!

      Reply

  6. advocare distributor

    Back in the day I was quite the track star and of all the medals that I did win there is one race that meant the most to me and I false started TWICE and was disqualified. So I understand about cracking under pressure.

    After that race I still went on to get a full ride scholarship and rebound from that low. The trick is to continue to despite the falls. It does not really matter the timeframe to get back on the horse AS LONG AS YOU GET BACK ON!

    GOOD JOB GIRL! KEEP BEING THE BUTTERFLY!

    Regards,
    Clifford Mitchem
    Advocare Distributor
    Nutrition + Fitness = Health
    http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

    Reply

  7. racesweightsandproteinshakes

    Great post girl! I definitely can understand how all of that pressure can get the best of you sometimes. Sounds like you have a great mind frame around it now though and can go back to enjoying it and doing it solely for you, that’s what it’s all about right?! Great job, keep pushing forward!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, thanks so much for your comment!! This is exactly what I needed to hear today! Really, thank you! 😉 This week has been good, mindset wise, so I’m pushing forward and swimming every workout for me! And yes, you are right, working out should be fun and I should be swimming because I love it and it makes my happy!! 🙂 🙂 Thanks again! Have a great day!

      Reply

  8. teawithme3

    I’m so glad I follow your blog. I’m glad your swimming again. :). I know what you mean about the pressure – I feel like that sometimes. But your right we aren’t perfect and it’s ok to feel comfortable not being perfect. :). Thanks.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, this is such a fabulous comment!! THANK YOU!! You are 100% right!! It’s not about being perfect, it’s about being us…swimming the best we can and loving it! Thanks so much!! Have a great day!! Xoxo!!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

