I hope everyone is having a productive Thursday!!! I ran AND swam today so I’m feeling pretty good!! I thought I’d share some of my favorite yoga ab work, so here we go!! Part 2 coming tomorrow!

1] EXTENDED BOAT POSE:

Image

Tip: Have some fun and add a twist! Straighten your arms in front of you, interlace your fingers, and slowly twist from one side of your body to the other (touch the floor next to your right hip and then your left hip). For added burn, hold your twist for a few seconds on each side!
(picture from http://www.shape.com)

2] Half Moon Pose:

Image

Tip: Turn up your hip, flex your foot, and rotate your head towards the sky for added core engagement.
(picture from http://www.alaskaartguild.com)

3] THREE-LEGGED DOG:

Image

Tip: Straighten your arms, push through your shoulders, and flex your foot while lengthening your top leg to engage your core. For an added core stretch, bend your top knee, drop it towards your bottom, and open up your hip.
(picture from fitness.allwomenstalk.com)

4] SIDE PLANK POSE:

Image

Tip: For an added side stretch, rotate your top arm over your ear (palms down) while pushing through your bottom arm and lifting through your obliques (forming a crescent position with your body).
(picture from yoga2all.wordpress.com)

5] HANDS AND KNEES BALANCE:

Image

Tip: Push through your arm and leg that’s grounded on the floor and lift your opposite arm and leg as high off the ground as comfortable making sure your hips are square to the ground. For added ab work, move your lifted arm and leg out to the side and hold for a few seconds.
(picture from http://www.athleta.net)

Keep your yoga practice flowing and your mind at peace!!!

Xoxo,

Kristin

    1. Kristin

      You’re right!! Yoga feels sooo good after a run!! I love hip openers, too- it feels awesome when tight!
      Thanks so much for your comment!! Xoxo!!! 🙂

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much and how exciting- starting yoga!! You won’t regret it!! You’ll love these poses, too! Not only do they tone your body, but the stretching aspect feels soooo good!!

      Reply

  1. Running Betty

    Great poses! I can do half of them, kinda! Lol I have a long way to go with my flexibility, but yoga has been great for stretching out my sore running legs and keeping me injury free. 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe! 🙂 Yoga has so many great benefits- strength, flexibility, stamina, tone, balance, plus the mental benefits, too!! It feels wonderful after running!!

      Reply

  2. Open Up Life

    Love these poses and all the benefits of yoga. Yoga is so great for the body, mind and spirit. Did you get to go to Bryan Kest’s workshop? Or is it not the date yet? Would love to know how it was. Peace, love, light.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hi!!! Thank you so much for your beautiful comment!! Bryan Kest’s workshop is Thursday, March 27th!!! I’m so excited to meet him!! I will tell you all about it!!

      Reply

  3. vpreziose

    I certainly need my yoga! With running, biking and swimming…I look forward to my yoga. It really centers me and gives me strength and flexibility. If I had the time, I’d take a yoga class before every run. While I don’t have the time to always fit in a full class, I will incorporate many yoga poses to my stretch before a run. 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much for your response!! You’re so nice!

      I understand a busy schedule and definitely think it’s a great idea to incorporate some of these yoga poses before/after running. 🙂 I swim and run and my husband bikes and runs, so we live our lives with our muscles pretty tight. I’ve even showed my husband some of these yoga poses and he does them some!

      Good luck with all of your training!! I know you have a very busy schedule!! Thanks again!! Have a great day!!

      Reply

  4. frozencokefridays

    I’ve been reading lately that yoga is great for runners! I’ve always thought it looked incredibly boring, but that was before I became a runner myself and now I think I’m starting to see why it’s recommended. Any tips on where or how I should get started?

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yes, yoga is great for runners and I love the various flow routines I do because it simulates some dance postures which I love (I was a dancer/gymnast growing up).
      I practice Bryan Kest’s power yoga from his library of classes (www.poweryoga.com). I absolutely love Bryan Kest and recommend his yoga to the highest degree. I actually get to meet him in a few weeks in DC because I’m going to one of his yoga workshops. I’m so excited! He also has a yoga DVD that is fantastic! It is called Bryan Kest’s Power Yoga Complete Collection. Bryan Kest is like the godfather of power yoga. He has several studios in CA and I’ve been practicing his yoga from home for many, many years!!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

