Hooray, it is finally Friday and I cannot believe that my half-marathon is next Sunday!! The training has flown by so fast that it’s leaving me questioning whether or not I’m ready! Well, irregardless, Shamrock Half Marathon is peaking around the corner crying, “Ready or not, here I come!” My plan of action? Give it all I got baby!

In other news (more relaxing news if you will), I’ve decided to put my fab yogi attitude to good use by becoming a yoga teacher! I’ve developed way too many dynamic flow routines to not share them with other yogi goers. I can’t wait to stand in front of a class and share my irrefutable passion for this ascetic practice. I plan to begin my certification classes sometime during summer. 

Now begins Yoga Abs Part 2!

6] FULL BRIDGE:

Image

Tip: For an added stomach stretch, elevate onto your toes and hold for a few seconds. You can incorporate reps (for an additional burn) by dropping your body down easily to the ground and then quickly pushing up to full bridge position.
(picture from http://www.momasana.com)

7] TABLETOP POSE:

Image

Tip: Make sure your hands and feet are firmly planted on the ground, push through your shoulders, and lift through your hips. When you feel stable, try lifting one of your legs straight out off of the ground so that your knees are touching and at an even height. Hold for a few seconds and then switch legs! Make sure your hips stay square to the ground.
(picture from http://www.athleta.com)

8] TRIPOD HEADSTAND:

Image

Tip: Engage your core, tighten your abs, and maintain good body posture.
(picture from http://www.fitsugar.com)

 9] DOWNWARD FACING DOG WITH KNEE TO NOSE:

Image

Tip: Flow this pose by beginning in plank position and then shifting your hips to downward facing dog. While in down dog position, lift your right foot to the sky (still pushing evening through your shoulders), and then slowly bring your knee to your nose. Switch legs!
(picture from fitness.allwomenstalk.com)

10] SUPERMAN POSE:

Image

Tip: For an added burn, lift your arms and legs up in the air as high as comfortable (making sure your neck is relaxed) and hold for at least a minute!
(picture from mylotuslife.com)

Have a fabulous weekend everyone!! Have so much fun that you just can’t stand it!! 

Xoxo,

Kristin

    1. Kristin

      I will definitely try my hardest to have fun!!! There should be a lot to look at and lots of music and fun! Thank you so much for your comment!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      I love hearing that yoga changed your life!! That is exactly how I feel about yoga, too!!! It really changed me for the better!!! 🙂 Thank you so much for your comment! Have a great weekend!

      Reply

  1. reach-yourpeak

    That tabletop one looks tough! I have tried holding a reverse plank and can barely do it. Clearly need to work on core strength lol. I’m assuming if you have low back issues that you should stay away from the first pose?

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yes, these are all really great exercises!! I love them so much!! I love ab work and am very happy to have my 6 pack back! I feel like my little gymnast self again!! 🙂

      I would think if you’re careful, a bridge or full bridge could really help to alleviate your lower back pain. It’s a great exercise that reverses the natural pull gravity puts on your body. I wouldn’t do full bridge reps or anything but I’d definitely consider building up to holding a bridge for the great stretch it provides.

      I’m not a doctor so I’d definitely consult a professional before trying it out if you’re uncertain. I have lots of knowledge about exercise due to being an athlete for my entire life and having top coaches as references and my husband, an exercise expert, but definitely be careful. Have a great day and thanks so much for your comment!! I love your posts so much!! I really enjoy reading your blog!! 🙂

      Reply

  2. Lauren

    Thank you for posting these. I was doing yoga 4 days a week last summer, and then I stopped going but I really wish I wouldn’t have. I need to start doing it again for sure!

    Reply

Talk to me baby!!

