Good morning everyone!! I hope you had a FUN DAY MONDAY!! Mine? Well, it wasn’t necessarily the best, but I’m happier now that it’s Tuesday. SO, let me continue with TUESDAY NEWS DAY! Don’t ya love the themes? 

Since “News Day” fits so cheerfully with Tuesday, I’m going to go ahead and skip past the fun of Monday because to be honest, there wasn’t much fun to go around. I do believe; however, in being kind and cheerful even when you’re not at your best, so I promise you that I smiled a few hundred times despite my (un)chipper(ish) mood. I do love life and appreciate everything that I have, so why not smile through the bad times, too, right?

If this picture gives you any indication of how my Monday went (and please feel free to use your imagination), then here ya go!! Yes, you do see ice packs galore!! Oh boy…

Image

Yes, my Monday did start off like any other day, with a run (shocking, right?) and although the run was shorter and a lot easier than my normal day-to-day runs, I have to admit, I did not have a good time. In spite of the fact that the weather was a little bit warmer (which was nice) and despite the fact that my mind was a little less overwhelmed (with having to concentrate on pace and time), I had a very depressing run. I had a bad case of the aches…my right leg was throbbing so bad that I thought maybe I should stop. I was unsure why my knee, IT Band, and hip were all ganging up on me at one time (and on that one leg). I didn’t get it. My body had held up fabulously (well, at least up until this run), so WHY NOW???!!! WHY RIGHT BEFORE MY HALF-MARATHON???!!! As I continued my run (in some pain of course), I realized that my body had given me some small signs over the past few weeks that (I guess) I failed to acknowledge. 

After my 11 mile run (averaging 7:36 min/mile) a few weeks ago, I felt like I needed to back off my legs a bit and give them the rest and recovery that they needed, but did I? I guess yes and no because although I did give my body some added rest and recovery (running wise), I overdid it with my other forms of cross-training. I also think that because I’m at the end of my half-marathon training program, my body is just plain tired, also my mind, so I’ve decided, instead of being upset, I’m going to ice down my right leg, roll it out, and most importantly, BE POSITIVE! It does feel better today, too. 

Image

HOW DO YOU FEEL AT THE END OF YOUR TRAINING PROGRAM?

Xoxo,

Kristin 

  1. ashe

    i was so there with you yesterday. I had a throbbing headache. normally it goes away during a run and i feel fine, but yesterday not so much. every pounding step i took I could feel the pain do into my mouth. I cut my 9 mile run into a 3 mile run and just chilled.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much! Those tights are very comfortable!! I love them! Thank you, also, for the great compliment! I’ve really enjoyed my training! 🙂
      The weather is supposed to be pretty nice so I’m happy about that!

      Reply

  2. everythingswaiting

    My body is always tired at the end of my training and I think I always have some mental fatigue too. For my last race I did a two week taper which I think worked in my favor so I am going to do the same for my race in May. Hope you’re all rested and ready to go for race day!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you!! I’m hoping so, too!! I’ve really put a lot of work into training for this race, but I guess whatever is meant to happen will happen, so I’m hoping for the best! 🙂
      A two week taper sounds like a good idea and something I will probably do next half marathon or at least back off cross-training more.
      Thanks so much for your comment and advice!! 🙂

      Reply

  3. weight2lose2013

    OMG, I hope that you’ll be fine for the marathon coming up. I would imagine that you have to rest up a bit as not to irritate your body. I know that I’ve had a good workout/training when I’m utterly exhausted at the end of the day, but rejuvenated and energetic in the mornings.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, thank you for your kind comment!! I’m definitely resting up some and backing off my normal routine. I’m thinking I’ll be fine!! 🙂 My leg does feel better today!

      Reply

  4. piratebobcat

    I’m sure you’ll be fine come race day! Even if it does hurt, know that you can get healed afterwards.
    I’m always fighting little twinges by the end of training. I just did the Disney Dopey Challenge and I had some aches and pains, but nothing serious. I credit my injury-freeness to my cross training, mainly. I’ve battled IT issues before and I know it’s not fun.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you!! You’ve really made me feel better. I appreciate it! I definitely needed to hear this! If I’m a little sore, it will still be fine. Thanks!
      Yes, yoga has really helped my IT Band tightness and pain, but I think I overdid the swimming kick this week so it kind of added fuel to the fire with my IT pain.
      Have a great day!!! 🙂

      Reply

  5. jennslife22

    Stay positive! It really helps to think positive when you’re having a bad day. Positive thoughts will bring positive situations. I hope your leg feels better soon 🙂

    Reply

  6. Scott D.

    I feel your pain. I’m still trying to recover from Sunday’s LA Marathon and right now stairs are my nemesis. RICE that leg (oh, rolling sucks but feels so good too), stay upbeat and you’ll bounce back.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, thanks so much!! Great advice and I appreciate your positive, upbeat comment!
      Great job on the LA Marathon, too- that’s so awesome! You rock!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, thanks so much! You’re so funny!! Oh and my husband has been!! He treats me like a princess!! 🙂
      Thank you, too for the well wishes!!! You’re so sweet!

      Reply

  7. Angie

    Rest, roll and stretch lots. Your running base isn’t going to disappear so I’m quite sure you will be just fine for your race. Injuries are good forms of mental training. I think they show up when they do just to try to freak us out.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Gosh, this is very, very true. I do agree that injuries can show up as a mental test. Thank you for the reassurance and you made some really great points!! I’m rolling lots and resting a lot! Have a great day! 🙂 🙂

      Reply

  8. alsoranagain

    I’m sorry to hear about this setback. Rest, rest, rest. And try to squeeze in a massage (although make sure it’s at least a few days before the race). A great sports massage can make a huge difference!

    Reply

  9. Running Betty

    I’m sorry that your leg is giving you grief, and so close to your race. 😦 With rest, I’m sure you’ll be 100% by race day. I took the whole week off before my last marathon and ended up feeling stronger than ever on race day. Hang in there! I know you’ll have a great race!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Kristine! I’ve decided that whatever is supposed to happen will, so I’m going to go out there Sunday and give it my best! If it is not everything I was hoping for, there will be other half marathons. I appreciate your comment and can’t wait to hear about your races coming up!! 🙂 🙂

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, wow, oh my gosh, you really made my day! This song is so beautiful just like you!! I love Toy Story so much and I really appreciate this! You are sooo sweet!!

      Reply

  10. 2 Cups 'N Run

    You work so hard! Only you know if you overdid it which in this case seems the answer is yes… please take it very easy until your half.
    For me, even though I’ve been racing relatively often, I haven’t upped the intensity of my training except for adding a bit of distance to my long run. I don’t feel at all tired from recent training, but I have been thinking a break might be a good idea after race season is over.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks!! I appreciate your concern!! I’ll be fine! 🙂 I’m just so thankful I’m healthy and happy so no worries! I’m so new to racing (running wise) so I’ll figure everything out!! I hope you have the best day and thanks for being so sweet!! 🙂 🙂

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

