..AND THE WINNER IS (gasps from the crowd)…BIG FISH!!!!!!!!

BIG FISH (2003)
DIRECTED BY TIM BURTON

This is really the first movie I remember completely breaking down and sobbing. My gosh, what a flood I created in my living room! I’m a sucker for *quotetastic* movies, that is, movies that have such creative, inspiring, fabulous, “this is the meaning of life” kind of lines! 
 

SOME OF MY FAVORITE LINES:
 
1] “Sometimes, the only way to catch an uncatchable woman is to offer her a wedding ring.” Senior Ed Bloom
(I’d like to think I was the “uncatchable women”…my husband says I was…so how did he reel me in? Well, he put a ring on it of course! Okay, you caught me (Get it? Ha-ha!)… I just told a little fib (Shhh… don’t tell…) because, well, he had me at “Hey, would you like to go to the beach with me sometime?” Awe, he can be so “quotetastic” sometimes!)
 
 
Image
 
2] “A man tells his stories so many times that he becomes the stories. They live on after him, and in that way he becomes immortal.” Will Bloom
(Let me just say that this one quote has inspired me far beyond any other line I have ever heard in my entire life! Every time I hear this line, well, at first I break into tears, but then I reflect upon the meaning…it hits me that everything my dad has ever done or said will, in consequence, be forever imprinted in my bones, in my heart, and in my mind…and well, that is a beautiful thing! As a kid, you might not necessarily enjoy listening to your dad ramble on about this or that, but as time moves forward, you realize…well, I realized (because I can only speak from personal experience) that my dad has taught me so many valuable “life lessons” that have carried me through some really tough times. My dad loves and supports everyone in our family! He’s the best!)

 Image
 
3] “They say when you meet the love of your life, time stops, and that’s true. What they don’t tell you is that when it starts again, it moves extra fast to catch up.” Senior Ed Bloom
(Um, how cute is this quote? It is amazing how fast time goes by…sad almost…but quite “amazing” to think about all the memories collected! What an album Marc and I have!)

 Image
 

4] “I’ve been nothin’ but myself since the day I was born, and if you can’t see that it’s your failin’, not mine.” Senior Ed Bloom
(I can really relate to this quote! I have never fooled myself or anyone else into thinking that I am anyone but who I am, which is me of course!)

 Image

5] “You were a big fish in a small pond, but this here is the ocean and you’re drownin’. Take my advice, go back to Puddleville; you’ll be happy there.” Amos Calloway
(Okay, so this is definitely a relatable quote right? How many times have you been told that you couldn’t do something? That you were not made for the “big stage”?Never let someone bully you into thinking that you are not capable of doing whatever it is that you dream about at night! You can and you should!)

 Image
 
6] “It was the night I discovered that most things you consider evil or wicked are simply lonely, and lackin’ in the social niceties.”
(This is an important one because a lot of what a person does is tagged as good, bad, or ugly. We are quick to react and judge, also label a person with a single word. Look deeper and find the why behind the who!)

Image 

WATCH IT, LOVE IT, BE QUOTETASTIC!!

TELL ME YOUR STORY! WHAT WILL LIVE ON AFTER YOU?

DO YOU LIKE “QUOTETASTIC” MOVIES? WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE MOVIE?
  1. weight2lose2013

    Tim Burton is amazing. That movie resonates with me because my dad died when I was young and I remember watching this movie and getting very emotional over it. The movie is beautiful, and among my favorites.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      I’m so glad you like this movie, too!! I’m sorry to hear about your dad and I definitely see why this movie was an emotional experience. It is truly beautiful.
      A lot of people I know haven’t seen this movie and they really should! There is definitely a lot to reflect upon.

      Reply

  2. runsaltrun

    Oh my gosh Big Fish is one of my FAVORITES!! I cry literally every single time I see it. I feel like I don’t know that many people who have ever heard of it! It’s such a beautiful film and those quotes are all amazing. 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      AWESOME!!! I feel the same exact way!! I don’t know many people at all that have watched this movie! So great and I know, I cry every time I watch it!

      Reply

  3. kathleenb85

    I had the opportunity to see Big Fish the musical in Chicago last spring. It went to Broadway but sadly it closed after a few months (reviews were not good, but it had an amazing cast). I had never heard of the movie but right after I saw the musical (which i absolutely LOVED), I saw the movie too. I would highly suggest listening to the music from the musical… it was GREAT!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh wow!!! I never knew it was a musical!! That’s so cool!! I love it!! I will definitely listen!! What a great suggestion!! Thank you and I’m so happy you liked the show and the movie!! I really wish I could have seen the musical!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      I’ve seen Amelie several times!! My roommates in college LOVED that movie!! I took French in high school and in college so I appreciated the movie and really liked it a lot! 🙂

      Reply

  4. RainyWriter

    I can’t believe I have never seen that movie … I’ve heard of it … now I better go rent it.

    My personal favorite quotable movie is – The Princess Bride…. it has something for everyone!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yes, go rent it and Princess Bride is a fantastic movie with many great lines!! Have a great weekend!! 😉 Thank you so much for your comment and for your support!!

      Reply

  5. Open Up Life

    I have never seen the movie Big Fish, but I’m sure I would like it. There are many different movies that I have seen and that I like. I am more into the romance, comedy, love story, life, true stories. The one movie that I could watch over and over (and have too many times to count) is Eat, Pray, Love. I think it’s relates to many people whose daily routine is always the same. Nothing changes, no spark, no passion, a feeling of emptiness. When you realize that your appetite for life has fizzled out, you look for ways to bring that back. Julia Roberts played in this movie and she travels to India, Rome and Bali looking to get her spark back. Now, you don’t have to travel around the world to find what you are looking for. You could go to the beach, a park, somewhere quiet or visit a place you’ve never been right in your own city. There is an inner divine withing us all and that Light never goes out, sometimes it just needs to recharge.

    “Love is an experience of oneself, within oneself.” ~Yogi Bhagan

    Thank you for sharing this great story! Have a beautiful day. Peace, love, light. Tammy

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      I love the movie Eat, Pray, Love!!! Julia Roberts is such an outstanding actress! Love her! I absolutely LOVE love stories, too!! You’re right- there is so much you can do to get back your appetite for life (and without traveling)!! I can absolutely relate to your quote and THANK YOU for sharing your favorite movie!! Have a beautiful week!! 🙂 🙂

      Reply

  6. leerunsdistances

    Okay I don’t have one favorite “quotetastic” movie Kristin I have like 4 … “Remember The Titans”, “The Pursuit of Happiness”, “Blindside”, and “We Are Marshall”

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      I absolutely LOVE these movies!! They are so awesome and inspirational!!! Remember The Titans is one of my favorite movies, too and I love Blindside!! I’m a huge fan of Michael Oher!!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

