ImageImage

Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone!!!

I remember thinking last week…”Okay Kristin, when it’s St. Patrick’s Day, you will be done with your half marathon!”

It is now St. Patrick’s Day, so guess what? I’M DONE WITH MY HALF MARATHON!!!

Party time?! Well, not exactly because uh, I can’t really move that much. I mean, I can hobble around and stuff, but even that’s a bit of a challenge. I’M SORE!!!!!

I don’t mind being sore though because soreness = acknowledgement that I gave it my all!! I put everything on the line and came out of Shamrock Half Marathon a success!!! I’m overwhelmed with joy!!

With this race being my first “real” half marathon (one that I actually trained for as opposed to one I did a few years ago with no training + tons of rain), my original goal (going into my roughly 12 week training period) was to get under a 1:40! 

Let me be very specific, I’m a new runner! Going into my half marathon training (12 weeks ago), I ran an average of 12 miles a week! That’s it! Although I know a lot about running and a lot about training (because I’ve been around it for so long), I’m a very new racer! In the past, I’ve put most of my energy into swimming, but that’s all different now. I’m beginning to put equal effort into both swimming and running, which I love! I now run about 30 miles a week!! It’s great!!

BUT back to my Shamrock Half Marathon recap (http://www.shamrockmarathon.com/)!!

ARE YOU READY?!

It all started Saturday morning!! My right leg was still very sore and to be honest, I was very afraid! I needed to run 3 easy miles that morning before I left for the expo. I drove to the Yorktown Battlefields with my husband, got out of the car, and did it! Instead of running an easy pace (like originally prescribed), I decided to run a semi moderate pace to get my legs moving. I had a need for speed baby and honestly, my legs didn’t want any part of it. As I stood by the side of the road, now done with my 3 miles, waiting for my husband to finish his 5, I was basically in tears. My right leg was throbbing and I didn’t know what to do. I mean, after all, what could I do? I could either suck it up or give in to the tears, right?

I decided to think positive and it worked!

The 30 minute drive to Virginia Beach was fun! I even took some pictures!! Surprise, surprise!!! 

Image
Smile pretty!!
Image
Going through the tunnel!!
Image
My husband driving!!
Image
Lots of traffic!!

 THE EXPO!!! The Virginia Beach Convention center was very crowded. After all, there were about 10,000 people signed up for the half marathon. I think about 9,000 people actually ran it, though! Irregardless, there were lots of people meandering around, taste testing Nuun, trying on cute headbands, and buying anything that looked the least bit green (in honor of St. Patrick’s Day)! Haha, I loved it!! I had my bib, my husband had his bib, so we were good to go!! We left and ate some really yummy food at Whole Foods!! I’m a big believer in eating certified organic foods (also using organic makeup, hair products and everything else, but that’s another post)! I ate a scrumptious veggie burger, also black beans, sauteed mushrooms, sweet potato wedges, and a crumbled blueberry brownie for dessert. Can you say fabulous??!! It was out of this world delicious!

Image
The Expo + the Nuun booth (my favorite)!

 RACE DAY!! What?! Already?! YES, there wasn’t anytime for NO time because it was GO time!! 

Let’s get after it! I got up at 4:30 am, ate half of a bagel, drank a little coffee, had a little Nuun, watched some TV, and then relaxed for a bit. At about 5:45 am, we drove from our hotel to a nearby parking lot (that was a few blocks away from the start), got out of the car, rolled out our legs, put on a sweatshirt, and then made our way to the start line! We stopped at a porta potty on the way to corral 1 (which was our corral). The music was blasting and the crowd was hyped, so I felt a surge of energy.

Image

There’s always time for Nuun!

THE START!! About a minute from the start, I threw off my sweatshirt and the work began! 

My pace stayed steady throughout the entire race. I ran next to my husband for 13.1 miles and although we didn’t talk much, his presence was enough to keep me calm. 

I experienced some random leg twitches throughout the race, but overall I felt pretty good. I stayed focused, mentally strong, and didn’t let little things get to me (like the wind, uneven pavement, lots of runners, etc.).

The fans really helped to pull me along on some of the long straightaways: There were bells ringing, whistles being blown, loud cheering, lots of colorful signs, and even some adorable dogs on the course. I’m sorry, but no matter how much pain I’m in, I will always smile when I see a dog!! I love animals so much!! My Italian mastiff, Prince, said he was cheering me on from his pet hotel room!! I believe it!!

Image

THE FINISH!! Thank you, THANK YOU, I was finally about to finish! Despite the horrible, gusting wind that lasted 3 whole miles (that caused some people around me to fall off) and the fatigue that had built up in my legs, I finished strong! I began tearing up the last mile and wasn’t even sure I’d be able to smile (for the finish) because my body was so exhausted. My husband ran through the shoot and I followed behind, crossing the finish line, and then literally grabbing his arm (not to embrace him may I add) in a desperate attempt to not fall over. My momentum was so forceful and my legs were so tired that I thought I might just hit the ground, but I didn’t!

Image

Me holding onto Marc after the finish with all of my KT Tape on!!

MY CHIP TIME!! 1:37:50!!! I was so happy!!! After 3 months of training, my goal had changed (before the race) from getting under 1:40 to getting under 1:38. I DID IT!!

MY PACE!! 7:28 min/mile!! I’d also like to report that my actual pace (from my Garmin watch) was 7:24 min/mile having run 13.2! That’s exciting, right?!

ImageImageImage

MY SPLITS!!

Mile 1 (7:26), Mile 2 (7:24), Mile 3 (7:20), Mile 4 (7:26), Mile 5 (7:31), Mile 6 (7:25), Mile 7 (7:25), Mile 8 (7:26), Mile 9 (7:28), Mile 10 (7:19), Mile 11 (7:24), Mile 12 (7:23), Mile 13 (7:28), .2 (1:16)

Image

I’d also like to thank everyone for your loving support!! You guys are so sweet and I can’t imagine my life without you!! THANK YOU!!

I should be able to download my photos by the end of the week, so for now, thumbnails!!

My next half marathon?! The Crawlin’ Crab Half Marathon October 5th!

Xoxo,

Kristin 

  1. thedancingrunner

    I saw my friend’s medal that ran this one and it’s gorgeous! Nice bling for sure! You did so awesome and are such a strong runner! Way to go on breaking 1:40!!! I hope to do that one day. My PR is 1:45. Enjoy this recovery week so you can get back out there and kick some more booty!! 🙂 🙂

    Reply

  2. Scott D.

    Congrats on the race and besting your goal, all in spite of the discomfort and pain. I have a feeling all of the pain temporarily disappeared when you saw you time (and probably sported an ear-to-ear grin). Enjoy your hobbling today and do something to spoil yourself. You deserve it. And kudos to your husband for being that rock at your side.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, thank you so much!! Haha, yes, I’m still hobbling but it has suddenly turned into a good hobbling (like you said) after finishing the race at goal pace and now, being so happy about it. I’m giving myself some days off and will spoil myself for sure! 😉

      Reply

      1. lawrunner

        BTW – You look great! Does the KT Tape work? I bought some but haven’t used it yet.

      2. Kristin

        Thank you so much!! You’re so kind!! 😉
        Yes, the KT Tape is great!! I’ve used it for a long time now and love the support it provides!! My husband does a fabulous job of taping me up! If you ever have questions about how to tape a certain part of your body, there are awesome videos on http://www.kttape.com!!

      3. RainyWriter

        Ohh … I am going to interrupt here haha. My wife uses KT tape too … and she things it definitely helps with her Achilles tendonitis issues. She uses the more elastic one (not the cotton one) … as it stays on better in water too.

  3. HopeAgainstHopeRunning

    Congrats on a great race! I’ve almost signed up for Shamrock a couple of times, but I’ve never pulled the trigger. Sounds like a fun, high energy race, so I’ll think about it more seriously for 2015. I ran the inaugural Crawlin’ Crab Half — it’s another fun one. Will be following your blog as I really like reading about other VA runs and runners.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      I am now following your blog, too!! Can’t wait to read!!
      Thanks so much! I really appreciate your kindness and I’m glad Crawlin’ Crab is a good one!! Awesome!! Thank you so much for your support!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Wow, thank you so much!! I tried to go out about the same pace I thought I could finish with. I’m happy the wind didn’t hurt me too much!!! You’re awesome- thanks again!! 😉 😉

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks!!! 😉 That’s what I’m hoping!! I’m excited to train for some 5ks and for my summer run-swim-runs and then for another half in October! I appreciate your encouragement!!! Makes me feel good!

      Reply

  4. troyloves2run

    Congratulations again! That’s awesome that despite the circumstances you were facing you managed to succeed your goal. I have noticed that training for my half has helped me in busting my 5K PR this past Saturday. When I was in the 5K class, I think I was averaging about 10+ miles a week; now I am at about 30 miles per week. To be honest, I enjoy running the extra mileage and my plans are to continue it. Keep up the good work; reading your posts inspires me 😉

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      I love that we’re going through the same type of thing- running 10ish miles to now 30! That’s so cool! You’re right, too that increasing mileage definitely helps with 5ks. That is absolutely right!
      I’m so happy that you PRed Saturday!! I know you have to be feeling so good and you deserve to feel on top of the world! Great job again!! Thanks for the encouragement! I love reading your posts and mapping your journey, too! It’s great and equally inspiring!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much!! You are beyond sweet! 😉
      I admire you for running and for pushing towards your goals!! It’s never easy, but I know you’ll do it because you’re strong!!!! STRONG! 😉

      Reply

  5. absgoldberg

    Congratulations!!! That is such an incredible time, especially for someone who is newer to racing. It sounds like you really worked hard for it 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      I’m so thankful for your support and yes, I’m loving my soreness because it means that I have no regrets!! I went out there and did everything that I could do! 😉 It feels so good to know that! Thank you so much!!! 😉

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, XOXO!!! THANKS! 😉
      My legs are still very store today but I’m not scheduled to run until Saturday. I’m swimming the next few days to try to loosen up my legs!
      Have a great day!! Thanks again for your support!

      Reply

  6. leerunsdistances

    Nice post Kristin and that’s some amazing performance chica!! If that’s your first “official” half mary with proper training I can’t wait to see what you do for an encore. Enjoy the recovery period and I hope that your leg issue is improving. Once again, nice job superstar!! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      I really love how supportive you are!! You are SO kind and such a great person!! I really appreciate it!! My leg is doing good. My right knee is a little tender but should recover soon. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!!! Have a wonderful day and week!!! 😉 😉

      Reply

      1. leerunsdistances

        Eh’ no problem and your welcome! That’s the beauty of the running community. It’s for the most part just one big love fest lol 🙂 😉

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much!! The medal is very pretty so I’m happy about that! 😉
      And YOU WILL break 1:40, I just know it!! You’re such an awesome runner and you have great persistence!! With everything that has/is being thrown at you, you are the toughest person I know!

      Reply

  7. reach-yourpeak

    wow what an inspiration you are! I can’t imagine running sub 2 hours yet in a half. I want to get there though! This race is on my bucket list. Though I heard last year was windy too…so idk! Awesome job!!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much!!! I’m thinking I’ll definitely do it next year, but yes, the 3 miles on Fort Story (so miles 7,8,9 I think) are pretty windy. That’s the only problem….
      I know you can go sub 2 hours, too!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Wow, THANK YOU!!!! At about mile 7, I was questioning whether or not I should have gone out that pace, but was happy to see I stayed pretty consistent. Thanks for being so awesome and so supportive!!

      Reply

  8. daydreamsandshoestrings

    I love this post!!! First – you two are ADORABLE!!! I love that you train/run/race with your hubby. I’ve also recently gotten my husband into running, and you said it perfectly above: “I ran next to my husband for 13.1 miles and although we didn’t talk much, his presence was enough to keep me calm.” I 100% understand. Second – you are a ROCKSTAR! 🙂 I’m so impressed and inspired to keep chugging along in hopes of one day reaching those stats. I’m SO HAPPY for you that you not only reached, but BROKE your secret goal…it is SUCH a feeling of accomplishment! Thanks for a great race recap! Looking forward to following your next journey.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you for the fabulous compliments!!! Your words have really inspired me and I’m so thankful to you for your kindness and for your support! 🙂
      My husband is my best friend so I love that we run together and race together!! He’s so great, too because his half marathon race time would be in the 1 hr and 27 minute range, so he sacrifices running at his pace to run with me. He is a great one! 😉
      Thanks again for your lovely comment and you’re so sweet and have such a kind heart!!

      Reply

  9. RainyWriter

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

    Your splits look pretty consistent overall … WOW.

    And what I like the BEST about this? Well, actually 2 things…

    1) The way you loved running together with your other half. I totally like that the best too.

    2) How when you were telling about getting to the race… you sounded TOTALLY excited…and that is the way I am too. Events are sooooooo exciting to me. 🙂

    You totally rock!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      You’re awesome! Thank you!!
      I have to agree with ya!!! 😉 Races are pretty exciting and although the nerves kick in some beforehand, the excitement helps to tame the doubt/nervousness. I do love experiencing these great and somewhat painful (haha) moments with my husband, too- he’s such an awesome supporter and my biggest fan, so I wouldn’t have it any other way!
      Thanks again for your great support! YOU rock!!!

      Reply

  10. elihawkins6

    I’m so stink’n jealous! You killed it, kid! Well done. very well don, indeed. As for the trouble walking around, all I can recommend is the foam roller. That thing saved me from so man injuries and post-race pains its ridiculous. Keep up the good work!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, thank you SO much!! I appreciate it!! I’m very happy with it!! Foam roller is a great suggestion!! I’ve been rolling my legs out some and thankfully they’re getting better!

      Reply

  11. Amy Christine

    Congrats girl!! I am so proud of you! You have been working so hard to get ready for this race!! And you did it under your goal time!!!

    YOU ARE A ROCK STAR!!!!

    I love the quote, “Soreness = acknowledges that I gave it my all”.

    Ps, the tunnel shot is so cool. We don’t have tunnels to drive in here in Florida so when I go somewhere that does I usually freak out with excitement!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, I love the feeling of driving through a tunnel! It’s a neat feeling for sure! Oh, how I wish I lived in Florida though! I love it and used to visit almost every summer growing up!
      My husband and I along with my parents and sister are all going to Disney World this coming Thanksgiving so I’m excited to visit Florida again!
      Thank you for the compliments, too!! Very sweet!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, wow, xoxo!!! Thank you so very much!!! I appreciate your support!!! I agree with you, too- it is very inspiring to see runners reach their goals!!

      Reply

  12. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com

    WOW! You really killed it. You can kick that new runner title to the curb! I love to read that you left it all out on the course, even if you are super sore… it’s totally worth it, right?! I love the medal this year, too. Congrats again!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, thank you so much!! You’re so sweet!! 🙂 I love the medal, too and haha, no more new runner, right?! That’s awesome!!! 🙂
      And being sore is totally worth going for it!!!

      Reply

  13. Hayley (Oat Couture)

    Yayyy! I knew you would absolutely kill it!! What an awesome race!! I was just sat catching up on blogs and it suddenly popped into my head ‘Ooh I need to find out how Kristin’s race went!’ I have since spent about 30 minutes catching up on all of your posts! (Bloody love Easter holidays!) You are a whirlwind, girl! 😀 Well done again on a fabulous race!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Ohhhh Hayley, it’s SO good to hear from you!!! I MISS YOU!!! XOXO!!! Thank you so much for your kindness and for catching up!!! You’re the best and so sweet!!! Thank you, THANK YOU!!! Have a marvelous day!!!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

