Hey everyone!!! How is it going? I hope you’re having a great start to a well, cold and yucky Monday (at least here in Virginia). The weather has been C-R-A-Z-Y lately and yeah, like 80 degrees one day and 30 the next!! Huh?! In fact the weather has been SO crazy that I can’t even keep up (and I’m a runner!!! Hehe!!)! I have two different sets of clothes ready to go at all times (one set, shorts and a tank top and the other set, long pants with a sweatshirt) in case the weather decides to completely flip flop right in the middle of the day!! Man, oh man, what weather!!

But anyways, moving right along…

I’m guessing you all know about my weekend, well, my C-R-A-Z-Y Saturday to be more specific! Yesterday was pretty tame in comparison, which HEY, I’m not complaining about, especially after Saturday’s mishap! Yesterday, I ran 4 easy miles (still recovering from my half marathon from a week ago) and did some yoga! It felt so good to energize, tone, and to sweat baby, also to stretch and relax at the very end of Bryan Kest’s class (thanks to www.poweryoga.com, I can do his classes at home) and you all know how much I LOOOOVE Bryan Kest!!

In fact, I get to meet Bryan Kest THURSDAY at his power yoga workshop in DC!!!

O-M-G!!!! Can you believe it?! It’s about time, right?!

5 LESSONS BRYAN KEST HAS TAUGHT ME:

1] NEVER COMPARE YOURSELF TO OTHERS!

2] BE WHERE YOU’RE AT AND BE HAPPY WITH IT!

3] BREATHE THROUGH THE HECTIC PARTS OF LIFE!

4] LISTEN TO YOUR BODY AND RESPOND ACCORDINGLY!

5] LOVE CONQUERS ALL!

I’ll talk more about Bryan Kest later in the week, but FOR NOW…

I want to share with you some really great vegetarian protein packed sources that I discovered yesterday while Google searching uh, “really great vegetarian protein packed sources”… hehe, I don’t leave much for the imagination now do I?

AND I also found a really awesome vegetarian website (www.nomeatathlete.com) while Google searching, well, you know… “really great vegetarian protein…blah, blah, blah”

BUT first and foremost, let me tell you WHY I’m doing this!

Due to my little scare from Saturday, my “I do not eat enough protein scare” (which to be honest, I was aware of beforehand), I decided to recreate my vegetarian diet plan.

Now, I’ve been a vegetarian for quite a few years and have to say (with a pat on the back) that I’ve done a pretty good job of eating a genuinely organic, nutritious diet with lots of veggies and wholesome foods, but there’s always room for improvement, right?!

YES!!!

I was very lucky to grow up with a health conscious mother that taught me how to eat “organically nutritious” (although not “magically delicious” like Lucky Charms), also how to stand by my decisions (of what I ate) and to not feel guilty for eating brownies, cookies, etc.

We all need brownie days, cupcake days, cookie days, and much more!!!

Image

So true!!!

I made a list of great protein sources for vegetarians and I also physically sat down and typed out my weekly meal plan! I feel Grrrrreat!!!!

Ugh, what’s with all of my lame sugary cereal jokes today?

VEGETARIAN PROTEIN SOURCES:

1] Green peas/chickpeas

2] Quinoa

3] Nuts/Nut butters

4] Lentil beans/black beans

5] Avocados

6] Tofu/veggie burgers/tempeh

7] Edamame

8] Spinach

9] Chia/sesame/poppy/sunflower seeds

10] Non diary milk

11] Protein powder/Cocoa powder

12] Low carb flat breads

13] Dried apricots

14] Greek yogurt

15] Eggs

WHOA, WHAT A LIST TO CHOOSE FROM!!!!

This week, I’ll also share some of my favorite recipes!!! Can’t wait another day?!

Visit www.nomeatathlete.com for some great inspiration!!

WHAT ARE SOME OF YOUR FAVORITE PROTEIN PACKED MEALS?!

Image

Hehe, I want a bunny! They’re so cute! My husband said no…

Have a fabulous day everyone!!!!

Xoxo,

Kristin

    1. Kristin

      Haha, I know, when I saw this picture, I just couldn’t resist!! That mat is too adorable!!
      Oh, A DATE!! That sounds like so much fun!! I hope you have a great time!! I know what you mean though, yoga is so wonderful, it’s hard to miss!

      Reply

  1. Courtney

    I am not a vegetarian, but I sure do eat a lot of things on that list. My favs are nuts/nut butter and eggs. Can’t get enough!

    Have a great Monday! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Mmmm, I really do enjoy egg sandwiches so I’m definitely going to start eating more of those!!!
      I love almond butter, too- it taste so good on so much!!
      Thanks for your comment!! Have a great day!! 🙂

      Reply

  2. courtruns4cupcakes

    I have MAJOR issues getting enough protein. I hate meat so that is not an option to me no matter what. Right now I feel fine but I know eventually the lack of protein is going to catch up with me. I’m going to try and incorporate as many of the items you listed into my diet. Time to go grocery shopping…

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, I love your response because that’s exactly what I’m about to do- GO GROCERY SHOPPING!!!
      I spent all yesterday making this whole new food plan with the items listed, so I’m feeling a little better!
      I’m like you, too, I need to get a handle on it before I start feeling more negative repercussions.

      Reply

  3. Cat Hiles

    I eat mostly vegetarian too, and I get most of my protein from beans, lentils, and eggs. But I also get through a jar of PB every 10-14 days, so there’s that! Life is so much better with PB 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Okay, now you’ve just made my day because I love meeting other peanut butter enthusiast!! I absolutely LOVE peanut butter so much!! I’ve come to the conclusion that life is just better with it! 😉
      I’m starting back with eggs! They’re great! In fact, I just ate a spinach, black bean, tofu, egg sandwich!! It was quite delicious! 🙂
      I’m going to start eating more lentils, too!! I love lentil soup!
      Thanks so much for your comment and encouragement!! Have a great day!! 🙂

      Reply

  4. piratebobcat

    I grew up on a pretty veggie-less diet. There were rarely any fruits for veg in the house. Once I got older, it took me a while to change that. Now I’m pretty much the opposite – mostly vegetarian with some eggs and fish mixed in. Also, I want to eat all the avocados!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh yes, I love avocados!! They are so yummy!!
      My husband was the same exact way growing up and now, eats lots of eggs and fish, too.
      I love veggies and such, but I definitely need to work on adding more beans and forms of protein. Eggs are great!

      Reply

  5. Charlotte

    I am not vegetarian but I could be! lol I love most vegan dishes. My husband is a paleo eater so that might not mesh in our house! You know, I’ve never done yoga. I should give it a try. I’m not coordinated very well so I’ve always thought it wouldn’t be for me. Also, my butt doesn’t look good sticking up in the air like in some poses! 🙂 Great list of vegan proteins, though.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, thank you so much, and I think you’re gorgeous and would look fabulous in any yoga pose you try!!!
      Yoga is great and who knows, you might just love it!! 🙂
      You’re right, there are so many yummy vegan dishes, too!!!

      Reply

  6. leerunsdistances

    Absolutely love the post Kristin!!! Annnnd the pup with the yoga mat is too awesome 😛 haha lol! Edamame, Avacado, & spinach are major staples in my house. I actually just created a vegan dish board on my Pinterest page. We are just venturing into quinoa. Once again I love the pup and bunny pics! Your posts always make smile and think 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Xoxo!!! Thank you so much!!! You’re always so kind!!
      I love the puppy and bunny, too!! They are so adorable! 😉
      I definitely need to eat more edamame and spinach!! I actually really love them both so need to pack them into my meals!!!

      Reply

      1. leerunsdistances

        Both are really good in salads and I hear you can make really good hummus with edamame

  7. elihawkins6

    I have a pretty sweet recipe for these things called quinoa kale cakes. It is so amazing that when we have people over, I pretty much have pre-printed copies of the recipe to give them.

    Reply

      1. elihawkins6

        haha. Nope.. never occurred to me to post it! I’ll send it to you though, if you like.

    1. Kristin

      I know, what a beautiful dog + carrying a tiny yoga mat!! Too cute!! 🙂
      I discovered avocados not too long ago, too and absolutely fell in love with them!! They’re so great and yummy!!

      Reply

  8. Amy

    Woo hoo thanks! I’m dairy free and mostly paleo but I like to to mostly vegan experiments once in awhile. (Oh how the guys I’ve dated hate this haha). About to embark on another meet and dairy free experiment after my upcoming birthday and I struggle w protein when not eating meat. I don’t eat beans or lentils or eggs or broccoli. Haha

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks!! 🙂 Yeah, my husband is mostly vegetarian (eating fish and some seafood) but loves all the veggies I cook so it works great! 🙂
      And he was a huge meat eater when we first met so it’s pretty cool!!
      I’m not a huge broccoli lover either but I do love spinach!! Black beans are my favorite! 😉

      Reply

  9. naturallymel

    I’m also a vegetarian, and when I first switched, getting protein was a serious struggle. But now I get most of my protein from protein shakes :). Glad to hear your run went really well! I’ve started up running and I’m progressing slowly!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you and awesome, vegetarians unite!!! 🙂 Hehe!!!
      I do love protein shakes!! I’ve started back with them and yummy, they are so good, especially with peanut butter!!
      Awe, thanks!! I’m so happy the run is done and I met my goal!!
      I can’t wait to hear about your runs!! Any progression is great so stick with it and you’re going to do awesome!!! 🙂

      Reply

  10. 2 Cups 'N Run

    I really like the blogger you mention, his site is awesome for all kinds of running/nutrition/fitness information.
    I’m like you about running outfits, I run early so I never know what can happen overnight.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks so much and yes, he’s great!!! His recipes are SO COOL like the homemade lemon/lime sports drink! Neat!!
      I know, I run early, too, and it can be frustrating to get an outfit picked out!!
      Have a great day!!!! 🙂 🙂

      Reply

  11. Amy Christine

    I am so happy you got to meet Bryan Kest!! How awesome!

    The dog with yoga mat…priceless. I need to get one for Baron and Ava since they love doing Doga so much.

    Thank you for the protein post. For those new to being a vegetarian or thinking about it, it is great to see the protein sources you have listed!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, thank you and I love the doggy with the yoga mat!! Hehe, just so adorable!!!
      Baron and Ava would look absolutely precious with one strapped to their side!! Love the idea!!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

