Nobody said it was easy, It’s such a shame for us to part… (Coldplay- The Scientist)

Image

This morning was such a beautiful and amazing experience…that…I didn’t want to leave…

MY RUN WAS NOTHING SHORT OF PARA-PARA-PARADISE.

Sometimes the best moments and most enlightening moments come when you least expect them.

This morning, I didn’t expect to feel this ALIVE. My run was great!

IT WASN’T MY FASTEST.

Image

But I didn’t care!

The run was easy enough for me to appreciate my surroundings and to take in every single element…

Maybe even every single step. Just maybe…

You see, sometimes we go through life wanting more…and more…and more…

UNTIL WE STOP.

How long am I gonna stand with my head stuck under the sand? (Coldplay, Speed Of Sound)

That’s how I felt this morning…STUCK in my own self-destructing ways…

Arriving at the Battlefields to run with frustration and pain.

THE STRESSORS OF LIFE BOGGING ME DOWN.

I wasn’t sucking the juice from life, instead life was sucking the juice from me:

You’re in control, is there anywhere you wanna go? You’re in control… (Coldplay, Square One)

I swiftly took the reins and refocused on what was important.

Hint: It wasn’t my run.

IT WAS MY HAPPINESS!

But since running makes me happy, I ventured deep into the woods.

Image

I need a compass, draw me a map. I’m on the top, I can’t get back. (Coldplay, Square One)

I wanted to stay lost. My legs felt fine.

BUT I KNEW IT WAS TIME.

After 3 miles, I turned around, and headed back. 

I was alone the entire time. I didn’t pass anybody. I didn’t see any animals. I didn’t mind.

The wind was gusting. I felt fine.

When I got back to my jeep, I knew I was healed…

I LET OUT A DEEP SIGH.

Image

The sky turned gray as I smiled really bright.

I knew at once it had given me its light.

Good morning, GOOD MORNING EVERYONE!!! Happy Wednesday out there!! This is a glimpse into my 6 mile run this morning at The Battlefields.

Do you ever wake up in the morning and feel like something is a little off?

Like you’re letting the events of the day unfold (and stress you out) before they even happen?

Yup, that was me this morning!! The run opened me up, though! That deserves a loud WOOHOO!!!!

(Insert YOU screaming WOOHOO!!!)

Although I LOVE running with my husband, Marc, I also really enjoy running solo, too! 

NO TALKING. NO WORRYING ABOUT PACE. NOTHING.

It really keeps the focus on YOU and YOUR HAPPINESS, right?

Image

Next time you run, walk, or exercise outdoors…

1] GO WITH THE FLOW OF THE WIND

2] REALLY FEEL YOUR BODY MOVE

3] THROW YOUR HEAD BACK AND SMILE

4] THANK YOURSELF FOR TAKING CARE OF YOURSELF (BY EXERCISING)

5] APPRECIATE THE PATH YOU’RE ON

Put the U back in YOU baby!!!

Image

If you haven’t noticed, Coldplay is my favorite band EVER!!!!

Xoxo,

Kristin

 

 

 

 

 

 

  1. thedancingrunner

    I think it’s always good to run without a watch and just run for the sake of running and enjoy nature. I do it often. 😉 Great job though on your run! That’s still pretty speedy!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, thanks!!! You know, I used to run without a watch some and you’re right, IT IS a great feeling!!
      It’s so nice to take in nature!! 🙂 Such a beautiful experience!

      Reply

  2. TartanJogger

    Piratebobcat just commented what I was going to say about Chris MArtin & Gwynneth Paltrow 😦 Love Coldplay, though!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, YES, I love “hearing it” (actually seeing it, but I can hear you screaming, “WOOHOO” from here)! 🙂
      I love it! You’re so fantastic!!

      Reply

  3. Charlotte

    Well, Chris Martin is back on the market for ya! I love Cold Play also. Many of their songs are on my Runner Girl Playlist. I can tell you love running. I enjoy reading your account of your runs. The solitary run is the best. It sounds like you get lost in your runs. Awesome! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much Charlotte and haha, I know, Chris Martin is single again! I can’t believe it!
      Coldplay inspires me to run, swim, clean, write, and even just sit around and ponder!! I LOVE THEM!!!
      My run today was so special. It felt right on, like it was meant to be…running and thinking… 🙂

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Perfectly put and just what I had in mind when I was running and writing. Due to my half marathon, I’ve been sooo worried about pace and time, etc…so it felt good to let go both physically and emotionally and to just be in the moment!! 🙂
      Thanks so much for your comment!!

      Reply

  4. leerunsdistances

    Looks like you channeled that “inner child” on today’s run Kristin and I couldn’t be more happy for you!!! This post was so nicely written seriously! And even though that might not have been your fastest pace it was still crazy fast, a pace that many runners only dream of. Most importantly you found “U” and “YOUR HAPPINESS” on today’s run. The scenery from the pics you took look amazing!!! It’s that type of scenery that makes me miss Maryland.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, Maryland is beautiful, too!! I have family in Maryland!
      Lee, thank you so much- I did channel my “inner child” and your post yesterday was extremely inspiring!! I LOVED IT!!!
      You’re right, today was a fabulous run and my mind/body enjoyed the freedom!!
      I just let go (didn’t worry about time, pace, etc.) and it felt great!!

      Reply

      1. leerunsdistances

        I’m soooo happy I was able to inspire you 😉 and really glad you enjoyed your run. What part of Maryland? All my family is in southern Maryland

  5. brunettedistraction

    What a great post, Kristin!! You inspire me to go for a run sometimes as well, I just LOVE the feeling when I’m outside in the nature, feeling the fresh air and being completely on my own! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yes, so true!! It’s honestly a very beautiful feeling!! I started feeling very sentimental and open to what nature was telling me!! It was wonderful!!
      Thank you so much for your sweet comment!! Your words inspire me very much!!! Xoxo!!! 🙂

      Reply

  6. irenejean

    I love good runs that put me back to my happy self! I totally did not know about the breakup, I’m getting my Hollywood news from the comments on your blog 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hahaha, you’re so cute and I’m right there with you!! Honestly, I did not know about the breakup until I read my comments!!!
      Thanks so much for your comment!! It really made me smile!!! 😉

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, you don’t know what this comment means to me!!! What a sweet comment!! Thank you so much!! I’m glad I could evoke this feeling for you!! Thanks again!! 😉

      Reply

  7. Claudia

    I love this post. It makes me want to move and go outside and feel the wind and rain on my face and…..actually….I will!! 🙂 Thanks Kristin, just what I needed.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh my gosh, you’re beyond fabulous!!! THANK YOU!!!
      I’m happy this post has inspired you!! That means a lot!! You’re so great and beautiful!! 😉

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much!!! I’m honored to hear that I push you!! That’s awesome!! Please know that YOU inspire me very much!!! 🙂
      Coldplay is out of this world!!

      Reply

  8. Open Up Life

    Isn’t nature beautiful? For the past couple of mornings, I have been awakened to the beautiful birds singing outside my window. How could you not be happy to hear that and just appreciate life! Nature is full of wonder. Have you ever tried a silent retreat? If not, and you have time to experience it, it will definitely be transforming. Have a beautiful day! Peace, love, bliss!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Nature really inspires me and no, I haven’t tried a retreat!! That’s sounds like a fun idea!!! Thank you so much for your continued support!! You always make my day with your beautiful thoughts!! 🙂

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Wow, that’s a good point!!! With all of the snow this winter, I’m sure that was quite refreshing!!!
      Thank you so much!!! I love this place!! It’s so peaceful!!!

      Reply

  9. Lauren Keating

    Sometimes the best runs are the one’s where you don’t worry about distance or speed. Loved reading this post! Clever title and so fitting since all the buzz about Chris and Gwyneth =)

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, thank you!! I really appreciate it so much!!
      You’re SO right, the best runs usually come with no attention to the small details…just letting your body feel the run. 🙂

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lauren, thank you so much and yes, Coldplay is the best and most inspiring band!!
      I appreciate your sweet comment!!! Have a great day and weekend!!! 🙂 🙂

      Reply

  10. lsanders09

    You captured some of the great benefits of running! I love running in the Gettysburg Battlefield in my area. Beautiful scenery and nicely maintained federal roads!

    Reply

Talk to me baby!!

