Eek, is it Sunday night already? Please say it ain’t so!! Anyone?!

Well, I guess I’ll stop being oblivious to the fact that it is (Sunday night) and move on with my post, right?

Hmm, O-K so please don’t get mad at me, BUT I’ll be writing my post about Bryan Kest tomorrow (not today).

(Kristin sweats profusely and laughs nervously wondering what the readers are thinking. Are ya mad?)

Well, SORRY if you are, but it has been a weird, hectic day.

Instead, I decided to write a quick post about my quirky foodie likes and dislikes!

Alright, SO I guess your first thought might be: Kristin’s a foodie?!

Uh, YES, I consider myself a foodie! I mean I’m not the most dedicated foodie in the entire world, but I definitely enjoy reading/talking about food fads. I guess that counts.

Anyways, during the last couple of weeks, I’ve been playing with my food (trying new products). Bad girl, right? No dessert for me! Seriously though, I’ve discovered some really great foods that I love and some that I don’t particular like. Here’s the list!

NEW DISCOVERIES THAT I LOVE:

1] CHIA SEEDS (OMG, chia seeds mixed into my protein shake with peanuts!! WOOHOO, can you say de-lish-us?!)

2] HAMMER NUTRITION VEGAN CHOCOLATE PROTEIN POWDER (This is THE BEST of THE BEST! Great taste, 20 grams of protein per serving with only 2 grams of sugar, plus HELLO, it’s vegan!! I’ve been looking for a scrumptious vegan protein for A LONG TIME now! Not to mention, organic ingredients and shhhhh, don’t tell, but spirulina is a key ingredient in it and guess what, my stomach is fine with it. YES!)

3] EDAMAME (Wowzers, I’ve been loving some edamame in my organic brown rice/red pepper/hummus wraps!! Edamame + lemon juice = YUM! Bonus, it’s packed with protein, too!)

4] TRADER JOE’S LEMON CURD (Man, OH MAN, this lemon curd spread is absolutely, WITHOUT A DOUBT the tastiest topping I’ve had in a LONG time (at least store bought). You can mix it into whipped cream as a cake filling/topping, pour over waffles, bagels, toast, etc., or just eat it with a spoon like me! It’s scrumptious on french vanilla ice cream, too!!)

5] TRADER JOE’S COLD BREW COFFEE CONCENTRATE (If you’re looking for a I’M WALKING ON SUNSHINE kind of bright, energized pep before/during/after a workout, buy some of this stuff, mix it with half part organic creamer, and you’re good to go!! WINK, WINK (in my case blink, blink, blink, blink….hehe!)

6] THAI LIME AND CHILI ALMONDS (The distinctive flavors of these spicy almonds make any salad, noodle dish, wrap, and even nut mix a real delight!! TRY EM OUT!!!)

Image

Me before my cold brew coffee concentrate…

 

Image

Me after my cold brew coffee concentrate!!!!!!

NEW DISCOVERIES THAT I DON’T LOVE:

1] ORGANIC TURKISH APRICOTS DRIED FRUIT (Yucky, I’m not a fan! They do have a hint of sweetness to them, though, but still…)

2] TEMPEH (Call me crazy, but ever since I read a few articles about tempeh being used as a lamb substitute in dishes, ICKY, I couldn’t do it. I know, I KNOW, it’s NOT really lamb meat…it’s vegetarian through and through (made of barely, soybeans, spices, etc.), but I don’t know, it has this crunchy texture to it, too that grossed me out. Also, in my opinion, it had a bad aftertaste! I’ll stick with tofu thank you!!)

Image

XOXO,

Kristin

  1. Amy Christine

    Chia Seeds are so good! I put them in smoothies, yogurt and oatmeal. Edamame, seriously, YUM!!! I love making them as an app at the house before dinner or throwing them in a salad!

    I have been seeing so much about tempeh. I haven’t brought myself to try it just yet. Maybe one day, it just doesn’t look at that appealing to me.

    PS. I try to pretend it isn’t Sunday night but nothing I try shakes the feeling that Monday is coming! A new day to reach goals and get things done (oh and sit at my desk for 8 hours 😦 )

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, Amy, we are so alike!! 🙂 I have trouble shaking the Sunday feeling, too!! Ugh! 😉
      I LOVE chia seeds in my smoothies!! SO GOOD!
      Yeah, haha, I’m weird, but I just don’t like the texture of tempeh. Lots of people like it though!
      Have a great, GREAT week!!!!

      Reply

  2. Running Betty

    I just saw chia seeds in grocery store yesterday and was wondering what they were! Los maybe I’ll give them a try! And I LOVE edamame! One of my favorite healthy snacks! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      YES!! Chia seeds are SO good!! I looked at them and moved on a few times myself, but I’m so glad I finally tried them!! They are really delicious and a very good protein source!
      Edamame is good, too- they have this edamame hummus at Trader Joe’s, too I think! I’m going to try! 🙂

      Reply

  3. Charlotte

    The Trader Joe’s lemon curd is delicious! I love edamame on salads. My husband loves chia seeds but I don’t. I just don’t see their purpose except texture. 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yes, the lemon curd is THE BEST!! I first bought chia seeds for protein because I’m a vegetarian and although I was unsure how I’d feel about them, I think they add some great flavor to my protein shakes!!

      Reply

  4. Amy

    I’m currently obsessed with trader joes organic brown rice, trader joes olive tapenade, feta cheese, garlic and chicken seasoned with trader joes 21 seasoning salute, garlic and course black pepper (w/o the chicken season the rice directly) squeeze the juice of one lemon over and enjoy

    Reply

  5. courtruns4cupcakes

    Do chia seeds have a flavor? I’ve never tried them but I’ve always been curious and I know exactly where they live in Trader Joe’s in case I ever want to grab some haha! I love, love, love hummus wraps and edamame. I pretty much eat them everyday!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yum, edamame and hummus is really good!!! I love it, too!!
      Chia seeds taste a bit like poppy seeds when eaten dry, but when I put them in my protein shake, they have a sweet taste to them. I read they absorb liquid and become like a sweet, tapoica pearls when mixed with a liquid. They are used quite frequently to make healthy puddings!! They’re good in yogurts, too!!

      Reply

  6. 2 Cups 'N Run

    You are liking some really good stuff! I like Edamame a lot, with Atlantic salt on top, yum. And it’s so healthy too! (minus the salt) Chia is also something I eat daily, I can’t say I love if but mixed in shakes of cereal I don’t really notice it.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yes, they’re really good mixed in with liquids!! I read when eaten dry, they taste kind of like poppy seeds, but in liquids, the seeds absorb it and it turns into a sweeter taste!! It’s kind of neat!! 😉
      Edamame and salt!! Yummy!!!

      Reply

  7. Open Up Life

    Aah Chia Seeds, I love them! There are some foods that I have not tried on this list, they sound delish! Have you tried Chia Seeds in your water? Good energy! Have a beautiful day!

    Reply

  8. runsaltrun

    Edamame is one of my most favorite foods on the planet. I eat it for snacks several times a week! And chia seeds are awesome too. I just got a new smoothie maker and I don’t know why I haven’t thought of throwing some in with my smoothies! Great post, lady!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you!!! XOXO!!! 🙂
      Edamame is a great snack and I also got a new blender so I’ve been having some fun with it, playing around with different ingredients!! Throwing in a little bit of this and a little bit of that! 😉 It’s fun! Hehe!

      Reply

  9. leerunsdistances

    So glad you found Hanmer Nutrition Kristin!! I been using there products exclusively for about the last three years and have never been disappointed.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      They are awesome, right?!! Great stuff!!
      Also, sorry I meant to respond back last week, but I was out of town some…I have family that lives in Frederick, MD!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      It’s really good and let me tell you, if you’re a frappuccino/smoothie fan, you can make a frapp with it!!
      I add ice, almond milk, Trader Joe’s French vanilla ice cream, the cold coffee concentrate, a few Trader Joe’s chocolate covered coffee beans and blend it all together!!! OMG, it’s delicious!!!!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

