“The body talks to us in the language of sensation! It says, “that feels good” and “that does not.” The reason for this is to keep us safe.Why would we not listen to what we are feeling?” Bryan Kest 

SAY HELLO TO MY LITTLE FRIEND!!!

And NO I’m not quoting Scarface, more like Bryan Kest, the famous yogi!! Bryan believes that you should ALWAYS listen to your teacher (a.k.a your “little friend”). That’s what good students do right?

OF COURSE, But wait, who is the teacher again? Bryan Kest?

No. Bryan Kest is the instructor. but WHO IS THE TEACHER?

Well, YOU are the teacher of course!! You are your own best friend or worst enemy, right? You either push yourself to the perfect place or far beyond your limit to the wrong place. This goes for your yoga practice and for life. Everyone has their limit so it’s best to listen to your body and to respond accordingly (using both common sense and sensation).

“What I’ve learned is that my greatest yoga teacher is within! The knowledge I’ve acquired is a direct result of me quieting my mind and being open enough to receive the teachings coming through.” Bryan Kest 

As you all know, I attended Bryan Kest’s Power Yoga Masters Class this past Thursday in Washington DC and it’s safe to say that Bryan Kest injected me and my yoga practice, so-to-speak, with wisdom, passion, and equanimity. 

Although the 3.5 hour drive to DC was a little crazy (due to traffic, crowded streets, no parking, etc.), I didn’t care because I stayed in my meditation of gratitude the entire time!

I AM THANKFUL FOR EVERYTHING THAT I AM AND FOR EVERYTHING THAT I HAVE! 

I’m also very thankful that I met Bryan Kest: He’s truly a blessing to the world! He exudes love, modesty, and hope for the future.

Back on track, though!! SO the entire workshop lasted only about 4 hours (from 6-10 pm), but let me tell you, it was a power packed 4 hours! We all went on a remarkable spiritual journey that ended with a big smile!!

A SMILE YOU SAY?! YES, A HUGE SMILE THAT SHOUTED, “I LOVE MY LIFE!!!”

The first 2 hours were dedicated to his yoga background and then Bryan moved on to talk about the history of yoga, and finally tied everything back to his yogi philosophies (which are remarkable by the way)!! I’ve been practicing his power yoga for 8+ years and in that time, have learned lots and lots about him, BUT now, I KNOW EVEN MORE!!!

(Insert evil, villainous laugh: HAHAHAAAAA!!!!)

I TRULY LOVED EVERY SINGLE MINUTE THAT HE SPOKE!!!

Not only is Bryan Kest knowledgeable about yoga, but he’s also very knowledgeable about athletics, human nature, and the funny, little quirks/habits that people stand by (like being overly competitive, judgmental, etc.):

“I have to develop the strength to disempower my own habit patterns. Nobody can do this for me. And this is what the practice is all about. Quieting the mind means disempowering the habit patterns of thinking, judging, competing and attachment and being open to what I am feeling or knowing.” Bryan Kest

Trust me, yoga is not about how far you can stretch your body, instead, it’s about how far you can stretch your mind. I’ve learned tons from Bryan Kest, namely, that the only person I should be focusing on in a yoga class is myself!! Why look around the room and compare? There is no point!! I’ve always lived by this mantra:

I AM WHO I AM AND THAT’S WHO I AM!!

BUT onto the good stuff!!! Hehehe!!!

Alright, so by now, I’m sure you’re screaming at your computer, “Well Kristin, did Bryan Kest talk to you OR NOT??!!”

AND I’d answer…OMG, YES HE DID (with a lot of pep)!!!

He actually came up to me (while I was in down dog nonetheless (during the 2 hour yoga practice portion)) and joked, “How do you know what I’m going to say before I say it?! Are you some kind of mind reader?”

Haha, at first I was debating (to myself of course) whether or not I should say anything back because honestly, I was a little starstruck and wasn’t even sure if he was being rhetorical or not, BUT THEN I heard him pause (as in HELLO I’m waiting for an answer) SO then replied, “I’ve been practicing your yoga for 8 years!”

He then said, “Oooooooo, I seeeee, well, if I would have known that, I would have put you in the front of the class!!!”

I then muttered a quick THANK YOU with a little giggle( of course) and continued on with my practice!!

IT GETS BETTER THOUGH!!

From the very beginning of the incredibly warm and invigorating 2 hour practice, I could tell he understood my passion and zest for his yoga routine!! Let me explain! It’s as if he could sense my deep rooted spiritual and physical connection to his flows. His yoga routines are VERY hard, but it didn’t matter: My body was swept away with piercing focus and control!! I did not wobble or stop breathing for even one single second!! 

It seemed like every time he gave a new command (as if we were playing a game of Simon Says), he would come over to me and touch my toe, hand, foot, or back as if to accentuate his expression of the practice and to detour his way into the next flow series. Um, it was amaaazing!!!

Wanna know something else amaaaazing? At the very end of the practice, when we were done and people were chatting, he came up to me and said, “I was wondering how you knew the flows so well!! I can tell you’ve been practicing for a LONG time and you’re really good!”

I thanked him and assured him that he was my spiritual leader and that I instill his principles into my life on a daily basis!!

I’m not being dramatic when I say: THIS WAS THE BEST MOMENT OF MY LIFE!!!! Knowing that he appreciated me for my spiritual intuitiveness, not just my physical practice abilities (being good at his routines), was a gift in itself! SO SPECIAL!!

Well, that about sums it up!!! I hope you enjoyed the journey!!!

Xoxo,

Kristin

  1. Charlotte

    It sounds like a great experience for you. Honestly, I don’t know much about yoga or yoga instructors. My husband does yoga a lot. I think I’m shy to do it for some reason. I’m not very coordinated except when I run. Maybe I need to take your advice and not worry about others in the room but concentrate on myself. I love your enthusiasm about the things you write about. It’s refreshing and bring readers into your experiences.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Charlotte, thank you so much!! You’re so sweet and I really appreciate your nice comment!! I’ve learned that yoga, running, life, etc…is not a competition (so-to-speak). I mean we run races and such, but in the end, It’s all for fun and we should be happy and supportive of one another.
      Yoga is so much fun and honestly, it’s all about your personal journey. It’s all about being happy and healthy!

      Reply

  2. atwinthing33

    Oh my god I used to take piyo and I thought I was going to get kicked out. I loved the handstands and I am rather flexible, but I am not a very serious person in general. I have had so much serious stuff go on it is hard to be serious when I do not have to be…but I hear yoga is wonderful for runners and maybe I should give it another shot. Your yoga class sounds fun!!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yoga is tons of fun!! 😉 It’s a great way to learn about yourself and to learn about your body! In my opinion, there is nothing better. Bringing all your daily stress onto your yoga mat, is the best feeling in the world. Letting everything pour out (especially if it’s heated) of you feels so rejuvenating!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you!! The experience was so much fun and I’m so happy I opened myself up to his principles and practice because it has changed my life for the better!! I’m so much happier!!

      Reply

  3. Amy Christine

    What an amazing experience!!! Sounds like one of those moments where everything comes full circle. An 8 year long circle in your case.

    I am so glad you got to meet him and WOW, him saying all those wonderful things to you!! Holy heart attack!!!

    Great post!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, Amy, THANK YOU!! 😉 Yes, I don’t consider myself someone that is easily starstruck but I admit, I was!! Haha, there is just something about him that is so calm and cool and I’ve been wanting to meet him for a really long time now, so it was awesome that he spoke to me and keyed into my love for his practice. 🙂 I loved it!!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, thank you and yes, it was just nice to hear acknowledgement of my love and dedication to his practice!! I was thrilled he picked up on my knowledge of his flow series.
      Thanks so much for your comment!!! 🙂

      Reply

  4. piratebobcat

    Well said!!! I so value every lesson I learn in yoga. I wish more people realized it. Even tonight when I was almost in tears on my foam roller, I remembered yoga and how they told us to breath through the exercise, and you know what? It totally helped!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh my gosh, I’m so glad you said this because it’s definitely a true lesson and I feel the same way in running races. I learn to stop over analyzing the pain and to breath through the discomfort. That’s a great point!! 😉
      Thanks so much for your comment!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awesome!! There are SO many health benefits both mentally and physically!!! Yoga is just too cool!!! 😉
      I can’t wait to hear about your marathon, too!! Exciting!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      OH, YOU SHOULD!!! You will not regret it!! Yoga is all about listening to your body and responding accordingly so as long as you listen to your body, you will feel SO great after each class!! I LOVE IT!!!!

      Reply

  5. alsoranagain

    I’m so happy for you that you had such a transformative experience! I used of practice yoga but haven’t done it for several years. I know I should get back into it… But I don’t want to look like an inflexible dork. I like his message about not comparing/judging. I’ll have to keep that in mind if–no, when–I return to yoga.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, thank you!! It was THE BEST experience!!
      And yes, you should definitely get back to it and realize that you’re doing it for you, not for anyone else. So much of our time is spent judging ourselves, so when we let go of that, we feel so much better and open ourselves up to new challenges!! You should do it!!

      Reply

  6. missadventuresinrunning

    Glad you had such a wonderful experience! That is amazing that he recognized your talent and complimented you. What a fantastic moment! That is definitely some amazing advice about listening to your body. It can be difficult, but very important!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much and YES, Bryan Kest is such an inspirational man!! I love his message of not comparing and not competing, also listening to your body. That’s very important for yoga, athletics, and in life.
      You’re so sweet and I always appreciate your kind comments!!! XOXO!!!!

      Reply

  7. Stuff My Brain Thinks

    Reading your post has made me want to get back into Yoga more than ever. It seems to have touched you so profoundly and I love that. Thanks so much for sharing 😀 Have a fabulously, miraculous day!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, you’re so fantastic!! I am equally inspired by you and your posts!! I love reading them! You’re so great!
      I love practicing yoga because it teaches me to let go of negativity and to embrace the positive. At the end of each (Bryan Kest) physical practice, he takes you through the meditation of gratitude. I enjoy the meditation part as much as the physical practice! It’s SO great!!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  8. thedancingrunner

    Yoga is such an amazing workout! I think people who don’t do it don’t even realize how hardcore it is. I love it. I bet it was great to practice under him!! I take a 75 minute class at least once a week and I have found that is has helped me tremendously with running!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yes you’re right yoga is definitely hardcore mentally and physically. It’s not easy pushing past your comfort zone and even pushing your mind to sit still and meditate. I’m so happy you love yoga, too!! It’s great to share that feeling with bloggers!!

      Reply

  9. Run With Rabbits

    I tried yoga once and almost fell on my face! 🙂

    I’ve been too scared to go back, plus my work schedule right now doesn’t let me go to any classes. Buttttttttt I’m starting a new job very soon so maybe I’ll make myself go back to some night classes. It can’t be that bad if everyone does it 🙂

    Reply

  10. courtruns4cupcakes

    That is so awesome that he recognized how great you were at yoga and really appreciated you! I’m not a huge yoga person but I do enjoy it every now and then! It’s so relaxing and opens up your body so well!

    Reply

  11. jezzerbear

    Wow, that was a BIG class. The only yoga i’ve experienced is on Wii Fit, which of course isn’t the same! I need to get into proper Yoga- it’s so good for body and mind (a cliché but true!)

    Reply

  12. craftyxplorer

    What a great experience for you! I definitely need some yoga in my life. I know it will help a lot with my running! I’ve done a few beginner classes and they were fun but tough for me. Practice makes perfect though! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yes, you are SO right and thank you so much for the compliment!!! It’s yoga PRACTICE after all, right?! Yoga is so fun and invigorating!!

      Reply

  13. Open Up Life

    Wow! I can tell that you were enlightened by your Bryan Kest personal experience. It is so amazing how Yoga can bring to you that place where your inner divine lives and speaks to you without words. I’m sure the time there was amazing as it is with any spiritual person you meet in your journey. We are all teachers and students. It is true where you said that you practice Yoga for you and no one else. It is not a competition and everyone has their own experience.

    Thank you for sharing your Bryan Kest journey. If you ever visit Florida, maybe we could go the spiritual place that has become a second home, that is the Amrit Yoga Institute.

    Peace, love, blessings. Tammy

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much for your kind words and OH, I would love to go to Amrit Yoga Institute!! That sounds so amazing!! I’m visiting Orlando, Florida around Thanksgiving!! I can’t wait to visit!!
      I hope you have a great day and I appreciate your continued support and spiritual motivation!! It means SO much to me!! XOXO!!

      Reply

      1. Open Up Life

        Amrit Yoga Institute is amazing and so much more. It is in Salt Springs, which is about 4 hours from me. When I went I did a Seva(selfless service). Your stay, meals and Yoga is all free. When you find out the dates you will be in Orlando, I can get details about going to Amrit, if you want to go. You will definitely love it! I always love visiting your blog, it makes me smile and brings happiness to my day, (especially those funny dog pictures,they are hilarious). Have a beautiful day. XOXO

  14. runsaltrun

    What an amazing opportunity to practice with him (and that you talked to him too!) I loved your whole recap. 🙂 One of my favorite things in the world is being on the mat so focused that everything is just intuitive that way. It’s such a powerful feeling!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      YES!! I love that you get it. I wasn’t sure if I was expressing my feelings like I wanted to, but you nailed it!! It’s really this intuitive feeling and it’s so powerful!! Thanks for understanding me!! XOXO!! 😉

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

