Cool, so Monday is in full swing!! I hope everyone had a fabtastic weekend!! Mine was pretty busy, but no complaints here!

SO, my first swim of the week…CHECK!

Image

(www.orca-aquatic.com)

Usually, my week starts off a little bit like this, BUT THEN it ends with lots AND lots of X marks!! Bad girl Kristin! It looks like I’m in for it!! Time for a parent/teacher conference! Oh boy, let the apologies begin (and not to my parents or teacher, but to myself).

And before you ask, NO X does not mark the spot, well, actually it does…it marks the spot I need to work on in my training, namely SWIMMING! Ugh, have you ever felt like this? It’s like no matter how hard you try (mentally), you just CAN’T get yourself to do something? Hmm? Boy, OH BOY, it’s a tough pill to swallow AND you all know how I despise swallowing pills (Yes, I’m referring back to my post, Feeling Green!).

I’ve been (just a little bit) frustrated lately because I haven’t been swimming my weekly workouts! I’ve been doing a fabulous job running and yogi*ing it up, but NOT swimming!! I know right, shame shame! I’m such a terrible human being because I don’t swim all of my practices…I’m only kidding…merely trying to give myself a little perspective that me not swimming does not equate to the end of the world! I’ll get it in check (Hehe, get it…check?…trust me, I’m very well aware that my jokes are lame!).

FRUSTRATION CITY, PARTY OF 1, YOUR TABLE IS NOW READY!!!

Image

(www.legaljuice.com)

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!! THAT’S MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Okay, okay, so let’s narrow this down shall we? Well, although I’d hate to quote The Golden Girls…actually JK (just kidding), I LOVE quoting The Golden Girls (Rose, Dorothy, Sophia, and Blanch) because they are four rad ladies!!

THE QUOTE:

“I can’t put my finger on it, but if I could, I’d have to wash it.” Sophia Petrillo

Image

(www.dvds-home.net)

Yep, that about sums it up, ya know, the “I don’t know why I’m not driving 25 minutes to swim at Midtown Aquatic Center, but I’M JUST NOT” kind of feeling!! However, being the sneaky little girl that I am, I have a few suspicions (And for your information, yes, I did adore Harriet, the Spy growing up):

Suspicion #1: THE DREADED DRIVE…I usually swim around 7 o’clock in the morning and finish my swim around 8:20 am, which leads me to believe (being the detective that I am) THAT the terrible (and I mean horrible) rush hour traffic is psyching me out. All of the mean, overly aggressive, impatient drivers are possibly making my mind say, “NO THANK YOU! I DON’T WANNA!!”

Conclusion #1: Although I guess I COULD swim at a different time (if this is truly the problem), it would be hard for me to adjust (to a new time) because #1- my body likes swimming at this time, #2- there are plenty of lanes open at 7 am, #3- there are no water aerobics classes going on which leads back to #2 (more lanes open), and #4- at this time, not as many people *consistently* (that’s the key word) try to race me (I get this a lot…due to my quickness, a lot of people try to race me…which leads me to my next point).

Suspicion #2: OVERLY COMPETITIVE PEOPLE…Okay, so I get it, I have a competitive edge, but there is a fine line between swimming your workout hard and totally swimming someone else’s workout (and completely forgetting about yours).

Huh? I don’t get why people do this. I’m being completely honest, per workout, I have tens of people trying to race me as if I had a big neon flashing sign on my swim suit that said, “A HUNDRED DOLLARS TO THE FIRST PERSON THAT BEATS ME!”

Please people, I’m not swimming as a pacer…I’m merely trying to get my workout in without swallowing Ā 2 gallons worth of water (and chlorinated water may I add) from your flippers (yes, some people wear flippers to race me) splashing in my lane and in my face! I mean let’s be real people, how fair is it anyways to race someone across the pool while you’re swimming freestyle, wearing three foot long fins, and I’m kicking butterfly underwater (with no fins). Huh? Yeah, it doesn’t make a whole lot of sense now does it?

After all, they treat me like I’m Michael Phelps or someone, like if they beat me (swimming a 50 free while I’m swimming a 500 butterfly straight), they are a better person than me.

Image

(girlstalkingsports.com)

Yup, FRUSTRATED SWIMMER, PARTY OF 1, YOUR LANE IS NOW READY!!! NOOOOO THANKS!!!

Conclusion #2: I could either #1, ignore them or #2- NOT, but I admit, it’s kind of hard NOT to pay attention to the annoyance when the person next to you is springing off the wall every (single) turn you make trying to race you to the next wall! IT’S JUST NO FUN KIDS…NO FUN AT ALL!

Suspicion #3: RUNNING IS MAKING ME TIRED…Yes, I do believe that part of the reason I’m not doing a run/swim duo everyday is well, because it’s tiresome to my body! I swim my heart out every single swim (training lots of butterfly for Summer Nationals/swimming 4000-5000 yards per swim), which leads me to my conclusion…

Conclusion #3: STOP SWIMMING SUCH LONG/INTENSE WORKOUTS!!! Alright, certainly this is an obvious solution, BUT on the other hand, I HAVE TO swim long(er), intense(er) workouts because I swim at a national level which equals…you guessed it, LONG, INTENSE WORKOUTS!! Unfortunately, that’s just how the cookie crumbles (when it comes to swimming)…running is a different story.

Haha, WELL…

Is this THE MOST positive post I’ve ever written?! Sorry to say no, BUT NO… although our daily struggles are what makes us stronger, more resilient human beings, SO no sweat on my brow!

My goal is to swim (at least) 5 practices this week because HELLO DARLING (I’m talking to myself again), Summer Nationals is right around the corner (4 months away)! It’s turbo time (kinda like turtle time) which means…IT’S TIME FOR ME TO KICK IT INTO HIGH GEAR!!

Image

(geek-news.mtv.com)

(Insert Karate chop!!)

Xoxo,

Kristin

 

  1. Julie the Workaholic

    Girl…you motivate me. I was going to go home and just flake out, you know, because I conquered Atiller the Hun, and I’m a little sore in the forearms, but after reading this? I’m going to go pick up the heavy things for a quick compound workout so that I won’t feel like a total sloth. šŸ˜‰

    Somehow, you always have the right blog going up to keep my butt moving! ā™„

    Also, I think it’s cool that you can swim butterfly. I never tried. Heck, I can’t even really swim with my face IN the water, LOL…because I’m that girl that cannot deal with water in my nose. (You should see me have at it with a Neti pot…*shudder*)

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Julie, haha, the Neti pot is a tricky one!! It’s very uncomfortable, I do agree and THANK YOU for your kind words- it seems you always make me feel better when I’m a little tired or frustrated SO thanks for that!! You’re encouraging words really make my day!! Honestly, you’re awesome!!
      I LOVE that you enjoy my posts and I’m SO GLAD they motivate you!! That’s the best compliment EVER!! Have a beautiful rest of the day!! XOXO!! šŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. leerunsdistances

    hahahaha you are too funny chica!! So people want actually make a race out of thing when you are in the pool eh’? They just want to check off on thier bucket list that they beat the crazy fast swimmer girl haha lol. Annnnnd no worries about not getting your swims in like you want to, you will in time I’m sure. I’m bad about getting my cross training and strength session so I guess the whip needs to be cracked on both of us lol. Loved the swallow 2 gallons of water line … classic. Your writing is always a smile maker. The Golden Girls rock!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, THANKS and right on, Golden Girls ROCK!! WOOHOO!!
      I actually really love that you said people race me as a bucket list thing…wow, you understood what I was trying to say better than I actually said it. You’re amazing and that’s exactly how I feel, too! Perfectly said! Thanks!
      It’s also VERY hard to train two different things in one day. It’s like you put so much effort and focus into that one thing, that thinking about doing something else is exhausting. We will both kick it into gear, though!! We will motivate each other!! šŸ˜‰

      Reply

      1. leerunsdistances

        Yep yep I soooooo getcha’ I think we are on the same wavelink hehe lol. And yeah, I definitely got the whole swimming thing you wrote about

      2. Kristin

        Thank you!! We really are on the same wavelink!! That’s very apparent!! šŸ™‚ I always love and appreciate your comments!!

  3. irishrunnerchick

    Your posts are always so entertaining! I can just imagine you standing in front of a mirror having this conversation with yourself! When I’m not feeling my workouts I usually need a reboot. Stop what I’m doing and mix it up.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, THANK YOU!! You just gave me a major compliment and I really do appreciate it very much! I have been known to give myself a pep talk every now and then! šŸ˜‰ Thanks for the great advice, too!! Mixing my schedule up is a great idea!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Gosh, that’s so true!! I don’t run on a treadmill but you’re right, people really try to amp up the pace to challenge one another. I see it when I’m working out at the gym and actually hear it, too!! The treadmills being cranked up!!
      Thanks so much for the compliment, too!

      Reply

  4. sarahdudek80

    Oh my gosh I love the Sophia picture. It had me cracking up. Even she made me want to get in the pool and swim šŸ˜‰ I think you are pretty darn motivated. I don’t know how you can get so many different work outs in!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, you’re hilarious!! Sophia is awesome and she is quite motivating!! šŸ˜‰ Thanks, too for the compliment!! I really try to balance a little bit of this and a little bit of that but sometimes it’s a lot to take on!! šŸ™‚

      Reply

  5. Amy Christine

    You crack me up! Even a “frustrated” post and your sense of humor comes out! You are going to rock Summer Nationals!

    PS TMNT and Golden Girls – You are winning my heart over. I loved them as a kid!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, thanks!!! I truly hope I rock- I don’t have the confidence yet but I’m glad you’re giving me the confidence!! Thanks!
      Hehe, I appreciate your compliment, too!! That’s totally my silly personality that when I get frustrated, I end up just laughing at myself and saying, “Loosen up!” šŸ˜‰
      YES, Golden Girls are MY FAV!!! So funny and awesome and I LOVE TMNT, too!! I watched them ALL the time growing up!

      Reply

      1. Amy Christine

        It’s awesome that your personality goes to silly and laughing when you get frustrated. I find that is the best way to deal with feelings like that!

  6. 2 Cups 'N Run

    I’m having most of your issues with swimming too, and I’ve been having such a hard time getting to the pool. I was supposed to do 3KM of swimming today and instead I went running. And I hate when people compete with me because unfortunately I can’t ignore them.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh, yes, I find myself doing that, too- I will run one of my workouts early instead of my prescribed swim. I’m determined to get back to it this week so I’m starting off today with a swim and THEN I’m going to run. It’s like if I run first, I won’t swim. I don’t know… šŸ™‚
      AND yes, I get increasing your run/swim speed some…it’s human nature…when you hear something coming up on you, you tend to speed up, but in the pool you go back and forth so it’s a constant state of frustration when someone can’t let it go. šŸ™‚

      Reply

  7. brunettedistraction

    Hmmm, I can see why you’re “struggling” a bit with all your workouts, you are definitely a veeery sporty person! šŸ™‚ I think you have two options: either you go swimming at a different time or you just try to ignore the competitive people (although I TOTALLY get what you mean, I hate those kinds of people!!). Anyways, I love your posts, they always make me laugh!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awe, thank you so much!!! Hehe, I love that I make you laugh!! That’s so cool!!
      I really appreciate your suggestions, too!! I might get to the pool a little bit earlier and yes, just try to ignore the silliness. I think I need to position myself in an end lane, too so I don’t see as much!! šŸ™‚

      Reply

  8. courtruns4cupcakes

    Swimming is tough! I used to be on swim team and while it is really fun, it was always a pain to me to get up and early and jump in the cold pool first thing in the morning. I’m more of a leisurely swimmer šŸ™‚ My parents have a pool in their backyard so I’m excited to do some swimming as cross training for my marathon this summer. Nothing like you though! Good luck with your goal šŸ™‚

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Ah, I love swimming outside during the summer AND oh, you’re going to have such a fun, relaxing summer swimming in your parents pool!! That sounds SO amazing!!
      I do admit, it’s really hard to jump in cold water early in the morning. It’s a little bit like torture!! Haha!! Thank you for the encouragement, too!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Good luck with your swim!! I know, from beginning to end, it’s a long process- preparing your stuff, putting on your suit, getting to the pool, preparing to jump in, then the swim…etc, etc. It takes lots of dedication to swim, doesn’t it?

      Reply

  9. piratebobcat

    Haha, I hope you get this sorted out! BTW, running makes you tired because you’re running pretty fast. They say you should do your long runs slow. Are you taking it easy on your long runs or are you crushin it?

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, thanks! I’m actually not running long runs now because my next half isn’t until October. I’m training for a couple 5ks and run-swim-runs this summer. I swam again this morning (so WOOHOO) and then ran (about an hour after my swim) This schedule seemed pretty good. Aside from speed work days, I think I might swim first and then run. Thanks for your advice though. That’s a great point! I probably could slow down some of my runs to give my body more rest!!

      Reply

  10. runsaltrun

    Ahhh Summer Nationals!! I can’t wait to follow your blog through that. You are going to kick some serious butt! I am such a lousy swimmer and this post is motivating me to want to try it. You are an inspiration, my friend!

    Reply

  11. northernambitions

    Yes those overly competitive swimmers scare me in the pool and generally have me avoiding the 6am swims. Also, I hate being that cold first thing in the morining. Such a lame excuse but there it is! Good luck with your swimming goals this week šŸ™‚

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, I don’t think it’s lame at all- cold water is not the most pleasant first thing in the morning. I understand!
      Thanks so much for your comment and yes, overly competitive, race to the death people scare me, too!! šŸ™‚

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

