Image

When we let go…THAT’S when the magic happens! 

I’m pretty positive that life is NOT easy, but I’m also pretty positive that BEING POSITIVE helps to ease the negativity. 

Okay, so my post from yesterday…3 things:

#1- Thank you for your funny/kind/passionate comments. Honestly, I enjoy reading your reactions to my…hmm…Craziness? Oddness? Haha, I guess all of the above, right?!

#2- Let me point out that I’m NOT 100% optimistic 100% of the time. Through practicing yoga and meditation (over the years), I’ve learned to value my sanity (i.e. choose positivity over negativity), but BELIEVE ME, it’s not an easy thing to do (to shut out the negativity). To this day, I STILL fight with my negative thoughts, literally shoving them out of my brain, BUT they DO come back! 

I’m certainly NOT trying to preach to you guys, merely giving some perspective, that life is for living and thriving, NOT belittling yourself. As Bryan Kest says (in so many words), it’s important to workout your mind like you workout your muscles (triceps, biceps, shoulders, etc.) because if you don’t use it (your mind), it atrophies, SO this is (exactly) why I MEDITATE!

I MEDITATE TO LET GO OF ANY AND ALL NEGATIVITY!! (Which leads to #3)

#3- LET GO OF NEGATIVITY!! When you decide to release your mind of all the negative stuff (that’s clogging it up), IS (precisely) the time when you free yourself! I’ve done a little tidying up/spring cleaning (of my mind) this week and honestly, already feel better! 

AGAIN, I REPEAT…

When we let go…THAT’S when the magic happens! 

Image

I’m deactivating my (personal) Facebook account, and boy, OH BOY, do I feel freeee!!! It’s as if I’ve sprouted beautiful angel wings and have FINALLY found peace. For various (unnamed) reasons, Facebook has brought LOTS of (undue) negativity into my life, BUT not anymore! 

You know, I thought I needed Facebook to satisfy everyone’s curiosity about my life (What’s Kristin up to?), but nope… I realized that some of my “friends” (yes a few “friends” on Facebook) did NOT have my best interest at heart. They twisted MY life into what they wanted it to be aaaand that’s NOT cool with me (well, not anymore). I’m in control of my life. I’m in control of my destiny. 

REPEAT AFTER ME… I’M IN CONTROL OF MY LIFE! I’M IN CONTROL OF MY DESTINY! That’s what I realized…

In opposition, YOU my friends, HAVE brought me nothing but joy, happiness, and sincerity!! I can’t thank you guys enough for showing me the light, for showing me what a supportive online community really feels like.

Shhh…I have a 6th sense and CAN differentiate between realness and fakeness. You can only pretend (you don’t see trivial behavior on Facebook) for so long, right? Don’t get me wrong, I had some really cool, supportive friends on Facebook, but I guess…it only took a few to spoil my experience.

Image

WELL, ENOUGH WITH THE HEAVY STUFF!! I’ve had a great week so far! I swam 5,300 yards yesterday, and then ran (6 miles) and swam (3,000 yards) today! I’m very pleased with my progress and looking forward to my upcoming races! I have lots planned and hoping for some great times! GO GO GO!! 

WHAT’S UP WITH YOU? WHAT’S GOING ON? GIVE ME YOUR TWO CENTS!! HAPPY TUESDAY!! 

XOXO!!!! 

  1. Lisa Macy Coaching

    We are two peas in a pod! 😀 Being optimistic keeps you healthier! 😀 I’m very proud of you for deactivating your FB page! I didn’t even have a FB page until a couple of months ago and it’s not technically for personal stuff, it’s for my Nutrition/Health/Fitness stuff. I try only to post positive and happy things. Inspirational, motivational, etc. There is a little bit of personal, but it’s not much. I told everyone when I opened it that it was for business purposes and that I would not be “following” anyone. And it’s been ok so far. 😀 I’m like you, there is way too much negativity and stuff I’d rather not see or hear about on there….. Way to go Kristin!!!!!!!!!!

    Here’s to doing our best to be happy and optimistic, and therefore much healthier! XOXO

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww thank you so much Lisa!! Your comment has really made me feel good about my post, my decision, and my life!! You’re so awesome and yes, I do agree that we are two peas in a pod! Thanks for being proud of me, too!! That’s a very sweet comment and it means a lot! You’re so supportive and wise and loving!! Facebook is filled with lots of negativity so I’m glad I’ll be away from that now and it’ll allow me to focus on the positives of life! You rock now and forever!!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  2. Charlotte

    You do make very good points and being the positive person you are, is not a bad thing! Also, I think your positive, uplifting attitude may be contagious…something else that is not a bad thing. I need it 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Charlotte, THANK YOU!!!! I’m really in a new phase of life- “see the beauty/enjoy the beauty,” so I really appreciate your sweetness and love! Have a great Tuesday!! 🙂

      Reply

  3. sarahdudek80

    I really have enjoyed your focus on being optimistic and positive. As a young adult I was very self conscious and very negative to myself. I spent years as a figure skater hearing from people all over the country who told me I could be great. I just didn’t believe it. Such a shame. One major thing that allowed me to become a positive person has been running. I learned to be my best friend and it has changed my whole mindset. Nothing is better than living a happy life and being surrounded by like minded people.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      So true Sarah and I’m SO happy you’ve realized how truly wonderful and special you are! I had low self-esteem growing up so I know what you mean! It was never easy NOT being hard on myself. It was a struggle to see myself how everyone else saw me! I’m happy you found running and like me, running has given me goals and esteem and taught me a lot about myself! So happy you enjoy my posts!! I really appreciate your kindness and support!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  4. jennslife22

    I love this and congrats on getting rid of Facebook! It is very negative and I feel creates so many problems! I had deactivated my Facebook about a year and a half ago and everyone was texting me and asking if me and my boyfriend broke up because I deactivated my Facebook. Lol ummm what?! So apparently because I was tired of it meant I was single lol
    I have my Facebook back now but have deleted many people 🙂 and use it mostly for hobbies and television show pages 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, yep, I get what ya mean!! Getting off Facebook is a way to #1- limit negativity, #2- limit distractions, so it’s really about finding peace and joy in my life. I’m glad you’ve found more peace/less negativity with Facebook. That’s always key! You sound happy and healthy and THANK YOU for your encouragement!! It’s always great to feel like you’re doing something for the right reasons-to make yourself happy! WOOHOO to happiness! 🙂 GO YOU!

      Reply

  5. weight2lose2013

    I don’t get the facebook attraction. I’ve heard about soooo many facebook wars that I wonder why anyone would have one. The reason that I like wordpress so much is that all of you are new friends to me, with no baggage in tow. What I get from facebook from my wife and friends is that there is a lot of sniping from ‘friends’. Anyway, don’t let anyone change who you are. We need more positive energetic people like you on Earth, not less!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwwww, ROB, THANK YOU!!! Yes, I’ve felt lots of negativity with Facebook and it was like the more I gave, the less I got from certain people. I really tried to show my love and support, but I felt like some people weren’t genuinely happy for my accomplishments and had a secret agenda to make me feel uncomfortable. My husband saw it, I saw it, so I finally decided to make myself happier and shut it down. WordPress is SO awesome and loving and supportive!! That’s for sure!!

      Reply

  6. irenejean

    I’ve had friends go off Facebook, and they love it. I have to agree though, I think the blogging community is much more supportive and motivating than Facebook. 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      YES YES YES!! Sometimes I felt like Facebook was a game to people, like the more I gave, the less I received (especially from people I thought would support me). I felt that a couple people flip flopped their feelings about me once I started to talk about running, swimming, etc … but then I thought WHY am I doing this to myself? The people that truly care about me will reach out to me and will always be there for me so I’m happy with my decision.

      Reply

  7. leerunsdistances

    Excellent post Kristin!!! Annnnnd woohoo for breaking away from Facebook. I’ve never had Facebook but I’ve had Instagram & Twitter and deleted both. I only have my blog & Pinterest now.

    Reply

  8. ianthie

    Hey Kristin, I recently deactivated my FB account! I just had enough and was bored with the same things. I don’t miss it – but I do miss communicating with one or two close friends. I think it is the best thing I’ve done for me!

    Go you!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Man, I’m so glad I wrote this post because I’m getting crazy support here!! You rock and thanks for reassuring me as to why I’m doing what I’m doing!! I’m glad you’re happy!! GO YOU!!! 🙂 🙂 This comment is making me happy, I have to say, you’re awesome!! When I posted that I was deactivating my Facebook page, I had people message me in support and I know I’ll keep in touch with them! It feels good to know your loved but it also feels good to know that you’re not going to be around the negativity anymore on Facebook.

      Reply

  9. Miss Harper Lee

    Such a wonderful post, and congratulations on your training for your upcoming runs. Your positive energy will carry you over the finish line. My human daddy runs marathons. My human mommy and I just cheer. Everybody needs cheerleaders. 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      OH YES, everyone needs cheerleaders, I DO AGREE!! My dog Prince is one of my biggest cheerleaders!! He’s a cute one!! He loves to give me big kisses (and slobbery ones, too) at the finish line!! He’s so sweet! You’re SO sweet, too Harper Lee!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  10. Courtney

    I love your attitude and perspective! We should always be building each other up and supporting one another but sometimes social media brings out the worst in people. Good for you for letting that go 🙂 happy Tuesday!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much Courtney! I really appreciate your positive outlook and your sweet compliments! You’re so kind! What a great point you made- that social media should be about love and support, but sometimes is not the case! Thanks! XOXO!

      Reply

  11. Kerrie

    Good on you for getting rid of Facebook. It gets a bit too much sometimes. I occasionally leave it alone for a while! Wow you’ve been doing some miles! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      I do the meditation of gratitude everyday. It’s Bryan Kest’s meditation. You think about all the things you’re thankful for and you focus on the good in your life! It has really helped my positiveness.

      Reply

  12. jezzerbear

    I’m so with you on Facebook! Daddy deactivated his account two years ago and he feels much better for it! People should give it a try. It’s a shame you can’t fully delete it (they still keep a copy on their servers forever- creepy!!)

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      HEY!!! So glad to hear from you!! I always love your sweet comments!! You’re right, it is creepy that you can’t fully delete it. I’m glad your daddy deleted it, too!! GO US!! I already feel better, too!! I honestly feel like a huge weight has been lifted off of my shoulders!! Thanks for agreeing jezzerbear!! 😉 XOXO! Have a great day!

      Reply

  13. brunettedistraction

    What an inspiring post, love the ideas! I’ve been wanting to make a change in my life for a little while and I think this might just be the thing to change!! 🙂 Keep up the good work, you go girl!! 😉 XOXO

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      XOXO!!! Thanks SO much!! I really love your encouragement!! You rock! Although I’m not (always) the best with change, I’m proud that I’m putting one foot in front of the other and making myself happy. It’s important to make yourself happy and to enjoy life!! Whatever change you’re trying to make, GO FOR IT!! You’ll be happy you made the effort!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  14. courtruns4cupcakes

    Ohhh Facebook. I consider deleting mine every day, I hardly ever use it. The only reason I have it is to be a part of some online communities for running and such that are on there. I’m constantly deleting my “friends” on there so for the most part my Facebook is positive!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      That’s good to hear!! I’m glad you see where I’m coming from and that you actively make it a positive place for you! That’s always good! You’re awesome! I like how you started out the comment, too…ohhh Facebook. Yes, that is exactly how I feel about it! 😉 XOXO! Have a great day!

      Reply

  15. Sarah @ Sweet Miles

    Love this! Beautiful reminder to be positive, and to not compare ourselves to other! I’m a firm believer in being optimistic about any situation, but of course one of my biggest weaknesses is worry about things I can’t control 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh Sarah, I’m very similar to you in that I always worry about things that are out of my control. It’s hard not to worry, but I’m learning to let go and realize that whatever is meant to happen will happen. I understand that it’s not easy!
      Thank you, too for your sweet and positive comment! Being optimistic is always the best route to go!! XOXO!! Have a fab day!!

      Reply

  16. runsaltrun

    Facebook is that way for a lot of people. I think it’s so great that you are rising above it all! You are a good person and those so-called friends don’t deserve to know anything about what’s going on with you.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      THANK YOU!!! At first, I didn’t feel like that, but I do now so thanks for the encouragement and reinforcement!! That makes me feel good!! You’re always there to love and support!! You’re THE BEST!!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lauren, you’re right, it does!! I found myself thinking way too much about negative stuff! It just wasn’t worth it anymore!! Yay, no more headaches!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

