GOOD MORNING!!! Today, I’m totally about finding my “happy place,” so I’m taking a large, silly page from the movie character Happy Gilmore and getting out of my own head. Care to join me?! It’s a pleasurable place to find, I assure you; although, it’s your job to figure out what makes you happy. Trust your feelings.

To reference a certain awesome Happy Gilmore character, Chubbs:

“It’s all in the hips. It’s all in the hips. It’s all in the hips. It’s all in the hips.”

Image

jo3presents.tumblr.com

Well, not to overemphasize the same few words (It’s all in the hips), I’ll move on (letting you ponder the correlation between your hips and your “happy place”). 5 words…GETOUTOFYOURHEAD

How do I get out of my head and find my “happy place?” Well, by loosening up some (maybe even swaying my hips and listening to the beat of my favorite song). It’s important to NOT take life too seriously and to realize that life is waaay too short to worry about things that are beyond your control. Maybe something I’ve struggled with in the past, huh?

YES, I’ve definitely struggled with control: I’ve wrangled it in (all mighty and proud), but then have always let it go because holding onto something that doesn’t want to be held, usually leads to an icky disaster. Can you relate? 

Image

blog,losingcontrolfindingserenity.com

HAVE YOU EVER HELD ONTO SOMETHING THAT YOU SHOULD NOT HAVE? (I have!)

Sunday night, I found out that my precious Cocker spaniel sister, Lulu (my parents dog & main character of my children’s books series), tore her ACL at the park. The sad part is, she tore her other ACL not too long ago and literally just finished with surgery, rehab, and recovery. Ugh, it’s just so awful. She’ll be in surgery again next Wednesday, but she’ll be fine, right? Yes, I’m certain! 

Image

Case in point: I was feeling sad and distraught when my mom told me (+ many hours after), but then…

I FOUND MY HAPPY PLACE!

What makes me happy?! Hmm…well, here’s THE LIST:

1} The feeling I get after a run! 

** I ran a 6.2 mile trail run on Monday and speed work on Tuesday. I honestly felt tons better after both! Let’s see, my trail run… blah, blah, blah, blah (you already know about it from Mondays post), but onto the juicy stuff, the speed work:

SO my 8 x 400m went a little bit like this (and note, I did not run on a track, I ran on a road with a slight incline):

{1:28/1:25/1:24/1:25/1:25/1:25/1:27/1:28}

These are MY BEST splits to date! I felt mentally strong during my run and HA, afterwards…EVEN STRONGER!! **

Image

After my runs, I thought: LULU IS STRONG!!

2} The energy that builds during a swim! 

** I took off Monday and Tuesday from swimming (because my legs were feeling pretty sore), but nailed it today! I had a great swim! From a push (off the wall), not a dive (at the end of my 4,000 yard practice), I swam a 50 yard fly in under 30 seconds. I was pretty happy! 

Image

After my swim, I thought: LULU WILL GET BETTER!!

3} Shopping at Forever21! 

** Okay, this is a total new obsession, but I LOVE their crop tops!! Just soooo freakin’ cute!! I can’t get enough of them (although I’m sure my husband wishes I could). Yesterday was fun, but shhh…don’t tell my husband, k?!

Image

After shopping, I thought: LULU IS BEING SPOILED WITH LOVE!!

4} Yoga! 

** I’m pretty sure you guys knew that I was going to say this one! Yep, pretty sure you knew! Yesterday, after practicing both the physical and emotional (meditation) part of yoga, I felt like a brand new me! 

Image

After yoga, I thought: LULU WILL YOGI IT OUT DURING REHAB!

5} Walking my dog Prince! 

** I’m not exactly sure how to describe this feeling, but it’s a joyous and overwhelming feeling for sure! In summary, we bond, we kiss, we walk…we walk, we stop, we walk…we get home, we hug, WE LOVE WALKS! 

Image

After walking Prince, we thought: LULU WILL RUN AGAIN!

NOW TELL ME, WHERE’S YOUR HAPPY PLACE?!

XOXOXOXO!!! 

  1. weight2lose2013

    I hope that Lulu recovers quickly and in time for the great weather. Finding that happy place is within us all, even if it’s only for a part of our day. We ought to strive to find it and know how to find it. Great post, Kristin!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Rob!!! Such a perfect comment!! I appreciate it very much!!! 🙂 You’re right, too- we should strive to find out what makes up happy and to act on it (when we’re not feeling our best).

      Reply

  2. Lisa Macy Coaching

    I’m sure Lulu is going to be just fine! 🙂 And I do have those same struggles! Letting go is definitely not as easy as it sounds. 🙂 Life is to short to spend unhappy, so it’s important to try and remember that each and every moment is precious and try and make the best out of every situation no matter what…..as hard as it may be. 🙂 XOXO ❤

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      So true Lisa!!! You speak THE TRUTH for sure!! Thanks for the great reminder and I do have to (every now and then) just shake myself out and tell myself to LET GO!! It’s definitely not easy, but vital for a happy life. 🙂 Thanks for the well wishes, too (for Lulu)!!! You’re so awesome!!! We have so many similarities!!! Wonderful!

      Reply

      1. Kristin

        YAAAY, I love the pictures SO much!!! They’re way cute and I’m so thankful for you and your adorable squirrels! Thanks for your sweetness!! I will definitely keep you posted!!! XOXO!!!

  3. Julie the Workaholic

    Lulu is going to be great! (((hugs)))

    My happy place is either in my hammock swing, at the beach, or in my own back yard; anywhere I can simply just STOP and decompress, breathe deeply (assuming pollen season is over, ha ha) and just let go…

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, I LOVE the pollen season add in and yep, definitely true!!! 😉 You’re so funny!!
      I really appreciate your lovely well wishes for Lulu!! XOXO!!!
      Ohhhh, THE BEACH!!! Yes, it makes me very happy, too!! Such a nice, relaxing place to enjoy! Your happy places are wonderful!!!

      Reply

      1. Julie the Workaholic

        I shouldn’t put this on a public forum, but I always joke about the fact that I appreciate my fur kids the more I get to know people. 😉 Of course, we look out for squirrels and watch out for baby birds in the back yard, too.

  4. courtruns4cupcakes

    Aww poor Lulu, praying she heals quickly! I needed this post especially today. I have a huge lab report due tomorrow and I’ve been working on it since 9 this morning. Right now I’m taking a mental break. I really really wanted to go running to relieve some stress and find my happy place but I unfortunately have to work, boooo! Oh well it will be worth it when I get my paycheck and I’ll go to my other happy place- the mall and treat myself to something nice 🙂 What should I get?!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Ohhh, I’m so sorry you have to work, but you’re right- it will totally be worth it when you get to relieve some stress and get your shopping therapy on!! Sorry you had to miss a run though!! I know that’s always tough!! You really have a great attitude about it though!!
      Thank you for your kind wishes for Lulu!! She is such a sweet little girl!! Love her to death!
      As far as shopping goes, I’m pretty positive that ANYTHING will look good on you because you’re so gorgeous and adorable!! I love every single outfit that I’ve ever seen you wear (in the pictures you post). I LOVE the sundresses you wear!! They look absolutely perfect on you! XOXO!!! 🙂 🙂

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, thanks sooo much!! 😉 You’re so sweet!! Much appreciated!!!
      During my speed work Tuesday, I was totally in the zone. It was strange, I felt focused and in control right away (which usually never happens for me).

      Reply

  5. irenejean

    I’m sorry to hear Lulu needs surgery! I hope she has a speedy recovery! My happy place is on the trail, I love trail running! Running in general helps me clear my head and get perspective, it’s the best therapy out there 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      So true!! Running is wonderful and I have to say, I don’t trail run that much, but after my trail run Monday, I felt very revived and rejuvenated. It’s so great!!! You’re right!!!
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for your sweet wishes!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  6. Cat Hiles

    Awww sending positive thoughts for Lulu’s speedy recovery!

    My happy place is definitely running. Either that or cooking! I sometimes spend the entire afternoon in the kitchen making random things. I find it therapeutic!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much Cat!! So kind!! XOXO!! 😉
      Ohhh wow, that’s so great that cooking is therapeutic for you!! Such a nice way to relax!! Running is great therapy isn’t it?! 😉
      Have a great night!!! 🙂

      Reply

  7. runsaltrun

    Oh my goodness Lulu is ADORABLE! What a little fashionista she is too! I hope everything goes well with her surgery and I’m sure she will be just fine. I’ll be sending her lots of good vibes! xo

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww Salt, thank you!!! You’re so sweet!! She loves to play dress up!! She’s such a cutie and a sweetie!! XOXO!!! 🙂 I appreciate your well wishes!!

      Reply

  8. leerunsdistances

    My happy is running rural parts of Maryland or any area with beautiful scenery. And when I can write an occasional song or poem as well. Annnnnnd Forever 21 is the da bomb. I’d sooooo shop there if I were a chica hahaha lol 😉

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hahaha, thanks Lee!!! You always make me feel better!!! 😉 Wow, cool ways to make you happy!! I love writing poetry, too!! That’s a great one!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  9. Scott D.

    Everyone needs a “Happy Place.” And on a tangentially related note, do you have the “Happy Gilmore” special edition DVD? If so, you’re looking at some of my handiwork. One of the things I’ve done is create “special features” for DVDs/Blu-rays, so I put together the deleted scenes, gag reel and other things for both Happy Gilmore and Billy Madison.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh my gosh, yes I do, that’s SO COOL!!! Wow Scott, that’s some seriously awesome work!! NEAT!!! I’m so glad you told me!! I’m totally going to go back and look at the special features again!! Haha, AWESOME!!! 😉

      Reply

      1. Scott D.

        Enjoy. It was quite a while ago, so I think it was just deleted scenes and cutting together a gag reel. I worked on three of Sandler’s DVDs. I also did a bunch of stuff for 8 Crazy Nights (his animated holiday film from 2004).

  10. Marc

    Those are some fast spilts on your 400’s. You must have been pushing hard during that workout. I am sure your coach was thrilled.

    Reply

  11. Gina Stiff

    Thanks for all the happy thoughts for Lulu. She will be glad to get her leg back in working order.
    She sends lots of love to her wonderful sis!

    Reply

  12. Amy Christine

    Awww, poor Lulu!! Lots of doggie hugs and well wishes for a speedy recovery going her way!!! Keep us posted!!

    And your happy places are awesome! Running, swimming, yoga! And can I just say how absolutely adorable pic of Prince on the yoga mat!! Doga rocks!!!!!!

    My happy place involves anywhere outside and with nature!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much Amy!!! You’re so sweet!!! Those are absolutely great happy places!! Nature is a great cure for feeling blue! Very nice! 🙂
      I really appreciate your lovely compliments and I will send Lulu all of your lovely doggy hugs!! She is such a sweet girl!! Lulu does doga with my mom everyday!!! She does some rehab stretches for her leg (well, now it’ll be for both legs).
      Have a wonderful day!!! XOXOXOXO!!!! 😉

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Sarah, thank you so much!! I appreciate your concern! Thanks for the encouragement! Yay to yummy desserts!! Mmm, that’s a wonderful happy place!!!

      Reply

  13. nainasingh2014md

    Awww you are so sweet! Thanks for sharing about Lulu!! What a beautiful dog :). My happy place is with my mom on the couch giggling and catching up. It’s also the oncology clinic because I love my cancer patients 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      You’re amazing!! You really are!! What special happy places!! My mom is my best friend so I definitely understand “happy mom time” and yaaay to our wonderful mothers!!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  14. riversgain

    Poor pup! little prayers sent your way.
    Great post.
    my happy place – lots of them! yoga, barre, dancing, painting, pottery, playing with my kids, talking with friends and family, being outdoors in good weather, swimming, reading a good book there are sooo many!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much for your well wishes and OH MY…I LOVE YOUR HAPPY PLACES!!! You must be happy allll the time!! XOXO!!! Thanks for sharing!! You’ve inspired me to get out there and LIVE!!!

      Reply

  15. craftyxplorer

    You’re so positive and I love it! My happy place is when I’m surrounded with my Fave and family. Running also gives me that running high too! 🙂 BTW, hope Lulu feels better!

    Reply

  16. piratebobcat

    Wow, I’ve never heard of a dog tearing an ACL. I didn’t even know that had ACL’s. I hope the cute pooch gets better soon! Great job on your 400’s! I wish we lived closer because yours and my splits are right on! It’d be nice to have someone at my pace to run around the track with!
    Love love love Happy Gilmore! Recently showed it to the 5 year old and he liked it too!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, Happy Gilmore is great!! I know, that would be pretty cool to run together, to push the pace!! Thanks, too for the compliment and I have to give one right back…you’re an awesome runner!! I love reading your posts!! They inspire me very much!
      Yeah, poor Lulu, she’s definitely been having some trouble lately, but she will be fine! Thanks so much for you concern and well wishes!!!

      Reply

  17. runningsouthern

    LuLu will get through it! As childish as it sounds, sometimes all it takes for me to find my happy place is to take a nap. I love to run but a 30 minute nap sometimes does what running can’t.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      So very true!!! Taking a nap can and does really make me feel better!!! Wow, great one and thanks for sharing!!! Such a wonderful perspective!!! 😉 XOXO!!!

      Reply

  18. Pingback: Weekly Faves 5/1/14 | Running Southern

Talk to me baby!!

