HEY EVERYONE!! I HOPE YOU HAD A FABULOUS WEEKEND!! MY WEEKEND WAS GREEEEAT- LOTS OF FUN & SUN!!

Can YOU believe it is already Monday AGAIN??!! Well, I can’t!!

First off, I wanna thank EVERYONE for your loving Lulu support!! You guys are THE BEST!! Second, I wanna tell ya THAT Lulu is doing fabulously!! YAAAY, SHE IS OUT OF SURGERY & IN RECOVERY!! The surgeon repaired her torn ACL aaaand Ms. Lulu will be picked up tomorrow (to then begin rehab)!! 

Image

Lulu before surgery with my dad!!

QUOTES THROUGH THE AGES {1985 (birth year)-Present}:

1985- “I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.” Vincent Van Gogh {Little Kristin was born!}

1986- “Life is not meant to be easy, my child; but take courage–it can be delightful.” George Bernard Shaw {What my mommy said to me!}

1987- “The moment where you doubt whether you can fly, you cease for ever being able to do it.” Peter Pan {Walking, then running, then dreaming of flying}

1988- “Honesty is the first chapter in the book of wisdom.” Thomas Jefferson {My parents taught me that honesty is the best policy.} 

1989- “You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose.” Dr. Seuss {Hehe, I was a wild child…always jumping around! My direction was left, right, and EVERYWHERE!!}

1990- “It has been a terrible, horrible no good, very bad day.” Judith Viorst {Ohhh boy…Me + Kindergarten = AHHH, I want my mommy!!!}

1991- “You’re braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” A.A.Milne,”Winnie-the-Pooh” {I was chosen to be in a special, little gymnastics group at my academy (I could do a round-off back handspring after a month of gymnastics).}

Image

1992- “I am not afraid of storms, for I am learning how to sail my ship.” Louisa May Alcott, “Little Women” {I won the Virginia Level 4 State Gymnastics Meet!}

1993- “Sometimes you have to lie. But to yourself you must always tell the truth.” Louise Fitzhugh, “Harriet The Spy” {I fell off of the uneven bars (during practice) and broke my right arm in 2 places. After my arm healed, I told my parents that I wasn’t scared to try (the bar combination) again, but I was…}

1994- “Kindness is a language, which the deaf can hear, and the blind can read.” Mark Twain {I knew that I’d ALWAYS be kind, even when other kids were mean to me.}

1995- “Have the courage to say no. Have the courage to face the truth. Do the right thing because it is right. These are the magic keys to living your life with integrity.” W. Clement Stone {What my 5th grade teacher told me!! Wow, she was GREAT!}

1996- “I was a smart kid, but I hated school.” Eminem {I did NOT like my middle school homework! Sports…they were ALL I cared about! No homework!} 

1997- “I knew who I was this morning, but I’ve changed a few times since then.” Lewis Carroll, “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland” {Um, yep, I think this one is self-explanatory…ohhh, the wide array of emotions I went through…}

1998- “Be glad of life because it gives you the chance to love and to work and to play and to look up at the stars.” Henry Van Dyke {A fabulous year for my swimming. At Junior Olympics, I placed top 8 in 100 meter fly!}

Image

1999- “One kind word can warm three winter months.” Japanese proverb {I really started to see the beauty that surrounded my life!} 

2000- “I don’t ever feel like the cool kid at the party, ever. It’s like, smile and be nice to everybody, because you were not invited to be here.” Taylor Swift {9th grade…made lots of great friends, but never felt comfortable in my own skin…}

2001- “So many people try to grow up too fast, and it’s not fun! You should stay a kid as long as possible.” Vanessa Hudgens {Someone got a boyfriend!! Young love…everything was a big deal…}

2002- “All our dreams can come true…if we have the courage to pursue them.” Walt Disney {Got into UVA!!!}

2003- “As a kid, I was a Hitchcock lover; I cared about the dark side of things.” Teller {Freeeeedom!! Wow, 1st year of college (away from my parents) aaaand exploring who I was!}

2004- “You’ve gotta dance like there’s nobody watching, Love like you’ll never be hurt, Sing like there’s nobody listening, And live like it’s heaven on earth.” William W. Purkey {1 word…PAAAARTY! Oh those frat parties!}

2005- “So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.” F. Scott Fitzgerald, “The Great Gatsby” {I started dating my husband!! Hehe, that sounds weird!!}

Image

2006- “And when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.” Paulo Coelho {Almost at the end of my college journey…}

2007- “Your life is an occasion. Rise to it.” Suzanne Weyn, “Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium” {College graduation + Job = Adult}

2008- “None but ourselves can free our minds.” Bob Marley {Started using swimming and running as an outlet (to relieve stress).}

2009- “The purpose of life is a life of purpose.” Robert Byrne {I realized that… in my life, there were so many different things that I wanted to achieve…and in time…would achieve them all!}

2010- “Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius, and it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring.” Marilyn Monroe {Married my husband…realized that we were not perfect…realized that we’d fight, but also knew that we’d always, ALWAYS love each other…and I wouldn’t want it any other way!}

2011- “Only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go.” T.S.Eliot {I wrote…and I wrote…and I wrote…}

2012- “You can close your eyes to the things you don’t want to see, but you can’t close your heart to the things you don’t want to feel.” Johnny Depp {Hmmm…a hard knock lesson of life…}

2013- “The most sacred place in the world is your mind.Guard it ferociously.” Rick Beneteau {I really started deepening my meditation practice.}

2014- “In the midst of winter, I found there was within my an invincible summer.” Albert Camus {This year, I’ve learned that I’m mentally strong and physically tough and that sometimes the best medicine is staying positive during the hardness of life.}

Image

What have YOU learned this year?!

XOXOXOXO!!!!!

    1. Kristin

      Thank you!!! You are such a sweetie!!! I appreciate all of your love and support!! XOXO!! Hope you’re having a magnificent Tuesday!! It’s pretty rainy and blah here! 😉
      Ohhhh 1987!!! That was a great year!!! You and your sweetness entered the world!!! YAAAAY!!! XOXO!

      Reply

      1. Kristin

        Aww thanks for asking!! Lulu is tired but doing good. She’s at home now! She can’t move around much, but will start rehab this week and hopefully, over the next couple of months, will be able to move around better. Lulu is so pitifully cute looking! XOXO!!!

  1. weight2lose2013

    I’m happy to hear Lulu is recovering and will be getting lots of pampering soon. I love your timeline and the things that you recall from those years. From teachers and authors to coaches and loved ones, it’s beautiful that you were duly influenced by them and carry them with you in your heart. Great post!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you Rob!!! I really enjoy looking back at my life in reflection and pondering over the life lessons that I’ve learned. My parents taught me so many wonderful life lessons so they’re awesome!!
      I really appreciate your Lulu support!! Thank you for always cheering me up!! XOXO! Have THE BEST day!

      Reply

  2. piratebobcat

    This is such a great post! What a unique idea! Great quotes, and you are quite the athlete!
    Sorry about your arm, but I can relate. In college cheerleading I freaked out doing a back tuck and landed hard. After that I was pretty much done doing flips! Haha

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Ohhhh THANK YOU and OUCH!!! I’m sure that was not fun and didn’t feel good!! Tumbling is so much fun but after a fall, it can definitely instill fear!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lauren, WOW, you always make me feel so wonderful!! Thank you, THANK YOU!! I’ve had a rough day, so I appreciate your kindness very much!! You’ve really lifted my energy!! XOXO!!
      I hope you’re having THE BEST day ever!!! Please know, I appreciate your comments very much!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha Lisa, age is just a number and you’re fabulous!! You look fabulous, act fabulous, so are definitely…FABULOUS!! 😉 XOXO!!! Thanks for the well wishes, too! You’re so kind!
      If it makes you feel better, my husband is 40!

      Reply

      1. Lisa Macy Coaching

        Thank you Kristin! I definitely don’t feel 46, well, I take that back, right now I feel way old with my back. hahaha Most of the time I don’t though. And I’m fighting the aging process as much as possible. ha Yes, that does make me feel a LITTLE better! hahaha XOXO

Talk to me baby!!

