Think back to the kindest thing you’ve ever done! Tell me, what was it? I can keep a secret I promise! Ugh, are those beads of sweat on your forehead? Please, don’t worry; this isn’t a test, well, more like a quiz (if that helps)! Okay, I’ll give you choices, in case you’re having trouble choosing just one (among all the nice things you’ve done)! So if you had to choose an answer below (whether or not you’ve done it), which one would you choose?

What’s your favorite act of kindness??!!

A. Hold the door open for someone

B. Donate used clothes, etc.

C. Coach a youth sports team

D. Rescue an animal from a shelter

E. Help a child learn

F. Donate blood

G. Donate money

H. Make a new friend

I. Give someone a compliment

J. None of the above & don’t really care

Image

If you chose J, well, although I applaud your truthfulness, I’m afraid you failed my quiz, but don’t worry, there is still time to change your answer. I hope whichever one you chose, it left you feeling warm and cuddly inside because after all, that’s the objective. Not only do acts of kindness make the other person (charity, animal, etc.) feel good, but they should make you feel good, too and when you feel good…well, maybe you’ll keep doing nice things and encourage other people to do nice things and then before you know it, the entire planet is doing nice things all the time.

Image

What do you think? Could this really happen? Try one (or two if you like) and we’ll find out! Now enough with you (not to be rude), but let’s talk about me! Wow, and I’ve started a (kindness) blog? Yes, I know, shocking right? Seriously though, I’m very excited to share my answer to the question! Just to refresh your bright and intelligent mind, let me rewind back a paragraph or two, and solicit an answer to the question, except this time, from me!

What is the kindest thing I’ve ever done?

My answer is manyfold (I know that’s not a real word) and yes, I’m being that person that cannot just give a direct answer but hey, what can I say, I love my words! While I’ve held the door open for so many people, even to an embarrassing length of time, for example, almost too long when the person I’m holding the door for feels inconvenienced because they have to run to the door so I don’t pull a muscle, it’s still one of my favorites. It’s instant gratification for both people! One of the greatest door holding stories I have (and I do have many) was at the Victory YMCA in Yorktown, Virginia. I held the door for a young lady and then in return she held the door for an older gentleman and before I knew it, the dominos effect had happened! The beautiful part (as if it could get any more beautiful, right?) was that everyone was smiling afterwards! It was like they had a little more pep in their step, which never hurts!

One of the worst feelings to experience is having a door slammed in your face and I’m not talking about the metaphor for lost opportunity! I literally mean a door slammed in your face, which has happened to me quite a bit. It’s not very nice! After all, what’s another few seconds of your time, plus my parents taught me that not holding the door for someone was just (and I quote) “plain rude, rude, rude”!

Image

On the same spectrum is giving someone a compliment and making a new friend, so let me say this, that whenever I think something about someone, I usually tell them. If I love her hairstyle, I’ll tell her! If he provides great costumer service, I’ll tell him! If I love their home grown coffee, I’ll tell them! Giving compliments, in return, can lead to new friendships! What’s better than that?

Donating your time, money (if you can), blood, and personal possessions is a wonderful thing to do! I love helping behind the scenes; it’s like being part of a giant team that cares about the same charity! You are one person among the many donors that individually, are not housing every stray animal off the street, are not providing enough blood for all the transfusions in the world, but together are making a huge impact! Whether donating $1 to Petsmart charities or $1 to the American Heart Association, or $100 to The Wounded Warrior Project, every dollar counts!

Let me just say, donating clothes is a great thing for me to do because well, I seem to always have too many. I’ve had a few garage sales, but when I think back to what had transpired that morning, especially all the bargaining, it just makes me feel guilty for not donating my used clothes, books, blankets, and more to the less fortunate. I see it as a win-win because I gain more closet space while giving to those in need.

Now, please don’t yell at me, after all that wouldn’t be very polite, but answer this question (pretty please):

Are you a teacher or coach? So, what’s the verdict? Yes or no? Don’t you like how I ask the same question three different times? Wait, did I just do it again? Did I? Oops, sorry! Teaching and coaching is very gratifying and I know this because I’ve done both; they take a lot of hard work and dedication with little compensation in return. The “helping kids to grow and learn compensation” far outweighs the monetary compensation and this is precisely my point! Teachers and coaches give back to the community every single day in so many different ways and honestly, unless they win coach of the year or teacher of the year, they really don’t get near enough recognition for all that they contribute. Why do it then? We’ve already established it’s not the money that they are after, so it must be that they genuinely want to better their communities. If you are a teacher, coach, or maybe both, thank you for being kind everyday!

Image

Da-da-da-da! CHARGE onto my final answer and that is da-da-da-da (too much?) letter D! If I had to choose, the kindest thing I’d like to do (ironically the only one I haven’t done), it would be to rescue an animal from a shelter. I’ve volunteered at animal shelters, the SPCA and the Animal Aid Society, and I’ve fostered several dogs, but I’ve never actually adopted one. I’m a huge animal lover, so this would completely melt my heart! Prince (my Italian mastiff) gave my answer two paws up because he (so desperately) wants a little brother or sister! What could be better than getting a million slobbery kisses from a once abandoned dog? Not much in our book!

Image

XOXOXOXOXO!!!!

  1. Lisa Macy Coaching

    Has anyone told you how awesome you are? Well, you are! 😀 ❤

    I have done all but C, D & J 🙂 My hubby and I, instead of buying presents for family and friends usually adopt a family at Christmas. It's so heart warming (you get to be Santa and be anonymous! – FUN!!!!!)

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh my gosh, SOOOO sweet!!! How fun to be Santa and to spread lots of love and joy during Christmas!! Have I told you that you’re amaaazing??!!
      Thank you for your sweetness, too!! Have a great weekend!

      Reply

  2. Charlotte

    I’ve done all but c and j. Kristin, I can imagine you are one of the kindest people alive. I mean that when I try to visualize what kind of person you might be. I think I am generous and I’d like to be a kinder person. I’ll work on that 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Charlotte, thank you so much!! I really appreciate your comment!! You’re so sweet!!
      I love showing people kindness but I get frustrated, too and definitely have to evaluate the negativity I’m feeling, etc. I’m learning to change negativity (people not treating me well) to positiveness so have learned to change my perspective and deal with situations differently.
      I LOVE making people feel good, though!! I wish I could help every person and every animal in the world!! It makes me sad when other people/animals are sad. It breaks my heart! XOXO!!!
      Don’t doubt yourself!! You’re a fabulous, caring, loving person with a big heart! I can definitely tell that about you!!

      Reply

      1. Charlotte

        Thank you so much! I would never understand people being unkind to you. I have such a soft spot for animals maybe more than people, at least sometimes! You have a great weekend. 🌻

      2. Kristin

        Awww, thanks Charlotte!! Animals are my world!!! I love them so much!!!
        Well, (I think) sometimes people perceive my kindness/smiles for weakness…so (sometimes) I get some meanness in my life, but I’m learning how to respond to mean people. 🙂

  3. sarahdudek80

    This is such a great post! We have been looking rather seriously at adopting a dog so that would be a fun one to add to the list. I also love donating clothes and furniture when I move instead of trying to sell them. My favorite all time thing was when I was about 20 a woman I worked with told me her husband lost his job and they couldn’t do Christmas for their kids. I got a bunch of people to help collect toys and a friend who drove for UPS dressed as Santa and delivered. She never knew I did it but it was sooo fun planning and then hearing about it. I agree with Charlotte, you are most certainly one of the kindest out there!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh wow, such a sweet thing to do!! You have so much love in your heart- how truly amazing!! I can only imagine how happy they felt when Santa delivered presents!! Awww!!! 🙂
      Thank you so much for your compliment!! I’m in a self-improvement stage of my life where I’m trying to stay positive in every situation!! It has really helped me to be happier and stay healthier!! I definitely still get frustrated, but I’ve learned, it’s all about catching yourself and your negativity before it escalates further.
      Ohhhh, adopting a dog!! YAAAY!!!!

      Reply

  4. HealthyMasters

    Awesome post miss birthday girl month!!!!! So I always hold the door open for people, but the funny thing is the reaction you get when you do. I live in New York, and people are always on the run, so when someone actually stops to hold the door, people always ask, your not from here are u? LOL also, being the friendly Aries I am,I always try to engage in random positive convos with strangers I meet! Such a fabulous post, from a fabulous birthday girl!!!! Enjoy your weekend love! Xoxo

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe!!!! Hehe!!! You’re wonderful!!! XOXO!!! Thanks for the lovely wishes!!! I love May!!!
      Holding the door is so great, right? I definitely get what you’re saying about New York!! I LOOOVE New York so much! The fast paced lifestyle intrigues me very much and I wish I lived there! After college, my husband (well, then boyfriend) and I visited New York a couple times a year to vacation and I couldn’t get enough of it!! I did get a few doors slammed in my face (haha), but LOVE IT nonetheless!! Great pace to live!!
      AND awww, you’re so kind!!! I love how friendly and loving you are!!! So great!

      Reply

      1. HealthyMasters

        Lol NYC is a little much to handle! It is very fast paced, sometimes you can find yourself running in circles! Lol thank youuuu for this post xoxoxoxo

      2. Kristin

        Haha, I’m sure NYC is a lot to handle!! It’s definitely fast paced! I’m hoping to visit again soon!! I miss the yummy bakeries we’d go to!!! I love Crumbs Bakery!!! For special occasions, I order tons of their cupcakes online!!! I can’t resist eating them all when they’re delivered!!

      3. HealthyMasters

        Oh gosh! crumbs is a no no! I can’t even walk in the store!!! Lots of great coffee houses here! And tea shops! You must let me know if you end up traveling here. So many places I can give u! Lol

      4. Kristin

        Ohhhh I will!! I’m sure I’ll visit sometime in the near future!! I miss it!!! I will definitely let you know!! XOXO!!!

  5. 2 Cups 'N Run

    Great post! I have done most of the things on your list, except coaching a team. They are such little things that can be easily done.. and they can make a world of difference to whoever is receiving them.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      YES, very true and you’re such a lovely person!! Little things (nice deeds) can make ALL the difference in a day!! XOXO! Have a great weekend!!

      Reply

  6. carmyy

    1. Way to use Phoebe from Friends! I loveeee her. 2. “Mistaken kindness for flirting” this times a million! I’m being kind folks, not flirting! 3. You are the nicest I swear.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha Carmyy, thank you!! You’re very kind yourself!! XOXO!!!
      I know, I’ve definitely had kindness mistaken for flirting before and it ends, well… awkwardly. Oops!!!

      Reply

  7. Open Up Life

    There are many acts of kindness that I do and continue to do, but I can’t pick one, because I love to do anything I can to help others and share love. I have walked dogs at the Humane Society, donate clothes, helped with serving people (meals), assisted with 1st grade Sunday School, volunteered Yoga services at the Treasure Coast Food Bank.

    There are so many ways to be kind to others. It could be just a simple smile to a person you pass on the street, which could brighten their day.

    You are performing an act of kindness Kristin just for sharing your gift of love and compassion with the world.

    Have a beautiful day!
    Peace, love, blessings

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Wow, you really know how to send love my way!! Thanks so much and I have to say, you’re the amazing one- you spread so much love, joy, and light to those that you meet and interact with! You’re truly amazing!! You’re thoughtful and kind to everyone you meet!!! I can’t thank you enough for always bringing joy to my blog! THANK YOU!

      Reply

      1. Open Up Life

        Thank you so much for your kind and loving words. You bring joy and love to me and my blog as well. Have a beautiful day! Peace, love, bliss.

  8. Lauren @ ihadabiglunch

    I’m a huge believer that doing little kind things throughout the day are what truly make the world a better place. Holding the door for people, smiling at passers-by on the street, reaching out to people and truly getting to know about their lives, donating time/money to people who need it, etc. Little things like that make my day!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lauren, I just knew you’d write a lovely comment and I definitely see you smiling at strangers, holding doors open, and sending a lot of love to those in need. You’re fabulous!! Such a sweet, sweet person!! XOXO! Have a great weekend!

      Reply

  9. omearajpo

    I’ve done a lot of the things on the list (regular door holder). I work in a hospital and always try to smile, look into the eyes of the patients being moved from surgery to the floor or vice-versa, and say ‘hello.’ These folks are often very scared, and I think someone offering a simple acknowledgment makes a difference. Lately I ran 15 miles in the sleet and snow with a friend who was training for a marathon and had no one to run with. It was her longest run ever and she needed the support. Great idea for a post.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh my, you’re certainly a giver and I LOVE that!!! What beautiful acts of kindness you do on a regular basis!!! You’re so sweet and such a beautiful person!!! Door holders always have my heart!!!! XOXO!!!! Lovely comment!!! From the bottom of my heart, thank you!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh my gosh, thank you SO much!!! I really appreciate YOUR kindness and your reblog!!! You’re awesome!! Have a wonderful, WONDERFUL week!!!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  10. leerunsdistances

    Nice post Kristin!! Though I must say I’ve done most of those acts of kindness “A” would probably be the one I would choose overall because in this day and age it almost seems to be a lost art or should I say act of kindness. I can’t tell you how many time a door is not held open for me or another person. So when I door is opened for someone it makes you feel good and they are taken a back because it’s such a rarity today.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      So true!!! I know, having a door slammed in your face is never fun and quite frustrating!! Honestly, it is a rarity today and does feel good to hold the door open for someone/have the door opened for you. You’re 100% right!!! XOXO!!! I hope you’re having a marvelous Monday!!

      Reply

  11. thedancingrunner

    Love this post 🙂 Folks in Texas are known for holding the door open for one another…I think it’s just that southern hospitality kinda thing. I have been a volunteer running coach for marathon training, and I teach spin class now…I have to say that teaching is such a rewarding position to be in!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh Chelsea, you’re such a beautiful person!! I already knew that for sure!! 😉 Southern hospitality is THE BEST and wow, REALLY COOL, you’re a volunteer running coach for marathon training!!! I’m sure you’re a phenomenal coach because you are a great runner and you really know how to inspire other runners (cyclist, etc.)!!! Have a great Monday!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

