…Truly, I promise you guys it is Tuesday and this week has been flying by like a busy worker bee!! I’ve been running this way, that way, and every which way!! Can you relate?!

Image

Man, I’ve (also) totally been on board the Headache Express lately (and free of charge may I add, which is nice) and not loving the ride (may I also add)- it has been a painfully bumpy route! Over the last couple of days, I’ve had THE WORST headaches, but thankfully, I have still gotten in my workouts which have (of course) been challenging (because of my migraines). Ugh, someone PLEASE rescue me from this terrible ride I’ve been on!! It’s NO FUN!!

Alright, SO my last few workouts have been…fiiiine (among my Headache Express passenger status), but let me go back to Friday (shall I)…

FRIDAY: {6.15 Mile Noland Trail Run (47:01)}

** Okay, maybe it’s just me, BUT I’ve had some trouble “landing” my trail run jumps lately (if that makes sense). Haha, maybe a strange topic, but it’s true! The Noland Trail has tons of steep uphills and downhills (with wooden steps) and I feel like I’m constantly jumping up and landing a perfect 10.0 jump (vertically, like a gymnast), instead of propelling myself forward (horizontally) through the trail! Get it? I definitely need to work on my trail running form because right now, I’m running through the trail like my ex-gymnast self, speeding towards the vault about to do a half on full off!! Ha, I sprint, then jump and land, then keep sprinting baby!!! I get to the end in a fairly timely fashion, but definitely have lots of WHOA moments along the way where I have tell my speedster self to slooow dooown!!**

SATURDAY{2.17 Mile Pool Swim @ Riverside Wellness w/ Alyson}

**Yaaay, I finally got my swim buddy back, but unfortunately Alyson lives in Boston (now, NOT Newport News, VA) and was ONLY in town for a visit!! Oh poo!!! We had a GREAT swim though… catching up on old times, laughing, joking, (oh yeah) swimming, and most importantly, hot tubbin’ it (which was great for my sore muscles).**

Image

SUNDAY{10 mile Easy Run @ The Battlefields in 1:19:21 (7:54/mi)}

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 1:19:21.0 10.01 7:54
1 8:17.2 1.00 8:17
2 8:04.8 1.00 8:05
3 7:58.5 1.00 7:58
4 7:57.4 1.00 7:57
5 7:56.9 1.00 7:57
6 7:52.0 1.00 7:52
7 7:48.2 1.00 7:48
8 7:58.8 1.00 7:59
9 7:44.5 1.00 7:44
10 7:41.0 1.00 7:41
11 :01.7 0.01 5:05

**Okay, sooo this was my (very) first 10 mile run (like EVER) that was (for lack of a better word) RELAXING!! I could have definitely kept running (and running) with NO effort on my part! Truthfully, it was a fabulous run! Very enjoyable!!! Aside from mile 8 (where I literally had to stop running and squeeze through an unopened gate (not fun) + go up a crazy hill (yep, not fun)), I negative split this sucker!!** 

Note: I must be a natural negative splitter because honestly, I rarely try to, but usually do. My simple explanation: Growing up as a year around swimmer, we’d negative split (most) all of our sets, so I’m pretty sure my body is trained for it (by now). 

Image

MONDAY{Back/Shoulder Workout @ Riverside Wellness + 1 Hour Bob Harper Yoga For Warriors}

Image

TUESDAY{2.27 Mile Pool Swim @ Midtown Aquatic Center + Tricep/Bicep Workout @ Riverside Wellness}

Image

HOW IS YOUR WEEK GOING??!!! ANY FUN (AT ALL)??!!

XOXOXO!!! 

  1. HealthyMasters

    I see crazy amounts of awesome work outs!!!! I am hearing a lot of people on the headache train!!! I also had one today!! Hope that gets better for you!! How’s lulus recovery going?

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww HEY!!! Oh noooo, headaches are so terrible!! I hope you feel better, too!! XOXO!
      Lulu is doing a lot better!! She is doing her rehab exercises and although she’s a bit antsy, she still seems happy!! 😉 I really appreciate your concern and love!! You’re so sweet!
      Thank you, too for the beautiful compliment!! You rock!!

      Reply

  2. healthymommy4life

    Awesome workouts! I’m hoping some of your running will rub off on me. I just can’t seem to get back in to it. For the headaches, try ginger. My husband gets migraines all the time and I read an article, in Prevention I think, where they say ginger helps. You can try ginger tea or pills like my husband since he hates ginger. He takes the pills everyday and so far hasn’t really suffered from a bad one yet. Who knows, it might be coincidence, but at least he doesn’t have headaches anymore. Good luck!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! I will definitely try ginger tea!! Yum, that does sound amazing by the way!!! I really appreciate your concern and your suggestion!! It’s a great suggestion for sure!!
      I really appreciate your compliment, too and I know what you mean about not being able to get back into it…I definitely have those days and weeks where it’s really hard! You can do it, though!! YOU CAN DO IT!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  3. Charlotte

    Wow! I’m tired just reading what you do! Where do you get that energy. But your workouts show. I was just looking at your pictures! Now, I need to lay down. I’m impressed with you, Kristin.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww Charlotte, thank you so much!! You’re so sweet! You’ve just made my morning!! I appreciate you SO MUCH x 1000!!! THANK YOU!! Have a wonderful day!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much and YES, I told my husband (after my run Friday) that I’m probably hilarious to other people on the trail because I seriously will say stuff like that out loud!! Some of the downhills are quite scary because they’re sooo narrow and curvy that I literally talk to myself as I’m running!! Silly me!! Hehe!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yaaay, THANK YOU!! You’re right, too- pool workouts are so much fun with a friend!! Wow, it makes it so enjoyable!! 😉
      You’re so awesome and sweet! I appreciate your support! Have a great day!! XOXO!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, thank you so much!! Yes, they are THE WORST!! Ugh, feeling okay today (so far) so hoping my head stays feeling good!! XOXO! Have a wonderful day!!

      Reply

  4. 2 Cups 'N Run

    I love those long-ish, relatively easy runs, that make you feel you just can keep running forever, they are so enjoyable and such a confidence boost too! Hope your headaches go away soon.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much! I’m feeling better this morning (so far)! You’re right, it felt so good to run an easy 10 miles with no concern for pace/time! It felt wonderful to be in a stress free mindset! XOXO! Have a wonderful day!

      Reply

  5. omearajpo

    On your trail jumps you might try slowing a bit then incorporating a slight forward lean from your ankles as you approach the root, branch, or whatever it is you are jumping over. This might encourage your body to go forward as opposed to up. Or, you might just not worry about it and get over the obstacle however you can rather than eating it.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks!! Great tips!! I will definitely remind myself to slooow down before the wooden steps/jumps because it feels semi- dangerous at the speed I’m going! You’re right- a slight forward learn would really help me to propel forward instead of up and down!! Thanks so much! Have a fabulous day!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh man, nice runs this weekend!! That’s A LOT!!! You’re awesome!!! My next race is a 10k May 24th!!! I’m excited! This is my 2nd 10k ever!! I’m excited to see what I’ll do! I honestly have no idea!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, XOXO, thank you so much!! You’re so sweet!! I do aquathlons!! I actually have one coming up in July!!! It’s my favorite one!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Aww, thanks Courtney!! You’re so sweet!! My head feels much better now!! I really appreciate your kindness and your sweet compliment!! Thank you so much!! Have a great day! XOXO!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

