Seriously, they knew how to live life to the fullest:

The Golden Girls indulged in chocolate cheesecake, lavished in foods such as pizza, pasta, and more, plus always had the biggest smiles on their faces as they ate (these scrumptious foods)! Dorothy, Blanche, and Rose dabbled in fitness some, but usually came to the conclusion that a well balanced diet (+ some cheat meals) was the best route to go for them (as opposed to killing themselves at the gym). 

They also looked beyond FAB in their workout apparel (I’m SO into sparkly neon outfits) and never missed an opportunity to support each other and their kooky fitness endeavors! 

THE GOLDEN GIRLS KOOKY FITNESS ENDEAVORS

1} Blanche ate nothing but bee pollen for an entire week in preparation for her date with a (much) younger man. She also ran like crazy and worked her abs to the core (get it?) to achieve a 10.0 body! She pumped out the mileage and sweat like a beast for the sake of a date! Worth it? Hmmm, the other 3 ladies didn’t think so…

Image

thegoldengirlsreviewedby.com

2} Rose, Blanche, and Dorothy danced the night away at a 24 hour Dance-A-Thon! Rose was totally the coolest one of them all because she did cartwheels, back walkovers, and back handsprings to impress both the judges and the other contestants! GO ROSE! What a gymnast!! 

Image

weheartit.com

3} Rose and Blanche took Dirty Dancing lessons at their local dance hall: They twirled their hips, flung their legs over their heads, and sashayed the nights away! What a great workout, right?!

4} On one of the episodes, Rose, Blanche, and Dorothy decided to try out an aerobics class at an all women’s gym! Ha, they instantly stuck out like sore thumbs: During warm-up, they almost pulled their muscles (while stretching out their not so limber bodies), jumped up and down like sillies, BUT finally gotta break when the aerobics instructor got a charlie horse! Whoa, that was a close one!! I don’t think they would’ve survived that class!! 

Image

meetatthebarre.blogspot.com

5} Instead of dieting and exercising, Dorothy, Blanche, and Rose invested in spankin’ new hairstyles because they figured, the guests (at the beach party they’d be attending) would pay waaay more attention to their new hair than to their (not so toned) bodies.

Image

goldengirls.wikia.com

6} Tap dancing was their go-to form of cardio! Rose, Dorothy, and Blanche tap danced in several of the episodes! Their routines were fabulous! 

Image

thelaughingstork.com

7} Everyone (minus Sophia, who was the narrator) performed Henny Penny on stage (to help spread the word about the importance of early literacy). They danced, jumped, and frolicked around stage (getting a great workout in, may I add). Fun workouts are THE BEST!! You forget you’re even working out! 

THE GOLDEN GIRLS TAUGHT ME THAT EXERCISE SHOULD BE FUN!! 

WHAT DO YOU THINK?! WHEN’S THE LAST TIME YOU LET LOOSE AND HAD SOME FUN??!! 

XOXOXOXO!!! 

 

  1. weight2lose2013

    It’s been too long since I’ve let loose. I’ll save that for my July vacation. 🙂 Love your post today! The Golden Girls in 80’s style work out clothes is hilarious! 🙂

    Reply

  2. HealthyMasters

    I have to say…(Bows head in shame)…I have never seen an episode of the Golden Girls!!!! But this post may have prompted me to! lol! Happy Wednesday !! xoxo

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, OMG, get on it!!! This is my favorite show ever!! I love it!! It’s such a classic!! So many laughs!!! Happy Wednesday to ya, too!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  3. Betty LIVIN

    Ha ha! This is AWESOME! I never realized it, but those ladies were ahead of their time in terms of an active lifestyle. I need a sequinned aerobics outfit though for sure.

    Reply

  4. Charlotte

    Seeing your post brings back a lot of memories for me! I loved the Golden Girls. I learned so much from them. Blanche was the one I liked the best! She enjoyed her sexuality and showed that women can be sexy at an older age! Awesome. Nice post. I was smiling while reading it.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh my gosh, I LOOOOVE Blanche!!!! You’re right, she knew how to express herself and how to love/embrace who she was!! It’s a wonderful thing to feel comfortable in your body! The Golden Girls are awesome!

      Reply

  5. Running Betty

    This post is so cute!!! I love the Golden Girls and their dancing was always the best! I let loose with my work-outs by trying some Zumba classes with a friend; it was a blast after I got over feeling silly about my total lack of coordination and rhythm! Haha

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey! Oh YES, the Golden Girls definitely knew how to let loose and rock it on stage/in their house!!
      You’re right, Zumba is fun!! I tried it (a while ago) with a friend, too and we had an awesome time!! I looooove dancing: I danced the nights away in college!! It was so much fun!
      Have a great day!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  6. piratebobcat

    LOL, again, you’re a nut! I like how you got life lessons from an 80’s sitcom. All I got out of growing up on Three’s Company was how to do physical comedy and make puns and innuendos.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe, well, I have to say, you learned valuable lessons from Three’s Company because…you’re funny! 😉 Haha, thanks so much!! You always make me smile and laugh!

      Reply

  7. katehouse89

    Thanks for reminding us to have fun with exercise! It’s all too easy to slip into the “I have to” mindset instead of “I want to!” I love the Golden Girls. What a fabulous post from wonderful you!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      XOXO!!! Thanks a bunch!! You’re so sweet!! I love the Golden Girls, too!!! They’re just SO fabulous!!
      You’re right! It’s very easy to slip into the “I have to” mindset and it should be about more than that!
      Have a great day!!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Definitely!!! You’re right, dancing is an awesome form of cardio!! It’s so much fun to let loose!!!
      Tap dancing is my favorite!! I put my tap shoes on every now and then and have some fun!!!

      Reply

  8. brunettedistraction

    You’re absolutely right about that Kristin, I LOVE funny workouts!! I like to dance around my room like crazy (sweating like a pig as well, but I don’t care in that very moment xD) and just have FUN all by myself :)!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      So true!! Having fun and dancing around is always fun!! Hehe, I even have The Pussycat Dolls dance dvd and it’s so much fun to get into it and pretend I’m one of them!! I love it!! XOXO!!!
      I love that you have fun!! That’s important!! Hope you’re having a great day!

      Reply

  9. runsaltrun

    This was such a fun walk down memory lane for me. I LOVE the Golden Girls! I used to watch with my grandmother all the time (our fave was always Rose) and I have seen every single one of these episodes. This post is so creative!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Ohhhh Salt, I loooove the Golden Girls, too!! Aren’t they SO fabulous??!! I’m obsessed with them!! I want to be a Golden Girl!!! Rose, Blanche, Dorothy, Sophia, and Kristin!! Whatcha think?!! Haha!! XOXO!!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

