FEAR NOT, CONQUER!

During speed work today, I realized that…I’m no longer scared to push my body. I’m no longer scared to relax into my pain. I’m stronger. I’m wiser. I listen to my body. I conquer my runs.

WHAT HAVE YOU CONQUERED?!

xoxo, Kristin

  1. 2 Cups 'N Run

    That’s a feeling I strive to accomplish on every run, although I’m not always successful. That feeling of “I’m pushing, it hurts, and that’s OK”. 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      That’s great!! It feels awesome to push through pain, doesn’t it? To know that you didn’t let it defeat you.
      Before my speed work/track work, I used to get really nervous and unsure of how my goal pace would feel, not wanting my legs to burn, not wanting to feel too tired, but now, I let my mind go and it has truly released my body. I definitely feel like I’ve gotten stronger as a runner.
      Have a wonderful day!!! xoxoxo!!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe, I know, last night, I couldn’t take my eyes off of this picture! Wow, incredible!!!
      You’re such an inspiration! You’re a strong, passionate runner! I love it! Go you!

      Reply

  2. emmelineruns

    Embracing the hard stuff is SUCH a big deal, I’m so glad you’ve conquered the fear of pushing yourself!! I’ve conquered my own limits I think, realizing I’m capable of finishing a marathon on torn knee ligaments and completing a triathlon. I don’t set limits for myself anymore 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      That’s great!!! You’re terrific!!! Such an inspiration to so many people!! xoxo!!!
      Running is very enjoyable and I love it to death, but I always questioned myself (before, during, and after) my speed/track workouts, so it is GREAT to finally feel peace of mind, like I’m finally learning to trust my body!!!
      Swimming has always been like that! At races, I trust myself and my body, but at run races, I have doubt… so hopefully my 10k next Saturday will be a great, peaceful (mentally) race!!! XOXOXO!!!! Thanks for your comment!!!

      Reply

  3. Lauren @ ihadabiglunch

    Short and sweet! It’s so funny how we try to force things and wonder what we can do to change things but sometimes the best growth just happens and then out of nowhere you’re not scared anymore! I know that was a word-heavy sentence but you catch my drift 😉 haha

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha Lauren, I definitely caught it and love it!!! 😉 You speak THE TRUTH because that’s exactly what happened to me. I woke up one day and (before my run) said:
      I’M NOT SCARED ANYMORE!!! It has brought great peace of mind this week…not feeling the need to overanalyze my runs!!

      Reply

  4. Shawna

    that’s such a good feeling, like you’re conquering something and pushing yourself to new lengths. good for you. ps that picture is crazyyyyy, those freaking gymnasts!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Very true and you guys are right, it is definitely tough to relax through pain! This week has definitely brought me to some amazing realizations and has truly been a confidence boost!

      Reply

  5. piratebobcat

    Awesome! You know, I thought the same thing on my speed work yesterday – I wasn’t nervous going into it, and it didn’t hurt as much, but I was still going faster. Love it!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      That’s pretty cool that we were feeling the same way during speed work!! It’s the strangest thing, all of a sudden, my fear subsided!! It’s very freeing!!!

      Reply

  6. riversgain

    I agree with you! I push and push my body like I never have. In the past I would have been terrified but now I go out and expect excellence therefore I get better and conquer those goals one by one!
    You go girl! Keep pushing and conquering!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      You’re so fabulous!!! I love that you push yourself and that you’re fearless!!! You are such an inspiration to me!!! I love reading everything you post!! You always start my day off on a great note!!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

