YEP, IT’S FRIDAY!!! PRETTY COOL, HUH?! I THINK SO!! YES, YES, I DO, & HOW ABOUT YOU?!! DID YOU HAVE A GOOD DAY?! I HOPE SO!! 

Image

Alright you guys, check out this scrumptious recipe and while you’re at it, pick up a copy of “Eat What You Love Everyday: 200 All New Great-Tasting Recipes Low in Sugar, Fat, and Calories.” I know I will!!

Okay, I’m totally looking at http://www.marlenekoch.com right now, the author of the (above) cookbook, and loving what I’m finding!! Free recipes + pretty great nutrition tips!! Go take a look!!! 

The recipe below is out of this world yummy, yummy to my tummy!! The original recipe calls for lean ground turkey, but because I’m a vegetarian, I improvised and used Trader Joe’s Beef-less Ground Beef instead!! Perfection!!! 

Image

Note: I found this recipe on http://www.hallmarkchannel.com!! Here ya go:

Grilled Portobello Beef-less Ground Beef Stuffed Pizzas

Ingredients:

* 4 medium portobello mushrooms (4 to 5 inches in diameter)

* 1/2 teaspoon canola oil

* 8 ounces Trader Joe’s Beef-less Ground Beef

* 3/4 cup of Trader Joe’s Organic Tomato Basil Marinara 

* 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano 

* 1/2 cup of Trader Joe’s Shredded 3 Cheese Blend (Note: Trader Joe’s offers a lite 3 cheese blend as well)

* 4 slices of green bell pepper, cut in 1/4 inch rings

Recipe:

1} Preheat a grill to 350 degrees.

2} Set out 4 (12 x 12 inch) pieces of aluminum foil on the counter.

3} Remove the mushroom stems by gently snapping them off.

4} With a tablespoon, gently scrape the gills from the underside of the mushrooms.

5} Spray the tops of the mushroom caps with cooking spray, and place each cap, spray side down, on a piece of foil.

6} Heat the oil in a large, non stick skillet with cooking spray and set over medium-high heat.

7} Crumble in the beef-less ground beef and cook, stir often, for a couple of minutes.

8} Stir in the marinara sauce and oregano and cook for 2-3 minutes.

9} Remove from heat.

10} Spread 1/4 of the meatless meat mixture on each mushroom cap, top each cap with 2 tbsps. cheese and a bell pepper ring.

11} Loosely wrap the foil around the mushroom caps and grill for 10 minutes or until mushroom is cooked. 

ENJOY!!! WHAT A GREAT BREADLESS PIZZA, RIGHT??!!

10 DAY COUNTDOWN UNTIL MY BIRTHDAY!!! WOOHOO!!! 29!!! 

HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND!!! HAVE SOME FUN!!! XOXO!!!

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Lisa!!! I hope you and your mom are both recovering and doing fabulously!! I’m thinking about you guys!! XOXO!! Have a wonderful weekend!!

      Reply

  1. Charlotte

    I’m not sure I know what beef-less ground beef is but the rest of the recipe sounds good. I could eat vegetarian for the most part but I don’t like meat substitute foods. But vegetarian looks good on you. Have a great weekend!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey Charlotte!!! Thank you!! I have a funny story about this beef-less ground beef! I’m the only vegetarian in my family, so one day, I fixed my dad dinner (because he was over working on my house) and I made him tacos (with this beef-less ground beef). He could not believe how delicious they were. He’s a meat eater alllll the way, too! He said that if he didn’t know it wasn’t real ground beef, he would’ve thought it was! I was pretty excited because my dad can be skeptical about vegetarian dishes!
      Thanks so much for your comment!! You’re oh, sooooo supportive and I always love your kindness! Hope you had a great week and have a wonderful weekend!!

      Reply

  2. emmelineruns

    I love how creative vegetarians get! I stayed with my friend for a week and she made us tacos and all kinds of other yummy foods using different substitutes and it was all SO yummy, I didn’t even notice it wasn’t meat!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Very true!! Some of my family members have been quite surprised at the tastiness of the meat substitutes!! I love making tacos!! That’s one of my favorites!! Have a fab week!! XOXO!! Thanks for your kind words!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      It’s a pretty cool recipe!! It tastes just as good as bread because the mushroom is a great, hearty substitute!! Have a fabulous week!! Thanks for your support!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  3. sarahdudek80

    Happy weekend. Of course I am finally reading this as the weekend comes to a close. Bummer. The beefless beef sounds interesting. I am going to look for it next time I am there.

    Reply

  4. thedancingrunner

    I’m going to send you some stuff for your birthday!! So keep your eyes peeled!! 29 is going to be a great year for you!!

    Mmm portobello pizzas are soo good!! That’s one of my fave ways to eat pizza fosho!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh my gosh, you are the sweetest!! Thank you!! XOXO!!! You’re so wonderful, beautiful, and just beyond awesome!!! You rock!! Have a wonderful week!!
      THANK YOU!!! 🙂 🙂

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

