Good morning!! I hope you’re having a rockin’ week!! Mine?! Pretty good if I don’t say so myself (well, I just did, so I guess it’s going fine)!

Too early in the day for hard to follow humor?

ImageImage

Probably so, so let me keep rockin’ and rollin’ through this post! Alright, not that I don’t love all weekends (because I do), but I’m especially lovin’ this heart happy weekend (well, I will (very soon because it’s almost Saturday)) because it’s my (drumroll, pleeeease)Β BIRTHDAY WEEKEND!! Roll your eyes if you must (I don’t care, namely, because I can’t see it (the eye roll)), but I love my birthdays, which is kinda odd to me because…

AHHHHH, I’M TURNING 29 & THAT MEANS… I’M ALMOST 30!!! If you haven’t noticed (by the AHHHH), I’m a bit freaked out about it!!

Image

I know, I know, I have a whole year to reflect on what the 30 blues will feel like (not really, just kidding), but until then, I plan on aging out of my twenties with a big, humongous BANG!!! What do I mean by this?! Well, I’m not entirely sure yet, but believe you me, I intend on finding out. I know I want to make my 29th birthday (this year) + everything (that comes) after it (leading up to my 30th birthday) as special as possible! I wanna do something big (hence, something that would leave a “big, humongous BANG” in my mind, you know, a fabulous memory)!

Image

Don’t get me wrong, I want every single day of my life to be as special as possible, but for some reason, this 29-30 stretch seems particularly important to me. It’s strange, though because I still feel like I’m in college, celebrating my 21st birthday with a little margarita action! Oh, fun times!! How time flies when you’re having fun (and I guess when you’re not having fun, too)!! Irregardless, I should have listened to my parents many years ago when they told me to embrace every single moment (you know, suck the juice out of life) because it goes by way too fast!!

Image

Note to my parents: You were right!!!Β 

Just think about it, we’re constantly wanting the minutes, hours, days, weeks, and months to fly by faster and faster so that we can get to… WHERE EXACTLY?! Summer vacation? The weekend? The holiday? Graduation? An event? A birthday? Great!! Fine, but I’m finding that I’m letting these precious day-to-day (even hour-to-hour) moments slip by (so easily) with no consequence for what I’m doing at the time, meaning, I’m not living in the moment…I’m living beyond the moment (looking towards something that’s coming up).

When I finally realized this about myself (that I was living beyond the moment/living in the future), I decided to make some changes!!Β 

HOW I’M LEARNING TO LIVE IN THE MOMENT:

1} When I find myself wandering about what’s next (i.e. the next day, the next weekend, my next running/swimming event), I stop, relax, and come back to what I’m currently doing (eating, writing, walking my dog, etc.). It’s great to think about what’s up/what’s next, but it’s also great to suck the juice out of every moment in your life (i.e. think, reflect, respond).

Image

2} Writing in my gratitude journal is really helpful because #1- It allows me to write about how I’m feeling at that very moment and #2- It allows me to actively seek happiness in my day and in my environment. I highly recommend getting a gratitude journal!!

Image

3} If I’m worried (or even overly excited) about an upcoming event, I surround myself with nature! I go outside, take in a nice, hearty whiff of fresh air, maybe even watch the squirrels and birds play for a while, and then come back to what’s going on that day.

Image

4} Hahahahaha!!!! Hahahahaha!!! Laughing really helps me to find peace in my day and to find happiness in those little, crucial day-to-day occurrences (that should not be ignored)!! Try it out!! I guarantee you’ll have a better day (even if you’re not having the best day). Does that make sense? Well, try it out and see!!!

ImageImage

HEY, YOU OVER THERE, DO YOU LIVE IN THE MOMENT OR DO YOU LIVE IN THE FUTURE??!!

HAVE A GREAT ONE!! XOXOXO!!!

-Kristin

    1. Kristin

      Thanks!!! You, too!! XOXO!!!
      Haha, I’ve learned how to relax like a boss from my dog, Prince, so I thought that picture was pretty funny!! Hehe!!

      Reply

  1. weight2lose2013

    Living in the moment and appreciating each day are awesome ideas. I tend to live in the future, so I have some work to do there! What are the plans for the big three-o? I’m sure that you’re going to have a great time. I’m looking forward to reading about it soon!

    πŸ™‚

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Living in the moment is something I’ve definitely been working on!! It’s hard not to live in the future I think!!
      I’m turning 29 this year, but am hoping to have this cool year long (last year in my twenties) celebration!! I’m thinking about doing something special each month!! I’ll write a more detailed post on it in a few days!! XOXO!!!
      Hope you’re having a great day!!!!

      Reply

  2. HealthyMasters

    Woot woot!!! Birthday dance for birthday weekend!!!! Hope you embrace each and every wonderful moment you have this weekend, because you deserve a TON of awesome moments and memories!!!! Bask in them! Xoxoxo hugs and kisses for the bday girl!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww, you’re such a sweetie pie!!! I always love how you bring a smile right to my face (as soon as I read your first word)!! Thanks so much for always being so kind!!
      I hope you’re having a great day and feeling wonderful!! XOXO!!
      Thanks!! I plan to have a wonderful weekend and hopefully my 10k Saturday will start my birthday weekend off with some excitement!!!

      Reply

  3. Shawna

    we had a whole discussion and paper in one of my grad classes this semester on “being” vs “becoming” philosophies, which generally equates to this idea of living in the moment/being a child of spontaneity or always planning and looking to the future. i’m Hundo P a “being”/living in the moment girl, for better or for worse. aka i’ll probably still want to be a surf bum when i’m 80.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Shawna, I need to spend some time with you!! I love that you live in the moment and I’ve always dreamed of being a surfer girl!! I love the beach so much!! I’m learning to live in the moment more, but sometimes it’s not easy!! I love your free spirit!!! You’re so cool! Have a wonderful weekend!!

      Reply

  4. riversgain

    haha -30 is not bad – I thought it was going to be as well and it isn’t! I turned 30 in 2013 and lets see I ran my first 10k, my first half marathon, and competed in my first triathlon all in the past few months OH and had my 2nd kid. I actually feel better I guess more confident..I’m loving the 30’s! AND I think you will love them as well!
    I live in the moment but also a little in the future. I always look at the next big things BUT I live in the moment I am in. It is hard but I make myself. Living in the moment makes you enjoy your life much more! It makes you notice how great just the little things are!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Wow, you are so fabulous and in tune with yourself both mentally and physically!! I love that about you!! Your encouraging words are really making me feel happy and hopeful for the future!! You’ve accomplished so much in your thirties!!! That’s very cool!! What amazing events you’ve done!! You rock!!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  5. emmelineruns

    I always felt that way too, looking forward to the next vacation, to graduation, to moving, to whatever. I feel like I finally learned to love the day to day around 27. Getting closer to 30 is a little crazy and I’m not sure I’ll handle the birthday itself the best but I truly feel like I’m living the best life I possibly can right now and what more can you ask for really? Happy almost birthday lovely girl!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      You’re such a sweet person, you really are!! Thank you!! Your comment really made me feel better!! Living life the best way you can is indeed all you can ask of yourself!! Very true point!!
      I don’t think I’m going to handle my 30th birthday very well either!! It scares me but hopefully I’ll find the mental strength to let it go (over this next year) and embrace a new chapter in my life!
      Have a fun, FUN weekend!!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  6. advocare distributor

    Have a happy birthday. Carpe diem!

    On the approaching milestone… worry is like bubble gum…gives you something to do, but doesn’t accomlish anything. 29 will come and go just as 30 will, but the thing about 30 is that you are forced to recognize that you really need to accomplish those things you have talked and dreamed about. At lease for me that is how it came and went and that your parent were right.

    The curse of youth is that you don’t listen to elders. Start listening.

    Regards,
    Clifford Mitchem
    Advocare Distributor
    Nutrition + Fitness = Health
    http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks so much for your kind words and yes, listening to elders is a very wise decision!
      I like how you said, worry is like chewing bubble gum…it gives you something to consume your mind with but definitely does not accomplish anything!! Wow, I love that and will remember that tomorrow during my 10k run!! It will help my nervousness to even out! Have a wonderful day!!!

      Reply

  7. Amy Christine

    Happy Early Birthday!!!!!!!!!! 29, 30 and all the rest will be amazing!!! I had a mini freak out like a week before my 30th but next month I’m turning 35 and I still feel like 22!!

    I hope you have a great birthday girl!!

    I love the idea of surrounding yourself around nature to reset πŸ™‚ It always works!!!!

    XOXO

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Amy!!! XOXO!!! I appreciate your encouragement and love!! I definitely feel like I’m going to have a big freak out before my 30th birthday!! It’s so strange to not feel like a teen anymore. Haha, I never thought that would happen!!
      Have a wonderful weekend!!!! You’re the best!!!

      Reply

  8. courtruns4cupcakes

    I try to always live in the moment, but it is hard to always do that when you have something to look forward to in the future. I remember when I was little all I wanted was to grow up and be an adult. I’m only 22 but I already feel old and it’s freaking me out!! I want time to slow down! Have a great birthday weekend, you deserve it!! πŸ™‚

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, xoxo, thank you so much and I know, I want time to slooooow down, I really do! When I was younger, I wanted to be 16…I wanted to be 18…I wanted to be 21, etc.
      Thank you for the lovely birthday wish!! I’m excited; although, I little nervous about my 10k tomorrow!! Hopefully it will start my weekend off with some excitement!! Have a great weekend!!!

      Reply

  9. Charlotte

    Happy birthday to you, young lady! I hope your honey treats you like a queen and I’m sure he will. πŸ™‚ You are still such a young lady with a whole, healthy life ahead of you! Make the most of it πŸ™‚ It seems you do. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks so much Charlotte!!! I really try to make the most of my life and YES, my husband definitely treats me like a queen!!! He is so wonderful!! Thanks for the encouraging words!! This whole late twenties thing is throwing me for a loop (more than I thought it would). Hehe!! Hope you’re having a great day!!

      Reply

  10. 2 Cups 'N Run

    I love your tips for learning to live in the moment and will keep them in mind. I’m definitely always waiting for something that’s coming, and even though a little anticipation is great, enjoying the present moment is always better.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks and very true!! Looking towards the future with excitement is wonderful, but sometimes I find myself looking too much into the future in anticipation and sometimes with fear!! I let it overcome me!
      Hope you’re having a great day and had a great 5k!!! Can’t wait to hear how it went!!

      Reply

  11. brunettedistraction

    I love how you always pick up such interesting topics, you’re SO right about this one as well!! I can remember how I was 14 and being like “I wanna be an adult” and now I think “OMG I’m almost 25…ahhhh, where did the time go?!” πŸ˜€ I started a memory jar at the beginning of this year, writing down every happy moment I experienced so far. I think that is a good reminder of how lucky I am! πŸ™‚ Have a great friday!! XOXO

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Ohhh WOW, a memory jar!!! That’s a great idea for me to do!! I think I might just start that on Monday (my 29th birthday) so I can remember everything that happens over the next year!!
      Thanks for the great idea!! Time really does fly!! It’s crazy!!
      I hope you’re having a great Friday and have a wonderful weekend!!

      Reply

      1. brunettedistraction

        Yeah it’s actually quite fun to check out all the good times you’ve had at the end of the year! πŸ™‚ Hope you’re having a great friday too & I wish you a wonderful weekend as well! πŸ™‚

  12. Lauren @ ihadabiglunch

    As I’ve gotten older I’ve learned to appreciate nature a lot more too – it’s just something that helps you stop rushing through things. I’m TOTALLY with you on the “always looking to the next ____” thing – that makes time FLY. We have to cut it out! I can’t wait to read your blog for the next year and see all the crazy fun things you’re going to do πŸ™‚ plan a trip or something!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Lauren!! Nature is definitely a great way to make yourself slow down and reflect on what’s important at the time!!
      I’m planning on doing something special each month!! I’ll write a post about it very soon!!
      Thanks for always being encouraging and for offering a fresh perspective on what I write about!! You are very special!! Have a great weekend!!!

      Reply

  13. Running Betty

    Have a fabulous birthday weekend! A long, beautiful weekend at that! You’re one lucky girl! I know you’re going to finish off your 20s with a bang and be just ands wonderful and gorgeous in you 30s! (I love being in my 30 – I promise it’s nothing to fear πŸ˜‰ )

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, thanks Kristine!!! Nobody in my family is like this (letting age get to them)!! Haha, I don’t know why it is freaking me out so much!! Well, I can definitely tell you’re enjoying your 30s and rockin’ your runs and much more!! Thanks for your encouraging words!!! I appreciate it!! I hope you have a great weekend and have some fabulous runs!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  14. irishrunnerchick

    Yes! I always have to remind myself to enjoy the moment – it’s usually so easy to get wrapped up in the planning, preparing and freaking out about the future. And 30 is not bad at all, in fact, it’s pretty awesome.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Ohhh, soooo glad to hear 30 isn’t bad!!! I think I’m being silly about it!! πŸ˜‰ I don’t know why I’m freaking out about it so much!! Hmmmm…
      You’re right, it is very easy to get wrapped up in planning and preparing!!! Very easy to let life slip by!
      I hope you’re having a great weekend!!!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

