HEY YOU GUYS!!!! Today, I ran my 10k in 43:42 (7:02 pace) baby!!!! I placed first in my age group and was the 13th female overall!!! Let me tell y’all, the race was held on the Portsmouth Seawall Waterfront & there was a steady 15 mph headwind for most of the race!! Let’s just say, I’m thrilled with my time!! I’m sure with some added (specific) 10k training, my next 10k will be in the 42:30 range!!!

On a side note: There was some extra pressure put on me to perform well in my 10k today because last night, the President of the Colonial Road Runners asked me to be on their intraclub team challenge against the Tidewater Striders!! This competition is an age graded competition!! Needless to say, this created some unforeseen anxiety heading into the race, but I’m glad to report, I performed well!!

Image

Have a great weekend everyone!!!! I’ll talk more about this race later!!! Time for birthday festivities!!!

-Kristin

    1. Kristin

      Who is the coolest?! You are the coolest!!! You always make me smile and are just the cutest!!! Have a great weekend and thank you for the FUN birthday wishes!!! YAAAY!!!

      Reply

      1. Kristin

        Haha, you’re the cutest!! Thanks for always making me feel like a rock star!!! You’re a sweet girl!!! You’re running awesome!!!

  1. 2 Cups 'N Run

    Congratulations, that is a great great finish time!! You deserve it because you train so well. I was thinking you’d run around that time but didn’t want to write anything on the comments yesterday. 🙂 GREAT JOB!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww, thanks!!! You’re so sweet!!! I think I was secretly hoping to get under 44:00, but I wasn’t sure I could do it, so I didn’t want to get my hopes up.
      I stayed fairly consistent throughout the run, too so I feel good about that.
      It was just a scary, in between (5k/half marathon) distance for me that I wasn’t used to racing, so I kept re-evaluating how my body felt the entire race. Without the wind, I think I could have dropped more time, but I’m happy with how it turned out!!
      I always appreciate your love and support!! You really make me feel good!!! Thanks!!! Have a wonderful weekend!!! You rock your runs, too!!! You do!! You’re an awesome runner!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe, thanks Scott!!! I plan on eating that extra dessert tonight!!! YUUUM!! Have a fabulous weekend and thanks so much for your support!!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Woohoo, THANKS, it is!!! I actually got REALLY nervous (more than I thought I would) going into the race this morning!! It’s like a wave of nervousness came over me, but I’m happy my birthday weekend is rockin’ so far!!! Thanks for your love and kindness!!! Hope you’re having a great weekend!!!

      Reply

  2. Martha B

    Fantastic job!! You should be so proud. Also, intraclub team challenge? That sounds like a blast. Time to celebrate!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, thanks Martha!!! You’re so sweet!! I appreciate your lovely words of support!!! Xoxo!!!!
      Yes, the team challenge is very fun!!! It’s neat to race for points!! Hehe!!
      Celebrate!! Yaaay!!! Have a great weekend!!!!

      Reply

  3. leerunsdistances

    That’s just a crazy sick time Kristin!!!! I could just hug you right now. I’m Doing all I can not to scream right now. Congrats speedsta!!! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, I love the word speedsta!!! You have to be the kindest man on earth!! Thank you Lee, thank you so much!! I really love your beautiful, positive energy!! You’re amazing!! Have a wonderful weekend!!!

      Reply

  4. Nachthawk

    Well done – didn’t we say you would be doing well… pad yourself onto the shoulder – brilliant achievement… 🙂 paws up from us…

    Reply

  5. piratebobcat

    Yaaay! Way to crush it!!!! I was thinking of you as I was warming up for my 10k and looked at my watch and realized you were finishing yours around that time. Again, so happy for you!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Wow, thanks!!! I was thinking about you as I finished my race and I was cheering you on in spirit!!! I’m so happy you ran a PR!!! That’s phenomenal!!! A 10k was definitely a strange distance to figure out, but at least we both have a little more experience with it now!! I’m happy for you, too!!! Thanks for thinking, about me!!! That means a lot!!!

      Reply

      1. piratebobcat

        Thanks so much! I felt it when things started to hurt and I remembered I told you that I would remember your encouragement when it did! I wanted to stop and walk at the water stop, but I brushed them off and kept running! So yes, I felt your cheers!
        You did uh-maze-ing!!!!

      2. Kristin

        Awww, man, you really know how to me make smile!! That’s so sweet!! Thank you!! I feel the same exact way!! After the first 5k, I was like this whole 10k thing is not fun, but I kept pushing on because I knew you were thinking about me!!! Thanks!!!

      3. piratebobcat

        Oh wow, that is such a compliment! I was thinking the SAME thing – when I saw the split from the 5k to the 10k, I found myself wishing I could quit the 10k and just finish the 5k. But as I continued on, I remembered our correspondence!

  6. Running Betty

    Woo hoo! You smoked it! Congratulations! What a fantastic start to a birthday weekend! You’re amazing at any distance! The colonial striders will be lucky to have you and what a fun opportunity to flex those competetive muscles!!! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, thanks!!! I’m happy it’s done and now, I have more experience with the 10k distance!! I celebrated my run and the start of my birthday weekend with 2 scrumptious chocolate/chocolate cupcakes from a favorite bakery!! They were delicious!!
      Have a wonderful weekend!!! 🙂 🙂

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      THAAANKS!!!! Well, let’s see…I ate 2 double chocolate cupcakes yesterday and today, I ate jumbo peanut m&m’s with a carrot cake cupcake!!! Hehe!! I think I’ve been treating myself!!!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

