Hey you guys!!! Happy Thursday!!! Today, has been a fine day, but sometimes, I wonder if my goals are achievable!! Have you ever had one of those days where you can’t stop thinking…

Image

Well… DON’T QUESTION. DO. (This is the conclusion I’ve come to…)

Alright, so aside from giving myself the third degree today (yep, I’m being random), I swam 2.5 miles. It was a tiring swim, but I’m glad I did it because honestly, I wasn’t feeling my best this morning. I think coaching outside in the nasty humidity is getting to me, but (What can I say) I love coaching, so I’ll stop the complaints right here!

Image

Tell me, HAVE YOU EVER SACRIFICED COMFORT FOR SOMETHING YOU LOVED DOING?!

Okay, soooo… swimming…on a Thursday…aaand…I’m being random…SO…say hello to RANDOM FACT THURSDAY:

I question my abilities as a swimmer a lot! Why? I’m not 100% positive. I hold swimming (very) dear to my heart (because I’m a mermaid after all…JK), so maybe that’s why I’m so hard on my swimmer self. I’m not like that with running, so, yeah, kinda weird!

The feeling I get when I swim is indescribable… I’m free from ridicule and unkindness…I’m free from anything and everything that is bothering me…ironically, swimming feels like home (a.k.a. safety, security, etc.). The taste of chlorine, the feel of my swim cap on my head, even the water that seeps into my goggles…I feel like I’m home…

Image

WHY DO I SWIM?! Because there is nothing else I’d rather do!

I’m a dreamer; therefore, I have big dreams for swimming…dreams that I will not yet reveal, but dreams that I am working towards…

Today, in the middle of my 2,000 yard I.M. set, a woman stopped me and asked…

“ARE YOU A PROFESSIONAL SWIMMER?!”

Although I’m not, I wanted to hug her because… in the middle of my swim…in the middle of my doubts…in the middle of my roaming mind…I BELIEVEDI BELIEVED!!

Image

DO YOU EVER DOUBT YOURSELF?! WHAT DO YOU BELIEVE IN?! XOXO!!!

-Kristin

  1. atwinthing33

    Ha ha I need a coach!!!!!! I wish I could swim as well as you…I also wish I had a friggan coach…I do not know what to do now. I miss swimming so I think you just motivated me to get out there and swim again!!!!!! Thank you and thanks for listening…

    Reply

  2. Charlotte

    You are very hard on yourself, I think. You want something really big from swimming. Your dreams are very important. I can totally see you achieving them but you have doubts. It’s those doubts that drive you, though. I love how you say you feel like a mermaid while swimming and very at home in the water. That’s why you love it! I would love to see you swim someday. I have a great deal of admiration for swimmers. I cannot swim. It’s a long story about a cousin almost drowning me (or I thought) when I was 8 years old. You are awesome and I bet you are a great coach.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh Charlotte, I’m sorry to hear about the incident when you were 8! That sounds incredibly scary! I can’t imagine how scared you must have been! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      Thank you so much for your continued support!!! I have to say, you are 100% right about me and everything you said. I am very hard on myself and I DO want something big to happen with my swimming career!! I always have!!
      It might be sad, haha, but I imagine myself (a lot) swimming in a huge meet with the crowd cheering for me and swimming the best 100 fly of my life!!
      It will take more work and more dedication and learning how to balance running and swimming together!! Thank you for being a beautiful person!! XOXO!!
      Have a wonderful Friday and weekend! XOXO!

      Reply

  3. Running Betty

    You are an amazing swimmer, I’m with charolette – I’d love to see you swim sometime, especially the butterfly! I bet you look like a cross between a mermaid and a buff goddess when you do! I honestly see big things happening for you as an athlete! I was never close to on your level with swimming, but I can imagine it creates some pressure. I feel a bit with my running because there are a lot of personal goals I want to achieve, like wishing on a star…Don’t want to say some out loud out of fear that they may not come true. It’s easier to see positive in others while being hard in ourselves. I see your talent and whole heartedly believe in you! I’m glad the woman at the pool filled your happy meter to 100%! Perhaps we all should take the time to compliment someone we admire! You’re totally fantastic! Have a great weekend!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, THANK YOU!!! Thanks for believing in me!! It’s amazing how others believe in me, yet I always doubt!! Hmmm…that is definitely something I need to work on!!
      I guess I’m afraid of disappointing myself; therefore, I would avoid racing, but I think I’m getting better with that. I’m trying to race more.
      I’ve been thinking about posting a video of me swimming, so maybe I’ll do that in the upcoming weeks. Thanks for wanting see me swim! I was asked to be on a synchronized swim team and although I don’t have time to put towards it, I’m happy to know I swim gracefully. Butterfly is my love! ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Have a happy Friday and I great weekend!! Good luck on your marathon tomorrow!!! You are going to run great!!!

      Reply

      1. Running Betty

        That would be so awesome if you posted video of your swimming! I don’t see many strong fly swimmers, I was never able to swim fly for more than 100 meters and I seriously was struggling and just praying not to drown! Lol You’ve done so many sports that have made you a strong and we’ll rounded athlete!

        Thanks for wishing me luck! I need it on this race! I may have bitten off more than I can chew but I guess I’ll see! Haha

        Have a fantastic weekend too!

      2. Kristin

        Kristine, you are a great racer so I know you will do awesome!! That’s the great thing about you, too- you go out there and have fun and do your best!! Have a great weekend!!!
        Thank you for wanting to see me swim!! Thanks also for your words of encouragement!! I appreciate it!! XOXO!!!

  4. HealthyMasters

    Thats so AWESOME!!!! That woman was a SIGN to stop doubting!!!! A crystal clear sign, that you are AMAZING and you can do anything you put your mind to! Go KRISTIN ( insert cheerleaders) xoxoxo

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Woohoo!!! Cheerleaders for meee!! YAAY!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thank you so much!! You always amaze me and inspire me and encourage me to be the best version of myself!! Thank you so much!!! You are sooooo very special!!! Have a happy Friday and a great weekend!! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yes Amy, we do rock and we ARE STRONG!!!! I’m thinking about you and I know you’ll do great on your 20 miler!! You are fabulous! When we doubt, we will encourage each other!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  5. 2 Cups 'N Run

    I know you can achieve your goals!!! It might take a few months, it might take a few years, depending on what they are…. but you WILL make it! Keep training hard, keep enjoying it, you’ll do great!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much!!! Yep, I will keep going!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ It will take time, but time is on my side!!! XOXO!!!
      I hope you are having a lovely day!! Happy Friday!!! Enjoy your day!!!

      Reply

  6. brunettedistraction

    Of course I doubt myself, actually a lot… unfortunately!! I think it’s only human, we just have to remind ourselves to keep going and trying and if we REALLY want something it’ll eventually work out. Have a fab friday!! ๐Ÿ˜€ XOXOXO!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Happy Friday!!! Yes, I doubt myself a lot, too!!! Thanks for the kind comment and the lovely encouragement!! It’s hard NOT to doubt yourself sometimes, isn’t it? You’re right, it’s human nature!! We will both keep pushing towards our goals!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  7. weight2lose2013

    I think that you question yourself as a swimmer because that it what you love the most. I think that the things that we really love, we seek to improve constantly. Keep striving for your dream! Someday it will come true!

    Rob

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Rob, THANK YOU and you are SO right…swimming will always be my #1 love. I love running, but when it comes to swimming, I’m extremely sentimental!!
      I will keep striving towards my goals!!! Thanks so much for your encouragement!!! You are soooo wise!! XOXO!
      Happy Friday!!! Have a great weekend!!

      Reply

  8. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com

    Substitute running for swimming and this sums up my life. No matter how many long runs I do or how many times I PR, I sometimes have a little doubt or question my abilities. But it is my passion and I love it, so that always trumps the negative! A lady once told me I looked like a gazelle, made.my.day. I’m sure you felt the same way! Keep up the awesome swimming you PRO! xoxo

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      HEATHER, HEATHER, HEATHER!!! I’m wearing my happy face!!! Hehe!! Thank you so much!!!
      You made me feel like a million bucks!!! I can tell you are very graceful and of course incredible beautiful and an amazing runner!!!
      You’re right, at the end of the day, doubt does trump any negative thoughts!!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  9. piratebobcat

    Very nice! A couple years ago I got to interview some US Olympic swimmers when they were in town for an event. I’ll tell you, it was mind blowing when they jumped in the water for some laps! Its like it took them just a few strokes to get across…and the water they were kicking behind them was just a big wave! Glad you love it so much! My mom was a swimmer and made us take lessons growing up. Now she’s taking our kids to their first lessons!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, I love it!!! That’s so nice your kids are taking swim lessons!! Fun! Yeah, swimming is a crazy/amazing sport. It’s definitely very technical, but amazing to do and to watch!
      Yeah, it’s cool meeting Olympians, especially Olympic swimmers and gymnasts (for me). Growing up, I swam on year around teams with a couple Olympians. It is so cool to see them NOW!! AMAAAZING!!!
      Have a great Friday!!!

      Reply

  10. Lisa Macy Coaching

    Ditto with everyone else! You’re being too hard on yourself, but we are always our own worst critic when we really want to be perfect at something we love. You can and will attain your dreams! And you already have your own cheering squad! I would love to see you swim too! I’ve always been envious of swimmers because I suck at it and have a fear of water. So, get out there, and swim for all of us too! You’re living out a part of our dreams when you do! XOXO!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww Lisa, XOXO, wow, you really made me tear up!! What a beautiful and inspirational comment!! Thank you x a million!! Your words mean so much to me!!!
      You have really inspired me to be confident and mentally strong so thank you for that!!
      Happy Friday!! I admire you for everything that YOU are and for everything that YOU do!! Thanks again for your sweetness!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  11. runsaltrun

    I question my abilities as a runner a lot. Especially after a bad run. But at the same time I can relate to that feeling of being home when I’m out there that you get when you swim. (The way you described that is just really beautiful!)

    You ARE a mermaid! I knew it! โค I hope you have a wonderful weekend, lovely!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, yaaaay, I AM A MERMAID because Salt believes!! YAAAY!!!
      I get what you are saying about doubting after a bad run. I’m definitely like that with swimming!!! If I have a bad swim, I get really upset. I know I’m too hard on myself but sometimes it is hard not to be when you care about something so much.
      You’re an awesome runner!! I see that…everyone sees that…but sometimes the hardest part is convincing yourself. That’s how I feel with swimming (after a bad practice/race). You’re the best. You always get it!! XOXO!! Thanks!!
      Have a great weekend!!!

      Reply

  12. Lauren @ ihadabiglunch

    I wish I found as much joy in swimming as you do! I’m a big fan of listening to music when I workout (not a fan of silence) so swimming just isn’t for me…but I can tell how passionate you are about it! And that comment from the passerby was probably such a boost in confidence! Yes we all doubt ourselves and it’s okay to be appreciative of others’ comments picking us back up when we’re feeling down – humans are supposed to support each other!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lauren, you are exactly right!! Kindness makes you feel good and it makes others feel equally good!! It’s so nice to spread it around!! Thanks for picking me back up!! Have a fun weekend!!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, thank you!!!! My philosophy is…if I keep saying it, maybe I will become one!! Haha!!! Thank you so much for your encouraging words and YES, kindness really goes a loooong way!!! XOXO! Have a great weekend!!

      Reply

  13. Cassy

    I think it’s normal to doubt ourselves and that’s why fitness is so great! Once you push passed those mental and physical barriers, you get an awesome sense of accomplishment!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Cassy, wow, YES, thanks for this and very true! Your words are OH, SO inspiring, so thanks for that! Thanks for being so brilliant and wise!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰ XOXO!!!
      I hope you have a fabulous weekend!!!

      Reply

  14. Shawna

    It’s so nice to get that little boost of encouragement right when you need it most! Makes you feel so good. You’re a great swimmer and athlete, girl.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe, thank you, I love that puppy picture, too. When I saw it, I just had to use it in my post!! Just adorable!!
      Have a wonderful, FUN weekend!!! Thank you so much for your comment!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww, XOXO, thank you so much!!! I appreciate that!! Well, you totally inspire me to live life to the fullest!! You are so fabulous!!!

      Reply

  15. daisygee

    Yes, I doubt myself a lot, and I think it’s because I compare myself to others, who invariably seem better than me. I have to stop doing that, and concentrate on me, and compare myself to how I was a year or two ago. I’m a new swimmer, so I have a lot to learn, but I’m getting there! Thank you for your post, it made me reflect.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww, thank you so much for reading my post!! So sweet and I absolutely love your thoughts here!! You are 100% right!!! I do agree that it’s hard not to compare yourself sometimes, but it is definitely better not to!! You are brilliant!! Have a marvelous week!!! XOXO!!
      Just be patient, swimming is tough, so believe that you will keep getting better and better!! You rock!!

      Reply

  16. courtruns4cupcakes

    I’m not a swimmer but I admire them. I think swimming is like running in that it’s not for everyone, but everyone can appreciate it. It takes a lot of dedication to get up every morning and jump in a freezing cold pool!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Very true and thanks so much!!! I really appreciate your comment!! Thanks for your continued support and love!! You are soooo awesome and sweet!!! Yep, jumping into freezing water early in the morning is never fun!! Haha!!!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

