Hey you guys!! What’s up?! How’s it hangin’?! Well, I’m good!! Thanks for asking!!

Alright, I’m going to let y’all in on a juicy, little secret of mine…I’m obsessed with Sylvia Plath!!!

Image

Sylvia Plath Info

For a stint of time during high school, I did nothing but read her works and to be honest, I loved the intel (inside her mind) that I learned! I felt like I was uncovering top secret information about her that nobody else knew! Let’s just say, I was great at deciphering poetry and digging into the grainy parts of phrases. I’m a poet and yes, haha, I do know it! I have soooooul people…I have soul!!! 🙂

Anyways, I was once told (by an unnamed person), that:

“…to love Sylvia Plath…(Insert blah, blah, blah)…means that you (meaning me) are lost… (Insert blah, blah, blah)…You don’t know who are you…”

Image

Soooo (insert shoulder shrug), I’m not afraid to admit that I LOVE her poetry. I’ll shout it from my rooftop or from the highest mountain top (okay, NOW I’m being a bit dramatic, but seriously, me at the top of a mountain?? Ha, I wish!!)…

I LOVE SYLVIA PLATH!!! (Yep, I sure doooo…)

Yep, lots of tragedy surrounded her life (and yep, it still does), but she sure knew how to sing the poetic blues…FABULOUS!!! 

Image

Image

Plath

    1. Kristin

      Haha, yep, I get it! I think because her disposition is quite opposite to mine, her poetry has always intrigued me. Also, I’m a very expressive person, so the way she flooded her words with soul, is quite appealing to me!
      XOXO!!!

      Reply

  1. atwinthing33

    Ugh oh stay away from the oven! I love poets but I love Longfellow and Emerson… Pablo Neruda is great too!!!! My dark favorite is Poe… I wish I took more time to write. I won some awards in school that helped pay for college. I guess I need to have more faith in my writing!!!!!! I hope you have been having a great week!!! It has been going fast but like we discussed earlier, not so easy!!! We need to pick out a race or relay lady

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Poe is also a favorite of mine!!! Can’t get enough!! Writing is awesome and I love writing poetry. I won awards, too and I have to admit, it was fun to get up in front of people and read how I felt. I love sharing pieces of my heart!
      I will look up some events for us!! 🙂 🙂 I think I’m doing another aquathlon in August, sooo…oh my, I have lots going on this summer!! 4 events I think (which is a lot for me).
      I hope you’re feeling better!!! XOXOXOXO!!!!

      Reply

  2. irishrunnerchick

    Thanks for sharing. I haven’t read her stuff but I always had the impression that it was dark and depressing……………the total opposite of you and your blog! Maybe I should give The Bell Jar a go.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much and YES, you should definitely give The Bell Jar a try!! You should, YOU SHOULD!!! XOXO!!!!
      I hope you’re having an amazing day!!!

      Reply

  3. Shawna

    I was also an English major and write a lot of poetry and creative stuff myself – I haven’t read an extensive amount of Plath but definitely can appreciate the aching sentiments in her work.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Wow, I definitely love how you said, “aching sentiments…” YES, you defined her poems perfectly!! If you dig deep enough, there is so much beauty within.
      ENGLISH MAJOR!!! WOOHOO!!! I love that you write lots of poetry, too!!! Being creative rocks!! YOU ROCK!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      I love, LOVE this Neruda poem!!! It seriously gives me chills!!! CHILLS!!!
      I just read “Mirror in February”- amazing! Thanks so much for sharing!! XOXO!!!
      My favorite Plath poem is “Mirror”. I love it!
      You’re amazing!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

      1. Amy

        I love poetry. I’ve always said a poem is like a painting, except rather than using color, you’re using words to paint the picture.

      2. Kristin

        Hello, beautiful comment!!! Man, what a way to describe poetry!!! Wow, that’s the perfect description of what poetry means to me, too! You’re incredible!! I love poetry so much!!

  4. courtruns4cupcakes

    I have to admit I’m not a poetry person. I told my English professor that I hated poetry, and I’m pretty sure she hated me for saying that. I think I’ve just had bad experiences with poetry because I know it can be really beautiful!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww, I definitely understand that poetry does not intrigue everyone!! We all love what we love and that’s what makes each individual so special!! It’s cool that we all share our passions and you’re always fabulous in my eyes!!! I don’t see how anybody could ever dislike you because you’re just THE BEST!!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  5. emmelineruns

    It’s funny because here I am doing a PhD in English and I’ve read very little of her work but I’ve specialized in other time periods the entire time and have only been exposed to her work for a few weeks long long ago in first or second year classes. I love that you love it so much! I tend to gravitate toward novels over poetry but and earlier literature over anything even remotely modern but I’ve always loved Auden and so much of his poetry just seems to speak to me and it’s not something I’ve ever felt with other poets.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww, how cool!!! I love that you’ve studied so many spectacular works in detail! That’s really neat!!
      I’ve always been fascinated with poetry!! A lot of it speaks to me in ways that I can barely express!! There are SO many phenomenal poets!!!
      I hope you’re having a wonderful day!!! I love learning more and more about you!!! Thanks for sharing a bit of yourself!!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  6. weight2lose2013

    I don’t understand your friends point of view. Just because you love Plath, doesn’t mean that you are lost, that you want to be her, or anything other than you find beauty in her poetry. If I love Casablanca, it doesn’t mean that I want to be involved in a tragic three way love affair. Sometimes art is just art. Have a great day!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Rob, thank you for this!!! I’m so glad you commented on this aspect of my post!! You’re right!!! I absolutely find beauty in her poetry and there is nothing wrong with that!! I love the Casablanca comparison, too! So true!!

      The person that told me this, really did make me feel vulnerable to criticism at the time. Thanks again for your comment!! I’m glad you agree!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Reply

  7. Martha B

    I read The Bell Jar in 10th grade, and it really made a big impact on my life. Sylvia’s work is awesome; she really paved the way for a lot of female authors and poets.
    Thanks for sharing your confession! I’m tempted to add The Bell Jar to my summer reading list for old times sake. I forgot how good it is!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks for your comment!! I’m so happy you’re a fan!! That’s really cool!! Sylvia Plath really impacted my life, too! Her words are truly amazing!! I’ve memorized so many of her poems. You’re right- she absolutely DID pave the way for other female authors/poets!
      I’m definitely thinking I’m going to read The Bell Jar this summer, too!! Yes, let’s do it!! 😉 XOXO!!!
      Have a great Friday!!!

      Reply

  8. runsaltrun

    Beautiful quotes. I haven’t read any Sylvia Plath since high school and it is such a pleasant surprise to hear that you love her so much! (You love her…right? 😉 )

    Reply

  9. I used to drive a minivan.

    I’m with alsoranagain – I never would have pegged you for a Plath fan because you’re so sunny! Every year one of my female seniors chooses The Bell Jar for her senior literary criticism paper – it’s fun to help shepherd new generation through her darkness.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh wow, I love The Bell Jar and definitely wrote lots of papers on Plath in high school! 🙂 Very cool!! Haha, yep, I know, it’s definitely a contradictory!! That’s for sure!!
      Hehe!!! Well, I’m just surprising people all over the place!!! 🙂 🙂 Thanks for your comment!!! You’re awesome!!! XOXO!! Have a great weekend!!

      Reply

  10. Helena

    You should check out my dear friend’s poetry. Just google Jeremy Lespi. Unfortunately he passed away a few years back. Most of his poems are online. Such a funny beautiful soul!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Wow, thank you so much and so sorry for your loss. 😦 I appreciate your comment and will definitely be checking out his poetry!! Have a wonderful weekend!! XOXO!!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

