Happy weekend you guys and HAPPY FATHER’S DAY to you fabulous Daddy-O’s out there!! You Daddy-O’s sure rock, let me tell ya!!

I must admit, my dad is the coolest, but I’ll save my (million + 1) reasons for tomorrows post! Soooo, rain check?! Alright, sweet!

THIS WEEKEND WAS SCRUMPTIOUS!!! It tasted like a moist, humongous, chocolate chunk cookie (with extra chocolate chunks)!! Yaaay or maybe yum? Just imagine devouring your favorite sweet treat (or maybe salty surprise, like chips and dip), and then you’ll (completely) understand what I”m talking about! Delicious weekend, right?!

Source 

LET ME RECAP!! Well, not to totally disappoint you, but my weekend was filled with workouts and food. Hmm, maybe not the over the top weekend you thought I had, or maybe it was exactly what you thought.

MY WEEKEND = GREAT FOOD + OUTSTANDING WORKOUTS + A LITTLE ADVENTURE

Source

SATURDAY!!!! 1 WORD!! HINT: IT RHYMES WITH CHICK!! ANY GUESSES…….?? GIVE UP YET??

BRICK!! TA DA!!! Alright, so…yep, I did a brick workout Saturday and not to overstep my bragging rights, but I felt amazing!! My brick workout consisted of a run (3 miles)-swim (1.3 miles)-run (3 miles). After rockin’ this workout, I felt confidence bubblin’ through my blood!! My goal this summer is to get on the podium for top 3 female overall.

Last time I did this thaaaang (Translation: The last time I raced Allen Stone Run-Swim-Run), I placed 1st in my age group (5th overall female), which was a hard feat in itself. This is a very competitive race, hence, this year, I’m steppin’ up my game baby!! This girl is in to win it, that’s 4 sure!!! Hehe!!

NAME BIB NET TIME CLOCK TIME GEN AGE CITY STATE GROUP GRP PL GEN PL
Kristin Milner 97 0:50:51 0:50:51 F 27 Newport News VA Women 25 to 29 1 5

 

BACK TO SATURDAY, HERE’S HOW THE BRICK DROPPED:

1ST 3 MILE RUN:

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 23:06.0 3.03 7:36
1 7:44.3 1.00 7:44
2 7:35.1 1.00 7:35
3 7:32.6 1.00 7:33
4 :13.7 0.03 7:02

 

1.3 MILE SWIM:

2ND 3 MILE RUN:

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 21:25.0 3.01 7:09
1 7:29.4 1.00 7:29
2 7:05.5 1.00 7:06
3 6:48.9 1.00 6:49
4 :01.4 0.01 4:09

 

SUNDAY (a.k.a. Today)!!! A 10 MILE ADVENTURE RUN, meaning, my husband and I drove down to Virginia Beach to:

#1- Run 10 miles on the boardwalk (which was gorgeous and a great change of pace)! 5 miles of headwind people, 5 MILES!!! It was a tough ruuuuun, but an adventure nonetheless. Check it out:

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 1:17:20.0 10.01 7:42
1 8:03.1 1.00 8:03
2 7:44.7 1.00 7:45
3 7:43.9 1.00 7:44
4 7:46.8 1.00 7:47
5 7:47.7 1.00 7:48
6 7:48.1 1.00 7:48
7 7:40.6 1.00 7:41
8 7:41.7 1.00 7:42
9 7:31.4 1.00 7:31
10 7:30.0 1.00 7:30
11 :01.7 0.01 5:05

 

#2- Eat at Whole Foods, which is (by the way), only my most favorite place to eat in the world. I mean, come on, they have one of these machines:

Displaying 20140615_081351.jpg

It’s an orange squeezer contraption that is freakin’ cool as can be!! With a single push of the button, it feeds oranges through this machine that results in this picture below:

Displaying 20140615_082429.jpg

This morning, my fresh squeezed orange juice was yum!! I love drinking orange juice after a hard, sweaty run!!! 

HOW WAS YOUR WEEKEND??!!

DO YOU LIKE FRESHLY SQUEEZED ORANGE JUICE??!!

ANY FUN BRICK WORKOUTS??!!

-Kristin

 

  1. Charlotte

    You are an incredibly athletic woman! Don’t ever let anyone tell you different! What a workout, I’m tired! lol I love eating at Whole Foods also. I have had incredible lunches and dinners there. I could eat tons of calories off their food and salad bars! Delicious. Hope your weekend was good. 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Charlotte, thank you so much!!! You always raise my self-esteem and my athletic-esteem…if that’s a word…haha! 😉

      I hope you had a great weekend and Whole Foods has some great stuff!!! I can’t even describe how much I love their blueberry brownie pastries!!! They are so incredible and I could eat 20 in one sitting. YUM!!! I love their food bars!!! Just sooo good!! They’re building a Whole Foods right by my house!! YAAAY!!!

      Have a fabulous Monday Charlotte!!! XOXOXOXO!!!!

      Reply

  2. Lisa Macy Coaching

    Way to go Kristin! My day today consisted of almost killing myself while trying to paint my toenails! lol Really! I had no idea I’d lose so much muscle/strength with surgery, but I have. It’s going to take quite a while to build back up, but I did it! 😀 😀

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh Lisa, sorry you didn’t have the best time painting your beautiful toenails!!! Ouch!!! That sounds like a painful experience; although, I know you’re very tough and strong, so you’ll pull right through the recovery!! You can do it Lisa!!! XOXOXOXO!!!!!

      Reply

      1. Lisa Macy Coaching

        It was definitely an experience! haha It gives me an idea of how much work it’s going to take to get back in shape, but I’ve been told I’m doing great compared to others so I’m very optimistic! 😀 XOXO!!!

      2. Kristin

        Of course you’re doing great because you’re Lisa!!! Lisa is strong!!! 😉 😉
        I’m happy that you’re on track and sure believe that you’re going to get back to where you were!! I know you will!!

  3. atwinthing33

    wow look at you with your sub 7 minute mile…work it girl!!!!! There is nothing wrong with an action packed weekend full of food…I cant tell you how much I eat and I am still told I need to eat more…ummm okay…buy me a cake and I will eat the whole thing…..I hope you had a great weekend. I wish you could come to work with me tomorrow ha ha ha

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, I wish I could go to work with you, too!!! Awww, I’d be there for ya!!! XOXO!!! Try to have a good day!!! 😉

      Also, thank you so much!! I felt really good during the entire brick workout!! I couldn’t believe how much power I had during the last mile. I definitely could have pushed both runs harder, but I wasn’t supposed to go all out, so happy with how it ended.

      I’ll be thinking about ya tomorrow!!! XOXOXOXO!!!!

      Reply

      1. atwinthing33

        that is awesome I bet you will consistently get better…I bet I see two sub 7 minute miles on your next workout…I used to be there and I see it…Like I told you, I got faster when I was 29-30…and it kept getting better….until now lol

      2. Kristin

        Ha, well, I think you’re absolutely fabulous!! You are fast and will achieve your set goals. You’re a great athlete! I’m proud of you! You work hard!
        Thank you!! I’m excited for my brick workout Sunday. Hopefully it’ll be another great one!! XOXO!!!

  4. emmelineruns

    Great workouts! And such a fun sounding weekend, especially the part about a run on the boardwalk and eating at whole foods. I loooove eating at whole foods 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you!! It was fun being at the beach and seeing them set up for a beach volleyball tournament and an art festival. Lots to look at and be entertained by, + tons of people. We definitely had to weave in and out of people a lot, but still fun, nonetheless.
      Also, I love Whole Foods. We are getting one by my house in 2015!! I can’t wait!!
      Hope you had a fantastic weekend!!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  5. Martha B

    What an amazing weekend for you! You should be so excited about your accomplishments, and definitely eat all the cookies and cake and chips and dip 🙂
    I know you’re gonna get that top 3. You got this!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Martha! I really appreciate your encouragement!! I’m training for top 3, so hopefully everything goes good race day!
      Hope your Monday is starting off with lots of love and fun!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  6. leerunsdistances

    Look like you had some epic workouts chica! Annnnnd did you have to throw in the cookie pics (insert drool) that’s just wrong hahaha lol 😉 and I sooooo love freshly squeezed orange juice. That’s one of the best things about being here in Florida! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Lee!! You’re the best!!! XOXO!!
      Ohhh yes, Florida has the yummiest orange juice!! Hehe!! Definitely!!
      Also, I know, it was horrible of me to insert scrumptious looking cookies into my post!! Oops, sorry!!! Hehe!!

      Reply

  7. Open Up Life

    You are so amazing! Your dedication and devotion is an inspiration to all! You go girl! Don’t really drink orange juice, but I love juicing fresh fruits and veggies (yum, yum) Have an awesome day! Get your swim on!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so very much!!! I appreciate your kindness!!! You always raise my self-esteem!! XOXO!!!
      Juicing fresh fruits and vegetables is yummy!!! I love it, too!!!
      Have a fabulous Monday!!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, I love Whole Foods so much!!! They have such great selections for vegetarians!!! LOOOVE!!!
      Also, haha, I know the word brick + the word workout probably doesn’t make a lot of sense together (if you don’t know what it is).
      A brick workout is 2-3 consecutive activities done back to back (to back) without rest. It’s a training technique that triathletes use. I do aquathlons (run-swim-runs); therefore, I run-swim-run back to back with no rest.
      During my workout Saturday, I ran 3 miles outside, then transitioned right into a swim (at my local aquatic center), and then went back outside and ran 3 miles!!

      Reply

  8. courtruns4cupcakes

    Good luck with your goal!! I know you can do it!!! Umm I’ve never seen that contraption in my Whole Foods!! I wonder if there is one and I’ve just never seen it?! I used to eat there all the time and had to stop going because I was spending all of my money there! Their food is sooo yummy!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Ohhhh, I know, they are building one right by my house!! I’m so excited!! I already told my husband that I will no longer be grocery shopping because I will be eating all of my meals there!! I know, I never saw that cool squeezer thingy either, well, until the other day!! Neat!!!
      Thanks for your encouragement!!! XOXO!!! Hope you had a great Monday!!!

      Reply

  9. Cassy

    Man, you’re a beast! Look at those mile times! I’m sure you’ll place top 3 if you’re putting up times like that. I’ve never seen that contraption at Whole Foods, but I must find it! It looks awesome!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      This contraption is amaaazing!!! The juice was delicious, too!!! So fun to watch it work!! I was like a kid watching in amazement!! Hehe!!
      Thank you so much Cassy!! Thanks for your confidence boost!! So very sweet!! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe!! Haha!! I know, the cookies have been a very popular part of my post!!! I’m glad we are all on the same page here, that cookies are yummy and mouth watering!! Yaaay!!!
      Thanks so much for your sweet comment!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  10. katehouse89

    Sounds like an awesome weekend! You’re such a champ. And way to take first place in your age group in your past race. I know this time you’re going to take the whole thing! You ROCK!! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww, you are fabulously encouraging!!! Thank you!! Thank you!! Thank you!!! I so appreciate your confidence boost!! Hope you’re having a fabulous week!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  11. piratebobcat

    Great job on your workouts! You’ve got some great times going! I must admit though, when you said it rhymed with ‘chick’ my mind went dirty. teehee. Congrats on everything! I’ve only been to Va Beach once, but I loved it! I remember going for a run on the beach. Beautiful!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Tehehe!!! 😉 😉 Thank you so much and that’s cool you’ve visited Virginia Beach!!! It’s a nice change of pace for me!! I go down there every now and then!! I hope you’re having a great week!! XOXO!!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

