Hey everyone!! How are ya??!! Hope you guys are having a fabulous weekend!! I really, really do!!

FIRSTLY (AND I TYPE THIS IN CAPS BECAUSE I SERIOUSLY MEAN IT), THANK YOU EVERYONE FOR YOUR LOVELY COMMENTS ON MY LAST POST!! I CAN’T THANK YOU GUYS ENOUGH FOR BEING SO KIND, LOVING, AND SUPPORTIVE!! I’VE SAID IT ONCE AND (WELL, OBVIOUSLY) I’LL SAY IT AGAIN:

YOU GUYS ROCK!!! HOW DID I GET SO LUCKY WITH Y’ALL? YOUR WORDS MEAN THE WORLD TO ME!! THANKS FOR ALWAYS HAVING MY BACK AND FOR SENDING ME WORDS OF ENCOURAGEMENT (WHEN I NEED THEM THE MOST)!!

Source

Alright, soooo last week was…TIRING…and…EXHAUSTING…and…TOTALLY NOT FABULOUS…and…THANKS AGAIN FOR STICKING BY ME!! Between my workouts, the heat, and my summer league swim team, I… broke…yesterday…during Marc’s duathlon (in Charlottesville, VA)…and by broke, I mean cried in public!!

Well, okay, let’s start from the beginning shall we!!! Based on my last post, you guys know how my workouts were going (up through Wednesday)!! I was doing good, staying on track, and feeling alright (that is until Saturday). RECAP!! RECAP!! RECAP!!

THURSDAY: I swam 2.27 miles at the YMCA aaaand it was a horrible swim filled with me getting kicked in the head and ribs (like a thousand times). It felt like billions of people kept jumping into my lane, swimming on my side of the lane, and always kicking breaststroke as I passed them (hence, kicking my knees, ribs, etc.). It was a horrible experience and I’m going to think twice before swimming at the YMCA…in the morning…during summer! Their summer pool schedule is crazy, not to mention dangerous!! People flock to the pool (in the morning) and don’t have much consideration for the more experienced swimmers. It’s crazy (and did I mention dangerous?)!

Source

Also, after putting in tens of hours of work on my swimmers first meet of the season (It was supposed to be Thursday night), it got canceled!! Yep, out of nowhere, a couple gross storms rolled through (right before warm-ups were supposed to start), so we waited (…and waited) around 2+ hours (to see if the storms would pass, which…obviously they didn’t (because the meet was canceled)), but then, in the end, rescheduled the meet for a later date, which stinks because the meet will now have to be rewritten (which means tens of hours all over again).

Source

FRIDAY: I did another great brick workout; although, unlike my last brick workout, where I did a run-swim-run (3 mile run-1.3 mile swim-3 mile run), Friday, I did a swim-run (1.65 mile swim-4 mile run). My mile splits were:

Mile 1: 7:00  Mile 2: 7:02  Mile 3: 6:54  Mile 4: 6:52

I have to say, I’m feeling very strong both in the water and on land. Honestly, (it used to be) if I tried to run after a hard swim, my legs felt like wiggly jello, but now, it’s as if I push a button and my legs turn it up (almost on instinct). It’s great! I’m thinking about adding another aquathlon (swim-run) to my summer schedule, so we’ll see how my schedule plays out.

After my early morning brick workout, I was feeling fabulous and then spent the rest of the morning traveling up to UVA (University of Virginia) with my husband. Saturday, he did the Jefferson Duathlon.

I graduated from UVA, so any chance to get back there is a plus in my book!! I love Charlottesville so much…so much in fact that I want to live there!! Well, maybe one day.

Source

Anyways, so in Charlottesville, I:

1} Went to TJ’s Locker and bought some cute UVA apparel!! I was running a little low!! Always gotta represent!!

2} Ate tons of great food and drinks at Whole Foods!

3} Watched UVA swimmers rock their summer workouts at the aquatic and fitness center! So fun to watch!! I miss swimming in that pool!!

4} Walked around campus and went to my favorite shops!!

5} Reminisced about old (not to mention, pretty crazy) times!! Yep, Kristin knew how to have fun!! Hehe!!

6} I kept repeating, “You kids don’t know how lucky you are!” Tehe! I miss being a college student!! I miss UVA!! I was seriously making my husband laugh!! He did warn me, though (after the 29th time), to stop saying it!! Tehe!!

SATURDAY: I got up and had a fabulously WONDERFUL 6.2 mile run through campus. Let me tell ya, Charlottesville, VA is extremely hilly!! Wowzers, but I was so enthralled with my surroundings, that I seriously felt like I was running on air!! I didn’t pay a bit of attention to the crazy hills I was running on!

Source

Let’s see, I ran by:

1} My first year dorm

2} The UVA Bookstore (a.k.a. My favorite place on earth (long story))

3} My favorite dining hall

4} Scott Stadium (FOOTBALL!)

5} The Aquatic & Fitness Center

6} Those good, old frat houses

HERE WERE MY STATS:

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 46:48.0 6.21 7:30
1 7:56.1 1.00 7:56
2 7:30.7 1.00 7:31
3 7:32.4 1.00 7:32
4 7:30.7 1.00 7:31
5 7:34.8 1.00 7:35
6 7:20.4 1.00 7:20
7 1:23.3 0.21 6:43

 

AFTER THE RUN, I showered, drank some Starbucks coffee, and then got ready for his duathlon!! During the event, I started feeling extremely tired and out of it. I definitely felt the weight of the (busy, crazy) week on my shoulders!! My body started aching and my mind felt like a scrambled egg. It was as if the Energizer Bunny ran out of power! I didn’t know what to do. When he ran through, to the finish (placing 3rd overall), my emotions felt so tangled up. I was happy that he placed 3rd, I was happy to see him, I was happy that we’d eat lunch soon, I was happy that I’d be able to sit down soon, I was happy that the end of the week was near…so then…

I started crying…and crying…I didn’t know what was happening…I was too tired to care, either!! I guess I had seriously worn out my body, to the point of exhaustion!! OH BOY!!

SUNDAY: REST!!! REST!!! REST!!! REST!!! REST!!!

HAVE YOU EVER BEEN EXHAUSTED TO THE POINT OF TEARS??!! XOXO!!!

-Kristin

  1. emmelineruns

    Your trip sounds like so much fun! I love Charlottesville 🙂 So sorry you broke down though, your poor body must have been so tired! Get some more rest this week you busy girl 😉 have a great Sunday night!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, THANKS!! So kind!! Thanks for your sweetness!! I really, REALLY appreciate your well wishes!!! It means a lot!!! Yes, I definitely think my body was telling me to take it easy, which I did today, so I feel tons better!!
      I hope you have a great start to the week!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  2. HealthyMasters

    All that exercise just made exhausted for you!!! I def have pushed myself to the limits and then needed to take a step back and nourish my body with some r&r!! Hope you have your feet up today and are just enjoying the day!!! 🙂 xoxoxo

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      XOXO!!! Thank you!!! I have done absolutely nothing today (except some swim team planning stuff), so it has definitely been nice to sit back and relax!! Wow, I almost forgot what it felt like! My mind has been GO GO GO lately!! Thanks for your loving words!! I really appreciate you and your kindness!! XOXO!! Have a wonderful week!!

      Reply

  3. sindel17

    Oh yeah I understand being so tired emotional control goes right out the window! Sounds like a fabulous nostalgic weekend. Glad you got some much needed rest busy lady!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, thank you so much!!! All I did was relax today!! It was so nice and I’m feeling much better now!! I appreciate your comment! Thanks for understanding!! Emotions are crazy sometimes!! They really are!!
      I hope you had a lovely weekend!! Have a wonderful week!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, thanks!!! I definitely understand where you’re coming from…FOR SURE!!! Thanks for your kind words and I hope you have a wonderful week!! XOXO!!! I feel very rested now!! YAAY!!!

      Reply

  4. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com

    That campus looks beautiful! What an awesome run, getting to reminisce to your good ole collage days 🙂 I’d be SO pissed at the meet being cancelled. I mean, I know it had to be done, but still. How frustrating. Sorry girl. All that hard work. You really are dedicated to not only YOUR training, but your team’s as well. As for the aguathon- you’re like surf n turf in human form… why does my mind always go to food, haha

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, mmmm…I love food, too!!! I’m always thinking about food!!! Especially the sweet treats of life!! Hehe!! 😉
      Thanks for your comment and for making me laugh!! You are soooo wonderful!!! It’s so fun to reminisce about old times, too!! They really do feel like yesterday!!
      That’s the one thing about summer league swimming…it’s outdoors; therefore, the summer thunderstorms get in the way a lot!! 😦 Thanks for understanding and for being so sweet!! You really are THE BEST!! XOXO!!!
      I hope you had a lovely weekend and have a fabulous Monday!! XOXO!! Thanks for your support!!

      Reply

  5. courtruns4cupcakes

    Oh no I just called you the energizer bunny on your last post and now you said it was like the energizer bunny ran out of power! Well I still think you are amazing! You are so dedicated to your workouts and are always so happy and positive! Everyone needs a good rest day every once in a while, and yes I have definitely been so exhausted and stressed that I just started crying. Sometimes you just have to let it all out!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe, oh my gosh, you’re right, you did call me the Energizer Bunny!!! Well, yep, I ran out of energy!! Hehe!! 🙂 Oh boy!! Thanks for your compassion and it’s nice to hear you understand what I’m talking about (about a good cry). Sometimes, you really need to let everything go to feel better!! Exhaustion + Stress really does = Tears sometimes, that’s for sure!!!
      I hope you had a fabulous weekend!!! Thanks for always supporting me!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  6. Healthy Simple Smart

    Yes, I have totally been exhausted to the point of tears and I never realize how stressed out or tired I am until I start crying and then it’s like “why am I crying? Oh wait there’s this, and that, and that…”

    Sorry your Saturday was a little strange, but I feel like you’re the type of person to give yourself the rest you need and then come back fiercer than before! And definitely stay away from the YMCA; that sounds so dangerous!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you and YES, I’ve been staying away from the YMCA this week!!! Definitely!!! Thanks for understanding and for making me feel great!!! You’re awesome!! I hope you’re having the best week filled with lots of fun stuff!!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  7. candies & crunches

    Oh no! You definitely need some beauty rest, darling! Your schedule sounds exciting but also very intense. Listen to your body, not to get to that point again. I mean you can cry over ummmm…. lots of delicious ice-cream *I mean, why not?*, just not because of stress! You can do it, honey bunches of oats! ❤ xoxo

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe, thank you!! You always make me laugh and make me want to hug you!!! You’re so sweet!! I appreciate your concern and your kind words!! You made me smile!! Thanks for that!! XOXO!!! Hope you’re having a great week!!

      Reply

  8. thedancingrunner

    Ahh…sounds like you definitely need some rest! Recharge those batteries so you can get back to energizer bunny status!! I know that exhausted feeling. Take some more time for yourself this week! I hope this week is better for you!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks so much!!! Sunday was a nice, relaxing day so I’m feeling better now. I appreciate your comment and hope you’re having nothing but greatness this week!! You deserve all the happiness in the world!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  9. Lauren Keating

    Yay to feeling strong! Your trip to Charlottesville sounded so nice! Happy he finished in 3rd place, but being that tired is never fun. Hope you got lots of rest! When I am super exhausted, I turn into zombie mode and nothing can get me out of it other than lying down and getting some Z’s. Hope you got your beauty rest!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      XOXO Lauren!!! Thanks and I got plenty of beauty rest Sunday!! I appreciate your sweetness!! Charlottesville is always fun!! I love going back to campus and pretending I’m a college student again! I hope you’re having a marvelous week!!!

      Reply

      1. Lauren Keating

        There is nothing better than a good night’s sleep! I miss being in college too sometimes! Always fun to be in your old stomping grounds. I am have a great week, hope you are too! xox

      2. Kristin

        I’m so happy you’re having a great week!!!! That’s exciting to hear!! My week is tiring, but it’s still going pretty good!! I’m thankful for everything that I have, so can’t complain!! XOXO!!!

  10. Open Up Life

    Thank you for your kindness Kristin! You have had a busy week, but sounds like you had a great time too! It’s always great to be able to go back and reminisce about what you have done and accomplished in your life. There are times when I cry and can’t stop it. Our bodies are full of emotional outlets and we just have to go with the flow. You deserve to rest and hope that you listen to your body and do so. Have a beautiful day! Peace, love, bliss! XOXO Tammy

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Tammy, I so appreciate your kind words and big heart!! You always know exactly what to say to make me feel wonderful!! I appreciate that!! I got plenty of rest and am feeling much better!! You are so fantastic!! I hope you’re having a lovely week!! XOXO!! Thanks for always sending me positive words of encouragement!! XOXO!!

      Reply

      1. Open Up Life

        You are so sweet! You are a ray of sunshine! My week is going great, thanks for asking, hope yours is as well. “What comes from the heart, goes to the heart.” Peace, love, blessings. XOXO!

  11. Lisa Macy Coaching

    You have to take some “me” time for your body sometimes Kristin, so I’m glad you took today “off”! 🙂 And a good cry is good for you! 😀 I hope your day was refreshing and relaxing! XOXO Have a wonderful week! 😀

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you Lisa and you’re right, I definitely need to give my body more rest!! That I do agree with!! Thanks for sending me your thoughts and you’re so smart and amazing!! Sunday, I did nothing at all, so I’m feeling much better!!! I hope you’re having a wonderful week, too!! XOXO!!!!

      Reply

  12. Charlotte

    You work so hard, Kristin that it is no wonder that you had a little emotional break! Who wouldn’t? I think the emotional breaks are good for us because it lets us know it’s time to take a short respite or at least slow it down for a day or so. Do something fun…picnic, go to the zoo, bake cookies!! 🙂 You are a dynamo and probably very hard on yourself. Go for a hike…that’s still exercise and take your camera and enjoy. Or just sit in your pajamas for a while and play with your dogs. 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww Charlotte, ohhh…what would I do without you???? Well, I can tell ya, my blogger life wouldn’t be the same!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! You are soooo sweet!! You really mean so much to me!! What great ideas, too!!! I seriously did the last one!! I did nothing but sit around the house and enjoy my Sunday!! It was very relaxing and exactly what I needed to start another crazy week!!! I ate lots of yummy food, too!! Thanks for always sending me the kindest words of encouragement!! You have the biggest heart!! You really do!!! XOXO!!!
      How is your week going??!!! I hope you’re having a great start!!! You’re amazing!! Never forget that!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

  13. Running Betty

    Sorry you’re feeling overwhelmed. I get that way sometimes too. I have a total melt down about once a month so I think you’re holding up well. I hope you had a good day of rest and your batteries are recharged. You’re good luck with your summer swim league and your training! You’re doing an amazing job!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Kristine!! I’m feeling much better.I’m definitely learning to rest and relax when I need to, so hopefully the rest of the summer will be okay!! Feeling overwhelmed is definitely not fun, but I guess I’m learning how to handle it better. I hope you had a great weekend and are having a great start to your week!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

      1. Running Betty

        Thank you! Im hoping to hold it all together this summer – I have so much work travel scheduled and I don’t like getting out of my routine. What happened to summer being nothing but fun, laying out by a pool! Haha I think we all do the best we can! 😉

    1. Kristin

      Thank you and Charlottesville is awesome!!! I’m in love with the city!!! Definitely a fabulously fun/adventurous place to visit!!! Lots and lots to do and see!!!

      Reply

  14. brunettedistraction

    Oh wow, sounds like you’ve definitely had a tough week!! I feel so bad for you, hope you’re feeling much better now?! I’ve never experienced this before, but mostly because I am way too much of a softie to push me that hard LOL 😛 Anyways, have a good & hopefully productive tuesday!! 🙂 XOXO!!

    Reply

  15. Helena

    Oh no! Sorry you had a rough time! I definitely know the ‘I’m so exhausted I’m just going to cry’ feeling! Sometimes you need a few good lounge on the couch day to recharge!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Helena, you are right!! Lounging on the couch definitely is a great time, especially when you’re feeling run down!! Very true!! XOXO!! I hope you’re having a wonderful week!!

      Reply

  16. Martha

    Yikes! How did I miss this post!?
    I’m sorry you had a breakdown, but I really am a big advocate of just letting it all out. You have been pushing yourself so hard, it’s a completely natural response. I hope you had some time to relax and meditate and treat yourself between now and then. You constantly amaze me with your cheery attitude and your willingness to take on the world, but you definitely deserve a chance to just sit still and let yourself relax 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Martha!!! I appreciate your comment and support so much!! Wow, you are sweet!!! You are a beautiful woman!! You have so much passion and love in your heart!! It’s truly amazing!! Thanks for all of your wonderful compliments!! This summer has been a little tough, but I’m trying to keep it positive. Honestly, you’re the best!!! XOXOXOXO!!!

      Reply

  17. lindsaybabb

    I’ve definitely had those moments of exhaustion to the point of tears! Glad to know I’m not the only one 🙂 Major props on the intense workouts, damn girl!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much!!! You’re so sweet!!! XOXO!!! I appreciate your comment and feel better knowing that I’m not alone in feeling this way!!! Have a wonderful rest of the week!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

