Hey y’all!! HAPPY MONDAY!! How was your weekend??!!

Per our conversation (i.e. post) on Friday, I wasn’t able to run my 5k (Insert a very sad face). Hurricane Arthur reared his ugly head the morning of July 4th, hence completely messing up all hope of me running (well, running without pouring rain and gusting wind). I guess *my PR* (stars, meaning hopefully) will have to wait until Saturday because I’m running Fort Eustis 5k! I’m hoping for the best and also begging Mother Nature to please (PLEASE!) cooperate this time.

It’s crazy, after a month of not racing, I now have two big races coming up:

July 12th- Fort Eustis 5k

July 19th- Allen Stone Run-Swim-Run

I GUESS IT’S TIME TO SEE WHERE I’M AT!!!

Anyways, so later (like sometime in the afternoon), the weather cleared up and I headed down to Norfolk with my husband, Marc. We picked up my new, gnarly, pink bike trainer that honestly, I’m already in love with. When I got home, I took it out for a spin upstairs in my weight room.

It’s a great new addition to my other cool gadgets. Here are some of my favorite toys:

1} Blender Bottle 

source

2} Monofin

FINIS SHOOTER MONOFIN

source

3} Swimming Drag Belt

source

4} Garmin GPS Watch

GARMIN FORERUNNER 10 FEMALE GPS WATCH

source

DO YOU HAVE ANY FAB TRAINING TOYS?!

My run on Saturday at Virginia Beach was horribly windy. Honestly, I felt like I was running in place (like on a treadmill). I couldn’t believe how elegantly I got through it, considering the pain I was in (with the strong wind gusts).

My husband keeps telling me how mentally strong I’ve become aaand…yeah, I guess I’m finally starting to see what he is talking about. It used to take me a mile or so to calm my breathing down, to relax my face, and to really enjoy my run, but now, I do all of these things (pretty much) right away. Towards the end of a run, I might be physically exhausted, but my mind refuses to give up.

This quote is ridiculously inspiring. It gives me chills. So, back to my run:

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 44:19.0 6.01 7:24
1 7:59.2 1.00 7:59
2 7:09.7 1.00 7:10
3 7:17.8 1.00 7:18
4 6:56.8 1.00 6:57
5 7:30.7 1.00 7:31
6 7:22.5 1.00 7:22
7 :02.1 0.01 5:07

 

After the boardwalk run, we headed over to Whole Foods for some fresh squeezed orange juice and some breakfast potatoes with lots of kale (well, at least for me). It was YUM! I love their kale with garlic. I’m tellin’ ya though, after a few bites, I can fend off any vampire attack. Hehe!! Seriously, your breath NOT smelling like garlic sauce is overrated!! Tehehe!! Okay, I’ll stop now because I’m having way too much fun entertaining myself…I mean YOU. 

Source

HAVE A GREAT MONDAY!!! MORE FUN COMING TOMORROW!!! XOXO!!

-Kristin 

 

 

      1. FLRunnerBoy

        I’m well and I hope your are doing the same! You have been missed in these parts and so has your positivity. But I know you have been up to good things!! 🙂

      2. Kristin

        Awww!! Thank you so very much!! I really appreciate it!! My summer league swim team coaching is almost done!! Another few tough weeks and then I’M BACK!! It has been a crazy summer but I’m so glad to hear from you!! XOXO!!

  1. thedancingrunner

    Sorry you did not get to run 😦 Sounds like you have other opportunities coming up. I have that pink Garmin watch and I never charge it anymore lol but I love it! I always wear it to half and full marathons.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you!! The watch is so great, right??!! My husband usually charges it for me because I never remember. I’m not the best at charging things!! 🙂 🙂 I hope you had a great Monday!!

      Reply

  2. Courtney!

    Hopefully you’ll get to run and get your PR soon!! Your runs are so inspiring and FAST! You go girl!

    I wish I had a lap pool closer! I used to love swimming laps! ☺️

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, thank you so very much!!! Ohhh you’re sooo sweet!! Swimming is seriously a blast!! That’s so cool that you love swimming!! That stinks you don’t have a pool close!! 😦 Have a wonderful week!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  3. Martha

    I like my kale with lots of garlic too! I am on a major kale bender this week, actually.
    Beautiful run, and best wishes in your upcoming races. I’m excited for you!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much!! You’re always so encouraging!! I really appreciate it!! Kale is very yummy!! I’m eating a lot of it, too!! Have a great week!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  4. missadventuresinrunning

    Sorry to hear about your race! I am glad you get another chance so soon, though. You will do great! I had never heard of a lot of those swimming tools. They look neat. I am definitely obsessed with my garmin. I love looking at all the stats!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      I’m obsessed with my Garmin, too!! They’re so cool!! Analyzing stats is so much fun, right?! Such a neat training tool!! XOXO!!
      I hope you’re having a great week!! You’re wonderful and very supportive! Thanks for that!! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks SOO much!! You’re fabulous!! I just came from a swim meet!! I’m tired, but definitely loving your sweet comment!! XOXO!! Hope you’re having a wonderful week as well!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Tehehe!! It’s pretty intense!! It makes me laugh when I use it because you seriously swim in place for a bit until you get used to it!! Hehe!! It’s fun though!! 🙂 🙂

      Reply

  5. piratebobcat

    Sorry about your race but good luck on the upcoming ones! I have a Blender Bottle too! Works pretty well! I looooove the Vampire Diaries and The Originals. Obsessed!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      I know!! Anytime I bring up vampires, I gotta mention those shows! They’re awesome!! I’m obsessed, too!!
      I love the Blender Bottle!! It’s pretty cool!!
      Thanks!! I’m hoping to have a good race Saturday!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      I know, I feel the same way about my Garmin, too!! I love it soooo much!!
      Oh my gosh, the monofin is sooo much fun!! It’s crazy the power you get from it!! I seriously feel like a mermaid when I wear it and you know how I feel about being a mermaid!! I wanna be one!! Hehe!! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Beth!! So sweet of you to say!! I’m trying to hit the training hard!! XOXO!!
      Tehehe, the drag is crazy intense!! I seriously laugh while swimming with it on!! It’s fun, though!!
      Thanks for the good luck!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  6. brunettedistraction

    I’m sorry to hear about the weather, too bad!! Hopefully it’ll be better on saturday *fingers crossed*!! Hahaha LOVE the Vampire Diaries-quote, Damon & Alaric are hilarious!! 😀

    Reply

  7. Lauren @ ihadabiglunch

    You are always such a badass when it comes to training and having all sorts of cool training cools. I wish I liked swimming because I know with those tools it’d be a killer workout. One day when they’ve invented underwater music that’ll definitely be more my jam 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks so much!! You’re always so sweet and encouraging!! Haha!! Well, lots of pools have underwater speakers!! So cool, right? Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  8. candies & crunches

    You don’t fail to constantly impress me, girl! I swear! That thing for swimming, I’m pretty sure you know what I mean *lol*, LOOKS INTENSE! No wonder you are so good at everything! ❤ xoxo

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe!! Thanks!! The drag belt is sooo funny!! I always laugh a ton when I’m using it!! You seriously feel like you’re swimming in place!! It’s fun, though!!

      Reply

  9. carmyy

    I have the blender bottle and a garmin 😉 I can’t wait for your upcoming races. You’re seriously going to rock it. (PS more lulu pics please 🙂 haha)

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww!!!! Lulu is soooo adorable, right?! Tehehe!! Thanks so much!! You’re adorable and oh soooo kind!! XOXO!! Thanks for your sweetness!! The blender bottle is phenomenal and could not live without my Garmin!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey!!! So nice to hear from you!! You rock!! You’re awesome!! You’re beautiful!! You’re the greatest!! So glad you’re doing good!! XOXOXOXO!!!

      Reply

  10. craftyxplorer

    Sorry you didn’t get to run! At least you have some upcoming ones to look forward too. BTW, I’m thinking of getting a Blender Bottle for my protein shakes. Do you like them? Have a good one!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey!!! Thanks a bunch!! I appreciate your comment!! You’re awesome!! The blender bottle is THE BEST!!! I’m in love with it!! You can blend peanut butter in it and yogurts!! It’s wonderful!! Very cool!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  11. irenejean

    I also love my Blender Bottle and Garmin watch! I also love my spibelt for runnning. I put my phone in it. Somehow running with my phone on me gives me peace of mind.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey!! Oh my gosh, YES, running with your phone definitely gives you peace of mind!! That’s true!! So awesome you love the Blender Bottle and Garmin, too!! They’re the best (just like you)!!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  12. Darrick Dean

    Blender Bottles (got a couple) are great for getting the protein shakes in whenever you need them. Good for making homemade salad dressings, too (wife figured out that one). Reusable, stainless steel Kleen Kanteen water “bottles” are another part of my gear.

    Reply

Talk to me baby!!

