Hey!! HEy!! HEY!! Can you believe it’s already July 13th?! Summer is flying by SO fast!! It’s almost kinda sad!! Well, alright, soooo only a couple more weeks until I’M BAAAACK (meaning my life (is back) because swim team is almost over)!! It’s been a long season, but I’m happy to report I’m having a great summer!!

IT’S HOT!! HOT!! HOT!!

BUT…

IT’S FUN!! FUN!! FUN!!

SO…

I’M LOVIN’ IT!! LOVIN’ IT!! LOVIN’ IT!!

FUNNY THING HAPPENED TO ME LAST WEEK!!! 

Well, it really wasn’t THAT funny because it was actually kinda crazy!! Seriously, it was crazy!! Here it goes:

Umm, yep, I’m pretty sure I’m cursed (or at least my 5ks are) because HELLO, yet another 5k was canceled!! HUH?! WHAT?! Yes, we’re on the same page here!! I couldn’t believe when I received the call a few days ago that Fort Eustis 5k was canceled (due to lack of volunteers, etc.)!!

CAN YOU BELIEVE IT?!!! TWO RACES IN A ROW A NO GO!! WHAT’S GOING ON??!! THE UNIVERSE IS THROWING ME A CRAZY RUNNIN’ CURVE BALL RIGHT NOW!!

I guess I’ll try again in a few weeks (to run a 5k) because I got plans this weekend (well, at least I think I do). I’m hoping not all of my races are cursed (just 5ks) because Allen Stone Run-Swim-Run is coming up this Saturday !! OH BOY!! I’m nervous!! I wanna do good!! 

Source

Summer Nationals is coming up, too (in August) and I’m totally freaking out right now!! I’m scrambling to get all of my butterfly training in and seriously think I swam 1000 x 100 meter fly this weekend!! Hehe!! Oh well…I don’t need my legs to run tomorrow, right?!! Well, if I do, I might be in a tad bit of trouble because they’re kinda sore!!

DO YOU LIKE SWIMMING BUTTERFLY??!! I DO!!!

I did lots of running speed work this past week, so I’m hoping it pays off in the run portions of my run-swim-run!! Here was my run from today:

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 38:10.0 5.01 7:36
1 7:55.8 1.00 7:56
2 7:40.1 1.00 7:40
3 7:40.8 1.00 7:41
4 7:36.9 1.00 7:37
5 7:14.2 1.00 7:14
6 :01.6 0.01 5:09

Also, yesterday, I was so happy because I ran + I swam + I cycled (inside on my new pink trainer). I love that thing!! Triathlon sometime in the future? PROBABLY!

GUESS WHAT??!! I BOUGHT A NEW GARMIN SWIM WATCH!! YAAAY!!! IT’S AWESOME!! I SHOULD GET IT IN A COUPLE OF DAYS!! I’M BEYOND EXCITED!!!

CHECK OUT HOW COOL IT IS!!!

I’M LOVIN’ MY GARMINS!!!!

HAVE YOU HEARD OF GARMIN SWIM??!!

WHATCHA UP TO??!!

-Kristin

  1. Carol Balawyder

    Kristen, having a Garmin swim watch would be too discouraging for me. But it looks really cool 🙂 Love the quote you posted about your dream doesn’t become reality through magic. Can apply to all of life. 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you Carol!! Very sweet of you to say!! I really appreciate your comment! Thanks so much for taking time to read my post!! You’re fabulous!! I love that quote!! It’s very true!! XOXO!! Have a great week! Also, you’re right, the watch is cool!!

      Reply

  2. Martha B

    Boo to all the cancelled 5ks!! I guess at least you can focus all your energy on being well rested and ready to go for next weekend 🙂
    That garmin watch looks like it will be a great thing for you. Enjoy!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you!! It was so weird getting a call that another one was canceled!! Haha! You’re right, though- at least I can focus on my race this weekend!! Thanks for your support Martha!! I really appreciate it!! I hope you had a great weekend!! Thanks!! I’m so excited about the watch!! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww!! Thanks!! I can’t wait to get the watch this week!! I’m so excited to go swim and try it out!! It should be a great training tool!! I’ll finally know all of my splits!! Yaay!! 🙂 🙂 Have a wonderful week!! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      You’re amazing!! Thank you so much!! You’re so sweet!! I know what you mean!! I don’t want to run without my Garmin!! It’s such a great tool!! Have a wonderful day!! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe!!! Thanks!! I’m excited about my Garmin Swim!! AND I KNOW, it’s strange about the 5ks! Have a wonderful Monday!!! 🙂 🙂

      Reply

  3. SugarFreeSweety

    1000x100m fly is just crazy!
    But it used to be my dream to swim 800m fly in a race (I trained too hard and crashed my shoulder so I had to cancel the race).

    Garmin swim sounds awesome. I have been looking for a exercise bracelet that can be used for swimming, running and to analyze my sleeping. I haven’t found one yet that suits my needs :/

    Reply

  4. lsanders09

    That is too weird…two 5Ks cancelled back to back. I like to swim fly but only when I’m messing around in the pool to see if I still got it! A 25 and I’m done! Can’t imagine doing what you do! Best of luck to you in your upcoming competitions.

    Reply

  5. thedancingrunner

    Garmin swim watch sounds so cool!!! Sorry about the 5K being canceled. Honestly I think it just means you should run another half!!! Or train for a full?? I’m just saying!!!

    Reply

  6. Lauren @ ihadabiglunch

    I did swim team for a few years when I was younger and while I didn’t LOVE the butterfly (it’s HARD!) I do remember how long it took to learn it and perfect it so that once I really got it, I was so proud to swim that style. So I guess while it was tough to learn and always hard to race like that, it felt good that I learned something and put it to use. You really make me want to train for a triathlon. I’ve never been a water-lover but I love the variety of different types of fitness.

    Reply

  7. courtruns4cupcakes

    Oh my gosh what are the chances?! So sorry another one got cancelled! If the next one you decide to run gets cancelled you really are cursed! That Garmin watch looks sooo cool, if I swam I would totally get one haha!

    Reply

  8. piratebobcat

    Bummer about your races! Maybe they cancelled cause they were scared of someone who actually is enjoying running in the heat!!! Haha! Great job otherwise! Keep it up, K!

    Reply

  9. irenejean

    I hope your new Garmin is awesome! I have the garmin 910, and it also has the swim functions. I haven’t used them yet though, I think after the marathon craziness is done, I’ll be back in the pool, and trying out the swim functions on my Garmin 🙂

    Reply

  10. Open Up Life

    Seems like life threw you a few curve balls. Sometimes when plans get changed or swim meets or 5k runs get cancelled, then it could be that the universe is looking out for you. Even if you can’t understand what is going on, the universe does and it is here to watch over you. Where you are is where you are supposed to be. Something bigger and better could be waiting for you….so keep your eyes open. Nice Garmin, I’m sure you will love it! Peace, love, blessings.

    Reply

  11. Cassy

    A run, swim, and bike all in one day! Girl, you are definitely dedicated! Keeping my fingers crossed that your race doesn’t get cancelled!

    Reply

  12. Lauren Keating

    That sucks that two 5ks were cancelled! At least you can have some rest time for your big swims! That Garmin looks awesome! I am wanting to get one for running. Which model do you use? Any recommendations?

    Reply

  13. Caroline @ The Little Things Blog

    Hey- I’m commenting from my new blog (I used to be at Fighting For Wellness)- sorry I’ve been slacking on stopping by this summer. I’m sorry you had two races cancelled back to back. My cousin just had that happen with triathlons- huge bummer! I’m not a big fan of doing the butterfly… I’m more efficient at other strokes.

    Reply

Talk to me baby!!

