For those of you that don’t know me (a.k.a. just started following my blog), welcome and for those of you that have been following me for some time now, hi (again)! As most of you guys know, I’ve been going through some summer changes (i.e.Β having less time to do things that I love, like blogging).

Well, my summertime coaching is coming to an end (this Saturday at our Championship meet) and I have to say…I’m very sad about it because yep, I decided (a few weeks back) that this summer will indeed be my last summer coaching. If you’re new to my blog, let me share, that this is my fourth year coaching this team. I’ve enjoyed coaching immensely and will miss my swimmers and fellow coach, Michele.

As it turns out, I’m going through more than summertime changes (in fact, I’m going through some big life decisions) and being the adult that I am, have decided that coach Kristin needs to (magically) transform herself into other titles (like being a mommy one day), hence, have decided to devote my summers to other things.

I told the kids (this past Sunday at the swim team banquet) that I’d no longer be coaching them.

THAT WAS HORRIBLE. I CRIED. THEN I STOPPED. THEN I CRIED AGAIN. IT WAS HORRIBLE.

The swimmers (ages 4-18) were so cute. They told me how much they didn’t want me to leave. Ohhh, I’m not good with goodbyes. I’m really not! I get so attached.

Sometimes the simplest things can be the most difficult to explain. I don’t know about you, but I’ve always found this to be true (at least in my life).

Okay, so now that that’s out of the way, let me also make a note that in the future, although I absolutely love and cherish running, swimming, and working out, I’ll be blogging about other stuff, too (real descriptive, right?).

I’m in a new place in my life where I want to live a thoroughly healthy and happy life. I’m on a wondrous yoga streak (now doing power yoga/meditation every single day), also on a health kick, preparing my meals (and snacks) with only the best ingredients possible. I’m watching my sugar intake and eating lots of fresh fruits and vegetables. I feel a lot better. As it turned out, I was eating too much sugar and putting way too much emphasis on drinking coffee and caffeine supplements to keep my body going this summer. My body started feeling really bad.

A few days before Allen Stone Run-Swim-Run, my body gave out (from too much sugar, caffeine, and not enough sleep) and sadly, I was unable to compete in the race. I trained for this race all summer long…all those tough brick workouts…

I FELT LOST AFTERWARDS, BUT I’M GETTING BACK ON TRACK.

The biggest lesson that I can share with you guys is listen to your body. Your body will not lead you astray. Your body is your teacher so listen wholeheartedly.

If I could describe my summer in only a single word, that word would be inelegant.

If I could describe my summer in a single quote, that quote would be:

“Ah, summer, what power you have to make us suffer and like it.” Russell Baker

Welcome to my life!! XOXO!!

-Kristin

Source

  1. laurenwayjurlee

    We’ve missed you!!!! So glad you are back πŸ™‚

    We all make hard decisions in our life that are often emotional, but we know they are ultimately for the best. That being said, isn’t it hard to leave those little kids?!?! (I had a super hard time leaving my lifeguarding job)

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey!! Wow, thank you!! I’ve missed you guys, too!! I really have!!
      My summer has been really crazy, but it feels nice to be opening a new chapter of my life!!
      It is so tough leaving them!! I’m still coaching a few of them for the championship, so I’ll definitely be pretty sad Friday (the last day of practice)!
      I hope you’re having a fabulous summer!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  2. weight2lose2013

    Welcome back, Kristin! It’s great to see you posting again. I feel your sadness with coaching, as I’m winding down coaching my boys. It’s bittersweet at best. I hope that you’re doing well!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you you so much!! I’ve really missed everyone and am so happy to be back to healthy Kristin!! It has been a long summer!
      I really hope the last few weeks have brought you nothing but health and happiness!! XOXO!! I look forward to catching up on your blog posts!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  3. frozencokefridays

    While I’m bummed for you (I’ve always admired how hard you work at your goals), I have to say I am kinda glad I’m not the only one who’s butt was kicked by SeΓ±or Summer this year! Hang in there girl, you’re going to be killing those races again before you know it! ❀

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you!!! Ha, summer has definitely wiped me out!! Wow, it has!! πŸ˜‰ I really appreciate your kind words of encouragement and hope to get back into the swing of things!
      I hope you’re doing okay!!! I get it! Summer can definitely be tiring!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  4. thedancingrunner

    Sounds like you are going through a transition with some exciting changes coming up! I love how you have also been doing meditation and power yoga. Yoga for me lately has been so healing! You are so right about taking care of yourself too!! I am going through a similar time in my life where I’m just learning to slow it down sometimes (not really with marathon training but in other areas of my life and trying to rush certain things and make certain things happen) and listen to not only my body…but my mind and soul and how I’m REALLY doing. It’s hard to cut the noise off sometimes but is definitely so necessary. Hugs to you!! You are a wonderful person. I look forward to reading more of your upcoming posts!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      I have missed you!! You always know exactly what to say to make me feel better!! I love that you enjoy yoga and taking time to really slow things down and enjoy life. That’s definitely important. I’m learning to do that more and more and actually, have been happier lately.
      Sometimes the more I did, the less secure I felt in what I was doing because I felt tired and worn down (especially during summer). Like you, I’m trying to cut the noise out (at least a little bit during the day) and it really helps me to feel more alive.
      You’re amazing and I truly hope you’re having a wonderful and very fun summer!! Thanks so much for your comment and for your lovely words!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  5. brunettedistraction

    Ahhhh Kristin, you’re back, yaaay!!! πŸ˜€ Welcome back, I was seriously getting worried, checking your blog twice every day to see if there was something new from you haha πŸ˜€ I’m so sorry to hear about your swim team, but I’m sure you made the right decision anyways!! I know it’s really hard at first, but you’re gonna get used to it and I’m sure you’ll have a lot of other great things to focus on! πŸ™‚ Ahh you always make me feel so weak and without any discipline, it’s amazig how devoted you are to stay healthy and eat right! I’ll try to do my best as well! πŸ™‚ Anyways, sorry for the loooong comment, but I’m glad you’re back!!! πŸ˜€ XOXO!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww!!! I love your comment and thank you so much for taking time to write a very nice and very sweet comment!! I love it!! πŸ™‚
      Thanks for thinking about me while I was away from blogging. That means a lot to me. That shows how much your really care!! XOXO!! XOXO!! I’ve missed you, too!!
      How are you doing? How is everything going? I will definitely be catching up on your posts!! So sorry I’ve been away!!
      Thanks for being so kind!! You know, I really appreciate your compliments and really do try to stay on track with my health and happiness, but I definitely have weaknesses (like sugar and scheduling too much stuff at one time).
      You’re amazing!! YOU ARE!!! XOXO!!! You inspire me!! You’re so fashionable and beautiful and kind!!

      Reply

      1. brunettedistraction

        Aww thank you for your reply, that’s so sweet! I’m doing fine, but I’m definitely counting the days until my next holiday (August 16) because I’m definitely ready for two weeks off haha! How are you?? Everything okay? Don’t worry about my posts, nothing too interesting happened while you were “gone” haha!! πŸ™‚ You are amazing, thanks for inspiring me!! XOXO!!

      2. Kristin

        Ohhh, wow, August 16th will be here before you know it!! 2 weeks off!! That’s so wonderful!! You deserve it, too!! XOXO!!
        Oh my gosh, thanks for being so fantastic. You really make me smile! I just love your energy!!
        I’m doing pretty good. I’m looking forward to a nice break next week. I’m just trying to stress less and enjoy the rest of the summer!! Sometimes, it’s hard not to stress, but it’s definitely important to take time to relax and really enjoy life!! XOXO!!
        Have a fantastic day!!

  6. lsanders09

    Glad you’re back! My body has been telling me some things too this summer and caused me to do a 180 pretty quickly namely on my diet. Congrats on your new decisions in life!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much!!! XOXO!!! I hope you’re doing okay!! Summer can definitely be tough!! Thanks so much for your comment!! I hope you’re having a wonderful week!! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you!! I just got your email!!! I appreciate your kindness very much!! Thanks for checking in with me!! That really means a lot!! How are you doing?!! I hope all is well!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  7. Lauren Keating

    I missed reading your blog, Kristen! I am glad that you are coming. Saying goodbye is never easy, but just remember, as one chapter closes another opens. It sucks to hear your body gave out so you couldn’t compete, but listening to your body is the best advice anyone could give. Glad to hear your body is feeling better! Looking forward to continue to reading all your posts. =)

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lauren, THANK YOU!!! You’re the sweetest!! I have really missed you!!
      How is your summer going??!! Having lots of fun??!! I hope!! XOXO!!
      Thank you for the great advice!! You are very knowledgeable and so very wise!!
      I am feeling lots better and eating lots of good foods!! It feels good to be taking better care of my body. You’re right, a new chapter is opening!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      Have a wonderful day!!! XOXO!!!

      Reply

      1. Lauren Keating

        I kept checking in on your blog in case somehow I had missed a new post hahah. My summer is going fantastic! Having lots of good memories, career wise things are going well, and training hard! I hope your summer has been just as well!! I started eating more clean too this week and already feel the difference. Now if I could only get my sister to stop making mini chocolate glazed donuts, then my diet would be even better =) Happy to have you back xoxoxoxox

      2. Kristin

        Ohhhh…chocolate glazed donuts…YUM!!! I don’t think I’d be able to resist them!! YUM!!!
        So sweet!! I’m so happy you checked in on me!! Sorry I didn’t post more frequently! I am baaaack!!! Yaaay!!! Looking forward to reading your blog!! I’ve missed you and your wonderful blog!!
        I have to say, eating clean definitely does feel great!! I have way more energy and feel lots happier!! XOXO!!

      3. Lauren Keating

        Thankfully, they were mini, bite sized treated so I didn’t feel so guilty eating one. Don’t be sorryβ€”now you will have lots to write about! ❀

  8. Helena

    I was wondering how you were! Change is hard but bigger and better things are on your horizon! It seems like everyone has hit that summer rut.
    Oh how I wish I could give up sugar! I do a pretty good job with the caffeine. 90 percent of the time I only have one coffee a day with an occasional coke in the afternoon( real sugar Cokes from Mexico are my fav! ) I’ve cut back a lot and I have been good about healthy snacking. It’s hard to turn down cinnamon sugar cake donuts from Dunkin Donuts or a Peach Cobbler Muffin from Panera bread when they magically appear on my desk at work!
    Glad to see you back!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey Helena!!! Oh my gosh, I definitely hit the summer blues!! Haha!! Well, I’m feeling better now, but yep, definitely did!!
      Thanks for your sweetness!! You’re fantastic!! Just soooo adorable!! XOXO!!
      Okay, so I totally agree that it is SO hard to turn down pastries!! Actually, that’s definitely what I’ve been struggling with this summer!! Panera Bread, Starbucks, and Whole Foods pastries!!! They are sooo good!!
      I’m back on track drinking (like you) just one cup of coffee a day (right when I wake up) and drinking lots of water and milk the rest of the day! I do feel better!!
      Have a lovely week!! XOXO!! So glad to be talking to you again!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  9. piratebobcat

    Glad you’re doing well! Sorry about the coaching…if you ever want to coach our 5 year old – even through online video, we’d love it! He’s currently CRUSHING it in his swim lessons. I’ll try to post some videos soon, but he’s already got side breathing, treading, dolphin kick, etc down pat!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey!! Thank you!! Wow, how amazing!!! What a little, fantastic swimmer!! Seriously, that’s really great!! Little kids doing dolphin kick = CUTENESS!! I love it!! Can’t wait to watch the video!

      Reply

  10. courtruns4cupcakes

    Yay so happy to have you back!! I missed your sunshiney personality πŸ™‚ I’m so sorry to hear about your burn out, but I’m glad you have since figured it out and getting your body back on track.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you very much!! XOXO!! πŸ™‚ I’m definitely feeling better and sticking to a great meal plan! I love it! Awww, I missed you very much! I hope you’re having a great summer! I can’t wait to read everything that you’ve been up to! You’re a beautiful person! XOXO!!

      Reply

  11. Charlotte

    Welcome back! We have missed you and your energy. It’s time for you to stop and smell the roses and focus on other things. Did I hear maybe a mommy someday? That would be great. Get your little self back on track. That’s important. Glad you are back! πŸ™‚

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww Charlotte!!! XOXO!! You’re right!! I definitely felt it was time to wake up to my life and smell the roses and admire all of the beauty in my life. For the longest time, I’ve been so focused on hitting every single workout to the best of my ability and it can get so tiring, so I’m learning to cut myself breaks.
      YES!! I’m definitely looking forward to being a mommy one day (in the near future). πŸ™‚
      How are you? I hope you’re having a wonderful week!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  12. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com

    Honey I’m HOOOOOMMMMEE! Glad your back blogging my lady! I am HORRIBLE at goodbyes. Shoot, I used to say goodbye to my room as a kid when we left for vacation. Seriously, haha. I’m sure the kids will miss you immensely, but isn’t it rewarding to know that you left such an impression on them? Yoga every day?! You’re amazing! Keep up the clean eating! Can’t wait to hear more about the mommyhood πŸ˜‰

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, Heather, I’m glad I’m not the only one that would say goodbye to her room when leaving for vacation! Wow, that’s too cute!! I used to say goodbye to my room and stuffed animals and even the house!! Hehe!!
      Thank you for the reminder that I did leave an impression on the kids and it does feel great to know that!! You’re right!! XOXO!!
      I’m definitely loving my new meal plan and eating lots of yummy, fresh fruits of vegetables!! It feels great to be back on track and it feels great to NOT be drinking 10 coffees a day!! Hehe!! Oops!
      Definitely excited about mommyhood and looking forward to opening that new chapter one day!!
      Yoga has definitely been nice and calming for me!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  13. irishrunnerchick

    Welcome back! I was just thinking about you yesterday – how weird. Sorry about your race and your coaching. But your making the right decision for you. And you can always return to coaching with your future kiddies!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww!! HEY!!! Thanks for thinking about me!! XOXO!! That’s so kind!! I look forward to coaching again one day!! Thanks for reassuring me and for being so wonderful!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  14. Martha B

    Hugs!!! So glad you are back! I am really glad you are taking a chance to get in tune with your body. A yoga streak is a beautiful thing. I really look forward to the future of your blog. Welcome back, talk to you soon!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you Martha!!! I hope you’re having a great week and loving life!! I’m glad to be back writing again and can’t wait to catch up with you and your blog!! You’re wonderful and so dedicated to your life and to the beauty of life!! Have a fabulous week!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  15. Lauren @ ihadabiglunch

    SO glad you’re back πŸ™‚ you’ve been greatly missed Kristin. Goodbyes are the worst! I avoid them at all costs – I usually turn goodbyes into “See ya laters” to avoid the sadness haha. But at least you got some closure with the cute little nuggets. I really admire your dedication to taking care of your body. I’m making small changes but nothing like what you’re doing! Meditating every day should be a priority for me. A yoga streak does wonders!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey Lauren!! Thank you SO much!! You’re truly amazing and inspirational to many people in your life, I just know it! Truthfully, goodbyes are so hard and when I think back to everything that I’ve been through with my team and with the swimmers, it’s hard to let it go, but I’ll visit, so hopefully it will truly be a “See ya later!” Thanks for the love and encouragement!! You’re the best!! How are you??!! I hope you’re having a fabulous week!! XOXO!! XOXO!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Reply

  16. Just a Running Chick

    Well, even though you had to say some goodbyes, I hope that you’ll be going on a “new adventure” or through a new door, so to speak! Take care of yourself so you can do the things you love! ❀

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Wow, you’re truly amazing and thank you for your generous words of love and hope and possibility!! Seriously, your comment means so much to me!! You’re amazing!! XOXO!! Have a wonderful week!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      ME TOO!!! I’m the worst at goodbyes because I struggle with change and dealing with it!! Ahhh!! Soooo hard!! XOXO!! I’ve missed you SO much!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  17. Amy Christine

    There you are!! Welcome back girl!!

    of course those kids are going to miss you! You are an awesome coach, I can tell just by how passionately you speaking of it!!

    Your yoga journey is about to get crazy!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m going into my 5th weekend of training! Where did the time go, seriously!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Wow!!! 5th weekend!! That’s amazing!! I’m so excited to start in October!! It’s going to be crazy!! I’m also a bit nervous!! It sounds like you are really enjoying your journey and cherishing every moment of it!! So groovy!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰
      Thanks for the welcome back and for the loving words!! You’re such a sweet person!! XOXO!! Have a fabulous week!!

      Reply

      1. Amy Christine

        October will be here before you know it! It is so amazing!! It will be a lot and your mind will spin at times but since it is something you love so much and is such a big part of your life, it is all welcoming!

        You have a wonderful week as well luv!

  18. Open Up Life

    What a sweet and endearing post. Little ones can be so cute and it is hard to leave them, especially when you have created a special bond. But every step is a another journey of your wonderful life and I know that wherever you go and whatever you do, is a blessing. So are you to each and every person you connect with in your universal path.
    Peace, love, bliss…..

    Reply

  19. Running Betty

    Nice to see you back on word press! Sorry to hear about your summer burn out. 😦 I can’t even imagine pushing myself the way you were with your workouts! You’re like a super woman! I hit a major wall this summer too and it definitely got me down. Hopefully I’ll be able to regain my energy and focus, and figure out where to go from there. You are a major inspiration to me, and I’m excited for you and your upcoming journeys in life! *Hugs* ❀

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much Kristine!! It’s nice to be back (well I guess I’m back…I haven’t blogged for a week…oops)! Hehe! Anyways, I appreciate your kindness and honestly, know that you’ll get back on track very soon!! It’s definitely hard to get back on track once off, but YOU CAN DO IT! You have lots of motivation! Summer coaching definitely did me in, but I’m feeling much better now. I have more energy again, so that’s always good! πŸ™‚ Hope you’re having a great week! Thanks for the message!! XOXO!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

