Living life. Doing what you love. Forgiveness. Sometimes the hardest thing in life to do is to forgive yourself.

You wake up late and don’t run. What? How could that happen?

You end your work day on a sour note and don’t hit the gym. Are you kidding?

You can’t find the time to swim or maybe you don’t even want to. For real?

Learn to forgive. It will save you undue frustration. Speaking from personal experience, I’ve made lots of mistakes with running and swimming. For example:

1} I didn’t commit to a race/meet like I should. This happened a lot this summer. 

2} I let fear (of competition) drive away the intensity level at which I competed. 

3} I was scared to really go for it because I didn’t want to feel displeasure. 

4} I felt awkward when I didn’t stick to a strict schedule.

These are just a few examples. There are more. I learned to forgive myself.

My main goal here is to provide you with a perspective. A perspective? Yes, a perspective about forgiveness. I think it’s extremely important to NOT value athletics over self-worth. If you don’t run an event or swim a workout you were supposed to, or even hit a goal pace, you should never feel like you’re less of a person.

Gratitude is so important:

1} Be thankful for the skills that you have.

2} Be thankful for your beautiful, athletic body and for your courageous mind. 

3} Be thankful for the time that you have to give to the things that you love.

My questions to you are:

Are you doing what you love? (My answer: YES! I love swimming, running, lifting weights, and practicing yoga!)

Are you annoyed when you don’t get a scheduled workout in? (My answer: I get frustrated when I don’t get my cardio in.}

Why do you get annoyed? (My answer: If I don’t run/swim, I feel like I’m taking a giant step back in my training.)

What’s the fun in being frustrated? {My answer: None!}

Showing yourself compassion and forgiveness is always a good idea. I highly recommend it. Perfection is definitely overrated, hence, live life doing what you love and don’t forget to smile through the turmoil. 

Have a lovely day!! XOXO!!

-Kristin 

  1. thedancingrunner

    Going on with the ‘annoyed theme’…haha sometimes it can be annoying to not get your training in but we all have to remember that we are not ROBOTS and we are HUMAN…and sometimes your body will send you signals that you need more rest. I am very appreciative of that. Also never let anyone or anything take away your joy and inner peace. Yoga is good for helping to keep that in mind! And for me so is prayer and meditation.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you!! You have a wonderful way of putting everything into perspective and that’s such a great quality!! I really appreciate the robot/human comparison. You know, that’s a great way of putting it. Often times I try to force myself to workout like a robot, but in reality, that’s just breaking my body down. Such a true statement!
      Yoga is amazing and it really does provide insight into how we’re feeling and how our bodies are feeling.
      Thanks for your comment!! You’re fabulous!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  2. Martha B

    I hate having to analyze this kind of stuff about me, because I KNOW in my heart the answers and I don’t like them. Being good to yourself is a million times harder than being good to others. Forgiving yourself takes so much more work than accepting an apology from anyone else. It’s all really terrifying but I think as long as you actively pursue self love, you are heading in a good direction. At least, I hope so.
    I think you are doing an awesome job on your journey. I love that you share these inspirational thoughts with the world. I appreciate you laying it all out there and being so honest!
    My new thing is purposely being kind to my body. Every time I do something stressful or strenuous I try to balance it with something restorative. Horrible day at work? Long bubble bath. Demanding workout? Big delicious fruit and protein smoothie and sitting on my deck enjoying a sunset. Just trying to swing the pendulum both ways has seemed to make a huge difference!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Wow, well, any compliment from you is a truly amazing compliment because I admire you very much!! You’re the best!! Thank you so much, too!! Your words mean so much to me!
      I love how you treat yourself!! That’s so great! Balance is definitely an important aspect of life and it’s a great way to make yourself happy. A long bubble bath sounds lovely!! With all the hard work you put in, you definitely deserve lots of them!! 🙂 🙂
      So true, too that being nice to yourself is much harder than being nice to others. I can be very hard on myself and that’s something that takes a lot of practice to change, so thanks again for acknowledging my journey. It’s definitely a long journey, but it’s totally worth every step.
      I wish you lots of fun and happiness this week!! XOXO!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you Salt!! I have to say that you do an amazing job with staying positive, so I always appreciate reading your posts! They really make me smile! Have a fantastic, happy week and lots of love sent your way!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  3. weight2lose2013

    Thanks, Kristin, your thoughts put things in perspective. As in coaching, don’t strive for perfection, strive to be the best that you can be. I’m not sure perfection even exists.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much!!! Yep, so true, perfection does not exist. I used to spend so much time trying to make everything perfect, but in reality, it’s not attainable and just ends up driving you crazy. Thanks for your comment!! Hope you have a great week!!

      Reply

  4. laurenwayjurlee

    LOVE this. Especially: “What’s the fun in being frustrated? {My answer: None!}”

    If we are doing all these activities to be healthy and for fun – then frustration and annoyance have no place there!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      HEY!!! Thank you!! Yes, you’re so right!! Getting frustrated at stuff that’s supposed to keep us happy is very unproductive!! 😉 😉 XOXO!! Have a fabulous week!!

      Reply

  5. HealthyMasters

    Great advice! Need to learn to love and forgive myself, and also praise myself for the things I do allow myself to get done!!! Thank you for this…so happy you are back!!! YAY! xoxo

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Many hugs and kisses given to YOU!! You’re so cute and sweet and so inspirational! Thank you! I’m happy to be back and so glad to read your loving words! I’m on a learning journey myself, so I totally understand what you’re going through. XOXO!!

      Reply

  6. Cassy

    I couldn’t agree more! I’ve been working on focusing on gratitude in my life more and focusing on the things I can control and it makes a world of difference! Thanks for the motivation!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Cassy!! I love that we’re on the same journey, focusing on things that can be controlled and being thankful for those things. It’s not always easy especially when having a bad day, but gratitude definitely helps. 🙂 🙂 Have a fabulous day!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  7. piratebobcat

    Great post, this is awesome! On Sunday I woke up to thunderstorms and so I couldn’t do my run. I did enjoy sleeping in though! But I had to make up for the lost run on Monday – normally my rest day. Yes, forgiveness is a tough thing. Not only internally, but with others. I need to forgive some people I think.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey!! I’m glad you got your run in on Monday. That’s great! I’ve definitely been very flexible with my schedule lately and I’m proud of myself because usually if I miss something, I get stressed out. Forgiveness is tough and I definitely agree that it’s tough to forgive others, too. When people hurt me, I definitely take it to heart and find it hard to trust. XOXO!! Have a great day!! Thanks for your comment!!

      Reply

  8. irishrunnerchick

    What a lovely sentiment Kristin. I also suffer from the missed workout guilt trip, but I’m trying remind myself that I’m doing this for fun. I’m not a professional athlete so taking it easy every now and then isn’t a crime. Great post!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Wow, I definitely feel the same way as you and do remind myself as well that I’m not a professional athlete. That’s pretty cool! It really does help to loosen my mind up and to forgive missed workouts. 🙂 🙂 Thanks for your support!! Have a fantastic day!!

      Reply

  9. NancyTex

    When you make a commitment to lead a healthy lifestyle it’s hard not to beat yourself up when you go a bit off track. I think we all struggle with that. Learning to cut ourselves some leeway, and just to be plain kind to ourselves (as Martha described) goes a long, long way. Great post.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Wow, you summed up exactly what I was saying!! Thank you for this great reminder!! You’re 100% correct! Being kind to ourselves is an important aspect of living a happy and healthy life!! Very true!! It’s great to remember that kindness should be extended to other people, but to ourselves as well! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      So, SO true!! You’re right, there is no point in feeling guilt because then, you end up ruining a day!! Thanks for your sweet comment! Have a lovely day!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  10. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com

    I’m on the same page as you on this one girl. You can’t let running, swimming, lifting, or whatever your desired exercise rule your life. You love it because it brings you joy right? So Let. It. Sometimes it’s easy to get down or upset with missing a workout or being afraid at failing, but there’s always a new day, another workout or a next race that you can improve. Thanks for the reminder, though. I think we all get caught up in this at some point. XOXO!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Heather, you ALWAYS make me feel better!! You are sooo wise!! I love it!! Thank YOU for the fabulous reminder!! All of my activities should make me feel happy and if I always get on myself, it just ruins the fun!! I definitely LOVE running swimming, etc. because they bring me joy so I will think of your comment the next time I’m upset at myself!! XOXO!! THANK YOU!!!

      Reply

  11. Courtney!

    I agree with you about not tying athleticism to self worth. I dropped out of a marathon bc it was too much stress at the time and wasn’t fun. I felt like a failure but quickly accepted it for what it was and moved on! ☺️

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      You’re awesome!!! Courtney, thanks for the message and yes, I’ve been really hard on myself this summer and felt terrible dropping out of several events. I was tired and it just didn’t feel right!! Acceptance is very important and I can tell you definitely made the right decision by dropping out of the marathon. If it was too stressful and not fun, why put yourself through it, right?

      Reply

  12. Lauren @ ihadabiglunch

    It’s funny…you think forgiving others is hard wait until you have to forgive yourself for something! It’s seriously next to impossible, probably because we hold ourselves to a higher standard than the “average person.” It’s also true with compassion…we all make mistakes, that’s not just a cliche or something to “say” but not put into action. I’m learning how to accept mistakes and move on in life, as well as with fitness, so I’m glad we can work on this together 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Wow Lauren, thank you so much for this message!! Forgiving oneself can be an overwhelming/tough task and I’m so happy you’re working towards feeling better about mistakes made. I’ve made lots of mistakes and I definitely give myself hard times, so one step in front of the other, right?!! We can do it!! XOXO!!
      You’re amazing!! You’re beautiful!! You’re a fantastic person!!

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

