Now, you might be asking yourself or rather, posing the question back to me:

WHAT IN THE WORLD does the phrase “crazy yogi style” mean and better yet, HOW do you run like that?? Well, it’s really not that hard. It’s no secret that I’m obsessed with yoga…obsessed with practicing and obsessed with its great benefits. Trust me, if I’m doing something (i.e. doing something where my body is moving), you better believe that #1, I’m doing it because I want to and #2, I’m going to reap benefits from it because first off, why do something you don’t enjoy and secondly, why NOT benefit from its offerings (i.e. take something away from what you’re doing). After all, wisdom is power!

Alright, so now that we’ve established how much I LOVE YOGA (like double DUH) and by the way, I received my yoga teacher training course schedule today and HELLO yoga heaven!! We’re talking lots of loooong yogi hours and lots of anatomy talk, but HEY, when have I EVER turned down a challenge? Not very often. I’m ready for this baby!! I’m ready to begin!! I’m filing my toenails down, stretching my muscles far, and powering through lots of fabulous, sweaty yoga workouts in anticipation of October 24th (my first day of class)!! YES!!! Aaaand just sayin’, I totally just sounded like Napoleon Dynamite (you know when I said, “YES”)! Hehe, gotta love THAT!!

Back to my main point though, I’ve been practicing yoga for many years now, but practicing yoga does not just mean “practicing yoga” (i.e. moving your body)… yoga encompasses WAY MORE than just going through the physical motions of it all! For me, practicing yoga means:

1} Finding balance between my mind and body,

2} Creating space in my body (i.e. longer muscles),

3} Increasing my stamina,

4} Improving my overall fitness level,

5} Finding time for myself (not just physical, but mental time),

6} Opening up my body (i.e. feeling fabulous and great),

7} Finding peace and serenity,

8} Improving my quality of life,

9} Learning to live in the moment (not looking behind or forward),

10} Acknowledging that I’m not seeking perfection!!!!

WOW, WHAT A LIST, RIGHT??!!! Yep, I’d say yoga is great!! Yep, I would!! Now furthering my point from above:

Let me make something clear, I’m a huge advocate for runners practicing yoga AND “practicing yoga” for the pure physical benefits of it because I know first- hand, what NOT having yoga in my life did. I don’t EVER wanna go back to THAT place. It was a painful, scary and yucky place to be!! Whether you guys know it or not (I can’t remember if I’ve talked about this issue before), I used to have horrible right IT Band pain and when I say horrible, I mean BAAAD, BAAAD pain!! It was a while back, but MAN, was it frustrating! I couldn’t run AT ALL. You see, I’m by no means a perfect, shining example of what it looks like to not get injured because I’ve had my fair share! Trust me, I have! In college, I had both knee caps pop out, two weeks apart, which landed me (both times) an ambulance ride to the hospital, a doctor popping my caps back in place (I bonded with my knee caps over screams), and crutches.

What I’m getting at here is that by now, yoga has saved my body more than once! It has lengthened me out, given me painless (injury-wise) runs, and stretched me to the point of feeling phenomenal each day, BUT it has done more than that, too!! I can tell ya, yoga has saved me from myself, my stubborn persistence to push past my limits (body-wise)! I can’t tell you how many times I tried to push through IT Band pain…seeing other runners running circles around me…wishing I could be in their place. You see despite that fact that yoga has lengthened my body and stretched my muscles to their perfect degree, yoga has still given me more than that! Yoga has instilled wisdom in me beyond what I ever knew I was even looking for as an athlete or even as a human being. Case in point:

RUNNING CRAZY YOGI STYLE MEANS RUNNING HARD AND FREE AND SPIRITED, YET ALSO RUNNING WITH A CALMNESS OF MIND!

You see, yoga has benefited my running FAAAAR more than swimming ever will (both physically and mentally) and that’s okay! I’m a firm believer (at least where MY body is concerned) that running helps my swimmer self more than swimming helps my runner self, meaning (if anything) swimming has hindered my running in the past. I know it’s kinda weird logic, but oops, here I went on another tangent…

Let’s try this again…you see, power yoga has given my body the strength to push through some pretty tough workouts!! When I say power yoga has increased my running stamina…um, I’m NOT kidding you. I attribute my calm, stable breathing to yoga…actually, I give it 100% credit! It’s definitely the reason why my run workouts flow so well!! Also, yoga has given my runner mind the ability to turn it off or on (Wow, this is quickly turning into a Vampire Diaries episode! Gotta watch it, to get it! Hehe!), meaning I’M in control of my pain, fear, uncertainty, happiness, etc. (a.k.a. my emotions) while running!! I might be going through a tough time, heck, I might even be running through a tough workout, but guess what, I’m in control of how I respond to the pain. I’M IN CONTROL OF MY RUN!! I’M IN CONTROL OF HOW I RESPOND TO FEELING UNCOMFORTABLE!! My workout might be twirling down the commode faster than I can say, HELP ME, but I’ve learned firsthand what it feels like AND looks like to respond badly. It doesn’t end well!

If you take only one piece of advice/information from my post, take this…

EVEN IN THE WORST OF TIMES, YOU HAVE THE POWER TO FIND PEACE. HOW DO YOU FIND PEACE? FOR ME IT’S THROUGH PRACTICING YOGA!!! XOXO!! HAVE A BEAUTIFUL WEEK!!

-Kristin

    1. Kristin

      Very true!! Yoga is such a beautiful flow!! Couldn’t live without it! Thank you so much for your kindness and for your support!! You’re wonderful and I truly appreciate you!! XOXO!! Have a fabulous week!! Namaste!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, thank you so much!! I’m extremely excited about teacher training! It should be a great time!! I know I’ll learn lots, which is fabulous!! Yoga is amazing, isn’t it? 🙂 🙂 So great for runners!! XOXO!! Have a beautiful day and THANK YOU for being so wonderful!!

      Reply

  1. Angie

    I like yoga and it does help my running (a lot) and my general well-being. I’m not a super bendy person though, but I still do it (and make everyone else look really good – ha ha).

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehehe!! Oh, I’m sure you look awesome practicing, but better yet feel awesome!! It’s such a wonderful practice!! It really does feel limitless, like there is always something to learn (whether internally or externally)! Thanks for your support!! It means so much to me!! Have a super day!! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lena, THANK YOU for your sweetness!! I really appreciate it and YES, yoga is phenomenal!! The benefits are endless!! Such a beautiful practice! So happy you love it and enjoy it and take away great benefits from it!! That’s amazing!! Have a fantastic day!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  2. laurenwayjurlee

    I love yoga for runners, for all the reasons you so wonderfully articulated. More specifically, I think yoga is good for overall balance in your body. If you combine yoga, running, and strength training, you are getting the best of everything you can do for your body!

    Also, LOVE your vampire diaries reference. Damon or Stefan?

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much for your sweetness and you’re right, yoga, weight training, and running = the perfect combination!! I definitely agree with that!!
      Okay, SO I’m OBSESSED with Vampire Diaries and eeek, love both Damon and Stefan but if had to choose, would go with Damon!!! What about you???!! 🙂 🙂

      Reply

  3. Lauren @ ihadabiglunch

    Yoga is so cool because it’s not just about physical health but mental as well. It has REALLY helped me when I’ve done it over the past few months. I’m weird though and I really don’t like doing yoga by myself (well I don’t like doing anything by myself haha but I feel like that defeats the purpose of yoga). I just love community workouts!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey Lauren!! I think community workouts are phenomenal!! Such great energy in the workout rooms!! I agree!! Yoga is totally cool and amazing and I’m so happy to hear it has helped you!! Such great benefits!! Guess who else is cool and amazing??!! YOU!!! 🙂 🙂 XOXO!!

      Reply

  4. FLRunnerBoy

    Loving the post Kristin!!!! Annnnd your selling the yoga hard and the pitch is working I’ve gotta try it some day in earnest. I just slow in a few yoga stretches here and there but nothing all out.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehehe!! I know, I’m selling the yogi life hard, right??!! Hehe!! I know you’ll love it!! I’m so thankful to have it in my life. No more IT band pain and definitely more peace of mind during my tough runs!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  5. courtruns4cupcakes

    I think I’m starting to have some IT band pain and I’m terrified of getting ITBS and not being able to run! I’ve been rolling them out a ton but it’s not helping much. I think you have finally convinced me to regularly practice yoga. Thank you for being such an inspiration!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey!!! Thanks SO much for your comment!! I’m such a huge advocate for runners practicing yoga!! Trust me, it really helps!! Once you get into the practice (even just twice a week), you’ll feel a difference!! My IT band pain has gone away! Hope you’re having a fabulous week!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  6. Martha B

    I’m so glad you’re doing yoga teacher training! I think you will be amazing.
    You are so right – life without yoga is yucky. In so many ways. Chase down those dreams. I’m happy for you!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Martha!! You always give me the best compliments and your words bring me much confidence!! I’m excited about the training and excited to learn more about the practice!! I know I have a lot to learn!! Yoga is phenomenal!! I couldn’t live without it!! It balances out my life!! Have a great week! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      THANK YOU!!! I’m so excited for training; although, to be honest, a little nervous!! It will be a great learning experience, though!!! XOXO!! I really appreciate your kindness!!

      Reply

  7. Running Betty

    Running crazy yogi style….love it! I need to make time to get more yoga and stretching in….I totally agree on the importance for injury prevention! I’ve been lucky to have bever suffered any serious injuries…but don’t want to press my luck! Keep being awesome with your running and yoga! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, thanks Kristine!! That’s SO great, that you’ve never suffered a serious injury!! That’s definitely a good thing!! Injuries are frustrating! Thanks, too about running crazy yogi style!! Boy, it just popped in my head one day when I was thinking about my running style!! Haha!! I’m weird!! 🙂 🙂 I think about stuff like this when I run! Thanks for your support and for your compliment! Hope you’re having a great week!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  8. piratebobcat

    I”m totally with you! I also had bad IT band issues, but I believe yoga helped me get rid of it. I also think of the lessons of yoga on runs – my breath, staying in the moment, etc. Great post Kristin! But the kneecaps popping out…OUCH!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, my caps popping out…not a good time in my life!! I attribute having loose knee caps to swimming breaststroke and all of the twists and turns I used to do in gymnastics!! Eeek!! It wasn’t pretty!!
      IT band pain is definitely frustrating!! Sorry to hear you deal with it, too!
      Thanks for the comment and for your support!! XOXO!! 🙂

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      And a big kiss and hug to YOU!!! I hope you’re having a fabulous week so far!! Yoga is such a mind clearing practice!! It’s fabulous, just like YOU!! Thanks for the sweet compliment!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  9. Open Up Life

    There is definitely a Yoga connection in the air today. Yoga is very beneficial for the mind, body and spirit. I can remember the first day I started practicing and have learned and grown through so many areas of my life journey. A big congratulations to you on your Yoga teaching journey. You sound elated and I have no doubt that you will blossom not only in your life but you will touch the hearts and spirits of anyone you connect with. If you don’t mind me asking, where are you doing your Yoga course?

    You are an inspiration Kristin, keep smiling and shining your light! Peace, love, blessings.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww, THANK YOU!!! XOXO!!! I’m doing my yoga teacher training at Zenya yoga academy (http://www.zenyayoga.com/)!! I can’t wait!! I’m definitely excited about furthering my practice!! You’re amazing!! Thanks for always being such a wonderful voice and for inspiring so many people in so many different ways!! XOXO!!

      Reply

      1. Open Up Life

        That is awesome! So grateful for your kindness and your loving spirit! It is a blessing to be connected with you. Your beautiful spirit inspires me as well. Have a blissful day! Peace, love, light.

  10. Cassy

    Whenever I practice yoga consistently I always notice that my overall fitness improves and I’m less sore! I love it and it always helps me to feel at peace!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Cassy, you always post such great insight!! You’re right, yoga is a very peaceful practice and definitely evokes less tender muscles and more flexible ones!! XOXO!! Have a wonderful weekend!!

      Reply

  11. Jennifer

    Congrats on starting your teacher training! I have been doing yoga for years but only recently developed a more regular practice and the mental benefits from that have really amazed me. Have fun!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Jennifer!!! Isn’t it amazing how consistent practice really opens up the mind/body connection? I’m so excited about training and looking forward to learning more and more about the practice!! XOXO!! Have a fabulous weekend!! I really appreciate your comment!! So happy you love yoga!!

      Reply

  12. blessedwiththunderthighs

    This post couldn’t come at a better time. I did some weight lifting recently and bulked up FAST and felt super heavy on my runs. I decided to stop it and start doing yoga regularly. I also hope to reap the benefits of it (physically and mentally) as you have, and I hope my running will improve from regular yoga practice 🙂

    Reply

Talk to me baby!!

