HAPPY MONDAY Y’ALL!! So today I’m going to talk about what’s making me SAD!

When I say, “What’s making me SAD,” I’m really NOT all that sad, maybe just a little bit bummed.

BY THE WAY, HOPE EVERYONE HAD A TERRIFIC WEEKEND!! Despite what you’re probably thinking now, I really did have a great weekend!! Don’t look at me like that!! I DID!! Hehe!!

Okay, so WHAT COULD POSSIBLY BE MAKING THIS GIRL SAD (or a bit bummed)????

Well, I DIDN’T RUN MY 15 MILES!! NOOOO!! BAD GIRL!! No fear, though, I have a good reason, I PROMISE! Alright, SO not sure if ya know, but, I have a freakin’ awesome running/swimming coach. He’s a professional triathlete! Anyways, back to my original point…the no-go 15 miler!

This was part of the email I sent my coach yesterday:

About 2 weeks ago I bought a new model of my current running shoe (because the older shoes were a half size too small) and the cut around the ankle is higher than the previous model. This has been causing a very uncomfortable rub on my right lateral malleolus of my fibula bone.

This morning, I went out for my 15 mile run and the pain from the rub was too much to deal with so I stopped at half a mile and walked back. When I got home, I tried on the older version and compared the height of the ankle cut and there is a notable difference. I’m going this afternoon to 3 sports in Richmond to get a new pair of shoes. 

And then, I sent him this…
Hey!! Okay, so I put on my old running shoes (the shoes that were a half size too small) and went out to the battlefields thinking I could get the 15 miles in, but at mile 5 decided to stop because didn’t want to risk losing another toenail. 
Aaaand…the last email I sent him:

I decided instead of going with a completely different brand shoe (type of shoe), I’d order the same model that I had been using just a half size bigger. The problem arose because Point 2 Running (which I love by the way) only carried the newest released model of the Mizuno Sayonaras, which I’ve been wearing for 3 years now. I didn’t want to get fitted with a different shoe and have another problem arise. My new shoes will be here by Tuesday and I’m fine to run in the older ones (that don’t hurt my ankle) for my 5 miles tomorrow!

Yes, I have 2 purple toenails and a bruised malleolus ALL on my right foot!! Eeek!! Oh well, my half-marathon is in 13 days!! No time to sweat it now!!

POINT IN CASE: THE RIGHT SHOE IS EVERYTHING, ESPECIALLY WITH HIGHER MILEAGE RUNNING!!

It’s amazing how any little change in the model, like a higher cut, can make or break a run! Oh well, no biggie!! Because Crawlin’ Crab Half is in 13 days (OMG!!!), he’s moving me right along into my next week of training (minus the 15 miler). Bye-bye 15 miles, see ya next training cycle (hopefully…if my foot cooperates).

I’ll leave you with a Happy Weekend picture!!

Pretty1 (2)

ANY SHOE PROBLEMS?? ANY FABULOUS WORKOUTS?? XOXO!!

-Kristin

  1. Charlotte

    First, you are a beautiful lady! I’m having shoe issues also. I changed from Asics Nimbus to Brooks Glycerin a few months back. I’ve had a toe issue on my right foot that I never had with the asics. I spent $160 on a pair of shoes that is damaging my toe! Like you, I have the shoe I need but I need a half size bigger. I hate to spend the extra $$ but tonight after work, I’m buying new asics nimbus! Good luck on the rest of your training and your half marathon. Which are you running?

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Charlotte, thank you so much!! Hugs and kisses to you and your right foot!! Foot issues are horrible since the feet are your running base! Ugh!! Can definitely be frustrating, BUT I know you’re strong and you will run through this like a champ!! You’re amazing!! Never forget that! Thanks for your sweet words and kind comment!!
      I’m running Crawlin’ Crab half marathon October 5th! (http://www.crawlincrabhalf.com/) I’m looking forward to it but now a little nervous!! Have a fabulous week!! XOXO!!

      Reply

      1. Charlotte

        The Crawlin Crab looks so fun! I told my husband that next year I want to go to different places for Half Marathons for my vacation time! Maybe I should try this one. 🙂

      2. Kristin

        HEY!!! Yes, the course is flat and I hear it’s a great race!! You should definitely consider doing it!! I’ll tell you how it goes in a few days!! It’s October 5th and it’s my first time racing this course, but I’m happy it’s close by and it should be a great fun!! XOXO!!!

  2. thedancingrunner

    You are going to rock Crawlin Crab still! I have no doubt about it! Sorry you did not get to run your 15 miler 😦 Having the proper shoes totally makes a huge difference. I hope you have an excellent week friend!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, thanks so much!! You just gave me a huge confidence boost!! I was a bit frustrated because I was excited and up for the challenge, but what can I do, right? I always love your positive attitude and thanks for believing in me! That means A LOT!! Glad to hear you had a fabulous weekend! Have a wonderful week!! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Carol, THANK YOU!!! You’re amazing!! Such a great support!! I really appreciate your sweetness!! Have an amazing week!! Thanks again for your kindness!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  3. laurenwayjurlee

    I am bad at keeping track of the mileage on my shoes and wore my last pair WAY too long, hence all the PF pain and heel pain I’d been having. Its amazing how much a small change in shoes can make a world of difference!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Ouch, sounds painful, but YES, it’s sooo amazing how the smallest change can make the biggest difference in your feet. Feet are definitely your base, so it really stinks when they hurt! I hope you’re feeling better!! I really do!! Pain is never fun to deal with!! Have a fabulous week and thanks for your support!! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Rob!!! I know, I feel so bad for Charlotte!! We’re definitely going through the same type of stuff!! It’s never fun!! I wish Charlotte the very best!! She’s fabulous!!
      Also, thanks for your encouraging words!! My right foot is feeling much better since I stopped wearing the new shoes. Yaaay to that!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  4. V

    Oh sheesh girlie, those shoes are giving you trouble. Well I hope the next pair works out well for you. Love reading your positive posts 🙂 Have a great week!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Gosh, you always make me feel so wonderful!! You’re encouraging words and your fabulous attitude…so lovely!! THANK YOU!!! I’m thinking the new shoes will be just what my right foot needs to feel better!! Have a fantastic week and thanks for your beautiful comment! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you Nicole and thanks for your support!! Yeah, I really didn’t wanna risk hurting another toe! My right foot has been trouble lately, but at least I’m coming to the end of the half training cycle!! It’s exciting but I’m also kinda nervous about the race!! Wow, where did time go?? 🙂 🙂 I hope you have a fantastic week!! You’re running amazing distances and paces!! Way to go!!

      Reply

  5. teawithme3

    Wow!! Wish I could run that far. Was thinking about training for my first ever marathon. How many months do you think I would need to rain myself for the Mississauga Marathon here in Mississauga Ontario Canada???

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey!!! THANK YOU!!! You’re great!! I appreciate your comment!! 🙂 🙂

      I see that Mississauga Marathon is the very beginning of May, so I’d say (which I’m no expert) that you’d have enough time to train for it! Looks like a beautiful run!!

      Here is a sample training plan I found. I’ve heard great things about Hal Higdon!! It kind of gives you an idea of what’s involved in training!! Have a fabulous week!! XOXO!! http://www.halhigdon.com/training/51137/Marathon-Novice-1-Training-Program

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you Melanie!! You’re wonderful!! Such great advice and you’re right, it is a blessing in disguise because my legs have been pretty sore lately! Thanks for your great confidence boost!! I feel much better now!! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much!! Happy Monday!! I’m definitely a huge fan of this quote!! It’s really wonderful!! Thanks for your support!! Have a fabulous week!! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      LAUREN!!! I can’t thank you enough for your beautiful words!! You always have such a great perspective!! You’re 100% right- it definitely is disappointing but I’ll bounce back!! Thanks for always being so kind and supportive!! I really appreciate it!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  6. JMC813

    Good shoes are a must. Bad shoes are a painful deal breaker. Sounds like you are dialed in with a solid coach. Just keep up with the current training plan and you will be fine. Never try to “Make-Up” lost workouts for fear of lost fitness. Overtraining is worse by far. I am glad I found your blog. From one endurance athlete to another I wish you the best in your upcoming event and all that follow. I am predominantly a cyclist but have found enjoyment in running as well so I plan for a Duathlon or two next season. I miss my competitive cycling days and the challenge of pushing my physical limits. Here’s to you and your upcoming 13.1

    John

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww!! Seriously, WOW, thank you for such a nice comment!! I appreciate your kind words and your support!! It really means a lot!! I’m so happy you discovered my blog, too because your encouraging words are amazing!! You really made me feel great!! You’re right- over training is never good! I definitely agree with that!! Despite all of my foot issues, my legs were pretty tired, too, so I guess it was meant to be (not running the 15)! I wish you the best on your duathlon journey!! I’m sure you will enjoy training very much!! It sounds like you know exactly what you are doing!! Have a great week!! XOXO!!

      Reply

      1. JMC813

        I really enjoy conversing with other like minded athletes and am glad my words were supportive. Thanks for the well wishes. Have been really struggling with motivation to ride let alone “train” but once the momentum is back I will be 100 percent invested again I am sure. I go through cycles like that. You are right, at the end of the day I think I enjoy the training more than the actual events. At least once all the suffering is done. LOL. Be well and keep running.

        John

  7. courtruns4cupcakes

    Yes!! I used to run in the Mizuno Wave riders and they changed them and the same thing happened to me. They actually caused nerve damage in my foot!! I just got a pair of old Sayonaras right before the new ones came out and I love them! I hope your new shoes come in and you are able to get some good runs in!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey!!! Yep, I’m wearing the older Sayonaras now (just in a half size bigger) and loving them once again!! I’m not wearing the newer ones anymore!! The higher cut was painful!! Ouch!! Also, that sounds SO painful!! Nerve damage!! That’s terrible!! The right shoes are everything!! Hope you’re enjoying your week!! Thanks for your sweet support!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  8. piratebobcat

    Bummer about the run and the shoes. But you have a great attitude! You’ll be fine! I currently have three pairs of my shoes that I rotate between, but they are all wearing down. I really really need to get a new pair. Thanks for the reminder!! XOXO

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks you so much!! You always reassure me and honestly, it makes me feel much better!! It’s amazing- I’ve never had foot/shoe problems, but at least I solved the problem and am now feeling much better!! Hope you’re having a fantastic week and running lots (also yoga)!! 🙂 🙂

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks!! You just gave me a huge compliment!! Thank you!! I really appreciate your kind words!! I try to train smart, I really do!! Hope you’re having an amazing week!! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      HEY!!! My foot is all better, well, I still have 2 purple toenails, but oh well, they no longer hurt!! 😉 😉 HEHE!! No sandals for this girl!! 🙂 Tehehe!! Hope you’re having a great day!! Thanks for your support! You’re amazing!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  9. Suz's Adventures

    I ran into the same problem last year when Asics changed their 2170 to the 2000. The 2000 was a completely different shoe and all I had to do was put it on to know it wouldn’t work. Thankfully they took to heart runners’ complaints and came out with the 2000 2 and it was much more like the 2170! I’ve gone through 4-5 pairs. They have a new one coming out in November…hopefully they didn’t change it too much again.

    Do you find that having a 1/2 size bigger changes the way the shoe fits overall or just gives you more space up front? I’m having some toenail issues too and you’re not the first I’ve read who has gotten a bigger shoe. I just wasn’t sure if it’d be too big all over.

    Thanks!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey!! Thanks so much for your comment!! I appreciate your support!! Toenail issues are so frustrating!! Yuck!! 😉
      Well, at least for me, I’ve found that getting a half size bigger gives me more space up front. Overall, my shoe does not feel too big, instead, it feels more comfortable. I find that with a half size bigger, my toenails no longer rub the top of my shoes. If you feel like you don’t need a half size bigger, you could try loosening your shoe laces or lace them in a different pattern. I hear that really works, too! Have a fabulous week!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  10. Girl Runs Wild

    The right shoe is everything indeed! You did well not going for your run given that the shoes just don’t work for you. The thing with running shoes, in my opinion, is that there’s no right or wrong. There are hundreds of different shoes out there, and you just have to find one/some that work for you and fit your particular feet. Keep trying different ones, and eventually you’ll settle into something neat that won’t give you sore ankles and fewer black toenails (I don’t think those can be entirely avoided!). 😉

    Reply

  11. Kristin

    Thanks!! I appreciate your comment!! Great insight!! You’re awesome!! I’m wearing the older Mizuno Sayonaras model (just a half size bigger) and my feet feel great once again! I know what you mean, though- longer runs can definitely hurt toenails. Hehe!! 😉 Oh well!! Who needs to wear sandals, right? XOXO!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks a bunch and you’re so right!! It’s usually better making the smart choice!! Thanks for your support!! Hope you’re having an amazing week! Happy Friday!! XOXO! 🙂

      Reply

  12. KrisLawrence

    Wow, I’m sorry you had such issues with the shoes but it sounds like you’re doing a great job of getting it figured out. I also have to add that your first picture with the quote is fantastic. I love it and needed to read that. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much!! I appreciate your kindness!! Very sweet!! My feet are feeling much better now, so definitely happy about that!! I love my new Brooks!! I hope you’re having a lovely week!! You’re so beautiful!! xoxo

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

