Owl7Owl2

Alright, Happy Wednesday!! How are ya? Now, I’m going to let y’all in on a little secret…I’m obsessed with owls (well, decor-wise)! Honestly, I don’t know what this obsession is all about! It has something to do with their look. I guess their strength, poise, and posture intrigues me.

Owl5Owl6Owl3

Okay, check out these cool facts about owls:

{Source}

1.} Not all owls hoot, and owls can make a wide range of other sounds, such as screeches, whistles, barks and hisses. During the nesting season, owl calls can often be heard up to a mile away.

2.} A group of owls is called a parliament, wisdom or study. Baby owls are called owlets.

3.} Owls have been found in the fossil record up to 58 million years ago. The largest recorded owl fossil, Orinmegalonyx oteroi, stood about three feet tall.

4.} The biggest modern threats to owls are habitat loss, pesticides that poison the birds and their food supplies and human persecution because of negative superstitions.

{Source}

5.} There are many interesting facts about owls but this fact is really weird and strange. Most of the owl species are cannibals. Bigger owls feed on smaller owls. Mostly they hunt down the owls of other smaller species. Smaller Barred Owls are usually hunted by Great Horned Owls. The Barred owls in turn feed on other smaller owl species. Barred owls are the major cause in the decline of Screech Owl populations. Also there are some avian species which also hunt them down.

{Note: Totally did NOT know this before today!! I’m sad now…those poor little owls…watch out precious owlets!}

Owl4Owl1

OTHER THINGS I’M LOVIN’ ON THIS BEAUTIFUL WEDNESDAY:

#1– I seriously LOVE Steve Carell and I can’t wait to watch Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day. Note: I’m a huge fan of The Office! 

Source

#2This quiz!!! I’m the winner of The Hunger Games!! Watch out y’all!!

Source

#3– Aaaand this quiz!!! Apparently I’m a sensible snacker! I’ve been snackin’ the heck out of Annie’s Organic Fruit Snacks lately! They’re USDA Organic and SO good! A wise choice, too! Get it, wise, like an owl? Hehe! I’m so dorky!

Blog1

#4– The fact that Prince is going to be a Whoopee cushion for Halloween this year!! Haha! Yep, we’re totally going to win Best Duo this year, um, just like we did last year!! Let’s bring home the bacon Prince (kinda literally because he won lots of fab, yummy treats last year). Ohhhh wait…you’re probably wondering what I’M going to be???? Huh? Huh? Well, I’m going to be THE dumb blonde that falls for the lame whoopee cushion trick!! Hehe!! Ya get it? The Halloween pics are going to be epic this year…me, the dumb blonde (which isn’t too far of a stretch) sitting on Prince (a.k.a. the whoopee cushion)!! Eeek!! I’m practicing my surprise face already!

Prince12 (2)

Prince13 (2)Nautical Dog

WHAT ARE YOU LOVIN’ LATELY??? XOXO!!

-Kristin

  1. weight2lose2013

    We have an owl in the woods behind my house. I think that it helps keep down the chipmunk population. The barking dead? I love it. My dog always tears off his costume. We had a cool batman outfit for him one year and it lasted about 10 minutes.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hahahaha!!! So funny that your dog resists costumes!! Hilarious! I’m actually so surprised that Prince doesn’t eat his costume while in it. To my surprise, he’s pretty cool about it! He actually gets all hyper! So funny to watch! And yep, The barking dead? Gotta love that name, right? Hehe!! Have a wonderful Thursday! XOXO!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey!!! Happy Thursday! Well, aren’t we just too cool, right?! 🙂 🙂 Hehe!! Love that you love these things! Have a fab day!! Thanks for your sweetness! XOXO!

      Reply

  2. Charlotte

    Haha love the owl facts! To me, owls exude competence and confidence. Also, I love the whoopie cushion for prince but I suspect you are far from a dumb blonde 🙂 I love the office! I work in a place like that! Lol happy hump day!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe, thanks for not thinking I’m a dumb blonde!! Haha!! I have my moments, but definitely appreciate your sweetness! 😉 You’re the best! You’re right- owls really do exude confidence and competence! They’re so strong! AND YOU WORK IN A PLACE LIKE THE OFFICE???? I wanna work there!! 🙂 🙂 That’s just too cool!! XOXO!

      Reply

  3. FLRunnerBoy

    Thanks for the OWLGUCATION professor Kristin!!! That’s an awesome little fun fact about you hehe 🙂 right now I’m loving on Chipolte I can’t get enough of that place lately haha! Keep being fabulous and pinkalicious chica! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Tehehe!!! Hmmm…professor Kristin? That sounds pretty cool!! 😉 😉 Love it! Seriously, you are amazing and wonderful and say the coolest stuff!! Pinkalicious?! Ohhh yeees, that’s a fab one! Also, I LOVE Chipotle!! Such a yummy, healthy place!! Have a super Thursday!! XOXO!

      Reply

  4. sarahdudek80

    Ha, this is very cool. I have a friend who makes the cutest owl pillows. You should check her out. It’s called Bwinks. I bought a few as gifts for friends and family. I need to take a lesson from your sensible snacking. Just polished off a caramel apple I have been working on since Friday!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      WHAT??!!! Bwinks is just the cutest!! Will totally be ordering something soon!! I love, love, love these pillows! Adorable! Thanks for your recommendation! Yum!! A caramel apple sounds amazing!! Trust me, I’ve been eating lots of peanut butter & mint M&Ms lately!! It’s all about enjoying life, right? XOXO! Happy Thursday!

      Reply

  5. jaymeball13

    😂 the whoopee cushion thing has me Rollin. Prince looks like he is wearin his “are you serious mom?!” face. Alexander and the terrible horrible no good very bad day was my first chapter book so I’m insanely excited about it myself. Your owl stuff is so neat! Cannibal owls…. Whoooo knew?! Ya see what I did there 😉

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      You are waaaay too fabulous!!! Ya really are!! 😉 😉 Hehe, love your last 2 sentences!! Such a cutie! And oh yes, Prince gives me the funniest looks ever. Sometimes I really think he thinks I’m absolutely crazy!! We’re so silly together!! It’s fun! 😉 Have a super Thursday!! XOXO!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey!! Thanks SO much!! Yep, I’m a huge fan of this owl piece! I found it in this sweet, little vintage store in Wilmington, NC!! It’s absolutely my fave store on earth!! Anything vintage and I’m there!! XOXO! Have a fab day! 😉

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yaaay!! It’s almost Halloween!! I love it!! My most fave time of year!! So fabulous!! Also, a hippie??? LOVE IT!! Just the cutest idea ever!! Can’t wait to see your Halloween pics!! Woohoo!! Have a super Thursday!! XOXO!

      Reply

  6. Angie

    I love owls! I hand fed a wild Boreal owl one year when we had super deep snow. They hunt mice and the poor little guy couldn’t catch any mice due to the snow pack. He (maybe she) kept hanging around the house and I sort of figured it was hungry and I just decided to go feed it some raw meat. It ate right from my hand so gentle. I fed it about 4 times that day and then it flew away. Love the Halloween costume idea too!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks for your compliment and ohhh my gosh, I’m so lovin’ that you fed an owl!! How precious!! Poor little baby…you’re such a wonderful, sweet, caring person!! WOW! You’re truly amazing! I love people that take initiative and help animals!! Truly wonderful!! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks!!! It just hit me one day!! I thought it’d bring lots of laughs on Halloween!! We all had so much fun last year, so I’m looking forward to this year! Halloween is my fave time of year!! Just love it! I’m a huge scary movie buff! Have a great week! 😉 XOXO!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, thanks, Prince is so adorable!! He’s so funny because he gets all hyper when I put his costume on! I think he’s excited, too!! Hehe!! Animal facts are always so interesting!! XOXO!! 🙂 😉 XOXO!

      Reply

  7. Lauren @ ihadabiglunch

    Hahah Prince the whoopie cushion! I love it! My friend is also obsessed with owls – well at least she WAS. now we all always get her owl-themed presents for her bday and I’m guessing she’s a little over it haha. But they are adorable 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww!!! Owls are so cute!! Just love them so much!! What great friends y’all are!! 😉 😉 AND hehe about Prince!! I can’t wait until Halloween!! XOXO!! Happy Friday!! Have a great weekend!! 🙂

      Reply

  8. tricouple1968

    Love the owl facts – I feel smarter already! I love days when I learn new things 🙂

    Your Halloween idea sounds so fun – can’t wait to see pics! We use to dress up for Halloween but have not done so in a few years. Maybe this year we will pull something out.

    I’m loving Nuun tablets lately – they make my water yummy and fizzy and easier to drink when I’m not in a water mood. I can use 1/2 tablet on a big cup of water just to add a little flavor.

    Have a great weekend!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey!! Happy Friday! Thanks for your comment! Much appreciated! 🙂 I’m so excited about Halloween and totally think you should dress up this year!! I know you’d look absolutely amazing! You always do!
      Nuun is the greatest!! I love the cherry limeade flavor! It’s really yummy! Have a wonderful weekend!! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much and awww, too cute!! What a great, beautiful daughter you are!! You’re amazing!! I appreciate your sweet comment and hope you have a super weekend! XOXO! Happy Friday!

      Reply

  9. piratebobcat

    Forgive my immaturity, but I can’t resist….Looks like you’ve got some nice hooters there. Ha, seriously, I learned some new things from this post! PS, we had an owl sitting on our fence a couple years ago. It was cool to look at!

    Reply

Talk to me baby!!

