Hey y’all!! Happy Sunday to ya!! I hope everyone is having a wonderful, just fabulous weekend, I really do!! Thanks for all of your race support!! You guys are seriously THE BEST and although this (i.e. Crawlin’ Crab Half Marathon) wasn’t my race, so-to-speak, I’m incredibly thankful for y’all in my life! Yep, I use y’all and you guys interchangeably!

This is the letter I wrote to my coach about my half marathon:

Hey! I stayed with the 7:15 pace group for the first 6.5 miles and started to fade back some but kept them in sight with 45 seconds – 1:00 gap. Around mile 10, I started to fade really bad. I stopped a couple of times to walk to get my legs back under me. I felt that if I did not stop and walk some, I would not have made it through the race. I was able to pick up the pace on the nice downhill and hung on for the last mile. I finished up 1:37:49 which was a second faster than Shamrock, but I am very disappointed. I was in limbo as to what pace to run. I thought I could keep the 7:15 group within 30 seconds, but I started to break. My legs felt tired all week and they never felt under me during the race. I feel that I want to redeem myself and do another 1/2. What do you think about Richmond?

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t upset and haven’t been crying since I crossed the finish line because I am and I have. I was on pace to run a 1:35:30, but then walked for about 1.5 minutes; therefore, blew up my pace. My legs gave out today, but despite this and despite my (only) 1 second PR, I’m still looking forward to redeeming myself November 15th at the Richmond Half Marathon! Yep, I just signed up! I guess a PR is still a PR, so I’m thankful for that!! Thanks for your sweet support!! XOXO!!

-Kristin

  1. lsanders09

    I know you’re not happy with your race but you did awesome! You were out there, you gave it your all and most importantly you listened to your body. Had you not who knows what would’ve happened. You crossed the finish line! That’s worth a celebration!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Smooch!! Thank you so much for your comment and for making me smile!! There will definitely be other races and you’re right- the fact that I crossed the finish line intact is a celebration in itself!! You’re amazing and such a great support! Happy Monday! Have a wonderful week! xoxo

      Reply

  2. tricouple1968

    Sorry you didn’t have the race you hoped for – I know how sometimes it (running) seems SO much harder and I always wonder why. It is disappointing to work hard then have a bummer race. When something like that happens to me I allow myself a small “mourning period” then pick a new goal – sounds like you are already on track for that. Do something nice for yourself today!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, thank you so very much!! I’m definitely feeling much better today and am truly amazed at your love, kindness, and support!! You’re such an amazing person, you really are- so beautiful and smart and caring! I agree- it’s hard to have a bad race, BUT I know there will be many more!! Have a wonderful week and thanks again for your loving support!! xoxo

      Reply

  3. Angie

    That’s a pretty awesome time Kristin! I know it’s disappointing not to have held the pace you wanted, but races are like that, you just never know what’s going to happen or how you’re going to feel. You still did awesome! Give it time and you’ll be able to look back at it and use it as a tool for moving forward. You have many many more races a head of you!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Angie, thanks for your advice and may I say, you’re so very wise and beautiful!! Your words are sweet and have inspired me to pick myself up and move forward!! There are no words I can say to thank you enough for your generosity of time- I appreciate your comment and wish you nothing but the greatest week ever!! You deserve all the happiness in the world!! XOXO!

      Reply

  4. NancyTex

    Your race time is something I can only dream of. I realize this gives you little comfort since you were aiming for a faster finish, but I just wanted to remind you that your time is killer badass for most of the population. xoxo

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe, thank you so much!! You always make me smile so thanks for picking me up when I feel down. I’m feeling much better now and I wish I could give you a big hug to thank you for your sweetness! Happy Monday! Have a fab week! xoxo

      Reply

  5. Chris P

    You are awesome and should be proud. I would love to run with you, but I don’t think I could keep up. I’m sure you will do better next time, though that pace was fantastic for a hilly half marathon. Take care!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Chris, you’re so kind and sweet! Thanks for this! I’m feeling much better now! I definitely took a little time to reflect on my race, but then moved on, ready for the next challenge. I appreciate your love and support!! Have a wonderful week!! xoxo

      Reply

  6. Melanie @ Runnergirlinarockingworld

    Every finish line you cross is a celebration! Celebrate that you crossed another one. Also, each race teaches us something. The fact that you are willing to tackle another half, you learned something from this one. You will get your PR!! You are destined for great stuff! Hugs!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Melanie!! Wow, such kind and loving words here! Truly, THANK YOU for your advice!! Very, very wise! I love how you put my race in perspective for me and really, I feel much better. Everything happens for a reason so I’m thankful to have learned from my race and now moving on towards new challenges. THANK YOU!! XOXO!

      Reply

  7. Charlotte

    I think you were awesome and I’d fall out for a time like that but I do understand that is not much comfort to you because you have your own goals. People like you put that crap behind them and move on the the next! You are an inspiration to young women and all people for their dedication, drive and your prowess. I want to give you a hug. Lick your wounds a bit, rest and get back to it.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Charlotte!! You’re so loving and JUST SO WONDERFUL!! I’ve licked my wounds (a few times now) and feel much, MUCH better so thanks for your great encouragement and your phenomenal way with words. You know what to say to make me feel 100% and I admire you very much! Sounds like you had an amazing weekend!! So happy for you! xoxo

      Reply

  8. laurenwayjurlee

    Girl! You did awesome! I know you didn’t reach your particular goals, but that is a very impressive time. You listened to your body, you didn’t end up injured, and that’s the most important thing. I’m sad I didn’t see you there, I was pretty far behind you πŸ™‚ Keep training hard, and you’ll get that goal!!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Eeek! I know, I wish we could have met! I was definitely looking for you but with the thousands of people, kinda hard, right? Congrats to you for a great race!! I’m proud of you!! You’re awesome and can’t wait to one day meet up in person!! You’re amazing!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  9. Running Betty

    I’m sorry. 😦 I hate that even with months of training you can never 100% predict what’s going to happen on race day and I understand the disappointment of not meeting a specific race goal. You STILL ran an amazing race…you’re a natural speedster and you have the right attitude looking forward to your NEXT race. With your dedication and perservence you’re going to reach all of your goals eventually. You are a true athlete and an inspiration.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Kristine, xoxo, THANK YOU!! That means so much! I guess being a newer racer, i expect every race to be THE BEST race, but in reality, that’s not practical, so thanks for cheering me up and giving great advice! It is frustrating to train and not see the results expected but there were mistakes made on my part, so I will learn from them, and move on to the next race! I hope you’re having a great Monday and hope you had the greatest weekend!! Thanks for always supporting me! XOXO!

      Reply

  10. sarahdudek80

    Sorry to hear that the race was not all that you had hoped for. I know that can be so difficult when you put so much hard work into. You did run quite well despite your struggles though!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks a bunch!! Truly, THANK YOU!!! I value your posts and your great advice!! You’re very wise!! I hope you’re having a fantastic week!! XOXO!!

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww!! Truly, I’m so thankful for you! You’re an amazing, strong, gorgeous woman that is so insightful and loving. You’re the best!! Have a great week!! Hope you’re feeling better!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  11. FLRunnerBoy

    Ohhhhh Kristin hugs, hugs, and more hugs!!! I’m sorry you didn’t hit your time goal but cherish the fact that even on an off day you were still able to pull off a PR. Just imagine what you’re going to accomplish on a day when your hitting on all cylinders. It’s going to be epic and I’m thinking epic is going to be in November at that Richmond half mary πŸ˜‰ you’ll rebound your such a strong, amazing, beautiful person how can you not rebound. Be sad for but a moment, cherish the PR for but a moment, then set your sites on November. YOU GOT THIS!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lee!!! You’re so wonderful and amazing and just the best person in the entire world!! Don’t deny it, YOU ARE!!! I mean, how can I even respond to all of this sweetness. Seriously, THANK YOU for taking time to make me feel so much better about my race. Truly, I appreciate every single word and all of the thought that went into it. You’re so strong and goal oriented and I absolutely love reading your posts. Also, thanks for the great realizations- everything you said makes perfect sense!! XOXO!! Have a wonderful week!!

      Reply

  12. Nicole@TheGirlWhoRanEverywhere

    Sometimes it’s not your day. Sending you huge huge hugs! I know you can PR and get that 1:35:30…I feel it!!! Sometimes just singing up for a race can be incredibly motivating!!! I have one in November too, and I’m already excited about it!;) you’ve got this!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Nicole!! I appreciate your love and support!! I already feel much better and motivated to move on with swimming, running, etc. This whole process is about learning and growing and finally blossoming into the runner I’m looking to become, so happy to have had this experience. Have a wonderful week!! XOXO!

      Reply

  13. V

    Kristin, I’m not a marathoner so 1:37:49 sounds really good to me. Be proud of yourself for how well your doing and for keeping at it πŸ™‚

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks girl!! You’re truly a wonderful, loving person!! I appreciate your support!! Thanks for always being here to comment!! You’re the best!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  14. Jane Likes to Run

    That’s still a great finishing time and something to be proud of. I also had a pretty disappointing performance at my marathon yesterday so I know exactly how you feel with the disappointment. I was pretty close to crying at the finish line.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      I feel your pain, I really do. I’m so sorry to hear you didn’t have the race you were looking to have. It’s definitely hard to swallow disappointment all at once at the finish line. It’s definitely a culmination of not hitting your goal + training so hard, BUT there is a bright side. We have many more miles in us and many more fab runs to be had!! I know you’ll move on into your next fabulous race prep with your head held high and you’ll rock your next one!! I believe in you!! XOXO!!

      Reply

  15. thedancingrunner

    You will get that 1:35 soon, I am sure of that! Don’t get down on yourself…you are amazing and you should be very proud! My PR is 1:45 so I’d be ECSTATIC with that time!! You set a great example for us middle of the pack runners πŸ˜‰ Celebrate your awesomeness! Have a fantastic day!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww!! So sweet, but I hardly think you’re a middle of the pack runner!! You shine so bright and are such an incredible runner!! I really look up to you!! You’re a shining example of what a fab, fast, hard working runner looks like. You’re truly amazing!! Thanks for your support! It means so much to me! Happy Monday!! XOXO!

      Reply

  16. Kristin

    Thanks Nicole!! I appreciate your love and support!! I already feel much better and motivated to move on with swimming, running, etc. This whole process is about learning and growing and finally blossoming into the runner I’m looking to become, so happy to have had this experience. Have a wonderful week!! XOXO!

    Reply

  17. courtruns4cupcakes

    You should not be even one bit sad. You did AMAZING!!!! Seriously you better be smiling right now! πŸ™‚ I know you will do great at Richmond even though I don’t think you need to do any better than you already have!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Ohhh you always make me smile so (*giggle* *giggle*) I’m smiling!! Seriously thank you for your compassion and for brightening my night, you’re so awesome and wonderful and thoughtful and um, just the greatest! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ I really feel lots better!! xoxoxo

      Reply

  18. kelliezinch

    A 1:37 AND you walked on your second half marathon?! WOW that is awesome!! You will get your goal easily then when it’s ‘your’ day..just like how I’ll hit mine πŸ™‚ I did Richmond last year and that’s where I got my PR..it’s a great course with a straight downhill finish. I know you will rock it!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww!!! Thank you x a million!! You really brought a huge smile to my face! When I read your comment, I ran upstairs and told my husband what you said!! Thanks for giving me courage and for your support!! It means SO much!
      Honestly, you’re an amaaazing athlete and I can tell that you WILL achieve every single goal you set your mind to! You’re such a hard worker and so dedicated to running! Never doubt for a second that you’re not the best because you are! Have a fabulous week! xoxo

      Reply

  19. piratebobcat

    Awww, just getting caught up here. You have nothing to worry about – you went for it and it didn’t work out. Now you know what to expect and can prepare for it next time. And hey, that’s still a great time and PR!!!!!

    Reply

Talk to me baby!!

