Okay, confession time! Secretly, I’d love to be an advice columnist (especially for teens), you know like Steve Carell in Dan in Real Life. Um, LOOOVE that movie BTW!! Life advice is just so darn beautiful, don’t ya think?! How could you not take it (i.e. advice) in and (at least) reflect on it a bit? I guess the one thing I’ve always believed in…is to take the advice of others or to at least listen to what people had to say. We’re all beautifully different so why not open your ears, open your heart, and Β open your eyes to what could be?

I’m the first person to admit that I’m not perfect (shocking, I know!), but come on, perfection is so overrated… I’ve learned the best stuff (yeah, stuff) from my oopsies. I mean, haven’t you? Being both a swim coach and a writer (visiting schools and interacting with kids), I’m often asked by parents/teachers to sound off advice (i.e. advice that exceeds swimming and writing). Alright, so here we go.

Kristin222

Teeny-boppers, this one’s for you!!Β 

#1- Believe in yourself. Believe that you’re capable of greatness all on your own.

#2- You don’t need anyone else to make you happy. Happiness blossoms from within. The aftermath of contentment is self-confidence. Self-confidence breeds friendships.

#3- Alcohol is not the answer. You can be fun and fabulous without the added edge.

#4- When dating, don’t squeeze yourself into an unrealistic mold that looks nothing like you. Stay true to you!

#5- Target your dreams and never lose sight of your goals until you hit the bulls-eye. Never count the fallen arrows, instead, use them as a road map to your final destination.

Source

#6- Link your head to your mouth and your mouth to your heart: Speak with wisdom and courage.

#7- Indulge in kindness (it’s free!)!!

Source

#8- Technology is the way of the world, but never forget your roots- to get outside and lavish in the sunshine.

#9- Belittle is to Be little- never stoop to that level! It’s just not nice.

#10- There’s no ugly-pretty, only pretty ugly, and I equate ugliness to unkindness. Put your best foot forward and your best face forward because HELLO, you’re beautiful!

Dog Park3 (2)

GOT ANY ADVICE FOR TEENS? I’D LOVE TO HEAR IT!! XOXO

-Kristin

    1. Kristin

      Charlotte, thanks a bunch!! You’re the greatest!! I so wanna give you a hug!! πŸ˜‰ You always make me feel like a million dollars!! Seriously, I appreciate it very much!! xoxo

      Reply

  1. Cynthia

    Great advice. You’d be an awesome teen advice columnist. You are a great role model and someone they can look up to. You’re so positive and confident and they really need that!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Cynthia, thanks a bunch!! You’re the sweetest!! You really made my night! I’d love to be a teen advice columnist! It’d be a great writing adventure for sure! Thanks for your support! It means so much to me!! xoxo

      Reply

  2. lsanders09

    Great advice! I’m sure you would be very influential to teens. So you want to be a teen advice columnist? Follow your own advice (#5) and I have no doubt you will do it! My own confession…I’d love to be a psychologist! If I ever have the burning desire to earn another degree…that’s what it would be in!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Ohhh, you’re sooo wise!!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚ Thank you for your support and I’ve been researching about advice columnist, so hopefully one day!! I’m very interested in psychology myself. Was very close to majoring in it in college. It definitely interests me. You should do it!! I know you’d make an amazing psychologist!! You’re very supportive, sweet, smart, and a great listener!! xoxo

      Reply

  3. weight2lose2013

    How about a “Dear Kristin” column weekly? I would love that! Yes, I agree with your opinion on perfection. It’s our imperfection that gives us character and identity. What would Marylin Monroe be without the mole on her face? πŸ™‚ It’s all of those little things that don’t fit into the media view of beauty that in fact, makes us beautiful. Have a great day, Kristin!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Rob and ohhhh, totally love your reference to Marilyn Monroe and her mole. Good one and very true! I agree with you, too that those things that make us unique are in fact what makes us stand out as well. Love it! Also, a “Dear Kristin” column…perfect idea!! Totally into it!! Thanks for the great suggestion!! Very cool!! xoxo

      Reply

  4. thedancingrunner

    You are adorable! Always loving your shirts, they are always so on point!! And you already know how I feel about the ‘CONFESSION SESSION’!! I would like to take credit and say I coined that term…haha! Enjoy the rest of your week lovebug!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      HEY!! Thanks!!! Yep, totally didn’t mean to use your confession session title. Was going with confession time, then Teeny Bopper (something or another), but finally wanted the title to flow more, so went with it. Honestly, did not realize until after I’d posted! Sorry! You’re the Confession Session beauty! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      I hope you’re having an amazing day because, you’re amazing!! xoxo

      Reply

  5. FLRunnerBoy

    You are so amazing Kristin seriously xoxoxo you can be my advice columnist anytime! I think you hit all the angles on the W.O.W. (Words of Wisdom) for teens or anyone for that manner!! I absolutely LOVE!!! … LOVE!!! … LOVE!!! 5, 6, and 8 πŸ™‚

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lee, thank you so much!! Very sweet!! I hope you’re having an amazing week so far and YES, I’d love to be your advice columnist!! Sounds like so much fun; although, I always love the advice you give me, SO can you be mine, too?! πŸ™‚ Hehe!!! We’re cool!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ xoxo

      Reply

  6. FLRunnerBoy

    Reblogged this on FLRunnerBoy and commented:
    After reading this post I absolutely had to reblog it!!! Kristin is such a positive, upbuilding soul. The W.O.W. (Words of Wisdom) that she sprinkles throughout this post are nothing short of amazing. Absolute GEMS!!! I plan to think upon them regularly especially numbers 5, 6, and 8. This post was mainly directed to the younger generation but the advice can be taken to heart by ANYONE!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lee, THANK YOU X A MILLION!! You’re the best!! I’m stunned and amazed…WOW, thanks for your kind words!! You mean so much to me! From the bottom of my heart, THANK YOU!! Have a beautiful day!! xoxo

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      THANKS!!! You’re beautiful and a wonderful role model yourself!! Your hard work and dedication is so refreshing!! Have a great rest of the week!! xoxo

      Reply

  7. Shawna

    i’ve always had such a special spot for teens and a passion for working with them, too — it’s what sent me into working in youth ministry and then doing a Master’s in Adolescent Education. some of my advice to them: cultivate a love for reading — you will be forever changed by books, and your future self will thank you for it. don’t waste your teen years trying to be older — it’ll come before you know it, so enjoy the stage you’re at. learn to use a washing machine (i wish i had when i was a teenager!) — it’ll be helpful in college. get as much education as you can, however you can — be a lifelong learner. find some true, good friends, and keep them close — don’t hang out with people just to keep from being alone. be good to your parents and thank them often — they really, truly want the best for you. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Shawna, you’re the best!! Seriously, what fabulous, inspirational advice!! Just the coolest!! I love the part about not wasting your time trying to be older! That’s so important- it seems teens always wanna be older…13, then 16, then 18, then 21, etc. I was like that, too and now (29 years old) wish I could go backwards and experience being young again! Such precious years! I’m definitely learning to stay present in my life and that’s advice I give swimmers/students! Enjoy where you are and lavish in it because these precious, little moments will be gone in what feels like a second. Thanks for this!! You’re so special!! xoxo

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lena, THANK YOU!! I don’t know what I’d do without you!! I always look forward to reading your awesome posts and comments! Smooch! You’re the best!! xoxo

      Reply

  8. runsaltrun

    Girl you should write a book. It’s so funny…I was having kind of a down evening and then I came over here and feel better. You would be awesome at giving advice to EVERYONE, not just teenagers! xo

    Reply

Talk to me baby!!

