“Yoga does not remove us from the reality or responsibilities of everyday life but rather places our feet firmly and resolutely in the practical ground of experience. We don’t transcend our lives; we return to the life we left behind in the hopes of something better.” ~ Donna Farhi

Source

The time has come to ravish my yogi self! I’m excited! 18 hours of yogi lovin’ this weekend (starting tonight at 6:30 and ending 2 pm on Sunday)! My journey ahead (RYS200) will be long and challenging (ending in May), but I’m takin’ my new, pink Manduka yoga mat by the straps, slinging it over my shoulder, and singing the tunes of a once lost girl, having now found my true self through yoga. I’m in heaven! Am I nervous? Of course because I’ve spend most of my mat time alone, half moonin’ it solo in my living room with Prince, my doga pup, BUT my mat’s smoothed out, ready to go, and my body is ready to rock it teacher style (with 13 other yoga companions that will be along for the ride). I’ll miss Bryan Kest; although, I’m pretty darn excited because I’ll be poppin’ into one of his workshops next month! Vacationing in Florida (Disney World! Yaaay!!) has its perks, especially when Bryan Kest is hittin’ up the area, too!! Such great timing!!

Source

3 textbooks is how many I’ve got!! Count ’em! BAM! Well, THAT was the sound they (i.e. my books) made when I picked ’em up, browsed through ’em, and then quickly dropped ’em, overwhelmed with the info at hand. Lots to absorb! Here’s a bit from my yoga school (Yep, pretty cool I gotta yoga school right around the corner!):

The certification is recognized worldwide and will give you much more than a
certificate. It will be a transformative, individually focused journey shared with others.
We are all on our own path, but that path leads us to the same place.

Training Topics Include:
Teaching Methodology
Yoga Anatomy & Physiology
Philosophy, Lifestyle & Ethics
Meditation Techniques
Prenatal Yoga
Restorative Yoga
Yoga For Seniors & Back Problems
Children’s Yoga
Basics of Ayurveda
Pranayama
Yoga Business & Marketing

Source

Source

Aaaand after all this, I plan to complete RYS500, which is a year long yoga therapy program!! As you can see, I have lots of yoga schooling in my future (about 2 years worth), but how cool to be a yoga therapist, huh? Wish me luck!! xoxo

Yoga Therapy is one of the fastest growing natural health fields in the US. Science is discovering more every day about the measurable therapeutic benefits of practicing yoga.- Zenya Yoga Academy

Have a GREAT weekend EVERYONE!!!

-Kristin  

    1. Kristin

      Awwww, thanks so much!! You’re the best!!! So very sweet!! It was a great weekend + Tuesday night (I had anatomy class last night)!!! Almost 20 hours into the program!! So fun, but lots to learn!!! WOW!! Have a lovely week!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Angie!! It has been a crazy journey already!! Cried the very first night when we had a candle lighting ceremony!! Wow, my spiritual journey is amazing!! So much to learn, but loving it!! Studying everyday!! Eeek!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lena, THANK YOU for your support!! My journey will be long but over the top amazing. I can’t even express how much this journey means to me!! It’s intense, but so beautiful! Hope you’re having a lovely week!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Amy, EEEK!! So craaazy, but I’m lovin’ it!! Can’t believe almost 20 hours in already!! WOW!!! Had anatomy class last night and have been studying everyday!! Lots of learn, right? I’m so happy you’re having an amazing journey!! I’m excited to learn more and more!! XOXO

      Reply

  1. Open Up Life

    Congratulations and much Yoga love to you! I know that you will do extremely well and be a blessing to the Yoga world. I’m also excited that you are coming to Florida, when is that and what area? Maybe we could have lunch.
    I will be starting my Yoga teacher training in January and can’t wait! Definitely will be a life transformation. Keep us updated! Peace, love, bliss!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      So excited for your journey to begin!! I’m almost 20 hours into training and I’m loving it!! There is so much to learn, but it has been such a fun and invigorating experience so far!! Can’t wait to learn more and more!! Thanks for your wonderful compliments!! You’re the sweetest!! I’ll be in Orlando (Disney World) November 22nd-29th!! Hope you’re having a fabulous week!! You’re amazing!! XOXO

      Reply

      1. Open Up Life

        That is great! Disney World is so much fun! It is cold here right now. I miss the warm weather. Thank you for being so sweet and kind. May your week be filled with peace, love and bliss. Namaste XOXO

    1. Kristin

      REALLY???!!!! SO COOL!!! I’ll be in Disney November 22-29!!! When will you be there?? Eeeek!!! So fun!! Thanks for your sweetness, too!! You’re the best!! Sorry, behind on blogs!! Will be catching up soon!! Miss you!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      NO WAY!!! What a cool job your sister has!! I sure will!! Love Animal Kingdom!! I’m so excited to go!! Also, YES, love yoga and love how it makes me feel!! Already about 20 hour into the training!! So much to learn, but SO fun!! XOXO

      Reply

  2. Running Betty

    So proud of you! Maybe one day I’ll get to “pop in” to a one of your workshops! I know you’re going to do great and I’m excited to follow you on your journey to becoming a professional yogi/yoga therapist! Very cool! And I’m excited that you’ll get to see your yoga hero, Bryan kest next month! I’m sure it will be great motivation/inspiration for your months of instructor training! ❤

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Kristine!! I’m super excited to see Bryan Kest again and secretly hope he remembers me. Marc says definitely, but we’ll see!! Hehe!! Thanks for all of your kindness and your sweet comment!! I can’t believe I’m already almost 20 hours into training…Wow, what a rush of info and fun!! So much to learn, but I’m so excited to be where I am!! I’m totally learning to live in the moment and am enjoying where I am!! Hope you’re having a lovely week!!! XOXO

      Reply

  3. Katie C

    I hope it was awesome! I am quite horrible at yoga, but I try (sometimes). I always feel accomplished when I’m done – maybe that is just relief that the pain is ending?

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe Katie!! Thanks for your comment!! You’re so funny!! Training was awesome!! Almost 20 hours in already (had anatomy class last night) and SO MUCH to learn!! Eeek!! Been studying everyday!! Hope you’re having a fabulous week!! XOXO

      Reply

  4. Lauren @ ihadabiglunch

    I’m so so so so soooo excited for you! This is a whole new level of counseling/support/guidance that you were talking about a few posts ago. So instead of writing an advice column you can help people through your practice 🙂 I can only begin to imagine the success you’ll have with this! i’ve pretty much accepted that I’m going to spend my 20s completing certifcations like this – and it’s so amazing! The most important investment is YOURSELF, am I right?!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      OH LAUREN, YOU ARE RIGHT!!! SO RIGHT!! Aaaand may I say you’re so very inspirational!! I love how you invest in your happiness and make changes that best suit you!! That’s such an important aspect of life!! You’re truly the best!! I can’t wait to catch up on your blog!! Been studying lots already!! So much info learned and so much history, anatomy, Sanskrit to learn!! Eeek!! I’m overwhelmed, but definitely in a good way!! I will hopefully recap my experience tomorrow!! Hope you’re having the best week!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey Rob!! It was crazy exciting and emotional and just perfect!! Almost 20 hours in because we had anatomy class last night, but the journey is just beginning!! It was so overwhelming to teach poses to other students, but I’m sure I’ll have my teaching touch in no time!! Will definitely take lots of practice but that’s what it’s all about, right? Will definitely write a post soon!! Been studying lots!! Hope you’re having an amazing week!! XOXO

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

