WOW, is this still MY blog, or what, huh?? Not only have I completely revamped it (hence, changes galore), BUT I haven’t posted in 2 weeks! WHAT???!!! Walk of shame in progress!! WALK OF SHAME IN PROGRESS!! Watch out for flying frowns!! Geez, talk about a walk in the clouds or better yet, a walk across hot coals. Can ya see the smoke? Seriously though, I’ve missed you guys SO much!! DID YOU MISS ME….??? (…nervously, Kristin waits for an answer…)

Pretty8 (2)

Well, OK, although I haven’t been walking on hot coals per se, I have been burning rubber, so-to-speak (Wait, did I just use another idiom?), that is, going in a million + 1 directions ALL at the same time and OH, by the way, I leave for vacation tomorrow!! WATCH OUT, Orlando, Florida because HERE I COME (+ my family, which = DOUBLE TROUBLE)!!! Tehehe!!

GOOD NEWS!!! MY NEW HALF MARATHON PR IS 1:35:53!!! YEP INDEEDY!! I RAN RICHMOND HALF THIS PAST SATURDAY AND HELLO, 2 minute drop! Although I won’t necessarily be recapping it, I WILL be sharing some KIND THOUGHTS that I had along the way, that is along my half marathon way which by the way, is a loooong way (I don’t see how you marathoners do it…y’all are tough!!)!! I also rocked out a meet (the weekend before Richmond), tryin’ to get that 100 fly zing back AND will be runnin’ a 5k AND swimmin’ another meet in less than a month (OH and in the same weekend)! Action packed weekend here I come!!

Pretty7 (2)

NEVER UNDERESTIMATE THE POWER OF KIND WORDS!! THEY CAN MOVE MOUNTAINS (or maybe even move you to the finish line)!

During Richmond Half, I carried with me a piece of crumpled up paper that didn’t look like much, but honestly, meant the world to me. Inside this lousy note were words that infested my soul with inspiration. This past Saturday, I was one with the road and to be truer than true, I was one with MYSELF. I’ve never felt better at a race! It felt easy and smooth, as though I were free falling over a waterfall! I was excited, yet nervous! I was a kid in a candy shop, yet totally focused. I was inspired, yet totally overwhelmed with so many different emotions!! In summary, I WAS THANKFUL for the opportunity to get out and move my body in the way that I wanted to move it! There’s just nothing better than that!

RUNNING AND SWIMMING MOVE ME IN A WAY THAT NOTHING ELSE CAN! Think about it, why do YOU do what you do? Why do you hike or bike or run and have fun?? Well, because you like how it makes you feel! Being grateful for the things that we CAN do is so important because in these very things, we find peace and love and so much joy and even touch the very places that need to be touched (i.e. our hearts). Pulling on our heartstrings creates beauty that’s transparent. It’s a way that we relate to ourselves and to the world. Alright, soooo….

Inside the shagged out paper were these very thoughts:

(Note: During the race, when I needed a pick-me-up, I unfolded my piece of paper and read these very words.)

“Your body will argue that there is no justifiable reason to continue. Your only recourse is to call on your spirit, which fortunately functions independently of logic.” – Tim Noakes

“Racing teaches us to challenge ourselves. It teaches us to push beyond where we thought we could go. It helps us to find out what we are made of. This is what we do. This is what it’s all about.” -PattiSue Plumer, U.S. Olympian

“Running is a big question mark that’s there each and every day. It asks you, ‘Are you going to be a wimp or are you going to be strong today?'” – Peter Maher, Canadian marathon runner

Facebook21

“I run because it’s so symbolic of life. You have to drive yourself to overcome the obstacles. You might feel that you can’t. But then you find your inner strength, and realize you’re capable of so much more than you thought.”-Arthur Blank

“During your pains and efforts and belabored breaths, remember the pains and belabored breaths of the dying who, at this very second, fight for every last second of life. Then suddenly, the real reason for the race gives you strength.”

Facebook25

Re-read the bold words above and remember, that every gasp you make towards the finish line is a miracle in and of itself. WE’RE ALIVE! Your finish line might look different than mine (maybe it’s not a race at all), but we can’t lose sight of the fact that we are living and breathing and healthy! Seriously y’all, let’s LIVE and BE HAPPY!! XOXO

-Kristin

  1. Charlotte

    Your blog looks beautiful and you are as beautiful as ever! Congratulations on your PR! At that speed you must look like a gazelle running. 🙂 Those are great pieces on inspiration. I hope your vacation is awesome! Disneyworld? Be safe and have fun!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww Charlotte, you’re the greatest!! ALWAYS so supportive and wonderful!! Means the world to me! THANK YOU!! Yes, going to Disney World!! I’m so excited!! I’ll definitely be posting some fun pictures next week!! Thanks for your awesomeness!! SMOOCH!!! Have a fabulous Friday and weekend!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yaaay!!! Swimming laps!! Sounds so fun!! You’re awesome!! Also, thank you so much for your kind words and for thinking about me! So sweet! Have a wonderful Friday and weekend!! XOXO

      Reply

  2. JMC813

    Love the new blog direction Kristin. Have a great vacay and go ahead and keep rockin every event you enter. Run…Swim….doesn’t matter. Take no prisoners friend.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, THANKS!!! You’re awesome!! I appreciate your kindness and support! I hope you’re having a fantastic week filled with lots of love and happiness! Seriously, thanks for your encouragement!! XOXO

      Reply

  3. brunettedistraction

    Yaaay, Kristin’s back, woo hoo!! 😀 Enjoy your vacation, I’m so jealous right now, sounds like a looot of fun!! 🙂 Congratulations on your run, I still find it incredibly fascinating how you can be so positive and stay so focused at all times, way to go! 🙂 XOXO from Switzerland!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Who’s the coolest girl?! YOU ARE!! Thanks for your love!! You’re so lovely and passionate!! I just can’t get enough of your fab blog! Totally inspiring! I’m excited to have some fun!! I’ve definitely been a little stressed lately, BUT I’ve kept my eye on the prize (aka vacation)! 🙂 I definitely have my AHHH, I’m stressed times, but at the end of the day, I try to reset for the next. You’re the best!! Have a terrific day!! XOXO

      Reply

  4. laurenwayjurlee

    Congrats on the PR – and congrats on mentally being in it the whole time! I love the idea of having quotes on a piece of paper to pick you up when the race is tough. Have fun on vacation 🙂

    Reply

  5. Nicole@TheGirlWhoRanEverywhere

    I HAVE missed you doll!! I’m glad you are back! Congrats on your new PR, so speedy I LOVE IT!! 🙂 i’m really proud of you for getting that PR because i know you were so dissappointed the last time you raced a half. Way to make a comeback! 🙂

    Reply

  6. weight2lose2013

    I love the look and direction of the blog, Kristin. Having a few beautiful photos posted of you never hurts, either. 🙂 I love the Teddy Roosevelt quote, simply inspirational. It’s great to see you back on your blog! Have a great weekend!!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Rob!! Happy Weekend!! Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving and a magical week! You’re the best!! I always appreciate your kindness and your sweet comments!!! On the way home from Disney World!! It has been an exciting, yet tiring week!! XOXO

      Reply

  7. sarahdudek80

    Beautiful post. Words truly can move and push us. And they can also have an opposite effect when they are negative. You reminded me of a yoga class where the instructor discussed how just a simple smile on our faces can set the tone for the day. This blog definitely does that.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Sarah, thank you!! Truly, thanks for being so wonderful and inspirational!! You are SO amazing!! Words can definitely move us to heights we never thought we could reach and yep, they can definitely have the opposite effect as well!! Words definitely have the power to evoke great things inside of us!! Have a great weekend!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww, THANK YOU SO MUCH!! You’re the sweetest!!! I hope you’re having a lovely weekend!! Thanks for your continued love and support!! You’re the greatest!! XOXO

      Reply

  8. FLRunnerBoy

    Orlando!!!! You are only going to be just under two hours away from me annnnnd ummmmm yeeeaaahhhh I’ve missed you tons girly. Your blog is one of the reasons I check my blog roll 😉 I knew you would get that PR you are to resilient and strong not to have got. Sooooo November has been big PR city for us both hehe!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      YES!!! Big PR city for us both!! Amazing!! Congrats on being a rockstar!! I love reading your blog SO much and thanks so much for your compliments!! You sure know how to make me smile!! You’re truly amazing!! Orlando was tons of fun!! I can’t believe I’m on the way home!! Where did time go? Fun times, though!! Happy Weekend to you!! I hope you’ve had lots of amazing runs this week!! XOXO

      Reply

  9. thedancingrunner

    Wow…1:35 you’ve got 10 minutes on me now, MA’AM!! Anyway that is fantastic!! You’re a rockstar!! Now you’re going to train for the full marathon, yes? Come on!! Sigh…anyway, have a great time Florida! Love the new look of your blog as well!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe!! Thanks Chelsea!! You always make me smile!! Thanks for that!! I’m on the way home from Disney World and wondering where the week went!! Vacations go by so fast!! I wish I had another week, but oh well, it was a fun time for sure!! Hope you had a Happy Thanksgiving and are having a fun weekend!! Hehe- and I’ll leave the marathons to you because I think you’re the rockstar!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much Lena!! You’re the sweetest!! Always so supportive and adorable!! I really appreciate it!! Yoga is amazing!! It definitely takes you to a place that is beautiful and peaceful!! Hope you’re having a magical week and an amazing weekend!! XOXO

      Reply

  10. Scott D.

    Congrats on the PR (speed demon) and the new direction with the blog. I’m coming up on the one year anniversary with my blog and wondering how long until I revamp mine (broaden its horizons). I love writing about running, but I might want to take it bigger (covering more of my life and other obsessions. Keep on running and keep on writing!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey Scott!! Thanks so much and you should definitely go for a bigger direction! I think that would be so intriguing! I’d love to read more about your life!! GO FOR IT!! Very cool! And happy (almost) 1 year anniversary!! Very cool!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, THANK YOU!!! You always make me feel SO good!! I’ve missed you, too!! On the way home from vacation!! Such an exciting, busy vacation!! I hope you’re having a great weekend and THANK YOU for always making me smile!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks!!! I’m on the way home and WOW, what an action-packed week!! I’m exhausted but only from having so much fun!! Thanks for your sweetness! Have a lovely weekend!! XOXO

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

