Welcome to Sunday and welcome to the holiday season everyone!!! Whether you enjoy this time of year or not, it’s heeere, roaring its ugly head (i.e. holiday traffic, crowded stores, etc.), BUT I got some great news for you and it goes a little bit like this:

YOU DON’T HAVE TO BE MISERABLE!! The next time you’re in the mall, feeling a tad bit squeezed, maybe even a little claustrophobic (standing next to that millionth person in line), remember to smile. It’s amazing how far a smile can carry you aaand I don’t mean out the door; although, who knows, maybe walking out the door would be the best thing for YOU and your sanity. Sadly, this time of year, people get so stressed out shopping for that perfect holiday gift that they miss out on all the true beauty of the season. The crisp, winter air, the warm, cinnamon scents, the movies, the fun, friendly gatherings are all part of this wonderful magic!

WHAT’S UP WITH ME? IN SUMMARY:

#1- I just got over the flu (I hate the flu!!!)

#2- I just got done with 16 hours of yoga teacher training this weekend (I love yoga!!!)

#3- I’m a vegan now (My body feels amaaazing!!!!)

#4- I start The 12 Gifts of Christmas Saturday (and I can’t wait!!!)

#5- I feel sublimely happy (through acceptance, I’ve found myself!!!)

Well, I feel a little bit like Alice in Wonderland falling down the rabbit hole in search of something greater. Lately, I’ve been trying to piece (or peace) myself back together (wow, this is quickly turning into Humpty Dumpty). Over the past few months, I’ve really transitioned my train of thought towards myself. It’s great to hold doors for strangers and to make connections with others, but it’s equally great to show self love. There’s so much in this world that we can’t control, that when it comes to something we can control, we usually do, but that’s not always a good thing. I’ve put down my reins of control and have accepted myself. It’s a freeing feeling.

Disney World1 (2)

STEPS TO ACCEPTING MYSELF

1} IT’S OKAY TO WANT CHANGE. Change is a part of life. Without change, I can’t evolve.

2} I’M NOT PERFECT. I make mistakes. That’s part of life.

3} MY EMOTIONS ARE MINE. Why should I hide them? I have a right to feel how I feel!

4} PEOPLE ARE ENTITLED TO THEIR OPINION OF ME. I can’t control how others treat me, but I can control how I respond to them.

5} THIS IS MY LIFE. I make my own decisions. I live accordingly.

“You are imperfect, permanently and inevitably flawed. And you are beautiful.” Amy Bloom 

Have a great Monday everyone!!! Hugs and kisses!!!

-Kristin

    1. Kristin

      THANK YOU SO MUCH!! So sweet!! Thankfully, I am feeling much better so thanks again for your well wishes!! Number 4 can be a tough one definitely!! I’m with you on that!! Have a wonderful weekend!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey!! How are you? Hope all is well!! Yes, so true!! We can definitely be our own worst critic and it’s definitely frustrating!! Thanks for your sweetness and for your encouragement!! I appreciate it very much!!! Have a wonderful weekend!! XOXO

      Reply

  1. Martha B

    Great messages that we all can probably benefit from. Glad you are feeling better – this flu season has sure been wicked! I’m so glad you’re digging deep and finding you… It sure is a windy wild road!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Martha, I LOVE how you said, “a windy wild road!” Wow, you put it perfectly!! When looking inside myself, I find lots of resistance towards change, so yep, definitely a wild ride. Thanks so much for your well wishes. I am feeling much better now and my doctor said this flu season has been horrible!!! Yuck!! I hope you had an amazing week and I hope you have the best weekend ever!!! 🙂 🙂

      Reply

  2. sarahdudek80

    Beautiful post. The smiling thing is a big one. I had a yoga teacher who started a class once talking about how she went to get on the subway and an older lady pushed her way in front. The teacher said, “After you,” with a bit of an edge but the older woman didn’t notice and thanked her and smiled. The teacher said it change her day. She approached everything and everyone differently because of a simple smile. It really does change your entire perspective.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      HEY!!! I hope you had a lovely week!! THANK YOU for this great story!! Truly inspiring and so true!! A smile can seriously change your entire day and it goes a loooong way towards feeling better yourself and towards making others feel better, too!! Yoga teachers are the best!! I always love hearing such beautiful stories!! Have an amazing weekend because you are SO very amazing!!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much Lee!!! You’re the best!! You are!!! 🙂 How are you? I hope you’re having an amazing week!! Thanks for your kindness and support!! Means so much!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Omg, I absolutely love your comment. You put looking within (looking inside myself) into perspective and you’re 100% right!! It is SO tough!! I’ve been trying to meditate more, too and eeeek….very hard to sit still and just let go of everything for a few minutes. Thanks for your sweetness and for your encouragement!! I hope you’re having an amazing week!! You deserve all the happiness in the world!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      HEY!! How are you? Hope you’re having a great week!!! 🙂 🙂 Yes, you’re right, it is very hard to look inside yourself. I’m finding it quite difficult!! Thanks for your kindness and for your love!! Have an amazing weekend!! XOXO

      Reply

  3. Julie the Workaholic

    This was good to read on a cold Monday morning! I enjoyed it a lot, and it made me feel a whole lot more determined to work on myself. (Especially since I have a whole lot more time on my hands, which equals more time in my head, as well…)

    Happy Monday!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      HEY!!! I hope you’re having a lovely weekend so far!! You’re wonderful!! Thanks for your sweet comment and for your encouragement!! I appreciate it very much!! How are you? 🙂 🙂 More time on your hands definitely equals more time in your head and sometimes, it can be a good thing, but sometimes a bad thing, too!! For me, even sitting down and meditating for a few minutes equals non stop flow of thoughts. It’s hard to just shut the mind off sometimes and to be present in the moment!!! Thanks again for your comment and have a fabulous weekend!!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwwww!!! Chelsea, you seriously made my morning!!! You really did!! I’m not kidding, while reading your comment, I just let out a huge awwwww…. 🙂 🙂 Thank you so much! You always make me smile! You’re the sweetest woman in the world!! 🙂 🙂 Have a fun, wonderful weekend! I love that you make the most out of life and honestly, I look up to you so much because #1, you’re gorgeous and amazing and #2, you are so positive and encouraging!! THANK YOU!!! Smooch!! XOXO

      Reply

  4. urbanempress

    haha your first pic is totally me. I have been trying to shop for my sister and manager for 2 weeks and I can only find things that I’d like. I should be my own secret santa

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Tehehehe!!! Right? Isn’t that picture so funny (…and true!!!) I’m with you!! It’s like, when I’m shopping for gifts is when I see a thousand things that I LOVE!!! Oh boy!! 🙂 🙂 At least you’re finding some great stuff for you!! That’s important, too!! Have a wonderful weekend!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Courtney!!! How are you??!! I hope you’ve had an amaaazing week!! Thank you SO much for your comment!! Very sweet!! I appreciate your love!! Have a wonderful weekend!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey Lauren!!! How are ya??!!! 🙂 🙂 I hope you’ve had a fun, lovely week and that you’re going to have a rockin’ weekend!! Yaaay!! It’s the weekend!! 🙂 Thanks for your sweetness and ohhh, I will definitely talk more about going vegan!! Great idea!!! It definitely is a big change. I’ve been a vegetarian for many years, but I finally took the next step and it feels great!! Have a fantastic weekend!!! You’re the best!! XOXO

      Reply

  5. Shawna

    wow, Kristin — i so enjoyed reading this and hearing about your journey toward deeper self-acceptance, and all the positive changes occurring in your life. such a good thing to read on my Friday morning. congrats on the yoga training, hope you continue to feel great as a vegan (so tough to commit to! good for you!), and i love the points you share about owning your emotions in a genuine way and taking responsibility for yourself. such good stuff.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Shawna, THANK YOU!!! Your kindness is just the best and I absolutely loved reading your comment! I love how you put everything into perspective and I adore how encouraging you are!! It means so much to me!! 🙂 🙂 You’re right, going vegan is a huge change and a huge commitment. I’ve been a vegetarian for many years, but I’ve lived mostly by a vegan diet. Now that I’ve completely gone vegan, I feel incredible. I feel like I have more energy and I’ve found that the key is creating a meal plan. I hope you had an amazing week!! Yaaay, it’s the weekend!! Have lots of fun!! XOXO

      Reply

  6. Feline Creatures

    Oh great ideas in pursuit of happiness and acceptance! I’m so glad to hear you’re feeling better love! And a vegan now too? Well that’s a fun journey to begin! 🙂 Take care love! xo~ Lena

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lena!!! You’re so fabulous and amazing!! Thanks for your comment!! 🙂 Going vegan is definitely a fun journey!! So true!! Thanks for your words of encouragement!! Have a fantastic weekend!! XOXO

      Reply

  7. V

    Have a great week, beautiful Kristin! I wish I was able to go vegan. I went vegetarian a few years ago and my body immediately felt better, so vegan is something I would definitely consider

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      HEY!! Thanks for your sweet comment!! Going vegan has been a wonderful experience!!! You should definitely consider it. My body feels great and I feel like I have more energy!! I’ve found that having a meal plan is key and knowing what ingredients to avoid, too is important! By the way, THANK YOU for your sweetness!! I think you are absolutely gorgeous and amazing!!! Have a fun weekend!!! XOXO

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

