It’s Monday!! It’s Monday!! It’s Monday,which means my 12 Days of Kindness is in full swing!! NO WAY, like yaaay!!! SO, I got THE cutest story to tell you guys today and I mean like on a scale of 1 to totally adorable, it’s off the charts, like beyooond adorable and yes, this issss possible! Alright, I don’t have much time to tell you guys this story (because I’m exhausted), so lucky for you (aaand me), it’s not that long!! Ready?? Here we gooooo:

Yesterday marked Day 1 of my kindness thaang and um, it was totally memorable. I purchased a Starbucks gift card (earlier in the day) while I was slurping down my (yes, vegan) soy mocha frappuccino with no whip cream (and yes, double blended of course). I held the gift card close to my heart (well, actually my fancy, yellow purse did) in anticipation of handing it to someone in the grocery store (later that day). Call me crazy, weird, or whatever you like (go ahead, I don’t care), but I love spreading cheer in grocery stores. Ha, sorry, but I DO! There’s just something about grocery stores that make me wanna tell people (myself included) to sloooow down and smell the roses…or the cupcakes, candies, or what not!! Seriously though, doesn’t it feel like everyone in grocery stores are crankily (P.S., that does not sound like a real word) rushing around? Huh? Huh? 

{Insert blah-blah-blah} Hooray, Sunday was a fabulous day with lots of well, blah-blah-blah*ing, so now that you’re caught up on my day (Sunday), allow me to set the next scene:

It’s 5 pm and I’m in Farm Fresh (picking up a few items for myself) when I pass this lady (with my ever so stylish black, woven hat on may I add) sipping on her Grande Starbucks coffee (there’s a Starbucks in Farm Fresh). I follow her for a couple steps (eeeek, not tryin’ to sound creepy here) and instantly decide that she’s the one (that I’ll give the gift card to). She looked sad and honestly, I felt bad for her. {Note: Ask anyone who knows me well and they’ll tell you that I have this sixth sense.}

Anyways, I called out to her (I think I said, “Ma’am” or something), she turned around, and I explained what I was doing (12 Days of Kindness). No lie, she looked terrified. I wasn’t sure she’d accept the gift, but then it became apparent that she didn’t know what to say (that she was at a loss for words). In this order, she took a step back, looked into my eyes (as she put her hand over her heart), and then gave me THE biggest hug ever. My heart melted into the floor as I handed her the card. She told me (with tears in her eyes) that NOTHING like this had ever happened to her.

Truly, I’ll never forget this moment. It was just so beautiful. Two (complete) strangers bonding over kindness…

Thanks for listening!! You guys are the greatest!! Have a fabulous week!! XOXO

-Kristin

  1. sarahdudek80

    Love, love, love this story. Reminds me of a woman back home who suddenly passed away. Her family and friends started a random acts of kindness Facebook page and I just fell in love with it. It truly is the simple things. You are awesome!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww what a sweet idea!! So beautiful to hear! Thanks for sharing!! Well, I think you’re absolutely wonderful and inspiring!! Thanks for reading and for being so kind!! XOXO

      Reply

  2. weight2lose2013

    That was awesome, Kristin! I bet it’s an event that she told everyone about, and will pay it forward. A random act of kindness is always a wonderful thing. I was laughing about you ‘creeping’ someone at the market. That must have been hilarious. 😀

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe!!! It was kinda funny!! I was laughing at myself truly believing that people were a little bit scared of me and my creepin’!! Haha!! You’re so funny, too! Thanks for the laugh!! Happy Monday!! Have a beautiful week!! Happy Holidays!! XOXO

      Reply

  3. Shawna

    i.love.this. i’m so encouraged and inspired by your desire to spread kindness, especially to strangers, and live this out in your actions. it’s so easy for us to SAY we believe something or want to do something or hold certain values dear, but we often get stuck between the desire to do something and the actual reality of the action — and you’re putting your desires into action. this seriously inspired my morning and i wish more of us did this sort of thing, including myself. thanks for being you, for sharing this, and for spreading a little more love into the world. it’s so easy to be nice and generous and compassionate to the people we love — it’s harder to go out of our way to do that for people we don’t love, or don’t even know. thanks for the reminder that all humans deserve compassion, and you never know what one little random act of kindness can do to someone’s day. xo

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Shawna, WOW WOW WOW!! Thank you (a millions times) for being such a genuine, beautiful person that spreads so much love and encouragement! Truly, you made my day!! I love you, I love your blog, and I love your kindness!! You ALWAYS make me feel like a million dollars and I can’t thank you enough for taking time to share your thoughts and your amazing compassion with me and my readers!! THANK YOU!! Happy Holidays!! Have a spectacular week!! XOXO

      Reply

  4. itsallaboutsonia

    that is such a kind and lovely thing todo I’m defo going to try doing something like this instead of giving someone money such a nice though great idea
    xx

    Reply

  5. piratebobcat

    Hey Kristen! Just now going back and reading all your recent blogs. I love the changes! You’re such a positive person!
    And wow, what a great story! Sounds like you made her really happy! If I ever see a stranger stalking me in the grocery store, I’m going to hope for a gift card!!! 😉

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      THANK YOU aaand…Hahaha!!! You’re awesome!! I love how you always make me smile and laugh!! You’re just the best and the funniest and the coolest!! 🙂 Happy Monday!! Happy Holidays, too!! Have an amazing week!! XOXO

      Reply

  6. Lena

    12 Days of Kindness, what a great way to render a festive cheer during the holidays! Your post always motivate and inspire me to be happy and make a positive impact on others Kristin! ❤

    Reply

  7. Lauren @ ihadabiglunch

    You are just such a sweetheart! 12 Days of Kindness is something we can all do and it’s great to hear updates about how you’re getting it done. I teared up reading the story about that woman. You changed her day! I can totally see someone being freaked out at first haha I hate how weird it is in our world to talk to strangers! I want to interact with everyone!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, ohhh yes, I definitely understand why she was startled by me following her!! Haha! Totally!! Thanks for always being a sweet, loving person and for supporting me and my blog!! You’re amazing and I absolutely adore you!! Happy Holidays! Hope you’re having a fabulous start to your week!! XOXO

      Reply

  8. runsaltrun

    I just teared up reading this. What a wonderful thing to do for someone! I wish everyone would try to be a little kinder to each other this time of year! You are such a wonderful person and I hope you have the most amazing holiday!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Salt!!! THANK YOU!!! You’re fabulous!! You always make me feel so happy and I just love it! I love how supportive and wonderful you are! You are truly an amazing woman!! Thank you very much for your kind words!! You made my day!! Happy Monday!! Happy Holidays! Have an amazing week!! XOXO

      Reply

  9. Martha B

    Success! Sometimes doing nice things for other people is even better than having things done for us. It’s moments like that that make life worthwhile. You are too adorable. Way to be kind.
    Also, I can’t even with that stalker picture. Like LOL for days.
    Thanks for the laughs, tears, and inspiration chickie! Enjoy your remaining days of kindness!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe Martha!!! That stalker picture is hilarious!! I laughed quite a bit when I saw it, too!! Haha! Some great poetry there!! Tehehe! Also, thank you for being an amazing woman that supports me and my blog!! You’re truly lovely both inside and out!! Have a fabulous week! Happy Monday! Happy Holidays!! XOXO

      Reply

  10. Carol Balawyder

    What a heartwarming story, Kristin. I love your idea of 12 days of kindness. I’m going to try it myself. Thanks for spreading kindness. It’s so refreshing to read about kindness when there’s so much violence and sadness going on in the world.
    Have a very Happy Holiday! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Happy Holidays to you!! Thanks for your kind comment!! You’re absolutely amazing and such a sweet woman!! I appreciate your love and support very much! Have a fantastic week!! Happy Monday!! XOXO

      Reply

  11. brunettedistraction

    What a beeeeautiful and heartwarming story, it reminded me of what christmas is actually about!! Thank you for sharing this and for making the world a better place – and honestly, I really mean that!! You’re beyond great!! Have a fabulous day!! XOXO!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww!!! WOW, you seriously made my heart allll nice and warm!! You’re lovely and I can’t thank you enough for your love and support!! You’re absolutely amaaaazing and such a gorgeous woman!! Happy Holidays!! Hope you’re having a great week so far!! XOXO

      Reply

  12. Open Up Life

    Oh my, such a sweet, loving and beautiful story. I felt like I was in the store with you. Your kind and loving heart is such a blessing to the world. You bring a smile to my face every time I read your posts. May your day and your Holiday be filled with peace, love and bliss!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww!!! You’re just the sweetest!! Thank you so much for making me feel like a million dollars!! You’re truly a kind and beautiful woman that is so supportive and loving!! I always appreciate your comments and am so thankful that you’re in my life!! Have a fabulous week and Happy Holidays!!! XOXO

      Reply

      1. Open Up Life

        Thank you for your sweet and kind words! I feel the same when I read your posts and comments. Grateful that we are connected! May your week be filled with peace, love, bliss and blessings! Happy Holidays! Namaste dear friend. XOXO

Talk to me baby!!

