With 2015 being within an arms reach (I have long arms), we’re left questioning what the heck happened (to 2014 that is)! We’re also left questioning what we can do better in the new year. With a gleam of hope, like that beautiful green light at the end of Daisy’s East Egg dock in F. Scott Fitzgerald’sΒ The Great Gatsby (which by the way is my most fave book in the entire world), we look towards the future. We even dream about the future, if you will. Truly, it’s a beautiful thing. I don’t care what anybody says and I especially don’t care if you’re ninety-nine years young (or even a hundred and one like my aunt), dream on dreamers!

Well, Good Morning to ya!!! Welcome to my blog and welcome to a brand new day! I have a feeling that today, my friends, is going to be a beautiful day!! Fingers crossed, right?!! Nope. Make it happen y’all!! Alright, so I admit, I’m feeling just a tiny bit (scratch that), more like, a lot bit like a news anchorwoman this morning. Hold on tight y’all because here we go!

Currently, it’s 2:19 am in my neck of the woods, 41 degrees outside, and it’s shapin’ up to be a productive day (and I base that on the fact that I’m up writing a blog at 2:19 am). I got my Bulletproof coffee in hand (click here to make all your coffee dreams come true), which by the way, is the best invention to ever hit the planet!! I discovered it a few months back, but finally took the plunge (into the coffee divine) two weeks ago when I couldn’t distract my curiosity any longer (when yelling, “Look, a shiny object!!” no longer worked). I even convinced my husband to try it and bonus, he loved it!!

{Side note: my Bulletproof coffee will taste different than yours (unless you’re vegan) because well, duh, I’m vegan and well, duh, I can’t drink butter (yes, you heard it right, I said, “I can’t drink butter”…) but I can drink coconut oil (and lots of it)!!}

Anyways, another discussion for another day!!

Before I divulge my 2015 goals (which will most likely be on Thursday), let me hit you up with today’s goals, ight???

Goal #1: 75 minute weight workout at gym!! Oh yeah!!

Goal #2: 8 mile run!! You know it!!

Goal #3: Swim a couple miles!! Get it!!

Goal #4: Study yoga stuff!! Yep, real descriptive, right? Hehe!

Whoa, I’m getting physical up in here, but that’s ight because I’m grindin’ my gears and showin’ lots of charisma in the face of discomfort!! That’s a key part of life if you ask me!

Okay, SO, the sole purpose for me writing this post today was toooo answer an important question (that I’ve been asked a lot lately), which is:

WHY GO VEGAN?????

To speak frankly, some people think going vegan is outlandish, but that doesn’t bother me much because a lot of people that think that (or even say that) are uninformed. We’re all different and that, my friends, is why the world is so beautiful! To be clear, I respect meat eaters just like I respect vegans! I’ll definitely dive into this topic a little bit deeper in the near future, but for now, I’ll give you the why! To be honest, going vegan had nothing to do with my health or my looks (that’s just a bonus), but had everything to do with animals. I’m a huge animal activist, so there ya go!! This quote perfectly defines why I did what I did (and I definitely think Ellen says it best)!

This is exactly why I became vegan.

More to come!! Have a fabulous day everyone!!! XOXO

-Kristin

  1. Running Betty

    Woo hoo! Get it girl! Sounds like you’re going to get some awesome workouts in today! I’m tired just reading about it! πŸ˜‰ I’ve never thought about coconut oil in coffee! That sounds incredible! I like using coconut oil in a lot of my recipes…so yummy and good for you! I totally get the decision to go vegan (even though i am not) nd love the fact that you’re extending kindness into your diet. I have nothing but respect for that! Have an awesome day! Sounds like you will be ended 2014 with a bang and plotting big and amazing things for 2015!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Kristine, heeeey and coconut oil in coffee is absolutely amaaazing!!! It gives you lots of energy and focus for the day. It definitely extends the energy life of coffee, too!! Try it!! πŸ™‚ Also, thanks for your support and for giving such a kind compliment about going vegan. You’re beautiful!! I truly appreciate your support and love! I hope you’re having a great start to the week and Happy New Year’s Eve!! Lots of kisses to ya!! XOXO

      Reply

  2. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com

    I’m so excited that you tried Bulletproof coffee! I still haven’t taken the plunge and I might just have to now! I use coconut oil in my hair, haha. Helps it be luscious πŸ™‚ or at least eventually be luscious! I’m with Running Betty… ust reading your workouts makes me tired, haha. I’m taking a yoga class this morning (better go get ready!) and will be thinking about you! Have a great Tuesday pretty lady! XOXO

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww!!! Hope you had a fun yoga class!! You’re just the sweetest and thanks for thinking about me! That means so much Heather!! Coconut oil in hair!! I totally need to try that because my hair definitely gets dry from swimming. Will do! Thanks for the great tip! Happy New Year’s Eve!! Thanks for all of your blog support! You always make me smile and feel like a million dollars!! Have a fabulous start to 2015!! XOXO

      Reply

  3. FLRunnerBoy

    Whoa!!! 2:19am in da’ mornin’ Kristin!?!?! For really!!! I thought I was the only person up in here to pull something like that haha lol and going vegan is a beautiful thing and I hope to maybe join you on that train someday I almost there now for the most part. And “ight” … you are just too cool for school!!! πŸ˜‰ I always love your amazing positive soul totally the sunshine to a cloudy day and yes … it is actually cloudy here in Florida right now.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lee, thank you for your support and for your kindness. Yay to eating vegan! Honestly, my body feels great! I feel like I have lots of energy! It’s wonderful! Also, hehe about the “ight” part- I love that you commented on that! You’re just the coolest!! Thanks for your sweet words and for always bringing a huge smile to my face!! I value your love very much!! Happy New Year’s Eve!! Have a great start to 2015!! XOXO

      Reply

  4. Shawna

    so much positivity as always, K. πŸ™‚ your posts are just like bursts of sunshine. i can’t believe you were awake having bulletproof coffee (one of my best friends drinks that, made with coconut oil, too) at 2am! yikes, girl. and i love any and every Great Gatsby reference — one of my fave stories of all times, too.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha Shawna, I know, getting up at 2 am was totally a yikes moment. I can’t believe I didn’t nap yesterday either. Yikes is right!! πŸ™‚ You’re awesome! Bulletproof coffee with coconut oil is amaazing! I’m with your best friend on that! Thanks for being so sweet and for always supporting me! It means so much to me! Great Gatsby is my love, too!! Happy New Year’s Eve! Have a fabulous start to 2015!! XOXO

      Reply

  5. Just a Running Chick

    Good luck going vegan! I don’t care what others’ personal food preferences are, but because I’m limited (with celiac disease and lactose-intolerance), I still eat meat (otherwise I wouldn’t get nearly as much protein). If anyone would be successful at it, it’s you!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww….*smooch* *smooch*, thank you so much for your kind words and support!! You’re truly amazing and so loving! Happy New Year’s Eve!! Have a fabulous start to 2015!! I wish you much health, love, and happiness!! XOXO

      Reply

  6. hylaridenour

    What a productive day you’ve planned! I’ve been on the couch in my pj’s most of the day sick. (Though I still managed to drag myself out for 6 slow miles.) Happy New Year!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hi!! Thanks so much for your comment!! 6 miles is productive! Great job running!! Also, sorry you’re sick! That’s not fun. Happy New Year’s Eve!! I wish you a very healthy and happy 2015!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Nicole!! I appreciate your love and support! Happy New Year’s Eve! Have a fabulous start to 2015!! I know you’ll achieve every single goal!! XOXO

      Reply

  7. irishrunnerchick

    You are up at 2AM? Man, you have energy to burn – especially looking at your plan for the day. Good on you for following through on your diet choices. It has become more and more important to me to learn where my animal products are coming from and how they are being treated. I’m not sure I could ever make it as a vegan but I am trying to be more conscious about the ethical and environmental consequences of my food choices.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Wow, thanks for your compliments galore. You’re beautiful!! Always making me feel like a million dollars! Happy New Year’s Eve and thank you for supporting me and my blog! It means so much to me! Truly, you’re amazing!! πŸ™‚ Also, I love that you’re conscious about your food choices. Being aware of ethical and environmental consequences is so important. You’re the best! XOXO

      Reply

  8. Lauren @ ihadabiglunch

    1) you’re up at 2:19am and 2) YOU’RE DRINKING COFFEE AT 2:19am? You’re cray!! Haha. I have yet to try bulletproof coffee but I know it’s all the rage these days so, as usual, I’ll be a few months late to jump on the bandwagon lol.

    I totally respect your decision to go vegan! I personally love to eat fish, cage-free eggs, cheese and chicken but I almost ALWAYS make sure the meat I buy especially was raised ethically. I spend wayyyy too much money on meat when I do choose to buy it, so that ends up meaning I don’t eat it too often. But I’m very very picky with meat for the same reasons that Ellen said above. So I can totally see myself going full-blown vegetarian one day. Never vegan though because butter and cheese mean too much to me haha πŸ˜‰

    I hope no one comments on here to you that you’re harming your body or not getting enough nutrients or something silly like that cuz anyone who took the time to read your blog would know you’re one of the healthiest gals around. Happy New Year Kristin!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lauren!!! Get over here!! *Smooch* Your comment just brought a huge smile to my face! Honestly, what would I do without you? My blog would be so sad without your beautiful, supportive, loving comments! I would be soooo sad without you in my life!! You’ve always understood exactly what I was trying to say and for that, my friend, I give you another kiss…*Smooch* Thanks for your support and for your compliments! I love how passionate you are about everything!! Wow, that’s such an endearing quality!! Truly amazing!! Very cool that you’re picky about meat AND that you love butter and cheese!!! My husband is the same way!! He loooooves cheese so much!! Way awesome!! Happy New Year’s Eve!! I wish you THE best 2015!! May all your dreams come true!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much and yes, coconut oil is amazing!! πŸ™‚ Truly, thanks for your kindness and for your well wishes!! Happy New Year’s Eve!! Have a fantastic start to 2015!! XOXO

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

