Good morning y’all!! Welcome toooo…THE HOLIDAYS ARE OVER! Truly, it’s been a blast Ms. Holidaze, BUT  I’m afraid it’s time for you to hit the snowy trails back to the North Pole. No snowy trails here, though-it was 70 degrees yesterday…70 degrees…IN JANUARY!! Wowzers, that’s just crazy talk!! Hope y’all had a whirlwind of a break with lots of everything and by everything I mean, good food, wine, chocolate, chocolate, chocolate…Is there an echo in here? Well, yes, I even ate some scrumptious vegan chocolate myself yesterday aaaand… it tasted, well, very healthy; although yes, quite scrumptious, too. I have to say, I’m lovin’ my new vegan lifestyle. It’s been over a month now!! I don’t know, I’m feelin’ pretty proud of myself, that I took this giant step, actually, more like giant leap across a monstrous mountain into the fabulous world of veganism. It definitely takes courage. I like being courageous.

TELL ME, WHAT GIVES YOU COURAGE??? HAVE YOU BEEN COURAGEOUS LATELY??? PLEASE SHARE!!

Inspire

Back to the title, though! I’ve always been called Barbie (especially in college and beyond), but admittingly, have never embraced it as a true nickname. It’s fine, though. It’s just another (semi- meaningless) word to me. When I’m called Barbie, I look up and  smile of course, but it’s not something that I take at face value. I know I’m nothing like Barbie; although, I do loooove PINK!!!

GRAND_GFTREE_7106406630 (2)

My point is simple. When people call me Barbie, I feel like a sham. Weird, I know; nonetheless, true. I feel like a sham because I’m NOT perfect. I’m beautifully flawed and actually, I love that! Who wants to be perfect? Our imperfections are what makes us so cool and utterly unique. Utterly unique vs. Perfect?? Which would YOU choose? Besides,

I DON’T  have the smallest nose.

I DON’T have the biggest boobs.

I DON’T have the most manageable hair. 

I DON’T have flawless skin.

I HAVE scars.

I HAVE insecurities. 

I HAVE weaknesses. 

Utterly unique vs. Perfect???? Um, I’ll take the former please!!

STUDIO_HBKEYSTO_7106857498

I don’t want to study my Barbie etiquette.

I don’t want to be a human Barbie.

I don’t want to be anatomically impossible.

I have to admit, though, I did buy the most adorable Barbie sweatshirt over break! Sorry, just can’t resist the whole vintage/pink charade. I’m in on the vin(tage). Seriously, I’m such a vintage soul.

EPCOT_ECROVE2_7108094139 (2)

Whatcha think? Are you in on the vin? Are you obsessed with Barbie? Don’t get me wrong, Barbie stuff is totally cutie pie, but I just don’t wanna be plastic!! Sorry, Mean Girls, love ya, but I don’t!

Have a gorgeous Monday everyone!! By the way, hit over 13 hours of exercise last week. Oh yeah baby! Until next time…LOVE YA!!!

-Kristin

    1. Kristin

      Awwww, thanks Chelsea!! You’re the best!! Always making me feel great!! Hope you’re week is rockin’ right along!! Sounds like you’re running a lot and loving it! Yay! Have a great Wednesday!! XOXO

      Reply

  1. FLRunnerBoy

    And that’s what makes you unique and so wonderful to know Kristin!!!! Flaws and quirks are what make us us! And scars show that we are stronger than what tried to hurt us 🙂 you are AMAZING!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lee, you’re amazing, yes you are!! Um, who always makes me jump out of my skin with excitement??? YOU because YOU are brilliant and loving and so very warm! Have a fabulous week you fabulous runner you!! XOXO

      Reply

  2. emaiuolo

    Barbie does not have a “perfect” meaning or any kind of positive connoation to me. you’re not a plastic ideal, something stooopid to strive for.
    You’re real.
    REAL is 1000000 better than a wannabe…

    Happy new year!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Heeey!! 🙂 Thanks for the comment!! You’re right about that- being real/acting real is 100% cool!! Yep!! 🙂 I totally adore Barbie dolls and Barbie definitely stands for much more than just being plastic, but funny how I’ve always felt uncomfortable being called Barbie because shhh…I have insecurities. I guess I never felt like I deserved the name. Something I’m working on, though!! Have a fabulous week!! XOXO

      Reply

  3. Lauren Keating

    Omg I LOVE this post. You are so awesome and perfectly imperfect. Flaws are so much better than being a perfect barbie, even though you both are beautiful! lol I hope you enjoyed your holidays. I know I did..lots of food, family and friends.. loving your positivity! and great job for keeping up with your vegan lifestyle. I kept my vegetarian diet (despite having fish on occasion) even throughout the holidays! Happy 2015..it will be a good year!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Ahhhh thanks so much Lauren!!! You’re so sweet!! Yep, love this comment!! You’re such a beautiful person! I had a super holiday season!! Lots of fun for sure!! 🙂 Happy 2015 to you, too!! Yay, GO 2015!! Also, great job keeping with your vegetarian diet!! Such happy news!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww thank you thank you thank you!! Such a sweet comment!! I think you’re perfect just the way you are, too!! Definitely!! You rock! Also, yum to drinking hot chocolate aaaand….we are getting lots of freezing weather tomorrow!! Eeek!! Tryin’ to prepare mentally!! Gotta run tomorrow!! I’ll use you as my inspiration to get out there and do it because you always hit your workouts!! Love it! Have a fabulous week!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lena, thank you so much!! You are such a sweetie!! You always make me feel so great about myself!! I enjoy reading your posts, too!! I love your blog SO much!! You inspire me very much and I KNOW you inspire so many other people, too (like tons and tons of people)!! XOXO

      Reply

  4. lsanders09

    This is too funny because my nickname in high school was Barbie! It was a nickname given to me by my swim coach. He then called my good friend on the team Skipper because we were always together and well she looked like Skipper! I drove a baby blue convertible VW Bug to top it all off! I embraced it and still get little Barbie things like a travel coffee mug once in a while not because I feel like Barbie but because it reminds me of fond memories. I’m sure there are millions of other girls out there with the nickname Barbie whether they like it or not!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha!!! Loooove it!! I LOVE that your nickname was Barbie, too!! Adorable!! Ya know, I totally think Barbie is waaaay cool, but I guess I’ve always felt like a sham because I don’t always feel beautiful. It’s something I work on lots (feeling confident), but I totally think Barbie in herself rocks. Aaaaand you rock, too!! Thanks for your sweet message!! You’re amazing! Have a wonderful week!! XOXO

      Reply

  5. Charlotte

    You are a beauty, no doubt but I believe you are beautiful inside also. People who say that to you are just a wee bit jealous of your looks and how you carry yourself with pride and are proud to be you. Barbie never worked her ass off to be fit, healthy and happy the way that you do. Your hubby is a hottie too. 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe Charlotte!! You know how to rock a comment, let me tell ya!! You really put that special touch into your messages and I loooove it SO much!! Truly, thank you for always making me feel like a beautiful woman!! I don’t always feel that way, so thank you for the reminder!! You are the sweetest person!! I hope you’re having a fabulous week!! XOXO

      Reply

  6. Running Betty

    This is such a great post kristin! I’m so in love with your Disney vacation pictures! They’re adorable! I’m all about intent when it comes to things people say…I could see the “barbie” comment being said in a catty way and i wouldnt like that, but also may be meant as a compliment because you’re absolutely gorgeous, flaws and all…not to mention incredibly talented and kind, with inner beauty that makes you a million times better than a doll!

    And whoah!! 13 hours of exercise! You are a super woman! Way to rock the new year!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Kristine, thank you for your sweet compliments!! You made my night aaaand…Disney was so much fun!! We took pictures non stop!! I have so many to share!! It was truly an amazing time (minus getting the flu the last day and having a temp of 103/104). Hehe!! I truly adore Barbie and her strength, but as you know, I don’t always feel beautiful, so sometimes I just feel like I can’t live up to that nickname. All my students/swimmers, etc. have always called me Barbie! It’s definitely cute, though! Thanks for making for feel wonderful! You’re beautiful!! XOXO

      Reply

  7. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com

    Aww! You and the hubs are TOO FREAKIN CUTE! Dare I say, like Barbie and Ken?! Only BETTER of course! and super congrats on the whole vegan lifestyle! I’m sure that’s hard to stick to in the beginning, especially through the holidays and you conquered it like a champ. I feel ya on the heat… the high was 82 on Sunday, ha! In January. Have a great week my beautifully flawed friend XOXO

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Heather, you’re the coolest girl around!! You are!! 🙂 Hehe!! You always make me laugh and I’m lovin’ it!! I totally adore Barbie and Ken and think it’s such a cute nickname. I guess I don’t always feel like Barbie because sometimes I don’t feel beautiful! I’m workin’ on it, though!! I love when my swimmers call me Barbie, though. I know they see me as a role model, so it’s totally cool! Have a fabulous week!! XOXO

      Reply

  8. Stacy M. Porter

    70 degrees? 70 degrees? 70 DEGREES?!?!?! Dude it’s 17 degrees at my house!!!

    Anyway, I happen to love Barbie LOL. I know there’s a lot of Barbie hate out there because many people think she sets unreal expectations for girls. But, if you don’t want your little girl to have body image issues you shouldn’t have tv either. There is negativity everywhere, if that’s what you’re looking for. I think Barbie can be a great role model because she’s had every career and the newer movies are family focused and all about girl’s kicking ass and not needing a man.

    You and your husband are adorable and I hope you are having a great day!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Smooch!! Thanks!! I appreciate your sweet compliments! Totally awesome! 🙂 Aaaand we are getting freezing weather tomorrow maybe even snow!! Nooooo!!! It’s amazing how weather changes, right? Yucky!
      Ohhh and I totally love most of what Barbie symbolizes. I love Barbie stuff!! It’s super cute. Whether my post read this way or not, my problem with the Barbie nickname is personal. My students/swimmers, etc. have always called me Barbie and although I think it’s absolutely adorable (because I know they look up to me as a role model), I also feel like a sham because I don’t always feel beautiful. I don’t feel perfect at all. I started really feeling like that in college. I’m probably going to post more about this tomorrow, but that’s the message behind my post. I’ve heard some stuff throughout the years about teen girls wanting to physically look like a perfect Barbie doll and that makes me sad. I want everyone to embrace who they are and how they look and love themselves. I know it’s not always an easy road, though! 🙂
      Thanks for your comment!! Loved it! Have a fabulous Wednesday!! XOXO

      Reply

  9. Court

    You are a better version of Barbie! You are real and unique and perfect in your own way! Congrats on being vegan for a month! I’ve always thought of going vegan but I think I’ll stay just vegetarian for now 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks girl!! You’re the best!! I love that you’re vegetarian!! So cool!! I appreciate your support, too!! It feels good to stick to something and it’s cool because I’ve really been cooking a lot and experimenting with different foods lately!! So much fun!! Have a fabulous Wednesday!! XOXO

      Reply

  10. runsaltrun

    Imperfections are what make people really beautiful! And you, my friend, are gorgeous! I love all the pics. You and your husband are such an adorable couple! Love makes me smile. ❤ I hope you are having an amazing week!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Salt, smooch smooch!! You’re so sweet!! Thanks for your kindness and for your love!! You’re so very beautiful!! You really are! I admire you very much! Just thought I’d let you know! You have such a great outlook on life! Amazing! You are…AMAZING!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Jeff, aww, thanks so much!! A seriously amazing comment with lots of love! I appreciate it very much! You just made my night! I hope you’re having a great start to 2015! Have a fabulous Wednesday! XOXO

      Reply

  11. kelliezinch

    Ok seriously you are the cutest!! Im right there with you on not having a small nose or big boobs but I think that is what is so cool, is that not everyone is the same..because how boring would that be?! I love all the pics of you and your husband..super cute couple! And congrats on the big vegan step! Im not a vegan but do admire yall! 😊 I loved the 70 degree day the other day! Nice to get out in shorts even if my legs are really white haha

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe!! I know, it was definitely strange to be in shorts in January! That’s for sure!! Well, I know you looked like a graceful beauty running! 🙂 You always rock it!
      Thanks for your comment and for your support! Yep, you’re right, it’s definitely cool that everyone adds their own unique beauty to the world! Thanks, too for your compliments. You’re the sweetest! Have a happy Thursday!! It’s soooo cold today!! Stay warm!! XOXO

      Reply

  12. Lauren @ ihadabiglunch

    I think you summed it up perfectly at the end — that you love Barbie stuff but you “don’t wanna be plastic.” Nailed it right on the head! You’re beautiful, you’re someone that people love, naturally gravitate to and admire, but you’re not perfect. I accepted a lonnnng time ago that i was always going to have broad shoulders and small boobs (weirdest combo ever haha) but I love my eyes and my legs. It’s all about loving it all – the beautiful flaws and the beautiful characteristics. Love you!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Lauren, wow, you ALWAYS get what I’m saying! It’s amazing! Thanks for always supporting me and loving me and making me feel happy! You always put a huge smile on my face and for that, I’m very grateful! You’re right, too- it is about loving yourself for everything that you are because that’s what makes us so beautifully unique. Thanks gorgeous!!! You are a beauty!! Have a lovely Thursday! XOXO

      Reply

  13. Martha B

    Congrats on your 1 month milestone! I am so proud of you.
    About the Barbie thing… You are not a SHAM! And you can tell in how genuine your posts are and how caring of a person you are that you aren’t trying to perpetrate that you are something that you are not. I think people call you Barbie because you are beautiful, blonde, and like pink. You are PERFECT the way that you are. You are so far from being plastic! This post was just awesome. I love hearing about your take on the world and your life and this was really deep!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Martha, ohhhh Martha, you are beautiful!! Thank you so much for your beautiful comment. You filled my heart with so much love!! Seriously, I appreciate you very much! My swimmers/students have always called me Barbie and I really do think it’s absolutely adorable because I know they see me as a role model. You’re right- everyone is perfect the way they are and that’s such a beautiful thing. I hope you’re having an amazing week because you are amazing! XOXO

      Reply

  14. Omanisa

    Loved this blog. You are such a beautiful soul! Very inspiring with your exercise accomplishment, your message about authentic beauty and self-love and my favourite part: going vegan! Woohoo! X

    Reply

Talk to me baby!!

