Good morning y’all!!! Mmm, that bulletproof coffee was amaaazing this mornin’. It woke me right up and alerted me for my run. It spoke to me. It told me that I needed to run inside today…that I needed to run on the indoor track today, so I listened. I always listen to my coffee. Coffee is good. Coffee is wise. What does your coffee tell you? Hehe!

Listen up cool cats, in 2013, I took this snazzy creative writing course that was all about setting goals for the new year. We kept a journal, did lots of neato writing prompts, made tons of lists (yay!), and at the end, Matlocked it by digging deep inside ourselves, and discovering our behavioral patterns from the year (based off of our lists). It might sound like a whole lot of complicated, but it really wasn’t. Well anyways, you gain the tools and the knowledge to do it (journal writing, making lists, discovering your behavioral patterns from the past year, etc.) yourself each year (at the end of the year), so I did!

We made a courageous list (i.e. a list of courageous things we did that year) and I admit, it was fuuuun!!!

Courageous List 2014 comin’ your way!!!!

{1} I was courageous when I ran Richmond Half Marathon, and dialed into my inner gazelle.

{2} I was courageous when I started a blog, and journaled my deepest, most intimate thoughts.

{3} I was courageous when I went vegan, and took a stand against animal exploitation.

{4} I was courageous when I created The 12 Days of Kindness, and witnessed the amazing effects of kindness.

{5} I was courageous when I published my second book, and held several successful book signings.

{6} I was courageous when I started yoga teacher training, and became aware of who I was to myself and to those around me.

{7} I was courageous when I said goodbye to my summer league swimmers, and turned a new corner of my life.

{8} I was courageous when I cut my hair, and discovered a uniquely beautiful angle of my face.

{9} I was courageous when I got on the bike, and decided to do a triathlon.

{10} I was courageous when I ran my first half marathon in March, and remained both strong and flexible throughout the race.

{11} I was courageous when I amped up my workouts in December, and pushed the physical limits of my body.

HOW WERE YOU COURAGEOUS???? LOVE YA!!! XOXO

-Kristin

    1. Kristin

      Hey! That’s so amazing that you tried out for MasterChef!! Wow, that’s incredible!! I admire you so much!! What courage!! Thanks for your sweetness and your support!! Have a fabulous weekend!! XOXO

      Reply

  1. Shawna

    so many great things you have put your mind to, and are following through on! it feels so good to be able to list all of these accomplishments, i’m sure. really happy for you and your courageous heart. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. weight2lose2013

    You did have an amazing year, Kristin. I had a great time reading about the adventures that you’ve shared along the way. I’m looking forward to reading your adventures in 2015. Have a great day!!!

    Reply

  3. Jane

    Love love love this! I was courageous when I admitted I needed to take a step back from running due to injury. It sucked, but I know I will run stronger and longer because of it!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Go Jane!! That’s awesome!! You should be so proud of yourself! It will definitely pay off in the long run (kinda literally). πŸ™‚ I know you’ll come back even stronger!! Good for you! Have a dazzling weekend! You rock! XOXO

      Reply

  4. Helena

    I was courageous when i decided to try the tri! Getting on the bike was seriously terrifing for me! Going in group rides was hard for me to. I was so shy growing up and i hate the awkwardness of meeting new people. I really took a leap and made some awesome new friends!
    Lol and that triathlon with the shark, hitting the bump, and tripping is hilarious. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe, HEY!! Isn’t that picture funny?? I adore it! I’m so proud of you, Helena!! You’re so courageous and beautiful and I love that you put yourself out there and take risks! That’s amazing! Here’s to many many more triathlons!! You’re going to rock ’em! GO YOU!! Have an amazing weekend! XOXO

      Reply

  5. Lauren Keating

    We sure are courageous! I too took a creative writing class once and loved it! What indoor track do you run at? I know we don’t live in the same area, but I never thought about that option. Waiting for my treadmill later on this month for colder runs, but would like to not miss out during these freezing temperatures.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, thank you!! You’re beautiful!! πŸ™‚ I appreciate your support! Creative writing classes are the best! There’s an indoor track at my gym, Riverside Wellness & Fitness Center, and it’s definitely a convenient option to cold weather running!! It’s a little small, but I’ve learned how to maneuver around it safely. Have a happy Saturday!! XOXO

      Reply

      1. Lauren Keating

        =) Thanks for making me smile! Oh, yea duh, at your gym! I used to have an indoor track went I went to the YMCA for weight lifting. At least you have the option to still get a good run in! Happy weekend xoxoxo

  6. Running Betty

    What an amazing year full of so many positive changes for you! It’s very inspiring! I love the idea of doing a courageous list! It’s a great way to reflect on the last year! I was courageous when I ran my first trail race in 2014, it was definitely something outside of my comfort zone that made me super nervous but I did it! πŸ™‚

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Yay to going outside of your comfort zone! Always feels great! You’re amazing! Great job on your trail race! That’s so cool! Definitely takes a lot of courage! Thanks for your support, too- it means so much to me! I love the courageous list idea! It feels good to look back on the positive! Definitely! Have a super cool weekend! πŸ™‚

      Reply

      1. Kristin

        Hey!! You’re so sweet!! I have a children’s book series called, Lulu, the Cocker Spainel! My website is kristinstiff.com! You’re the best!! I really appreciate your kindness!! Have a fabulous Monday!! XOXO

  7. runsaltrun

    Oh I LOVE LOVE LOVE this, especially that yoga mat image. So beautiful. ❀
    You are BRAVE and you are STRONG and you are WONDERFUL! Thanks so much for continuously bringing so much positivity to the blog world! xo

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks so much, Salt!! Your words always inspire me and make me feel so wonderful! You’re beautiful! I appreciate your sweet reminders. Hope you’re having a super sweet weekend!! You deserve it!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much!! Ohhh yes, I’m making great memories in 2015!! Can’t wait to share them! Have a wonderful weekend! Thanks for your kindness! XOXO

      Reply

  8. jruff81

    So many awesome accomplishments…you should be proud! So, about this Bulletproof Coffee – I just read about it in Runner’s World. How is it?! I’d love to try bc Hubby & I are trying more Paleo-based foods for the next few weeks, but worried it’ll be too acidic. What’s your recipe/ratio?

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you very much!! You’re so sweet! I appreciate your kindness! πŸ™‚ Bulletproof coffee is SO good! My husband loves it, too!! Well, I’m vegan so I don’t use butter. I use 8-10 ounces of Starbucks blonde roast coffee + 2 tablespoons of organic coconut oil + cinnamon + 1 packet of stevia in the raw! It’s amazing!! So creamy and delicious and honestly, it makes me feel focused and ready to workout! My husband is not vegan, so he uses 8-10 ounces of Starbucks coffee + 1 tablespoon of unsalted grass fed-butter + 1 tablespoon of organic coconut oil + 2 packets of stevia in the raw!! Have an amazing weekend!! XOXO

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

