Yoga talk time!! Let’s pretend we’re on this beautiful yoga journey together and we’re sitting in a comfortable seated position, maybe with our legs crossed, maybe not, and we’ve just released our hands from our hearts. I turn to you with a quaint smile and decide to share a special, little tidbit about myself. In this instance, it’s a yoga tidbit. Why? Well, because I love yoga…

Okay, so, WHY YOGA TEACHER TRAINING?? This is a question I’ve rarely been asked but have an answer for nonetheless. I guess people assume I’m going through yoga teacher training because I love yoga and I guess that’d be an accurate assumption (right?) because duh, I do LOVE yoga (please see first paragraph/last sentence)! There’s so much more to this story, though…like a lot more, but I won’t bore you with all the details, plus it’s a personal journey anyways…you know, a journey of the self to the self and blah blah blah… also, I’m SO sure ya got better things to do this lovely Monday morning than listen to moi, huh?

Instagram media by joshuaminnich - Let's get lost | I've had the itch to travel and explore ever since I was on the west coast back in November; just go somewhere I haven't been and not worry about anything.  Photo by @ibringthedesign - I'm enjoying working with his photos!

Well, in the case you’re cruising along with me, welcome to Monday and welcome to my cheeky, little blog. It means the world that YOU are here!

I promise to go into further detail, but for now…

This is exactly why I started my yogi journey and why I’ll continue practicing yoga until the day I die. It’s not to impress. It’s not to manipulate my body. But to manipulate my mind into KNOWING that I am everything that I am. Yoga is personal, but with the right teacher, yoga can change your entire world. I don’t know where I’d be without Bryan Kest. 

LET MARCH MADNESS BEGIN. LET RACE SEASON BEGIN. READY. SET. GO. IT HAS BEGUN. FIRST RACE DOWN. MANY TO GO.

IN SUMMARY:

Last Saturday. First 5k in 15 months. No 5k speed play since July. My shoelace came untied. Lucky me. Hands were frozen. Lucky me. Fumbled around for 10 seconds. Lucky me. Finished. 21:08. Go me. 6:48 pace. Not bad. Would’ve been under 21. So sad. Shoelace came untied. Oh well. 4th place female. Not bad.. First mile 6:46. Cool. Second mile 6:59. Shoelace. Boo. Third mile 6:43. Not hard. Had no clue what could do. Held back. Plus the shoe. 20 flat is what I’ll do. This summer. It’s for you.

Tehehehe!!!! Yep, I got rhythm, yes I do, I got rhythm, how ’bout you? Well, to summarize my summary, I was super proud of myself last Saturday. Definitely would’ve been under 21 (and close to 20:48 (my current PR)), if not for that obnoxious shoelace, but oh wells, no biggie, there’s always next race, right? I went out with no expectation and with almost zero 5k speedwork training (because I’ve been hittin’ the halfies (a.k.a. half marathons) hard), so I’m pretty confident that I’ll PR my next 5k (in April).

Before the race, I vowed:

#1, to not look at my GPS watch until the end, and

#2, to HAVE FUN, which I DID!!! 

{I also placed first in my age group.}

now

Soooo…Runnin’ Shamrock 8k March 21st!!! Ohhh… 5 miles?? Time to turn it up!!! 

Hope EVERYONE had a fabulous weekend!!! Y’all rock!! Thanks for your support!! XOXO

-Kristin 

  1. theonlysup

    So yoga is the secret of your beauty eh?? Hey Kristin . I’m impressed that even in western countries people give so much importance to yoga. Please continue the same

    Reply

  2. The V-Pub

    First, you rocked the running world, now you’re rockin’ the Yoga world. You are straight out amazing, Kristen. I hope the snow has melted where you are! I’m counting down the days to spring!

    💗💗💗

    Rob

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha Rob, thank you so so much! You are ALWAYS so supportive and amazing! Thanks for always making me smile! 🙂 YOU rock! Most of the snow has melted!! Yay!! Yesterday was almost 70 degrees!! I was amazed!! So nice! Have a GREAT day! XOXO

      Reply

  3. thedancingrunner

    5Ks are such great fun for speed play! I know they hurt but sometimes it’s fun to make it hurt, yes?! Wow, you are so fast! Keep up the great work!! I’d kill to finish in under 20 minutes. My PR is 22 minutes so maybe one day I’ll actually work on my time!! Great job!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Chelsea, thanks for your continued love and support!! Smooch!! 🙂 5ks do hurt, but you’re right, it is fun to push your limits and to feel that pain! When I’m running a 5k, my mind goes to a different place. It’s a get up and go place, if that makes sense. It was weird to run a 5k, but excited for more in future!! Have a fantastic day!! XOXO

      Reply

  4. charissarunning

    Your a flying speedster, Kristin! Congrats on the amazing race!!! Even with those little mini setbacks, you did great and had a wonderful finish! Can’t wait to hear about your PR next month 😀 Happy Monday!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww, you are sooo sweetie!!!! 🙂 Thanks for your encouragement!! I appreciate it very much!! You are wonderful!! I love your support! Have an amazing day! XOXO

      Reply

  5. runsaltrun

    Woo hoo what a great race!!! 21:08 AND your shoe came untied!? You’re amazing. 😀 And you will do fabulously in that 8K. (8K is my fave distance! Well one of them anyway.) I hope you have the most incredible week speedy lady! And I love your yoga tidbit! Perfect!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Salt, THANK YOU!!! 🙂 You’re so so sooo sweet! Your comments are always loving! You made my day! Your posts make my day, too! Just love ’em! That’s cool you love 8ks! I’m excited to race this distance! I don’t think I ever have. Thanks for your support!!! Have THE BEST day!! XOXO

      Reply

  6. sarahdudek80

    You are going to be an amazing yoga teacher. You have that spark I you. I would love to take one of your classes some day. Congrats on the stellar run. Funny how we can surprise ourselves like that. Goes to show we are capable of a lot more than we often think we are.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww, WOW, thank you so much! You are so sweet and amazing! Thanks for your kind words! 🙂 You really brought a huge smile to my face! So true, too- it’s definitely cool how we surprise ourselves and do better than what we thought possible. Have an amazing day! XOXO

      Reply

  7. Martha B

    Way to go with that fantastic 5k time! Especially coming off a winter of chaos. Glad you had fun. I am so happy you can take your YTT with such a lighthearted and joyful approach. I think sometimes there is a misconception about yoga being dark and serious, but it really is whatever you want from it! Glad it’s brining you so much joy!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Martha, thanks so much and you really understand yoga, which I LOVE! I agree that yoga is whatever you want it to be. That’s so true and that’s why YOU are amazing and why YOGA is amazing!! 🙂 Thanks for your sweetness, too! I appreciate your love and support! Have a GREAT day! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Nicole, thanks and I agree that summer (i.e. warm weather, lots of races) is looking really good right now! I can’t wait for summer!! I LOVE summer!! 🙂 I hope you have an amazing day! Thanks for your support! XOXO

      Reply

  8. Angela

    Congrats on that run!!!
    I have tried so many times to get into Yoga and failed. a lot of people have said it’s because I haven’t found the right teacher! Think I’ll try have a class with every Yoga teacher in my area 😉 xo

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe!! I LOVE it!! Yep, finding the right yoga teacher (for you) is definitely key! Every teacher has a different style and varies in their words and flows! You’ll instantly know when you find the right teacher! 🙂 It just clicks! Thanks for your support!! I appreciate it very much! Have a great day! XOXO

      Reply

  9. Betty

    You’re going to be an amazing yoga teacher! And awesome job on your 5k! Amazing time and foretelling of a spectacular running season! You go girl! Get down with your inner yogi!! 😉

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehe!! Thanks Kristine!! I was happy to just get out there and race. I surprised myself, which was a plus!! 🙂 I appreciate your kind words, too!! THANKS!!! Have a GREAT day! XOXO

      Reply

  10. Amy Christine

    Congrats on the race girl!!!!!!!!!!

    And so true about yoga!!!! I graduated with my 200 yoga teacher certification last night!!!! My grad class was a black light class with some fun music!! It was SO amazing!!! can’t believe my teacher training is over, well at least the 200 hour part, just started prenatal teacher training!

    Never stop learning!!

    XO – have a great week!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thaaaanks and omg, WOW, you’re done!!! OMG!!! What a journey, right? I’m definitely visiting ya and taking one of your classes (or 1,000) because you are so inspirational!! So proud of you and so cool that we’re on this journey together!! That’s amazing you’ve started prenatal teacher training! Excited to hear about it!! XOXO

      Reply

      1. Amy Christine

        YAY!!! Next time you are in Florida let me know!! I know, so cool to share this journey with someone else!!!! Amazing what all you discover along the way!!!!!

    1. Kristin

      Lena, thanks a bunch!! Yoga is amazing! YOU are amazing! I appreciate your comments very much and they always make me feel amazing! I love your appreciation for yoga! Your words inspire me very much! Have the best day! XOXO

      Reply

  11. Heena Rathore P.

    You are so amazing Kristin ❤
    I've just been warming myself up with speed walks and slow jogs… I go 7kms in morning and 3kms in the evening (it's really tough to loose this stubborn weight!) Still, I guess in a few more months I'll be able to run… You are so fit dear! You really inspire me ❤
    XOXO!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh wow, you are just the sweetest!! Thank you for making my day! Seriously, you are amazing!! You are a rockstar and I love your dedication to exercise! Trust me, you can do ANYTHING you set your mind to!! You are fabulous!! XOXO

      Reply

      1. Heena Rathore P.

        Thanks sweetie! And you are all this to me ❤
        Thanks for motivating your readers, like myself and for making us smile with your awesome witty posts 🙂
        You are the best 😀

  12. Lauren @ ihadabiglunch

    I totally agree with you that the right yoga teacher can completely change your world! And I definitely know that you’ll kick ass at it, no doubt 🙂 also you’re a CHEETAH! I hope I can be half as fast as you one day!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awwww Lauren, wow thank you so much!! You soooo sweetie!! 🙂 Thanks for your compliments! You are perfect! Yes, the right yoga teacher can make all the difference!! Have a great great GREAT weekend! XOXO

      Reply

  13. piratebobcat

    Yay! So awesome! I love the journey yoga takes me on. I love how it’s affects me mentally and spiritually. Some of my friends treat it merely as a workout, they’re missing out.
    Nice job on your race! Bummer about the shoelace tho. I haven’t been doing any speedwork either, but I think I’m running a 5k on Saturday. We’ll see how it goes!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Oh GOOD LUCK!! You’ll do great AND you are SO right about yoga!! Interesting because I was just having a conversation about this yesterday…the difference between a yogi and people who do yoga for a workout!! I agree with ya! Have a happy weekend!!! XOXO

      Reply

  14. maryviets

    Does yoga improve your running? I’ve done yoga here and there and really like doing it (it’s especially fun when my husband will do it with me!). I’ve also read numerous articles on how yoga can help running. Just wondering what your personal experience is with that.

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hey!! Oh I LOVE this question! Talking about yoga makes me happy! 🙂 I definitely think yoga should be paired with running because #1- it can help prevent running injuries, #2- it builds overall stamina, stability, flexibility, which are all great things for running, and #3- yoga truly helps achieve a better mental focus while running, which leads to better physical output. Also the breathing techniques learned while practicing yoga have really helped with my runs. I do believe there is a positive link between yoga and running. I used to have horrible IT band pain and yoga completely took the pain away. Also, as a runner, a strong core is a positive and yoga really uses the core as a building block for stability. 🙂

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

