So much to tell you guys on this lovely Monday morning…so much THAT I dunno where to start? Well, I guess any good story starts from the beginning, so here we go:

Welcome to Monday and welcome to my neck of the woods. It’s a bit chilly here, but nothing a jacket can’t solve. In the words of Mister Rogers, 

“There are three ways to ultimate success: The first way is to be kind. The second way is to be kind. The third way is to be kind.” 

Yep, that about sums it up; although, I’m sure you’re still scratching your head, wondering where I’m going with all of this. Well, I used to NOT race a lot because frankly, I was afraid to NOT be perfect. I didn’t wanna pop my little training bubble and go out on race day and do crapola in a box (as little Kristin used to say), so I’d defer my races, and trick myself into thinking that I’d put the pedal to the metal at a later date. 

Of course I’d race, but not near enough, get my drift?

I guess, success comes in many forms, one of which is being kind to yourself, two of which is realizing that control is merely an illusion, and three of which is cultivating the quality of gratitude (being thankful for what you CAN do). Success could mean living life (period). I’ll go with that, k?

“If you are not willing to risk the usual, you will have to settle for the ordinary.” Jim Rohn

WHAT DOES SUCCESS MEAN TO YOU??

Sports psychology articles:

The Fear of Success/Conquer Your Pre-Race Jitters

Heavy stuff, right? To soften the brick (that’s weighing down this post)…

NEW HAIR (COLOR) DON’T CARE!!!

kk16 (4)

Whoops…ANOTHER frowny pic, Kris???? (P.S. That’s what I call myself…when I talk to myself…) 

DON’T FEAR, A SMILE IS NEAR!!!

kk12 (3)

Also, ran my first (EVER) 8k on Saturday (a HUGE race, Townebank 8k, part of Shamrock marathon & half marathon weekend) aaaand let’s just say, (I think) I Shamrocked on! Despite some scary chest tightness that I’d experienced, leading up to Shamrock, while running, I was happy to be able to run the race with a smile.

In summary: I went to see my doctor on Wednesday and he was a bit concerned. There is a long history of heart disease in my family. Long story short, I’m being scheduled to get a stress test done as well as a chest x-ray. The hospital should call within a couple days to schedule my appointment. They did an EKG and it was normal and my oxygen level was 100%. At rest, everything seems fine. A couple years ago, I had to wear a Holter Monitor because I was experiencing heart palpitations while at rest (not during exercise).

I’m sure it was something environmental. I felt fine during Shamrock and even the day before. I (literally) decided to run the race 10 minutes before the start. I’m happy to report that despite this and the horribly horrible wind that we had to run through (thanks Virginia Beach), I pulled off a 34:18 (6:54/mile). My 5k split was faster than my 21:08 that I ran 2 weeks ago, too! Yay!

The best part is that I placed 3rd in my age group out of 617 (25-29ers)!!  I’m telling y’all, the wind was tough! I’m glad I finished strong! I GET AN AGE GROUP AWARD!!! I GET AN AGE GROUP AWARD…AT SHAMROCK!!! I was totally NOT expecting it, especially at such a big race! Pretty cool, too that I finished 17th out of 5,515 ladies!!

HAVE YOU EVER SHAMROCKED ON??? HOW IS EVERYONE DOING??? XOXO

-Kristin

  1. The V-Pub

    Oh my, Kristin! I hope that everyone tests fine. I LOVE the photos, but frowny Kris is my fave! Your hair color is fine. (is a guy supposed to say that?) Congrats on your race, you rock!

    💗💗💗

    Rob

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hahahahaha Rob, you are hilarious!! Awe, thanks!! I love that you say whatcha think! Perfect! 🙂 My heart is fine!! Yaaay!! Thanks for your love and support! Have a wonderful week! XOXO

      Reply

  2. FLRunnerBoy

    First off … hoping the best for you with your upcoming tests. I’ll be thinking of ya’. A couple years ago I had to go for a stress echo after my EKG came abnormal with ST elevations. Long story short … after seeing one of my docs I work with (ohhhhh the perks of working in cardiology) my EKG was a false positive that normalizes with exercise go figure. And congrats on such an awesome sauced effort in your 8K rock star!!! 😉 I thought we Floridians were the only ones to race 8K’s lol 🙂 and lovin’ the new hair color + your new avi on Pinterest by the way!!! Annnnnnd I knew you couldn’t go for long without a smile lol … it’s kinda your trademark 😀

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hahahaha Lee, your last sentence really made me smile!! Thank you so much! You’re so nice!! 🙂 Also, wow, I’m glad everything turned out okay with you! That’s great!! My heart is fine!! I’m all good!! Yaaay!! I wish you a wonderful week of running!! You rock! XOXO

      Reply

  3. Annie at TheLittleGSP.com

    Awesome job in your race!!! You are so speedy and 17th out of 5,515 is crazy!! Next time you are having pre-race jitters and thinking about talking yourself out of racing just remember the feeling you had after crossing the Shamrock finish line! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      You are oh so wise!! Thank you for your kind words. They mean so much to me! I appreciate your love and support! Smooch! Have a fabulous week! XOXO

      Reply

  4. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com

    First off, YAY for a SMILE 🙂 So gorgeous with a smile! And second- BOOM! You killed that race. Shamrock is so huge and you placed in your AG?! awesome sauce. That’s the marathon I PRed in, so it holds a place in my heart. I hope everything with your stress test and all of that comes back OK. I don’t want to have to worry about my Kristin! My sisters name is Kristin and we call her Kris, too. Happy Monday XOXO

    Reply

  5. Martha B

    Congrats on your amazing race! Look at that beautiful smile!
    I hope everything gets sorted promptly with your health concerns. We will be thinking about you!

    Reply

  6. charissarunning

    LOVE the hair darling! So funny that we both changed our hair recently 🙂
    And can I say speedy?!?! You are so freakin’ fast!!!!! Way to go, Kristin! You rock! That’s a huge race and to come out on top like that in the age and gender placings is a huge feat!!! Happy Monday! xoxo

    Reply

  7. NancyTex

    I had the whole palpitations/ tachiacardia situation a few years ago. Wore the holter for 24 hours. Net/net – they did nothing, and I’m still kickin’ 🙂

    Hoping you’ll pass with flying colors!
    xoxo

    Reply

  8. Betty

    Awesome job! You killed it kristin! A fast time, age group award, and new PR! I’ve never ran an 8K before but would love to be able to run sub-7 splits for any distance! Keep racing, no need for jitters…you’re a natural speedster and super awesome! 🙂

    Reply

  9. runsaltrun

    AWE.SOME!!! Congratulations, speedy lady!! You totally shamrocked it! 8K is one of my favorite distances and it sounds like it definitely treated you well! What a beautiful way to start your week!

    Reply

  10. Applebums

    Kristin! You’re awesome! Thanks to remind us how important it is to not let negativity take over our kindness. I also hope you have nothing to worry about – medically speaking. I never heard about 8K, I don’t know if we do that in Germany! But your time! Wow!
    *Smile*
    Xx

    Reply

  11. Maddie@Dixie Runs

    You are SO fast!! Way to go. I have Proverbs 31:25 framed on my living room wall – it speaks to me in so many ways! Love your blog & your positive vibes are very motivating.. I’m excited to start following along!!

    Reply

  12. Angie

    Congratulations on the race! That is awesome! I hope everything is okay with your heart. One little thing that may be causing it, but I’m no expert, just speaking from personal experience, is watch your caffeine intake. I know you like your coffee. Caffeine gives me a double heart beat thingy, quite weird.

    Reply

  13. Christy Birmingham

    I’m going to call you Kris from now on then!! 🙂 You’re so pretty with your smile and I loved hearing about the 8k race!! Woot! You rocked it AND get an award – how cool is that?!! As for your dr. appt, I am thinking of you and sending hugs in hopes that helps you. xx

    Reply

  14. brunettedistraction

    Lovely pictures of you, the new hair color really suits you – looking’ good!!! 😀 Congratulations on your race!!! Although I hope nothing bad comes out of these tests?! I hope you’re feeling better already!! XOXO!!

    Reply

  15. Helena

    Congrats on your race! Heart palps may have another cause. Get your thyroid checked too! My thyroid causes palpitations and anxiety issues when mine is out of whack! Good luck girl!

    Reply

  16. Lauren @ ihadabiglunch

    Classic Kris just KILLING IT on the racing front 🙂 Congrats! I love the new hair color — perfect for spring/summer that is (hopefully) right around the corner. Keep us updated on your health, love! Good luck with the stress test results!!

    Reply

  17. piratebobcat

    Way to go! Crushin it! And I’m sure the test results will come back with good news. Ya know, I have a Be Nice bumper sticker on my car. I hope it rubs off on someone!

    Reply

  18. Heena Rathore P.

    Woah! Now that’s simply awesome!!! You ROCK! ❤
    Now even I'm motivated to go and do my evening jog… as I said earlier, you always inspire me Kristin! I adore your strength! 🙂
    I wish one day even I can run like you 😀
    Have a fabulous day dear ❤
    XOXO!!!

    Reply

Talk to me baby!!

