What can I say? Life has been a series of twists and turns lately and it’s only going to get more roller coaster-esque! Fun, though, right? The many twists and turns of life make for countless memories, so I’m all for ’em. Just gotta make sure I have a barf bag handy (hehe) because the whole roller coaster thing is so last year. First and foremost, my heart is fine! No worries (and thank you for all your loving comments here) and second,(it’s happening) I’m turning 30 in 5 weeks! Wowzers! No fear, though, I won’t spill out a formidable speech questioning where time goes and blah blah blah. Instead, I’ve decided to embrace it with open arms (because who doesn’t like a hug?)! Nope, this girl is NOT going to be flabbergasted! Turning 30 is chic. It’s soooo the new 20 (although not really). 

Selfie6 (3)

My life has turned up y’all, but whatever, I’m going for it (that is, going for what I want). 

“Toto, I have a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore.”
L. Frank Baum

Kristin188
This is prince (not) worried…

New things happening

1} Racing and lots of it! I’ve done 3 races in 6 weeks! That’s a lot for me! I ran a 5k yesterday and won 1st female overall! With my win, I was awarded a 6 month membership to One Life Fitness, an adorable plaque, and lots of cool supplements from GNC!! Pretty fabulous! Over the next 4 months, I’m doing 7 events! 7 EVENTS!! Let’s see, I’ve got 2 aquathlons (run-swim-run) on the schedule, an open water race, a swim meet, and 3 more 5ks!

2} I signed up for an open water clinic!! It’s in Reston, VA and it’s called Strategies & Techniques for Open Water Racing at Lake Audubon pool. It’s with Olympians Larsen Jensen & Chloe Sutton! Hello, my new name is Excited because um, I get to meet Larsen Jensen! 

Source

3} I’m training like a mermaid gazelle, run/swimming doubles. I’m swimming 20,000 yards a week religiously, plus beginning to hit 2 (run) speed workouts a week as well (plus my normal maintenance runs). Not to mention, staying on top of weight lifting and (of course) yoga. Hehe, when it comes to yoga, it’s always “of course” right? 

4} Okay, so remember when I said that I wouldn’t be coaching summer league swimming again this summer…(laughs hysterically)…well, I AM! I know I know ( I said I was done with the whole summer league thing), but what’s another year, right? I’ll go out with 7 years, instead of 6. Bonus points! 

5} I graduate from yoga teaching training in May!!! BUT the journey is only beginning my friends…

6} I start yoga therapy school in June!! 13 months of intense training! Oh yeah! 

dig deep into your soul

7} Say hello to surfer girl Kristin (she waves with her surfboard). Okay, so part of the ‘new me’ (flirty 30) status = stepping out of my comfort zone, which means, #1- taking surf lessons, #2- cage diving with great white sharks, #3- dolphin watching (which doesn’t sound all that bad girl, now looking at it), and so on and so on…this summer, I’m taking surf lessons from an amazing surf guru AND am in the beginning stages of planning a Great White Shark Expedition. Halla!

Live the bohemian life #bohemian ☮k☮ #boho

“Follow your passion. The rest will attend to itself. If I can do it, anybody can do it. It’s possible. And it’s your turn. So go for it. It’s never too late to become what you always wanted to be in the first place.” J. Michael Straczynski

8} Lots of writing going on over here, too!! Always and forever!! New books in the making! 

Be who you are, not who the world wants you to be. #human #rockstar #nice #mean #whatever #bohemian ☮k☮ #boho #gypsy #hippie #punk

What does stepping out of your comfort zone mean to YOU??? XOXO

-Great white shark friend (who promises to blog more)

 

  1. Just a Running Chick

    Wow! You have been super duper busy! And how cool is it that you are taking the water clinic! Although personally, I’d love to meet Jason Lezak. If my brother had stayed in Maui, I would have tried surfing eventually! 🙂 Hope you doing well!

    Reply

      1. Kristin

        Awwww!! Big hugs!! Thank you so much!! You are so sweet! I’ve missed you, too!! I will blog more!! I’m starting to get better at balancing my schedule! 🙂

    1. Kristin

      Awe, thanks, I’m so excited about the clinic!! Really looking forward to it!! It’s in May so yaaay!! 🙂 Jason Lezak is so cool! I’d like to meet him, too!! I’m so excited about trying surfing. I kinda think I’m destined to be a surfer girl!! Hehe!! Ohh Maui…paradise!! 🙂 Have a fabulous week! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww Salt, wow, thanks a bunch!! I appreciate your love and support!! You always amaze me (when I read your posts and your comments)!!! 😀 Have a beautiful week! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Maddie!! I’m looking forward to surfing! 😀 I love the ocean! Wish I could live in the water. Haha! I appreciate your comment and wish you a fantastic week!! XOXO

      Reply

  2. V

    Girl, you’re probably in better shape than most 20 year olds! Happy big 3-0. You’ll have to know how it is. If I keep turning 21 again every year like I have been, I might never know how it feels 😉

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehehehe V!! I love this turn 21 every year thing!! Hmmm…good plan!! Why didn’t I think of it?? 🙂 And awe, THANKS for your sweet words! You are amazing! Have the best week! XOXO

      Reply

  3. Movin' it with Michelle

    Sounds like all sorts of amazing things are happening to you! YAY!!!! And oh how I miss being 30…Embrace it girl, the time goes by too fast and then you are a middle aged 40+ year old wondering how you aged so fast! LOL!!!! Have a great week!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Michelle, YOU 40+??? Oh please, you don’t look a day over 30!! You are beautiful both inside and out!! Thanks for your loving support! It means the world to me!! I’m planning on celebrating my 30th birthday for an entire year!!! 🙂 Yay! I appreciate every single word you type!! Thanks a bunch! Have an amazing week! I know you’ll cook lots of amazing meals!! Yum! Yum! XOXO

      Reply

  4. The V-Pub

    When I read about all of the things you have planned, I thought that was an awful lot. Then I said to myself, nope. That’s Kristin and she’s gonna nail all of her challenges. Talking about grabbing life by the horns and never letting go. You really do LIVE life. Keep it going!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Rob!! You’re the best!! Always so supportive! I appreciate your love and support very much! Big smiles over here when I read your comments! Honestly, this is what I’m doing right now 😀 😀 Have a wonderful week! XOXO

      Reply

  5. charissarunning

    Wow, you are one busy, busy lady! But good busy because it sounds like you know just how to balance and enjoy everything about that! Congrats on your race win and cheers to more coming up!! You’ve got this!!! No doubt, you’re gonna rock 30 😀 xoxo

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      You are such a sweetheart!! Seriously, thank you for your love and encouragement!! It means the world to me! You are one talented girl yourself, so thanks for your compliments! Smooch! Your words always make me so so happy!! 😀 Have a wonderful week!! Good luck with everything you’re doing! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hehehehe!! You are amazing!! I seriously just imagined myself kicking down the door which feels good because a few months ago, I was anxious about turning 30. No need to fear, though!! Have a wonderful week!! You are the best!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Hi!! Thanks so much for your comment and yaaay, I love hearing how much you love thirties!! That’s spectacular! I’m excited to experience a new decade and to make things happen!! Thanks again! I appreciate your love and support! Have a fabulous week! XOXO

      Reply

  6. 50statecanuck

    When I turned 30, I cried. But 7 years later, I really have no idea why it was so upsetting! lol

    Congrats on your awesome 5k win!!!

    Am soooooooooooo jealous of your shark cage diving!!!

    You rock!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks so much!!! Smooch!! And a few months back I was 100 % positive I was going to cry the week before, during, and the week after my birthday, but then I decided to think of it as a chance to embrace things I’ve wanted to do for a while now (to get out of my comfort zone).
      I’m obsessed with great white sharks!! I have been since a little girl! I imagine myself quite often down in a shark cage seeing a great white swimming up towards me and I have no clue how I’ll respond. Haha, I’ve wanted this trip for so long that I’m almost in shock that it will be happening! Wow… 🙂 Thanks for your love!! Have a beautiful week! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Haha, you’re right Chelsea!! 😀 You’re so sweet!! I hope all is well! Will be checking out your blog soon!! Miss ya! Have a great week! XOXO

      Reply

  7. Betty

    So much awesomeness kristin!! Congrats on your first place finish! That’s incredible! I admire your dedication and time that you commit to all your training! Excited to see what else this year has in store for you! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Kristine!!! 🙂 🙂 So nice! I appreciate all of your encouragement and support! You just brought a huge smile to my face! I hope you’re having a great week so far! Thank you thank you thank you!! XOXO

      Reply

  8. brunettedistraction

    Wow, you’re definitely one busy girl!! 😀 Congratulations on your win, I find it incredible how you’re always managing everything that’s going in your life…way to go!! And thanks for always motivating me, I love your blog!! 🙂 Have a great week! XOXO!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww you are soooo sweetie! Thanks girl!! Truly, I love your blog so much and you motivate me every read. I just love your passion for life, fashion, school, and having fun!! You are so amazing! Thanks for your encouragement and for being amazing!! XOXO

      Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thank you so much!! You’re sweet!! You are always so supportive!! Just fabulous! 🙂 You are a very hard worker so thank you very kindly for your lovely comment!! Have a wonderful week! XOXO

      Reply

  9. Lauren @ ihadabiglunch

    Oh my gosh 30 is TOTALLY the new 20! And you’re the perfect example. What huge goals to set for yourself! Swimming with sharks? Wowza. I’d love to surf too but I think I need to get SUP figured out first 😉 that alone takes tons of balance!

    You are a speed demon! Nice job on that 5K!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Thanks Lauren for all of your love and support!! You’re the best! 🙂 SUP sounds like a lot of fun. Good luck with that! And hello, I’m excited that 30 IS the new 20!! Yaaay!! You just made my day!! Hehe! I know, right- swimming with sharks. Let’s just hope one doesn’t get it my cage. Eeek!! Would you save me?? 🙂 Hehe! Have a great week! XOXO

      Reply

  10. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com

    Yay for a Kristin post!!! I’ll be joining the 30 club this year too and am pretty excited about it! So jealous of all your races! Such an athlete you are 🙂 And swimming with sharks sounds deathly awesome! Not sure if I would, but I’d like to hope I would! Happy Belated Bday ❤

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Awww Heather!!!! THANK YOU x a million!! You are sooo sweet!! Oh wow, we’re joining the 30 club together!! Yaaay!! 2 cool girls turning 30! 😀 And hehehe, I love how you said, “swimming with sharks sounds deathly awesome!” That’s the best line ever!! Hahaha and you’re right!! Have a wonderful Friday and weekend!! You’re the best!! XOXO

      Reply

  11. Charyl Rausch

    Dang, you go girl!!! Such an inspiring and beautiful person, inside and out 🙂 Looking forward to our 300 hr yoga therapy training together in June! Oh yeh, if you try surfing and love it…I surf!!! Let me know if you want to go sometime girl, I know some good spots in VA Beach and OBX!!!!! and EEEEK to the sharks!!!

    Reply

    1. Kristin

      Okay wait, you surf? That rocks!! I love it!! You’re such a cool surfer girl!! 🙂 I would love to surf with ya (once I learn). Haha, right now, I don’t think I’d be too much fun to surf with. Although you’d probably be entertained by watching me fall a lot and get washed off my board!! Haha!! I’m SO excited that you’re doing yoga therapy training, too!! YAY!! I’m looking forward to it!! Thank you so much for your sweetness!! You’re amazing! XOXO

      Reply

Talk to me baby!!

